DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 4 - 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bresina (US 2003/0105527 A1) in view of Glerum (US 2011/0172716 A1) and in view of Metz-Stavenhagen (US 2006/0058879 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bresina discloses a containment device (ref. 150) for placement in a graft chamber (fig. 3A, ref. 134) of an interbody cage (Fig. 3A, ref. 100) for implantation between two vertebrae (Fig. 22) comprising a containment body (Fig. 3A, ref. 150) sized and configured to be inserted fully within the graft chamber (Fig. 3A), but is silent that the containment body comprises one or more telescopic modular components being height adjustable.
Glerum teaches an anomalous device (Abstract) comprising a height adjustable containment device (Fig. 3C, ref. 24a and/or 24b, paragraph [0012]) configured to hold material (paragraph [0026]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the containment device of Bresina to be height adjustable, as taught by Glerum, for the purpose of facilitating arthrodesis or fusion (Glerum, paragraph [0012]).
The height adjustable device of Bresina in view of Glerum is height adjustable, but not telescopic. Metz-Stavenhagen teaches a vertebral implant (Abstract) comprising a telescopic height adjustable containment device (refs. 14, 16, paragraph [0022]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the height adjustment mechanism of Bresina in view of Glerum to be telescopic rather than rotationally driven, as taught by Metz-Stavenhagen for the purpose of simpler, faster and more predictable in-situ adjustment of the containment device.
Regarding claim 2, Bresina in view of Glerum and in view of Metz-Stavenhagen discloses the containment device of claim 1, wherein the containment body comprises a plurality of telescoping modular components, at least one of the plurality of telescopic modular components comprising PEEK or titanium (Glerum, paragraph [0063]).
Regarding claim 4, Bresina in view of Glerum and in view of Metz-Stavenhagen discloses the containment device of claim 1, wherein the containment body occupies less than the volume of the graft chamber (Bresina, Fig. 3B, please note that because the interbody cage is not positively recited this is treated as an intended use limitation).
Regarding claim 5, Bresina in view of Glerum and in view of Metz-Stavenhagen discloses the containment device of claim 4, wherein a remaining portion of a volume of the graft chamber not occupied by the containment body is filled with a second bone growth enhancement material which hardens into a non-flowable second bone growth enhancement material which is retained by the containment device within the graft chamber (because the interbody cage and thus the graft chamber are not positively recited, they are not considered to be part of the claimed invention. Therefore, the graft chamber is fully capable of being filled with a second bone growth enhancement material because it accessible and open as shown in Fig. 3B of Bresina).
Claim(s) 3, 8 - 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bresina (US 2003/0105527 A1) in view of Glerum (US 2011/0172716 A1) and in view of Metz-Stavenhagen (US 2006/0058879 A1) and in view of Suh et al. (US 2020/0197565 A1) and in view of Lynn et al. (US 2018/0344483 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Bresina in view of Glerum and in view of Metz-Stavenhagen discloses containment device of claim 1, wherein the containment body comprises a first, non-flowable material (Glerum, Fig. 3C, ref. 38 and paragraph [0026] which discloses a variety of material such as bone graft and in addition the material of the containment device itself is considered a non-flowable material), the containment body having at least one opening therein (Glerum, paragraph [0026] discloses an opening to receive the material), but does not disclose a second, flowable material positioned within the at least one opening, wherein the second, flowable material hardens into a non-flowable material in situ.
Suh teaches an anomalous device comprising a containment body (ref. 820) with a flowable material position within (paragraph [0076] discloses the use of silicon nitride paste placed within a graft chamber). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the containment body to include a second material, specifically silicon nitride, as taught by Suh for the purpose of biocompatibility, osseointegration and bacteria resistant properties (paragraph [0082]). It is noted that silicon nitride can harden in-situ, however this is not specifically disclosed by Suh.
Lynn teaches a biomedical implant (Abstract) configured to be used with a flowable material (paragraph [0111]) that hardens in-situ (paragraph [0125] discloses that the material can flow to the exterior of the implant to aid in fusion with the vertebrae, thus hardening in-situ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bresina in view of Glerum and in view of Metz-Stavenhagen and in view of Suh to include the second material particles to the silicon nitride which is initially flowable and then hardens into a non-flowable material, as taught by Lynn, for the purpose of better aiding in fusion.
Regarding claim 8, Bresina in view of Glerum discloses the containment device of claim 1, except wherein the containment body comprises silicon nitride formulation having active antibacterial and osteogenic elution properties (self-admitted by application that silicon nitride has these properties).
Suh teaches an anomalous device comprising a containment body (ref. 820) with a flowable material position within (paragraph [0076] discloses the use of silicon nitride paste placed within a graft chamber). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the containment body to include a second material, specifically silicon nitride, as taught by Suh for the purpose of biocompatibility, osseointegration and bacteria resistant properties (paragraph [0082]).
Regarding claim 9, Bresina in view of Glerum and in view of Suh and in view of Lynn discloses the containment device of claim 3, wherein the containment body comprises a hollow, cylindrical structure (Glerum, Fig. 3C), but is silent that it is made of a polymeric or metallic material which contains the second, flowable material therein. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to to form the containment body from a polymeric or metallic material for their bio-safe properties and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 10, Bresina in view of Glerum and in view of Suh and in view of LYnn discloses the containment device of claim 3, wherein the second, flowable material comprises a silicon nitride putty (Suh, paragraph [0077]).
Claim(s) 6 – 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bresina (US 2003/0105527 A1) in view of Glerum (US 2011/0172716 A1) and in view of Metz-Stavenhagen (US 2006/0058879 A1) and in view of Soo et al. (US 2014/0287018 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Bresina in view of Glerum and in view of Metz-Stavenhagen discloses the containment device of claim 1, wherein the containment body includes a first generally planar upper surface (Glerum, Fig. 4, ref. 46) which is configured to engage with a first bone surface of a first vertebral body and a second generally planar lower surface (Glerum, Fig. 4, ref. 47) which is configured to engage with a second bone surface of a second vertebral body, wherein the first generally planar upper surface and the second generally planar lower surface impart osteogenic properties to the first and second bone surfaces (the bone growth inducing substances impart osteogenic properties), but does not disclose imparting bacteriogenic properties.
Soo teaches implant associated materials (Abstract) comprising silver particles used with the materials due to their antibacterial properties (paragraph [0057]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Bresina in view of Glerum and in view of Metz-Stavenhagen to use the silver particles in the containment body, as taught by Soo, for the purpose of their antibacterial properties.
Regarding claim 7, Bresina in view of Glerum and in view of Metz-Stavenhagen discloses the containment device of claim 6, wherein the first generally planar upper surface is generally coplanar with a first generally planar upper surface of the cage and the second generally planar lower surface is generally coplanar with a second generally planar lower surface of the cage at all height adjustable positions of the one or more telescopic modular components (Bresina as modified by Glerum shows a cage and the containment device having bottom and top surfaces with are generally parallel and thus coplanar, in addition because the cage is not positively recited this limitation is treated as a functional limitation wherein an expandable cage would function in such a manner that the containment body height would match the cage height).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TESSA M MATTHEWS/Examiner, Art Unit 3773