DETAILED ACTION
Summary and Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s reply filed 12/11/2025.
Claim 10 is cancelled.
Claims 24 and 25 are new.
Claims 1-6, 9, and 11-25 are pending.
Claims 1-6, 9, 11-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta (US Patent Pub 2022/0092097) in view of Zhou et al. (US Patent Pub 2025/0061286), further in view of Madisetti et al. (US Patent 12,001,462).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Gupta (US Patent Pub 2022/0092097) in view of Zhou et al. (US Patent Pub 2025/0061286), further in view of Madisetti et al. (US Patent 12,001,462), further in view of Gardner (US Patent Pub 2024/0296279).
Claim Objections
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the “augmenting” limitation “large” should not be underlined.
In the “submitting the collection” limitation, the punctuations at the end should be corrected.
In the last limitation, line 1, a comma and a space should be deleted after “prompt”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Note on Prior Art Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9, 11-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta (US Patent Pub 2022/0092097) in view of Zhou et al. (US Patent Pub 2025/0061286) (Zhou), further in view of Madisetti et al. (US Patent 12,001,462) (Madisetti).
In regards to claim 1, Gupta discloses a method performed by one or more computers, the method comprising:
a. receiving, from a user, a query related to a document (Gupta at para. 0034)1;
b. submitting the document to the system to generate an outline of the document (Gupta at paras. 0024-25)2;
c. receiving a document outline of the document from the system (Gupta at para. 0024-25);
d. submitting the document to generate metadata of the document (Gupta at paras. 0032-34)3
e. receiving document metadata of the document from the system (Gupta at paras. 0032-34);
f. submitting at least a portion of the query, the document metadata, and the document outline to the system to generate a natural language response to the query based at least in part on the document metadata and the document outline (Gupta at para. 0034)4;
g. receiving the natural language response from the system (Gupta at para. 0034);
i. providing the natural language response to the user. Gupta at paras. 0034, 0047.
Gupta does not expressly disclose (1) determining a collection of candidate document sentences based on comparisons of: (i) respective embeddings of each of a plurality of sentences from the document, and (ii) an embedding of the target sentence from the natural language response, (2) submitting the collection of candidate document sentences and the target sentences from the natural language response to a fourth LLM along with a fourth prompt prompting the fourth LLM to generate, as an output of the fourth LLM, a ranking of the collection of candidate document sentences based on a respective relevance of each of the document sentences to the target sentence from the natural language response, (3) selecting one or more of the candidate document sentences as specific supporting sentences from the document that provide support for the target sentence from the natural language response based on the ranking generated using the fourth LLM, (4) augmenting the natural language response generated by the third LLM with one or more citations to the specific supporting sentences from the document that provide support for the target sentence from the natural language response, and (5) outputting the natural language response with one or more citations to the one or more specific supporting sentences from the document.
Zhou discloses a system and method for a question and answer system that utilizes LLMs to provide answers to a user provided question and to determine whether a generated answer is supported by the document context that should be used to generate the answer. Zhou at para. 0006. The method of determining whether an answer is supported includes (1) determining sentences that are similar (i.e., relevant) to the answer (i.e., target sentence) by generating embeddings for the answer and for the sentences of the context information (i.e., documents). The similarity calculation is performed between each respective pair of sentences. Zhou at Fig. 4; paras. 0046-50. (2) The similarity calculations between sentence embedding pairs are analyzed with respect to a predetermined threshold to classify (i.e., generating a ranking) sentence pairs that exceed the predetermined threshold as being sufficiently similar and therefore, provides support for the answer. Zhou at para. 0050. (3) Based on the similarity analysis (i.e., based on the ranking …) the sentences from the context information (i.e., candidate document sentences) exceeding the threshold are determined to support the answer (i.e., selecting one or more of the candidate document sentences as specific supporting sentences from the document that provide support for the target sentence). Zhou at Fig. 4; paras. 0046-50. Zhou further discloses generation of the embeddings and similarity is performed by the processor using a language model (i.e., fourth LLM). Zhou at paras. 0049-50. (4, 5) Zhou further discloses outputting a natural language answer that includes information that identifies which sentences in the natural language context information (i.e., the document) provide support for each sentence in the natural language answer. Indications of the supporting sentences are output alongside the natural language answer. Zhou at para. 0074.
Gupta and Zhou are analogous art because they are directed to the same field of endeavor of question and answer systems.
