Claim Objection
Claims 11 and 16 are objected for missing ( : ) in the preamble. Examiner suggests the applicant to amend the claim as below:
A device for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one processor that is configured to:….
Claim 11 is also objected for claim language “…. transmit by a second signaling message to the terminal device…..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6, 10-11, 15-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (WO 2022/051927, hereinafter Zhou) in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0352649, hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou discloses a method for wireless communication (Fig. 5; para 0075), comprising:
configuring a plurality of TCI states (510 – base station transmits a MAC-CE activating a subset of configured joint DL and UL TCI states; and Para 0076; it’s implied that the TCI states are already configured);
transmitting, by the base station, a second signaling message to the terminal device, the second signaling message activating one or more codepoints, wherein each of the one or more codepoints corresponds to at least one TCI state of the plurality of TCI states (Para 0076; 0079-0080; At 510, base station may transmit, to a UE, e.g., UE 502, a MACCE activating a subset of configured joint DL and UL TCI states, e.g., MACCE 514, each activated joint DL and UL TCI state indicating a common beam for communication in DL and UL, the MACCE indicating a CORESET pool ID associated with a set of CORESETs.In some instances, the joint DL and UL TCI states activated in the MACCE may be mapped withsequential indexes to the TCI codepoint, the TCI codepoint being associated with the CORESET pool ID);
transmitting, by the base station, a first Downlink Control Information (DCI) message (DCI 534) to the terminal device, wherein the first DCI message comprises a first field indicating a codepoint from the one or more codepoints activated by the second signaling message, wherein selected TCI states are determined according to the codepoint (para 0079; At 530, TRP 504 may transmit DCI, e.g., DCI 534, in a CORESET associated with the CORESET pool ID, the DCI indicating an index of a TCI codepoint, the index corresponding to one of the activated joint DL and UL TCI states associated with the CORESET pool ID);
transmitting, by the base station, a second DCI message (544) to the terminal device scheduling a transmission (para 0081; At 540, TRP 504 may transmit an indication, e.g., indication 544, of DL resources and UL resources for communication scheduled by one or more CORESETs associated with the CORESET pool ID, where the DL resources and the UL resources for the communication scheduled by the one or more CORESETs associated with the CORESET pool ID are based on the transmitted indication….the indication may be received through one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a MAC-CE, or downlink control information (DCI), wherein one or more TCI states are applied to the transmission, the one or more TCI states being from the selected TCI states or a first TCI state (para 0083; communicate through DL/UL based on the activated joint DL/UL TCI states); and
performing the transmission according to the one or more TCI states (para 0083;
At 560, UE may communicate with the base station, through DL and UL scheduled through one or more CORESETs of the set of CORESETs associated with the CORESET pool ID based on the activated joint DL and UL TCI states), wherein the transmission is performed according to a spatial filter associated with the one or more TCI states or a power control parameter associated with the one or more TCI states (para 0063; each of the joint DL/UL TCI states may include ULpower control (PC) parameters indicating the UE to configure the UL transmission power).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose that the base station transmits a first signaling message to UE to configure the plurality of TCI states.
In an analogous art, Kim discloses that the base station transmits a first signaling message to UE to configure the plurality of TCI states (para 0391; 0396; base station configures plurality of TCI states –S110 of Fig. 18). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou’s method/system by having Kim’s disclosure in order to enable precise, dynamic beam management.
Regarding claim 6, Zhou discloses a method for wireless communication (Fig. 5; para 0075), comprising:
configuring a plurality of TCI states (510 – base station transmits a MAC-CE activating a subset of configured joint DL and UL TCI states; and para 0076; it’s implied that the TCI states are already configured);
receiving, by the terminal device from the base station, a second signaling message activating one or more codepoints, wherein each of the one or more codepoints corresponds to at least one TCI state of the plurality of TCI states (para 0076; 0079-0080; At 510, base station may transmit, to a UE, e.g., UE 502, a MACCE activating a subset of configured joint DL and UL TCI states, e.g., MACCE 514, each activated joint DL and UL TCI state indicating a common beam for communication in DL and UL, the MACCE indicating a CORESET pool ID associated with a set of CORESETs.In some instances, the joint DL and UL TCI states activated in the MACCE may be mapped withsequential indexes to the TCI codepoint, the TCI codepoint being associated with the CORESET pool ID);
receiving, by the terminal device, a first Downlink Control Information (DCI) message (DCI 534) from the base station, wherein the first DCI message comprises a first field indicating a codepoint from the one or more codepoints activated by the second signaling message (para 0079; At 530, TRP 504 may transmit DCI, e.g., DCI 534, in a CORESET associated with the CORESET pool ID, the DCI indicating an index of a TCI codepoint, the index corresponding to one of the activated joint DL and UL TCI states associated with the CORESET pool ID); determining selected TCI states according to the codepoint (para 0079; the DCI indicating an index of a TCI codepoint, the index corresponding to one of the activated joint DL and UL TCI states associated with the CORESET pool ID);
receiving, by the terminal device, a second DCI message (544) from the base station scheduling a transmission, (para 0081; At 540, TRP 504 may transmit an indication, e.g., indication 544, of DL resources and UL resources for communication scheduled by one or more CORESETs associated with the CORESET pool ID, where the DL resources and the UL resources for the communication scheduled by the one or more CORESETs associated with the CORESET pool ID are based on the transmitted indication….the indication may be received through one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, a MAC-CE, or downlink control information (DCI), wherein one or more TCI states are applied to the transmission, the one or more TCI states being from the selected TCI states or a first TCI state (para 0083; communicate through DL/UL based on the activated joint DL/UL TCI states); and
performing the transmission according to the one or more TCI states (para 0083; At 560, UE may communicate with the basestation, through DL and UL scheduled through one or more CORESETs of the set of CORESETs associated with the CORESET pool ID based on the activated joint DL and UL TCI states), wherein the transmission is performed according to a spatial filter associated with the one or more TCI states or a power control parameter associated with the one or more TCI states (para0063;each of the joint DL/UL TCI states may include ULpower control (PC) parameters indicating the UE to configure the UL transmission power).
