DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are presented for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13, and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lerner et al. [ US Patent Application No 2015/0113631 ], in view of Goyal [ US Patent Application No 2016/0269376 ].
As per claim 1, Lerner discloses the invention as claimed including an electronic device [ Figure 1; and paragraph 0022 ] comprising:
memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory, the one or more processors [ Figure 1 ] configured to:
while operating in a first mode associated with a user account of the electronic device [ i.e. a new user has not started using the computing system, the same user profile is enabled for the user ] [ Figure 5A; and paragraphs 0072, and 0073 ]:
while access to a plurality of features is restricted, detect that one or more first criteria are satisfied [ i.e. identification component for identifying characteristics and authentication information of a user ] [ 114, Figure 1; and paragraphs 0041-0043, and 0065 ]; in accordance with detecting that the one or more first criteria are satisfied, allow access to the plurality of features [ i.e. each user profile includes settings, access to particular applications, emails, access to certain features ] [ paragraphs 0013, 0037, 0038, and 0056 ]; and
while configuring a second mode different from the first mode [ i.e. automatically switch to a guest user profile ] [ paragraphs 0014, and 0065 ], the second mode associated with a second user account different from the user account of the electronic device [ i.e. guest or new user or child ] [ paragraphs 0013, 0014, and 0047 ]; and
while operating in the second mode:
while access to the plurality of features is restricted, detect that one or more second criteria are satisfied [ i.e. require the user to input further authentication information such as password ] [ paragraphs 0035, 0043, 0051, and 0052 ]; and
in accordance with detecting that the one or more second criteria are satisfied, allow access to a first subset of the plurality of features while continuing to restrict access to a second subset of the plurality of features [ i.e. access to certain features may also configured or enable/disable for each user profile ] [ paragraphs 0013, 0038, and 0039 ].
Lerner does not specifically disclose
transmitting, to a second electronic device associated with the second user account, an authentication file for accessing the electronic device in the second mode; and
the one or more second criteria are satisfied including a criterion that is satisfied when the second electronic device has the authentication file and is within a threshold distance of the electronic device, the one or more second criteria different from the one or more first criteria
Goyal discloses
transmitting, to a second electronic device associated with the second user account, an authentication file for accessing the electronic device in the second mode [ i.e. the private user device may receive decryption keys from the mobile device when it is paired ] [ Figure 3; and paragraphs 0058, 0058, and 0106 ]; and
the one or more second criteria are satisfied including a criterion that is satisfied when the second electronic device has the authentication file and is within a threshold distance of the electronic device [ i.e. the mobile device may detect nearby electronic devices such as private user device, and authenticate the user of the private user device ] [ paragraphs 0097-0099 ], the one or more second criteria different from the one or more first criteria [ i.e. detect the presence of private user device and user input devices that are located near the mobile device ] [ paragraphs 0062, and 0099 ].
It would have been obvious to a person skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Lerner and Goyal because the teaching of Goyal would enable to provide access to secure content by mobile device users irrespective of the security of the environment in which the content is being consumed [ Goyal, paragraph 0001 ].
As per claim 2, Lerner discloses while operating in the first mode associated with the user account of the electronic device: while allowing access to the plurality of features, detect one or more third criteria are satisfied, the one or more third criteria different from the one or more first criteria and different form the one or more second criteria; and in accordance with detecting that the one or more third criteria are satisfied, restrict access to the plurality of features without a delay of a predetermined time period [ i.e. automatically switch to a guest user profile without additional authentication ] [ paragraphs 0015, and 0096 ]; and while operating in the second mode associated with the second user account: while allowing access to the first subset of the plurality of features, detect the one or more third criteria are satisfied; and in accordance with detecting that the one or more third criteria are satisfied, restrict access to the first subset of the plurality of features after the delay of the predetermined time period [ i.e. continue to operate in the guest user profile until a time period has expired ] [ paragraphs 0015, and 0064 ].
As per claim 3, Lerner discloses one or more input devices, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, while operating in the first mode associated with the user account of the electronic device: receive, using the one or more input devices, an input corresponding to a request to enable the second user account to access the electronic device in the second mode [ i.e. detecting an input associated with user profile ] [ Abstract; and paragraphs 0014, 0039, 0047, and 0048 ].
As per claim 4, Lerner in view of Goyal discloses the electronic device of claim 1, furthermore, Lerner discloses wherein the one or more first criteria include a criterion that is satisfied when the user account is authenticated using a first authentication modality [ paragraphs 0014, 0035, and 0039 ], and Goyal discloses the one or more second criteria include a criterion that is satisfied when the second user account is authenticated using a second authentication modality different from the first authentication modality [ paragraphs 0049, and 0055 ].
As per claim 6, Goyal discloses while operating in the second mode associated with the second user account: while connected to an internet connection, allow access to the first subset of the plurality of features; and in accordance with detecting that the internet connection is disconnected, restrict access to the first subset of the plurality of features [ i.e. outside of the area that has been designated to be a private area, activate the secure mode ] [ paragraphs 0051, and 0108 ].
As per claim 7, Goyal discloses while operating in the second mode associated with the second user account, transmit, to a second electronic device associated with a user account, an indication that the second user is accessing the electronic device in the second mode [ i.e. instruct the private user device to generate a display of the secure content ] [ 716, Figure 7A; and paragraph 0122 ].
As per claim 8, Goyal discloses a head-mounted display [ 304, Figure 3 ], wherein the one or more second criteria include a criterion that is satisfied when a mobile device associated with the second user account is in communication with the electronic device, wherein the mobile device associated with the second user account is a smartphone or a wearable device that does not include a head-mounted display [ i.e. smartphone, smartwatches ] [ paragraphs 0023 ].
10. As per claim 9, Goyal disclose wherein the mobile device is the wearable device, and the one or more second criteria include a criterion that is satisfied when a second user is wearing the wearable device [ i.e. headwear/eyewear ] [ Abstract; and paragraphs 0053, and 0054 ] and is not satisfied when the second user is not wearing the wearable device [ paragraph 0057 ].
11. As per claims 10-13, they are rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claims 1-4.
12. As per claims 15-18, they are rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claims 6-9.
13. As per claim 19, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 1.
Claim(s) 5, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lerner et al. [ US Patent Application No 2015/0113631 ], in view of Goyal [ US Patent Application No 2016/0269376 ], and further in view of Pitschel et al. [ US Patent Application No 2016/0232336 ].
As per claim 5, Lerner in view of Goyal does not specifically disclose while operating in the second mode associated with the second user account: while access to the first subset of the plurality of features is enabled, receive, from a second electronic device associated with the user account of the electronic device, an indication corresponding to a request to restrict access to the first subset of the plurality of features; and in response to receiving the indication from the second electronic device, restrict access to the first subset of the plurality of features. Pitschel discloses while operating in the second mode associated with the second user account: while access to the first subset of the plurality of features is enabled, receive, from a second electronic device associated with the user account of the electronic device, an indication corresponding to a request to restrict access to the first subset of the plurality of features; and in response to receiving the indication from the second electronic device, restrict access to the first subset of the plurality of features [ i.e. selection by supervisor ] [ Figures 3.6 -3.8; and paragraphs 0143-0153 ]. It would have been obvious to a person skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Lerner, Goyal and Pitschel because the teaching of Pitschel would enable to operate electronic devices in restricted and unrestricted modes, and to manage of restricted mode by remotely located authorization devices [ Pitschel, paragraph 0003 ].
16. As per claim 14, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 5.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang et al. [ US Patent Application No 2016/0048705 ] discloses authenticated device used to unlock another device
/DUSTIN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446