At the time before the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gupta by adding the features of (1) determining a collection of candidate document sentences based on comparisons of: (i) respective embeddings of each of a plurality of sentences from the document, and (ii) an embedding of the target sentence from the natural language response, (2) submitting the collection of candidate document sentences and the target sentences from the natural language response to a fourth LLM along with a fourth prompt prompting the fourth LLM to generate, as an output of the fourth LLM, a ranking of the collection of candidate document sentences based on a respective relevance of each of the document sentences to the target sentence from the natural language response, (3) selecting one or more of the candidate document sentences as specific supporting sentences from the document that provide support for the target sentence from the natural language response based on the ranking generated using the fourth LLM, (4) augmenting the natural language response generated by the third LLM with one or more citations to the specific supporting sentences from the document that provide support for the target sentence from the natural language response, and (5) outputting the natural language response with one or more citations to the one or more specific supporting sentences from the document., as disclosed by Zhou.
The motivation for doing so would have been to improve overall efficiency of hallucination detection. Zhou at para. 0071.
Gupta in view of Zhou does not expressly disclose (1) submitting the document to a first LLM with a first prompt to generate an outline of the document and using a second LLM with a second prompt to generate metadata of the document and a third LLM with a third prompt to generate a natural language response to the query. It is noted that Gupta does disclose using an artificial intelligence with natural language processing capabilities to generate the outline of the document and answer questions about the document in natural language. Gupta at paras. 0004, 0034. It is also noted that Gupta in view of Zhou discloses determining sentences in contextual documents that provide support for target sentences in the generated natural language answer. Zhou at paras. 0045-50. What is not specifically disclosed is using multiple LLMs to perform these steps.
Madisetti discloses a system and method that (1) utilizes a plurality of LLMs for processing documents, such as knowledge documents, and providing answers to queries pertaining to the knowledge documents. In response to a user prompt (i.e., query), the system performs similarity analysis using prompt embeddings to rank and determine the best context aware answers to return to the user along with citations from the knowledge documents. Madsetti at col. 7, lines 30-67; col. 8, lines 1-7. Madisetti expressly states “the best results are sent to the user along with citations from the knowledge documents.” Here, “citations from the knowledge documents” are interpreted as one or more specific sentences from the document.
Gupta, Zhou, and Madisetti are analogous art because they are both directed to the same field of endeavor of artificial intelligence processing of documents.
At the time before the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gupta in view of Zhou by adding the features of (1) submitting the document to a first LLM with a first prompt to generate an outline of the document and using a second LLM with a second prompt to generate metadata of the document and a third LLM with a third prompt to generate a natural language response to the query, as disclosed by Madisetti.
The motivation for doing so would have been to provide more accuracy with responses. Madisetti at col. 7, lines 30-54.
In regards to claim 2, Gupta in view of Zhou and Madisetti discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the document metadata comprises a document title, a document date, or information indicating one or more parties party to the document. Gupta at para. 0032.5
In regards to claim 3, Gupta in view of Zhou and Madisetti discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second large language model generates the document metadata based on a predetermined portion of the document. Gupta at para. 0034.6
In regards to claim 4, Gupta in view of Zhou and Madisetti discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first prompt prompts the first large language model to generate, as the outline of the document, a topic aware outline of the document. Gupta at para. 0025.7
In regards to claim 5, Gupta in view of Zhou and Madisetti discloses the method of claim 4, but does not expressly disclose further comprising: submitting the document to a fifth large language model along with a fifth prompt prompting the fifth LLM to generate a numerical outline of the document, receiving the numerical outline of the document, and submitting the numerical outline along with the query, the document metadata, and the topic aware outline to the third LLM. In particular, Gupta in view of Zhou and Madisetti does not expressly disclose a generating a “numerical outline” of the document.
As set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above, Gupta discloses using artificial intelligence with natural language processing to generate outlines of submitted documents in order to provide answers to an input question. In doing so, Gupta in view of Zhou and Madisetti discloses feeding LLMs a document outline, the query, and any additional metadata context in order to generate a response for the user’s query.
