DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claims filed on July 30, 2026 for the application filed March 20, 2024 which claims priority to a provisional application filed on June 4, 2023. Claims 1-28 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Eligibility Step 1:
Under step 1 of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, claims 1-25 and 28 are directed towards a computer system (i.e. a machine), which is a statutory category. Claim 26 is directed towards a non-transitory computer-readable medium (i.e. a manufacture), which is a statutory category. Claim 27 is directed towards a method (i.e. a process), which is a statutory category. Since the claims are directed toward statutory categories, it must be determined if the claims are directed towards a judicial exception (i.e. a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea). In the instant application, the claims are directed towards an abstract idea.
Eligibility Step 2A, Prong One:
Under step 2A, prong one of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, independent claims 1, 26 and 27 are determined to be directed to an judicial exception because an abstract idea is recited in the claims which fall within the subject matter groupings of abstract ideas. The abstract idea (identified in bold) recited in the representative claim 1 is identified as:
A computer system configured to communicate with one or more display generation components and one or more input devices, comprising:
one or more processors; and
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
receiving functional threshold power information corresponding to a user;
subsequent to receiving the functional threshold power information corresponding to the user, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first user input corresponding to a request to initiate a workout session corresponding to a first workout; and
in response to receiving the first user input:
displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a first workout metrics user interface that includes a first set of workout metrics corresponding to the first workout wherein:
the first workout metrics user interface includes representations of a plurality of power zones including a first power zone and a second power zone different from the first power zone; and
the first power zone is representative of a first range of power zone values, wherein:
in accordance with a determination that a first number of power zones is selected to be displayed in the first workout metrics user interface, a maximum value of the first range of power zone values is a first value, wherein the first value is determined based on the functional threshold power information corresponding to the user and the first number of power zones; and
in accordance with a determination that a second number of power zones different from the first number of power zones is selected to be displayed in the first workout metrics user interface, the maximum value of the first range of power zone values is a second value different from the first value, wherein the second value is determined based on the functional threshold power information corresponding to the user and the second number of power zones.
The identified limitations all within the subject matter grouping of certain methods of organizing human activity related and the sub grouping of managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). The claims recite the human activity of providing power zone information for a workout which is routinely performed by both individuals performing the workout and coaches of the individual, especially in the sports of running, cycling and swimming. For example, a coach can receive FTP information of a client, receive an indication of a client initiating a workout session, provide the person with workout metrics which include power zones determined based on the person’s FTP and a selected power zone method or number of zones. Furthermore, certain activity between a person and a computer (for example a method of anonymous loan shopping that a person conducts using a mobile phone) may fall within the "certain methods of organizing human activity" grouping.
Accordingly, claims 1, 26 and 27 recite an abstract idea under step 2A, prong one.
Eligibility Step 2A, Prong Two:
Under step 2A, prong two of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, it must be determined whether the identified abstract ideas are integrated into a practical application. After evaluation, there is no indication that any additional elements or combination of elements integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, such as through: an additional element that reflects an improvement to the functioning of a computer, or an improvements to any other technology or technical field; an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition; an additional element that implements the judicial exception with, or uses the judicial exception in connection with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim; an additional element that effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; or an additional element that applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. As shown below, the additional elements, other than the abstract idea per se, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, amount to no more than a recitation of: generally linking the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use; insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and/or adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea as evidenced below.
The additional elements recited in representative claim 1 are identified in italics as:
A computer system configured to communicate with one or more display generation components and one or more input devices, comprising:
one or more processors; and
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
receiving functional threshold power information corresponding to a user;
subsequent to receiving the functional threshold power information corresponding to the user, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first user input corresponding to a request to initiate a workout session corresponding to a first workout; and
in response to receiving the first user input:
displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a first workout metrics user interface that includes a first set of workout metrics corresponding to the first workout wherein:
the first workout metrics user interface includes representations of a plurality of power zones including a first power zone and a second power zone different from the first power zone; and
the first power zone is representative of a first range of power zone values, wherein:
in accordance with a determination that a first number of power zones is selected to be displayed in the first workout metrics user interface, a maximum value of the first range of power zone values is a first value, wherein the first value is determined based on the functional threshold power information corresponding to the user and the first number of power zones; and
in accordance with a determination that a second number of power zones different from the first number of power zones is selected to be displayed in the first workout metrics user interface, the maximum value of the first range of power zone values is a second value different from the first value, wherein the second value is determined based on the functional threshold power information corresponding to the user and the second number of power zones.
