DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 20 March 2024, 20 November 2024, and 9 July 2025 were filed on and after the mailing date of this present application. These submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 14, the limitation “an operation frequency of the wireless power transmitter” recited on lines 7-8 is unclear. This limitation is unclear because “an operation frequency of the wireless power transmitter” is also recited on line 4, so it is not clear if this is the same or two different operation frequency of the wireless power transmitter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujimoto US 2016/0359374.
Regarding Claim 14, Fujimoto teaches an operation method of a wireless power transmitter (fig. 2), the operation method comprising:
controlling the wireless power transmitter to operate at a first operation frequency (first resonant frequency, refer to [0018] and [0047]);
changing an operation frequency of the wireless power transmitter from the first operation frequency to a second operation frequency (second resonant frequency refer to [0018] and [0047]) based on a phase of the first operation frequency at an end timepoint of a channel duration, wherein the channel duration is a cycle of changing an operation frequency of the wireless power transmitter; and controlling the wireless power transmitter to operate at the second operation frequency (a method for controlling a power supply apparatus may comprise changing a resonant frequency of a resonant circuit between a first resonant frequency and a second resonant frequency based on a phase difference between a phase of a drive signal of a drive unit and a phase of at least one of a current and a voltage flowing in a power supply coil being eliminated. … the switching controller 3 may causes the resonant frequency f to change between a first resonant frequency and a second resonant frequency based on the phase difference φ between the phase of the drive signal (phase of the signal having the drive frequency fd) and a phase of at least one of a current and a voltage flowing in the power supply coil 11 being eliminated. A resonant frequency of the first resonance (first resonant frequency) may be higher than a frequency of the drive signal, and a resonant frequency of the second resonance (second resonant frequency) may be lower than the frequency of the drive signal.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nejatali et al. US 2019/0173314, in view of Rinaldi et al. US 2022/0231546.
Regarding Claims 1 and 15, Nejatali teaches a wireless power transmitter (transmitters 1000, fig. 1 2000, fig. 2 and refer to [0005], [0049], and [0050]) comprising:
a controller configured to: control the wireless power transmitter to operate at a first operation frequency included in an operation frequency set; (driver 1018, fig. 1; and Transmitters 2000 each generate a magnetic field 2006. Transmitters 2000 can each be selectively engaged or disengaged. Further, each transmitter 2000 in a wireless charging system can be engaged concurrently, separately but synchronously, and concurrently with different signal frequencies., refer to [0051])
change an operation frequency of the wireless power transmitter from the first operation frequency to a second operation frequency that is different from an operation frequency of a second wireless power transmitter that is adjacent to the wireless power transmitter for every channel duration; and control the wireless power transmitter to operate at the second operation frequency (a first transmitter configured to transmit a first signal having a first frequency and a first amplitude, a second transmitter configured to transmit a second signal having a second frequency and second amplitude, and a third transmitter configured to transmit a third signal having a third frequency and third amplitude, wherein the first frequency, the second frequency, and the third frequency are each a different frequency, refer to Claim 1), and
a transmitting coil (antenna/coil 1022, fig. 1) configured to transmit power at the first operation frequency or the second operation frequency.
Nejatali however is silent regarding changing an operation frequency of the wireless power transmitter from the first operation frequency to a second operation frequency.
Rinaldi teaches changing an operation frequency of the wireless power transmitter from the first operation frequency to a second operation frequency (mode selector 304, WP transmitter controller 310, antenna 308A, fig. 3 and wherein the first TX path circuitry includes a first power carrier signal generator circuit operative to generate a power carrier signal at a first frequency, and wherein the second TX path circuitry includes a second power carrier signal generator circuit operative to generate a power carrier signal at a second frequency that is different from the first frequency., refer to [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the arrangement as taught by
Rinaldi with the wireless power transmitter of Nejatali and Ilhan in order to reduce circuitry used for transmitting with multiple frequencies.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Nejatali and Rinaldi teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 above and further teaches wherein the operation frequency set comprises: a greater number of operation frequencies as a number of wireless power transmitters adjacent to the wireless power transmitter increases (refer to [0059]-[0060] of Nejatali).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Nejatali and Rinaldi teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 above and further teaches wherein the wireless power transmitter comprises: a plurality of capacitors matching each of operation frequencies included in the operation frequency set; and a plurality of switches connected to the plurality of capacitors (refer to [0064] of Rinaldi).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Nejatali and Rinaldi teaches all of the limitations of Claim 5 above and further teaches wherein the changing of the operation frequency from the first operation frequency to the second operation frequency comprises: turning off a first switch connected to a first capacitor matching the first operation frequency; and turning on a second switch connected to a second capacitor matching the second operation frequency (refer to [0064] of Rinaldi).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Nejatali and Rinaldi teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 above and further teaches wherein the changing of the operation frequency from the first operation frequency to the second operation frequency comprises: changing the operation frequency from the first operation frequency to the second operation frequency based on a phase of the first operation frequency and a phase of the second operation frequency (refer to [0049]-[0062] of Nejatali).