A numerical outline seems to be an outline of a document’s numerical values. Although it is unclear based on Applicant’s specification. Given this interpretation, Gupta discloses extracting entities, which can include important dates. Gupta at para. 0032. Dates are often represented with numbers. Since Gupta discloses extracting dates of a document and producing an outline of a document based on extracted information, at the time before the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gupta in view of Zhou and Madisetti by adding the features of submitting the document to a fifth large language model along with a fifth prompt prompting the fifth LLM to generate a numerical outline of the document, receiving the numerical outline of the document, and submitting the numerical outline along with the query, the document metadata, and the topic aware outline to the third LLM. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase the accuracy of a response. Madisetti at col. 7, lines 30-45.
In regards to claim 6, Gupta in view of Zhou and Madisetti discloses the method of claim 5, further comprising:
a. submitting the query to a sixth LLM along with a sixth prompt prompting the sixth LLM to transform the query to a first outline request for generate the topic aware outline of the document and into a second outline request for generating the numerical outline of the document (Gupta at para. 0024-25; Madisetti at col. 7, lines 30-54);
b. receiving the first outline request and the second outline request from the sixth LLM (Gupta at para. 0024-25; Madisetti at col. 7, lines 30-54);
c. including the first outline request in the first prompt (Gupta at para. 0024-25; Madisetti at col. 7, lines 30-6; col. 8, lines 1-6); and
d. including the second outline request in the fifth prompt. (Gupta at para. 0024-25; Madisetti at col. 7, lines 30-6; col. 8, lines 1-6)8
In regards to claim 9, Gupta in view of Zhou and Madisetti discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining a collection of candidate document sentences based on comparisons of: (i) respective embeddings of each of a plurality of sentences from the document, and (ii) an embedding of the target sentence of the natural language response comprises: determining relevance based on vector distance between embeddings of document sentences and of the target sentence. Zhou at para. 0050.9
In regards to claim 11, Gupta in view of Zhou and Madisetti discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
a. using a seventh LLM to classify the query into a first query classification of at least two possible query classifications (Madisetti at col. 7, lines 30-54);
b. determining a seventh prompt, based on the first query classification, for prompting the third LLM to generate a natural language response to the query based at least in part on the document metadata and the document outline (Madisetti at col. 7, lines 30-54); and
c. providing the seventh prompt to the third LLM. (Madisetti at col. 7, lines 30-54).10
In regards to claim 12, Gupta in view of Zhou and Madisetti discloses the method of claim 11, wherein two or more of the first LLM, the second LLM, the third LLM, the fourth LLM, the fifth LLM, the sixth LLM, and seventh LLM are a same LLM. Madisetti at col. 6, lines 53-67; col. 1, lines 1-12.11
In regards to claim 13, Gupta in view of Zhou and Madisetti discloses the method of claim 11, wherein two or more of the first LLM, the second LLM, the third LLM, the fourth LLM, the fifth LLM, , the sixth LLM, and seventh LLM are different LLMs. Madisetti at col. 6, lines 53-67; col. 1, lines 1-12.12
In regards to claim 14, Gupta in view of Zhou and Madisetti discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the document is a plurality of documents. Gupta at para. 0024.13
Claims 15-18 are essentially the same as claims 1-3, respectively, in the form of a computer readable storage media. Gupta at para. 0030. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
In regards to claim 18, Gupta discloses a system comprising:
a. one or more computers and one or more storage devices on which are stored instructions that are operable, when executed by the one or more computers, to cause the one or more computers to perform operations (Gupta at para. 0030) comprising:
i. receiving, from a user, a query related to a document (Gupta at para. 0034)14;
ii. submitting the document to the system to generate an outline of the document (Gupta at paras. 0024-25)15;
iii. receiving a document outline of the document from the system (Gupta at para. 0024-25);
iv. submitting the document to generate metadata of the document (Gupta at paras. 0032-34)16
v. receiving document metadata of the document from the system (Gupta at paras. 0032-34);
vi. submitting at least a portion of the query, the document metadata, and the document outline to the system to generate a natural language response to the query based at least in part on the document metadata and the document outline (Gupta at para. 0034)17;
vii. receiving the natural language response from the system (Gupta at para. 0034);
viii. providing the natural language response to the user. Gupta at paras. 0034, 0047.