The additional limitations are determined to be mere instructions to apply an abstract idea under MPEP §2106.05(f). The computer system, processors, memory, display generation component, input devices and user interface are recited at a high level of generality, used in their ordinary capacity and are merely used to implement the abstract idea. Therefore, these additional elements amount to no more than a recitation of the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) or no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on a computer or no more than merely using a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea.
Accordingly, claims 1, 26 and 27 do not recite additional elements which integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Eligibility Step 2B:
Under step 2B of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, it must be determined whether provide an inventive concept by determining if the claims include additional elements or a combination of elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. After evaluation, there is no indication that an additional element or combination of elements are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional limitations are determined to be mere instructions to apply an abstract idea under MPEP §2106.05(f) which does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Furthermore, looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements amounts to an inventive concept.
Dependent Claims:
The dependent claims merely present additional abstract information in tandem with further details regarding the elements from the independent claims and are, therefore, directed to an abstract idea for similar reasons as given above. None of these limitations are deemed to integrate the claims into a practical application or to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea as detailed below.
Claims 2-5 are encompassed by the abstract idea as they merely recite details of the power zones, values thereof and their calculation, such as calculating using formulas re-calculating when the number of zones is changed.
Claims 6-9 recite steps for editing the power zones, which is encompassed by the abstract idea implemented on a user interface which is mere instructions to apply an abstract idea under MPEP §2106.05(f). The additional limitations of the reset button which is conditionally displayed or disabled based on user input are determined to be well-understood routine and conventional user interface techniques under step 2B as evidenced by Power Apps.
Claims 10-14 and 16-17 are determined to be encompassed by the abstract idea as they are directed towards how the FTP is determined. The term “automatically” is determined to be mere instructions to apply an abstract idea under MPEP §2106.05(f).
Claim 15 recites the abstract idea of receiving FTP information and calculating power zone ranges based on the FTP. The additional elements of the selectable option to perform the calculating is determined to be mere instructions to apply an abstract idea under MPEP §2106.05(f). Conditionally displaying the selectable option is determined to be well-understood routine and conventional user interface techniques under step 2B as evidenced by Power Apps
Claims 18 is determined to be encompassed by the abstract idea of providing FTP and power zone information to a user.
Claim 19-21 are determined to be encompassed by the abstract idea of updating a FTP. The additional element of displaying the first object based on settings is determined to be mere instructions to apply an abstract idea under MPEP §2106.05(f).
Claims 22-25 are determined to be encompassed by the abstract idea of updating FTP’s, power zones and power values based on estimated FTP and the selected number of power zones. The additional elements of “automatic FTP updates” are determined to be mere instructions to apply an abstract idea under MPEP §2106.05(f).
Claim 28 recites the abstract idea receiving current power output of a user while displaying workout metrics to display an indication that the user is in a respective power zone in accordance with the determined maximum values of the power zones and the current power output being above or below the maximum values of the power zones, which similar to claim 1, is the human activity of providing power zone metric information for a user during a workout which is routinely performed by both individuals performing the workout and coaches of the individual, especially in the sports of running, cycling and swimming. The additional elements of the user interface, computer system and display generation components are determined to be mere instructions to apply an abstract idea under MPEP §2106.05(f).
Therefore, whether taken individually or as an ordered combination, 1-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10-14, 16-17 and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garmin (Forerunner 965 Watch Owners Manual) in view of TrainingPeaks (TrainingPeaks; How to Update Power and Heart Zones and add Zones).