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Nejatali and Rinaldi teaches all of the limitations of Claim 7 above and further teaches wherein the changing of the operation frequency from the first operation frequency to the second operation frequency comprises: tracking the phase of the first operation frequency during the channel duration; and matching an end phase of the first operation frequency with a start phase of the second operation frequency when the operation frequency is changed from the first operation frequency to the second operation frequency (refer to [0049]-[0062] of Nejatali).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Nejatali and Rinaldi teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 above and further teaches wherein the changing of the operation frequency from the first operation frequency to the second operation frequency comprises: changing the operation frequency from the first operation frequency to the second operation frequency based on a signal amplitude of the first operation frequency and a signal amplitude of the second operation frequency (refer to [0076] of Rinaldi).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Nejatali and Rinaldi teaches all of the limitations of Claim 9 above and further teaches wherein the changing of the operation frequency from the first operation frequency to the second operation frequency comprises: matching an end signal amplitude of the first operation frequency and a start signal amplitude of the second operation frequency to 0 (refer to [0068] and [0076] of Rinaldi).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Nejatali and Rinaldi teaches all of the limitations of Claim 9 above and further teaches wherein the changing of the operation frequency from the first operation frequency to the second operation frequency comprises: controlling a duty cycle of a signal amplitude pulse corresponding to the end signal amplitude of the first operation frequency to 0 (refer to [0068] and [0076] of Rinaldi).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Nejatali and Rinaldi teaches all of the limitations of Claim 9 above and further teaches wherein the channel duration comprises: a rising duration; a falling duration; and a steady duration, and the changing of the operation frequency from the first operation frequency to the second operation frequency comprises: controlling, in the rising duration, the signal amplitude of the first operation frequency to reach a target signal amplitude from a start signal amplitude of 0; controlling, in the steady duration, the signal amplitude of the first operation frequency to maintain the target signal amplitude; and controlling, in the falling duration, the signal amplitude of the first operation frequency to decrease from the target signal amplitude to 0 (refer to [0068] and [0076] of Rinaldi).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Nejatali and Rinaldi teaches all of the limitations of Claim 12 above and further teaches wherein the changing of the operation frequency from the first operation frequency to the second operation frequency comprises: controlling, in the rising duration, a duty cycle of a signal amplitude pulse to increase from 0 to a target duty cycle; and controlling, in the falling duration, a duty cycle of a signal amplitude pulse to decrease from the target duty cycle to 0 (refer to [0068] and [0076] of Rinaldi).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Nejatali and Rinaldi teaches all of the limitations of Claim 15 above and further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: change the operation frequency from the first operation frequency to the second operation frequency based on a phase of the first operation frequency and a phase of the second operation frequency (refer to [0049]-[0062] of Nejatali).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Nejatali and Rinaldi teaches all of the limitations of Claim 17 above and further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: track the phase of the first operation frequency during the channel duration; and match an end phase of the first operation frequency with a start phase of the second operation frequency when the operation frequency is changed from the first operation frequency to the second operation frequency (refer to [0068] and [0076] of Rinaldi).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Nejatali and Rinaldi teaches all of the limitations of Claim 15 above and further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: change the operation frequency from the first operation frequency to the second operation frequency based on a signal amplitude of the first operation frequency and a signal amplitude of the second operation frequency (refer to [0068] and [0076] of Rinaldi).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Nejatali and Rinaldi teaches all of the limitations of Claim 19 above and further teaches wherein the controller is configured to: match an end signal amplitude of the first operation frequency and a start signal amplitude of the second operation frequency to 0 (refer to [0068] and [0076] of Rinaldi).
Claims 2, 4, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nejatali et al. US 2019/0173314, in view of Rinaldi et al. US 2022/0231546, in view of Partyka US 2005/020745.
Regarding Claims 2 and 16, the combination of Nejatali and Rinaldi teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 and 15 above however is silent wherein the changing of the operation frequency from the first operation frequency to the second operation frequency comprises: changing the operation frequency from the first operation frequency to the second operation frequency using an orthogonal sequence.
Partyka teaches wherein the changing of the operation frequency from the first operation frequency to the second operation frequency comprises: changing the operation frequency from the first operation frequency to the second operation frequency using an orthogonal sequence (refer to [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the arrangement as taught by
Partyka with the wireless power transmitter of the combination of Nejatali and Rinaldi and Ilhan in order to better utilize use of the signals.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Nejatali and Rinaldi teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 above however is silent wherein the changing of the operation frequency from the first operation frequency to the second operation frequency comprises: changing the operation frequency from the first operation frequency to the second operation frequency using an orthogonal sequence that is different from an orthogonal sequence of the second wireless power transmitter.
Partyka teaches wherein the changing of the operation frequency from the first operation frequency to the second operation frequency comprises: changing the operation frequency from the first operation frequency to the second operation frequency using an orthogonal sequence that is different from an orthogonal sequence of the second wireless power transmitter. (refer to [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the arrangement as taught by
Partyka with the wireless power transmitter of the combination of Nejatali and Rinaldi and Ilhan in order to better utilize use of the signals.
Conclusion
/BRIAN K BAXTER/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
8 January 2026
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836