Gupta does not expressly disclose (1) determining a collection of candidate document sentences based on comparisons of: (i) respective embeddings of each of a plurality of sentences from the document, and (ii) an embedding of the target sentence from the natural language response, (2) submitting the collection of candidate document sentences and the target sentences from the natural language response to a fourth LLM along with a fourth prompt prompting the fourth LLM to generate, as an output of the fourth LLM, a ranking of the collection of candidate document sentences based on a respective relevance of each of the document sentences to the target sentence from the natural language response, (3) selecting one or more of the candidate document sentences as specific supporting sentences from the document that provide support for the target sentence from the natural language response based on the ranking generated using the fourth LLM, (4) augmenting the natural language response generated by the third LLM with one or more citations to the specific supporting sentences from the document that provide support for the target sentence from the natural language response, and (5) outputting the natural language response with one or more citations to the one or more specific supporting sentences from the document.
Zhou discloses a system and method for a question and answer system that utilizes LLMs to provide answers to a user provided question and to determine whether a generated answer is supported by the document context that should be used to generate the answer. Zhou at para. 0006. The method of determining whether an answer is supported includes (1) determining sentences that are similar (i.e., relevant) to the answer (i.e., target sentence) by generating embeddings for the answer and for the sentences of the context information (i.e., documents). The similarity calculation is performed between each respective pair of sentences. Zhou at Fig. 4; paras. 0046-50. (2) The similarity calculations between sentence embedding pairs are analyzed with respect to a predetermined threshold to classify (i.e., generating a ranking) sentence pairs that exceed the predetermined threshold as being sufficiently similar and therefore, provides support for the answer. Zhou at para. 0050. (3) Based on the similarity analysis (i.e., based on the ranking …) the sentences from the context information (i.e., candidate document sentences) exceeding the threshold are determined to support the answer (i.e., selecting one or more of the candidate document sentences as specific supporting sentences from the document that provide support for the target sentence). Zhou at Fig. 4; paras. 0046-50. Zhou further discloses generation of the embeddings and similarity is performed by the processor using a language model (i.e., fourth LLM). Zhou at paras. 0049-50. (4, 5) Zhou further discloses outputting a natural language answer that includes information that identifies which sentences in the natural language context information (i.e., the document) provide support for each sentence in the natural language answer. Indications of the supporting sentences are output alongside the natural language answer. Zhou at para. 0074.
Gupta and Zhou are analogous art because they are directed to the same field of endeavor of question and answer systems.
At the time before the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gupta by adding the features of (1) determining a collection of candidate document sentences based on comparisons of: (i) respective embeddings of each of a plurality of sentences from the document, and (ii) an embedding of the target sentence from the natural language response, (2) submitting the collection of candidate document sentences and the target sentences from the natural language response to a fourth LLM along with a fourth prompt prompting the fourth LLM to generate, as an output of the fourth LLM, a ranking of the collection of candidate document sentences based on a respective relevance of each of the document sentences to the target sentence from the natural language response, (3) selecting one or more of the candidate document sentences as specific supporting sentences from the document that provide support for the target sentence from the natural language response based on the ranking generated using the fourth LLM, (4) augmenting the natural language response generated by the third LLM with one or more citations to the specific supporting sentences from the document that provide support for the target sentence from the natural language response, and (5) outputting the natural language response with one or more citations to the one or more specific supporting sentences from the document., as disclosed by Zhou.
The motivation for doing so would have been to improve overall efficiency of hallucination detection. Zhou at para. 0071.
Gupta in view of Zhou does not expressly disclose (1) submitting the document to a first LLM with a first prompt to generate an outline of the document and using a second LLM with a second prompt to generate metadata of the document and a third LLM with a third prompt to generate a natural language response to the query. It is noted that Gupta does disclose using an artificial intelligence with natural language processing capabilities to generate the outline of the document and answer questions about the document in natural language. Gupta at paras. 0004, 0034. It is also noted that Gupta in view of Zhou discloses determining sentences in contextual documents that provide support for target sentences in the generated natural language answer. Zhou at paras. 0045-50. What is not specifically disclosed is using multiple LLMs to perform these steps.
Madisetti discloses a system and method that (1) utilizes a plurality of LLMs for processing documents, such as knowledge documents, and providing answers to queries pertaining to the knowledge documents. In response to a user prompt (i.e., query), the system performs similarity analysis using prompt embeddings to rank and determine the best context aware answers to return to the user along with citations from the knowledge documents. Madsetti at col. 7, lines 30-67; col. 8, lines 1-7. Madisetti expressly states “the best results are sent to the user along with citations from the knowledge documents.” Here, “citations from the knowledge documents” are interpreted as one or more specific sentences from the document.