Regarding Claim 1, Garmin discloses a computer system configured to communicate with one or more display generation components and one or more input devices (Pages 7-8 show an discuss the Forerunner 965 Watch having touchscreen and buttons for receiving input and displaying information.), comprising:
one or more processors (Pages 7-8 and 111 discuss the Forerunner 965 Watch having memory and executable software, which inherently includes a CPU.); and
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for (Pages 7-8 and 111 discuss the Forerunner 965 Watch having memory and executable software, which inherently includes a CPU to execute the software.):
receiving functional threshold power information corresponding to a user (Page 29, Functional threshold power (FTP): The watch uses your user profile information from the initial setup to estimate your FTP. For a more accurate rating, you can conduct a guided test (Getting Your FTP Estimate, page 32). Page 79, If you know your functional threshold power (FTP) or threshold power (TP) value, you can enter it.);
subsequent to receiving the functional threshold power information corresponding to the user, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a first user input corresponding to a request to initiate a workout session corresponding to a first workout (Page 9, Your watch can be used for indoor, outdoor, athletic, and fitness activities. When you start an activity, the watch displays and records sensor data. 1 From the watch face, press START. 2 Select an option: ● Select an activity from your favorites. ● Select , and select an activity from the extended activity list. 4 Press START to start the activity timer. The watch records activity data only while the activity timer is running.); and
in response to receiving the first user input:
displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a first workout metrics user interface that includes a first set of workout metrics corresponding to the first workout (Page 9, When you start an activity, the watch displays and records sensor data. Page 97, You can show, hide, and change the layout and content of data screens for each activity. Select Data Fields, and select a field to change the data that appears in the field. See pages 117-125 for selectable data fields to display, which include workout metrics.), wherein:
the first workout metrics user interface includes representations of a plurality of power zones including a first power zone and a second power zone different from the first power zone (Page 118, Power Gauge: A color gauge showing your current power zone. Page 122, Power Zone: The current range of power output (1 to 7) based on your FTP or custom settings. Also see page 73 showing a color gauge having multiple zones and page 79 discussing the power zones.); and
the first power zone is representative of a first range of power zone values (Page 79 discusses that each zone is based on a percentage of FTP.), wherein:
Garmin further discloses setting your power zones for display on the power gauge, wherein a maximum value of the first range of power zone values is a value determined based on the functional threshold power information corresponding to the user (Pages 75, 79, 97, 118 and 122), but does not appear to explicitly disclose in accordance with a determination that a first number of power zones is selected to be displayed in the first workout metrics user interface, a maximum value of the first range of power zone values is a first value, wherein the first value is determined based on the functional threshold power information corresponding to the user and the first number of power zones; or in accordance with a determination that a second number of power zones different from the first number of power zones is selected to be displayed in the first workout metrics user interface, the maximum value of the first range of power zone values is a second value different from the first value, wherein the second value is determined based on the functional threshold power information corresponding to the user and the second number of power zones.
TrainingPeaks teaches that it was old and well known in the art of fitness tracking at the time of the filing that in accordance with a determination that a first number of power zones is selected, a maximum value of the first range of power zone values is a first value, wherein the first value is determined based on the functional threshold power information corresponding to the user and the first number of power zones; and in accordance with a determination that a second number of power zones different from the first number of power zones is selected, the maximum value of the first range of power zone values is a second value different from the first value, wherein the second value is determined based on the functional threshold power information corresponding to the user and the second number of power zones (TraingPeaks; How to Update Power and Heart Zones and Add Zones timestamps 2:17-4:25 shows selecting the number of power zones based on different calculation methods (i.e. Andy Coggan (6), Durata Training (8), CTS (5), USAT for Cycling (6), 80/20 Cycling (7), MyProCoach Cycling (5) at timestamp 2:48) such that the a first range of the power zones have a maximum value dependent on the number of zones/calculation method selected which is determined based on the a percentage of functional threshold power specified by the selected calculation method. It is also shown that a number of power zones may be selected by adding and removing power zones. Because the number of power zones/method defines percentage of FTP ranges for each power zone, the maximum value of the first zone is determined based on the user FTP and the corresponding percentage range defined by the number of power zones/method, construed as being determined based on the FTP and number of power zones/method ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of fitness tracking at the time of the filing to modify the power zones settings of Garmin to include the power zone setting functionality of TrainingPeaks, including selecting a number of power zones/method such that in accordance with a determination that a first number of power zones is selected to be displayed in the first workout metrics user interface, a maximum value of the first range of power zone values is a first value, wherein the first value is determined based on the functional threshold power information corresponding to the user; and in accordance with a determination that a second number of power zones different from the first number of power zones is selected to be displayed in the first workout metrics user interface, the maximum value of the first range of power zone values is a second value different from the first value, wherein the second value is determined based on the functional threshold power information corresponding to the user, as taught by TrainingPeaks, as this is merely use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. Garmin discloses a method for selecting power zones 1-7 to be displayed which includes a first zone with a maximum value determined based on the user’s FTP, but does not disclose selecting a different number of power zones which include a first zone with a different maximum value determined based on the user’s FTP as claimed. TrainingPeaks teaches a method for selecting power zones based on different calculation methods having different numbers of zones that each include a first zone with a different maximum values determined based on the user’s FTP. One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied this known power zone setting technique in the same way to the method of Garmin and the result of a displaying power zones with different first zone maximum values according to different calculation methods would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks further discloses wherein: the first value is calculated using the functional threshold power information according to a first formula; and the second value is calculated using the functional threshold power information according to a second formula different from the first formula (TraingPeaks; How to Update Power and Heart Zones and Add Zones at timestamp 2:48 shows that the power zone maximum values are determined based on different calculations methods (i.e. Andy Coggan (6), Durata Training (8)m CTS (5), USAT for Cycling (6), 80/20 Cycling (7), MyProCoach Cycling (5).) which specify zone minimum and maximum values as a set percentage of a user’s FTP.).