Zhou does not explicitly disclose that the base station transmits a first signaling message to UE to configure the plurality of TCI states.
In an analogous art, Kim discloses that the base station transmits a first signaling message to UE to configure the plurality of TCI states (para 0391; 0396; base station configures plurality of TCI states –S110 of Fig. 18). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou’s method/system by having Kim’s disclosure in order to enable precise, dynamic beam management.
Regarding claim 11, Zhou disclose a device for wireless communication, comprising at least one processor that is configured to perform the method steps of claim 1 (para 0022; one or more processor configured to perform the method steps).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou disclose a device for wireless communication, comprising at least one processor that is configured to perform the method steps of claim 11 (para 0022; one or more processor configured to perform the method steps).
Regarding claims 5, 10, 15, and 20, Zhou discloses wherein the one or more TCI states are determined based on an association parameter (para0078; CORESET associated with the CORESET pool ID is applicable to each of the activated joint DL/UL TCI states), wherein the association parameter comprises a control resource set pool identifier (0078- PRS for DL that is scheduled by a CORESET associated with the CORESET pool ID is applicable to each of the activated joint DL and UL TCI states), and wherein a power control parameter of the transmission is determined according to a TCI state that is associated with a same association parameter as a control resource set of the second DCI message scheduling the transmission (para 0063; each of the joint DL/UL TCI states may include UL power control parameters indicating the UE to configure the UL transmission power).
Claims 2, 7, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou/Kim in view of Kwak et al. (US 2020/0351129, hereinafter Kwak).
Regarding claims 2, 7, 12, and 17, Zhou/Kim does not expclitly disclose wherein a second field being present in the second DCI message indicates the one or more TCI states from the selected TCI states, wherein the second field comprises a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource set indicator.
In an analogous art, Kwak discloses wherein a second field being present in the second DCI message indicates the one or more TCI states from the selected TCI states, wherein the second field comprises a Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) resource set indicator (para 0586; DCI field indicating SRS resource set indicator). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou/Kim’s method/system by having Kwak’s disclosure in order to enhance the transmission by dynamically adjusting the resources.
Claims 3, 8, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou/Kim in view of Bai et al. (US 2022/0232544, hereinafter Bai).
Regarding claims 3, 8, 13, and 18, Zhou/Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the second DCI message comprises a DCI format 0_0, wherein whether the first TCI state is applied to the transmission is based on a configuration parameter.
In an analogous art, Bai discloses wherein the second DCI message comprises a DCI format 0_0 (para 0061; DCI format 0_0), wherein whether the first TCI state is applied to the transmission is based on a configuration parameter (para 0061-0062).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou/Kim’s method/system by having Bai’s disclosure in order to adjust different transmission schedules.
Claims 4, 9, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou/Kim in view of Zhou et al. (US 2023/0319591, hereinafter Zhou II).
Regarding claims 4, 9, 14 and 19, Zhou discloses one or more power control parameters for the transmission are determined on the first TCI state.
(para0063;each of the joint DL/UL TCI states may include ULpower control (PC) parameters indicating the UE to configure the UL transmission power).
Zhou/Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein, upon the first TCI state being applied to the transmission, a spatial filter of the transmission is derived based on the first TCI state.
In an analogous art, Zhou II discloses wherein, upon the first TCI state being applied to the transmission, a spatial filter of the transmission is derived based on the first TCI state (para 0101; 0103-0104 and 0139; UE may receive a reference signal providing uplink spatial relationship information associated with an uplink TCI state. The uplink spatial relationship may provide a spatial transmission filter parameter for transmissions to the UE). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhou/Kim’s method/system by having Zhou II’s disclosure in order to improve reception in a communication system.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAMINA F CHOUDHRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462