Gupta, Zhou, and Madisetti are analogous art because they are both directed to the same field of endeavor of artificial intelligence processing of documents.
At the time before the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gupta in view of Zhou by adding the features of (1) submitting the document to a first LLM with a first prompt to generate an outline of the document and using a second LLM with a second prompt to generate metadata of the document and a third LLM with a third prompt to generate a natural language response to the query, as disclosed by Madisetti.
The motivation for doing so would have been to provide more accuracy with responses. Madisetti at col. 7, lines 30-54.
Claims 19 and 20 are essentially the same as claims 2 and 3, respectively, in the form of a system. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
In regards to claims 21-23, Gupta in view of Zhou and Madisetti discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the specific sentences from the document comprise less than ten sentences, less than five sentences, or less than three sentences. It is noted that Madisetti does discloses returning a citation from the knowledge documents to the user and the citation is interpreted as at least one sentence in the knowledge document. Zhou also discloses identifying at least one sentence corresponding to the answer (i.e., specific sentences … that provide support for the target sentence). Accordingly, the combination of Gupta in view of Zhou and Madisetti discloses providing citations to at least one sentence from the documents that provide support for the target sentence.
In regards to claim 25, Gupta discloses a method performed by one or more computers, the method comprising:
a. receiving, from a user, a query related to a document (Gupta at para. 0034)18;
b. submitting the document to the system to generate an outline of the document (Gupta at paras. 0024-25)19, wherein the outline of the document is a topic aware outline of the document (Gupta at para. 0025)20
c. receiving a document outline of the document from the system (Gupta at para. 0024-25);
d. submitting the document to generate metadata of the document (Gupta at paras. 0032-34)21
e. receiving document metadata of the document from the system (Gupta at paras. 0032-34);
f. submitting at least a portion of the query, the document metadata, and the document outline to the system to generate a natural language response to the query based at least in part on the document metadata and the document outline (Gupta at para. 0034)22;
g. receiving the natural language response from the system (Gupta at para. 0034);
i. providing the natural language response to the user. Gupta at paras. 0034, 0047.
Gupta does not expressly disclose (1) determining a collection of candidate document sentences based on comparisons of: (i) respective embeddings of each of a plurality of sentences from the document, and (ii) an embedding of the target sentence from the natural language response, (2) submitting the collection of candidate document sentences and the target sentences from the natural language response to a fourth LLM along with a fourth prompt prompting the fourth LLM to generate, as an output of the fourth LLM, a ranking of the collection of candidate document sentences based on a respective relevance of each of the document sentences to the target sentence from the natural language response, (3) selecting one or more of the candidate document sentences as specific supporting sentences from the document that provide support for the target sentence from the natural language response based on the ranking generated using the fourth LLM, (4) augmenting the natural language response generated by the third LLM with one or more citations to the specific supporting sentences from the document that provide support for the target sentence from the natural language response, and (5) outputting the natural language response with one or more citations to the one or more specific supporting sentences from the document.
Zhou discloses a system and method for a question and answer system that utilizes LLMs to provide answers to a user provided question and to determine whether a generated answer is supported by the document context that should be used to generate the answer. Zhou at para. 0006. The method of determining whether an answer is supported includes (1) determining sentences that are similar (i.e., relevant) to the answer (i.e., target sentence) by generating embeddings for the answer and for the sentences of the context information (i.e., documents). The similarity calculation is performed between each respective pair of sentences. Zhou at Fig. 4; paras. 0046-50. (2) The similarity calculations between sentence embedding pairs are analyzed with respect to a predetermined threshold to classify (i.e., generating a ranking) sentence pairs that exceed the predetermined threshold as being sufficiently similar and therefore, provides support for the answer. Zhou at para. 0050. (3) Based on the similarity analysis (i.e., based on the ranking …) the sentences from the context information (i.e., candidate document sentences) exceeding the threshold are determined to support the answer (i.e., selecting one or more of the candidate document sentences as specific supporting sentences from the document that provide support for the target sentence). Zhou at Fig. 4; paras. 0046-50. Zhou further discloses generation of the embeddings and similarity is performed by the processor using a language model (i.e., fourth LLM). Zhou at paras. 0049-50. (4, 5) Zhou further discloses outputting a natural language answer that includes information that identifies which sentences in the natural language context information (i.e., the document) provide support for each sentence in the natural language answer. Indications of the supporting sentences are output alongside the natural language answer. Zhou at para. 0074.