Regarding claim 3, Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks further discloses, wherein:
the second power zone is representative of a second range of power values different from the first range of power zone values (Pages 79, 118 and 122 show that each power zone 1-7 has a different range of power values as determined based on a percentage of a user’s FTP. Also see TraingPeaks; How to Update Power and Heart Zones and Add Zones at timestamps 2:17-4:25 which shows that each power zone has a different range of power values corresponding the a percentage of the user’s FTP.), wherein:
in accordance with a determination that the first number of power zones is selected to be displayed in the first workout metrics user interface, a maximum value of the second range of power zone values is a third value different from the first value, wherein the third value is determined based on the functional threshold power information corresponding to the user (TraingPeaks; How to Update Power and Heart Zones and Add Zones timestamps 2:17-4:25 shows selecting the number of power zones based on different calculation methods (i.e. Andy Coggan (6), Durata Training (8)m CTS (5), USAT for Cycling (6), 80/20 Cycling (7), MyProCoach Cycling (5) at timestamp 2:48) such that the a each power zone has a maximum value dependent on the number of zones/calculation method selected which is determined based on the a percentage of functional threshold power specified by the selected calculation method.); and
in accordance with a determination that the second number of power zones different from the first number of power zones is selected to be displayed in the first workout metrics user interface, the maximum value of the second range of power zone values is a fourth value different from the third value, wherein the fourth value is determined based on the functional threshold power information corresponding to the user (TraingPeaks; How to Update Power and Heart Zones and Add Zones timestamps 2:17-4:25 shows selecting the number of power zones based on different calculation methods (i.e. Andy Coggan (6), Durata Training (8)m CTS (5), USAT for Cycling (6), 80/20 Cycling (7), MyProCoach Cycling (5) at timestamp 2:48) such that the a each power zone has a maximum value dependent on the number of zones/calculation method selected which is determined based on the a percentage of functional threshold power specified by the selected calculation method.).
Regarding claim 4, Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks further discloses, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while the first number of power zones is selected to be displayed, receiving, via the one or more input devices, one or more user inputs corresponding to a user request to display the second number of power zones (Pages 7-8 and 79 show that a user can access the settings menu using a the side button on the watch or on a paired smartphone connect app which allows a user to set the power zones displayed in the data field, construed as accessing the setting while the displaying the power gauge/first number of power zones. As modified by TrainingPeaks, a user can select a different number of power zones to be displayed by selecting different calculation methods. Also see pages 78 and 87 which show that a user can update the user profile and settings using a paired phone using the Garmin Connect app.); and
subsequent to receiving the one or more user inputs corresponding to the user request to display the second number of power zones, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, the first workout metrics user interface with the second number of power zones (Pages 7-8, 75, 79, 118 and 122 show that after changing the settings, a user can press back button on the watch to return to the previous screen. When performing an activity, this could be a power gauge data field screen showing the power zones per the power zone settings. When modified by TrainingPeaks, this could include a second number of power zones by changing the power calculation method in the power zone settings. Also see pages 78 and 87 which show that a user can update the user profile and settings using a paired phone using the Garmin Connect app.).
