DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Lee does not teach obtaining one or more affine candidates from a plurality of non-adjacent neighbor blocks (Remarks of May 12, 2026, page 8). The examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee discloses deriving merge candidates and uses a coding block CU3 as an example in Figure 24. In the example of Figure 24(b), x2 would be a non-adjacent neighboring block to block CU3 (¶ 283 - 285).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9 – 11, 16, 17, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (US 2025/0047889, hereafter Lee).
As per claim 1, Lee discloses a method of video coding, comprising: obtaining one or more affine candidates from a plurality of non-adjacent neighbor blocks that are non-adjacent to a current block; and obtaining one or more control point motion vectors (CPMVs) for the current block based on the one or more affine candidates (¶ 146, 156, and 158),
wherein obtaining one or more affine candidates comprises: obtaining the one or more affine candidates according to a scanning rule, determining the scanning rule based on at least one scanning area, at least one scanning distance, and a scanning order (¶ 283 - 285).
As per claim 4, Lee discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising: determining the at least one scanning area according to the at least one scanning distance (¶ 283 and 285).
As per claim 9, Lee discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising:
scanning from a first starting non-adjacent neighbor block along a scanning line parallel with a left side of the current block, wherein the first starting non-adjacent block is a bottom block in a first scanning area, and blocks in the first scanning area are at a first scanning distance away from the left side of the current block (¶ 283 and 285).
As per claim 10, Lee discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising:
scanning from a third starting non-adjacent neighbor block along a scanning line parallel with an upper side of the current block, wherein the third starting non-adjacent block is a right block in a first scanning area, blocks in the first scanning area are at a first scanning distance away from the upper side of the current block ( ¶156, 158, and 283).
As per claim 11, Lee discloses the method of claim 3, further comprising:
locating a non-adjacent neighbor block at a scanning position (¶ 283 and 285).
As per claim 16, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more affine candidates comprises one or more affine inherited candidates and one or more affine constructed candidates, and the method further comprises: obtaining the one or more affine inherited candidates according to a first scanning rule; and obtaining the one or more affine constructed candidates according to a second scanning rule, wherein the second scanning rule is completely or partially same as the first scanning rule (¶ 283 and 285).
As per claim 17, Lee discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising: determining the second scanning rule based on at least one second scanning area, at least one second scanning distance, and a second scanning order; and scanning the at least one second scanning area at each distance equaling to a block size same as the current block (¶ 283 and 285).
Regarding claim 19, arguments analogous to those presented for clam 1 are applicable for claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, arguments analogous to those presented for clam 1 are applicable for claim 20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 5 – 8, 12 – 15 and 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487