Gupta and Zhou are analogous art because they are directed to the same field of endeavor of question and answer systems.
At the time before the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gupta by adding the features of (1) determining a collection of candidate document sentences based on comparisons of: (i) respective embeddings of each of a plurality of sentences from the document, and (ii) an embedding of the target sentence from the natural language response, (2) submitting the collection of candidate document sentences and the target sentences from the natural language response to a fourth LLM along with a fourth prompt prompting the fourth LLM to generate, as an output of the fourth LLM, a ranking of the collection of candidate document sentences based on a respective relevance of each of the document sentences to the target sentence from the natural language response, (3) selecting one or more of the candidate document sentences as specific supporting sentences from the document that provide support for the target sentence from the natural language response based on the ranking generated using the fourth LLM, (4) augmenting the natural language response generated by the third LLM with one or more citations to the specific supporting sentences from the document that provide support for the target sentence from the natural language response, and (5) outputting the natural language response with one or more citations to the one or more specific supporting sentences from the document., as disclosed by Zhou.
The motivation for doing so would have been to improve overall efficiency of hallucination detection. Zhou at para. 0071.
Gupta in view of Zhou does not expressly disclose (1) submitting the document to a first LLM with a first prompt to generate an outline of the document and using a second LLM with a second prompt to generate metadata of the document and a third LLM with a third prompt to generate a natural language response to the query, (2) submitting the query to a sixth LLM along with a sixth prompt prompting the sixth LLM model to transform the query into a first outline request for generate the topic aware outline of the document, receiving the first outline request from the sixth LLM and including the first outline request in the first prompt, and (3) wherein the first LLM, the second LLM, the third LLM, the fourth LLM, the fifth LLM, and the sixth LLM are selected based on one or more of latency, maximum content window size, accuracy of results, quality of results, or resource usage. It is noted that Gupta does disclose using an artificial intelligence with natural language processing capabilities to generate the outline of the document and answer questions about the document in natural language (i.e., outline request). Gupta at paras. 0004, 0034. It is also noted that Gupta in view of Zhou discloses determining sentences in contextual documents that provide support for target sentences in the generated natural language answer. Zhou at paras. 0045-50. What is not specifically disclosed is using multiple LLMs to perform these steps and selecting the LLMs based on one or more of the listed criteria.
Madisetti discloses a system and method that (1) utilizes a plurality of LLMs for processing documents, such as knowledge documents, and providing answers to queries pertaining to the knowledge documents. In response to a user prompt (i.e., query), the system performs similarity analysis using prompt embeddings to rank and determine the best context aware answers to return to the user along with citations from the knowledge documents. Madsetti at col. 7, lines 30-67; col. 8, lines 1-7. Madisetti expressly states “the best results are sent to the user along with citations from the knowledge documents.” Here, “citations from the knowledge documents” are interpreted as one or more specific sentences from the document. Madisetti further discloses choosing LLMs based on their levels of accuracy and workload of the models. Madisetti at col. 3, lines 30-37.
Gupta, Zhou, and Madisetti are analogous art because they are both directed to the same field of endeavor of artificial intelligence processing of documents.
At the time before the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gupta in view of Zhou by adding the features of (1) submitting the document to a first LLM with a first prompt to generate an outline of the document and using a second LLM with a second prompt to generate metadata of the document and a third LLM with a third prompt to generate a natural language response to the query, (2) submitting the query to a sixth LLM along with a sixth prompt prompting the sixth LLM model to transform the query into a first outline request for generate the topic aware outline of the document, receiving the first outline request from the sixth LLM and including the first outline request in the first prompt, and (3) wherein the first LLM, the second LLM, the third LLM, the fourth LLM, the fifth LLM, and the sixth LLM are selected based on one or more of latency, maximum content window size, accuracy of results, quality of results, or resource usage, as disclosed by Madisetti.
The motivation for doing so would have been to provide more accuracy with responses. Madisetti at col. 7, lines 30-54.
Gupta in view of Zhou and Madisetti does not expressly disclose further comprising: submitting the document to a fifth large language model along with a fifth prompt prompting the fifth LLM to generate a numerical outline of the document, receiving the numerical outline of the document, and submitting the numerical outline along with the query, the document metadata, and the topic aware outline to the third LLM, submitting the query to the sixth LLM with the sixth prompt to generate a second outline request for generating the numerical outline of the document, receiving the second outline request from the sixth LLM, and including the second outline request in the fifth prompt. In particular, Gupta in view of Zhou and Madisetti does not expressly disclose a generating a “numerical outline” of the document. As explained above, Gupta discloses requesting generation of outlines of a document including a topic aware outline. As discussed further below, Gupta seems to disclose subject matter that is a numerical outline. Madisetti, as discussed above, utilizes multiple LLMs of varying levels of accuracy and particular tasks to generate an answer about a document to the user. Madisetti at col. 7, lines 30-67; col. 8, lines 1-6. This includes using an LLM to perform a particular task as needed, such as generating outlines, which can be used in a subsequent prompt to another LLM in sequence. Madisetti at Fig. 14.
As set forth above, Gupta discloses using artificial intelligence with natural language processing to generate outlines of submitted documents in order to provide answers to an input question. In doing so, Gupta in view of Zhou and Madisetti discloses feeding LLMs a document outline, the query, and any additional metadata context in order to generate a response for the user’s query.
A numerical outline seems to be an outline of a document’s numerical values. Although it is unclear based on Applicant’s specification. Given this interpretation, Gupta discloses extracting entities, which can include important dates. Gupta at para. 0032. Dates are often represented with numbers. Since Gupta discloses extracting dates of a document and producing an outline of a document based on extracted information, at the time before the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gupta in view of Zhou and Madisetti by adding the features of submitting the document to a fifth large language model along with a fifth prompt prompting the fifth LLM to generate a numerical outline of the document, receiving the numerical outline of the document, and submitting the numerical outline along with the query, the document metadata, and the topic aware outline to the third LLM, submitting the query to the sixth LLM with the sixth prompt to generate a second outline request for generating the numerical outline of the document, receiving the second outline request from the sixth LLM, and including the second outline request in the fifth prompt, for the reasons discussed above.
The motivation for doing so would have been to increase the accuracy of a response. Madisetti at col. 7, lines 30-45.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta (US Patent Pub 2022/0092097) in view of Zhou et al. (US Patent Pub 2025/0061286) (Zhou), further in view of Madisetti et al. (US Patent 12,001,462) (Madisetti), further in view of Gardner (US Patent Pub 2024/0296279).
In regards to claim 24, Gupta in view of Zhou and Madisetti discloses the method of claim 1, wherein augmenting the natural language response generated by the third large language model with one or more citations to the specific supporting sentences from the document that provide support for the target sentence from the natural language response; and outputting the natural language response with the one or more citations to the one or more specific supporting sentences from the document, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above, but does not expressly disclose presenting one or more citations as interactive hyperlinks in the outputted natural language response that, when selected, navigate to and highlight the corresponding specific supporting sentences in the document. It is noted that Gupta discloses outline elements having reference links, which when selected, navigate the user to the corresponding section of the document. Gupta at para. 0039.
Gardner discloses a system and method of enhancing responses by document based large language models. The system provides for natural language responses based on data items, such as documents, to the user. The natural language responses are produced by one or more large language models and contain one or more citations that are presented as hyperlinks to a cited portion of a data item. Gardner at paras. 0035-36, 0039-40, 0085. Gardner also discloses showing a quote of the relevant portion (i.e., highlights). Gardner at para. 0092.
Gupta, Zhou, Madisetti, and Gardner are analogous art because they are directed to the same field of endeavor of model based document processing.
At the time before the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Gupta in view of Zhou and Madisetti by adding the features of presenting one or more citations as interactive hyperlinks in the outputted natural language response that, when selected, navigate to and highlight the corresponding specific supporting sentences in the document, as disclosed by Gardner.
The motivation for doing so would have been to mitigate hallucinations and enhance user confidence in the AI Model answers. Gardner at para. 0080.
Response to Arguments
Rejection of claims 1-6 and 9-23 under 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant’s arguments in regards to the rejections to claims 1-6 and 9-23 under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to claim 1, Applicant alleges Gupta in view of Zhou and Madisetti fails to disclose (1) “determining a collection of candidate document sentences based on comparisons of: (i) respective embeddings of each of a plurality of sentences from the document, and (ii) an embedding of the target sentence from the natural language response” and (2) “submitting the collection of candidate document sentences and the target sentence from the natural language response to a fourth large language model along with a fourth prompt prompting the fourth large language model to generate, … a ranking of the collection of the candidate document sentences based on a respective relevance of each of the candidate document sentences to the target sentence from the natural language response.” Remarks at 13. In regards to both limitations, Applicant argues while Zhou discloses sentence similarity calculations using embeddings and thresholds to identify hallucinated content, Zhou does not teach using a fourth LLM to generate a ranking of the collection of candidate document sentences based on a respective relevance of each of the candidate document sentences to the target sentence from the natural language response for the purpose of augmenting a natural language response with citations to supporting sentences. Remarks at 13. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner is required to give claim limitations their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification. However, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. MPEP 2111.
Applicant acknowledges Zhou discloses sentence similarity calculations using sentence embeddings, but does not address that Zhou discloses performing the embedding based similarity calculations using a processor that utilizes a language model, such as GPT, which is an LLM. Zhou at paras. 0049-50. These types of LLMs require use of prompts. Thus, Zhou does disclose using an LLM (i.e., fourth LLM) to generate a ranking of the collection of candidate document sentences as claimed. Moreover, Madisetti discloses a plurality of LLMs, each with various optimizations for different tasks, such as sentence similarity. Madisetti at col. 7, lines 40-45. Madisetti also discloses generating embeddings using embedding models. Madisetti at col. 7, lines 55-65. Therefore, even if Zhou did not disclose use of an LLM to perform the embedding based similarity, Madisetti would make up for the deficiency. For at least these reasons, Gupta in view of Zhou and Madisetti discloses limitations (1) and (2).
Applicant does not present additional arguments with regards to the remaining limitations. Therefore, Examiner asserts the cited prior art discloses all the limitations of claim 1 for the reasons explained above. In regards to the remaining claims, Applicant refers to the arguments presented in regards to claim 1, which are addressed above. Consequently, the rejection to claims 1-6 and 9-23 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained.
Additional Prior Art
Additional relevant prior art are listed on the attached PTO-892 form. Some examples are:
Khosla et al. (US Patent Pub 2025/0005057) discloses a system and method for processing natural language queries using LLMs.
Zhouludev et al. (US Patent Pub 2019/0213221) discloses a system and method for linking documents using citations.
Schafer et al. (US Patent 11,620,441) discloses a system and method for inserting citations into a textual document.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL LE/Examiner, Art Unit 2163
/TONY MAHMOUDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2163
1 A user submits a question (i.e., query) related to a document.
2 Documents are submitted to the system to generate outlines for them.
3 The system extracts entities of the document, such as dates and important clauses (i.e., metadata).
4 The extracted entity information and outline are used by the system to generate an answer to a question in the given context.
5 Extracted entities include important dates (i.e., a document date).
6 The system searches a document outline with the hierarchical structure for entities based on a predefined configuration to search a section (i.e., predetermined portion of the document).
7 The outline is based on topics detected in the document (i.e., topic aware document).
8 Madisetti discloses deriving prompts based on a user’s input prompt. This is interpreted as transforming the query into various prompts for appropriate LLMs, such as for creating a first outline and for creating a second outline, such as outline requests disclosed by Gupta.
9 The similarity between embeddings is interpreted as using vector distance since the embeddings are vectors.
10 Madisetti discloses deriving prompts from a user’s query. The prompts are derived based on different categories (i.e., at least two possible query classifications). Each LLM receives a different type of prompt and thus requires a different derived prompt. The system determines which prompt to derive based on the user’s query (i.e., classify the query into a first query classification; determining a seventh prompt based on the first query classification).
11 Various LLMs in the hLLM family can be used. Each can be trained on different training sets or not. This makes two or more the same or different.
12 Various LLMs in the hLLM family can be used. Each can be trained on different training sets or not. This makes two or more the same or different.
13 A plurality of documents can be uploaded to the system.
14 A user submits a question (i.e., query) related to a document
15 Documents are submitted to the system to generate outlines for them.
16 The system extracts entities of the document, such as dates and important clauses (i.e., metadata).
17 The extracted entity information and outline are used by the system to generate an answer to a question in the given context.
18 A user submits a question (i.e., query) related to a document.
19 Documents are submitted to the system to generate outlines for them.
20 The outline is based on topics detected in the document (i.e., topic aware document).
21 The system extracts entities of the document, such as dates and important clauses (i.e., metadata).
22 The extracted entity information and outline are used by the system to generate an answer to a question in the given context.