Regarding claim 5, Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks further discloses, the one or more programs further including instructions for: in response to receiving the one or more user inputs corresponding to the user request to display the second number of power zones, recalculating the first range of power zone values based on the user request to display the second number of power zones (TraingPeaks; How to Update Power and Heart Zones and Add Zones timestamps 2:17-4:25 shows that a user can select the number of power zones/calculation method and calculate/recalculate the power zone values for each zone in the power zone settings.).
Regarding claim 6, Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks further discloses, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a power zone editing user interface (Page 79, Setting Your Power Zones. Also see TraingPeaks; How to Update Power and Heart Zones and Add Zones timestamps 2:17-2:57.), including displaying:
a representation of the first power zone, including a first maximum power zone value and a first minimum power zone value corresponding to the first power zone (Page 79, Select Watts to view and edit the zones in watts. Select % FTP or %TP to view and edit the zones as a percentage of your threshold power. Page 122, Power Zone: The current range of power output (1 to 7) based on your FTP or custom settings. A zone is construed as having minimum and maximum values. Also see TraingPeaks; How to Update Power and Heart Zones and Add Zones timestamps 2:17-4:25.); and
a representation of the second power zone, including a second maximum power zone value and a second minimum power zone value corresponding to the second power zone (Page 79, Select Watts to view and edit the zones in watts. Select % FTP or %TP to view and edit the zones as a percentage of your threshold power. If necessary, select Minimum, and enter a minimum power value. Page 122, Power Zone: The current range of power output (1 to 7) based on your FTP or custom settings. A zone is construed as having minimum and maximum values. Also see TraingPeaks; How to Update Power and Heart Zones and Add Zones timestamps 2:17-4:25.);
while displaying the power zone editing user interface, receiving, via the one or more input devices, one or more user inputs corresponding to a user request to modify the first power zone (Page 79, Select Watts to view and edit the zones in watts. Select % FTP or %TP to view and edit the zones as a percentage of your threshold power. If necessary, select Minimum, and enter a minimum power value. Page 122, Power Zone: The current range of power output (1 to 7) based on your FTP or custom settings. Also see TraingPeaks;How to Update Power and Heart Zones and Add Zones timestamps 2:17-4:25.); and
in response to receiving the one or more user inputs corresponding to the user request to modify the first power zone, modifying the first maximum power zone value and the first minimum power zone value (Page 79, Select Watts to view and edit the zones in watts. Select % FTP or %TP to view and edit the zones as a percentage of your threshold power. Select a zone, and enter a value for each zone. If necessary, select Minimum, and enter a minimum power value. Page 122, Power Zone: The current range of power output (1 to 7) based on your FTP or custom settings. Also see TraingPeaks; How to Update Power and Heart Zones and Add Zones timestamps 2:17-4:25.).
Regarding claim 10, Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks further discloses, wherein the functional threshold power information is user-entered functional threshold power information (Page 79, If you know your functional threshold power (FTP) or threshold power (TP) value, you can enter it and allow the software to calculate your power zones automatically. Select FTP or Threshold Power, and enter your value.).
Regarding claim 11, Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks further discloses, wherein the functional threshold power information is automatically determined functional threshold power information (Page 79, You can use the Auto Detection feature to automatically record your threshold power during an activity. Also see pages 32-33 and 80.).
Regarding claim 12, Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks further discloses, wherein the functional threshold power information is automatically determined based on user heartrate information and user power output information collected from the user during one or more previous workout sessions of the user (Page 32, The watch uses your user profile information from the initial setup and your VO2 max. estimate to estimate your FTP. The watch will automatically detect your FTP during steady, high intensity rides with a power meter. For best results, you should also ride with a heart rate monitor.).
Regarding claim 13, Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks further discloses, wherein the functional threshold power information is automatically determined based on a determination that the user has performed a threshold number of cycling workout sessions (Page 32, The watch uses your user profile information from the initial setup and your VO2 max. estimate to estimate your FTP. The watch will automatically detect your FTP during steady, high intensity rides with a power meter. Pages 30-31, Getting Your VO2 Max. Estimate for Cycling, The watch requires a few rides to learn about your cycling performance. A few rides is construed as a threshold (i.e. more than 1).).
Regarding claim 14, Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks further discloses, wherein the functional threshold power information is automatically determined based on a determination that one or more previous cycling workout sessions performed by the user meet threshold duration criteria and meet threshold exertion criteria (Page 32, The watch uses your user profile information from the initial setup and your VO2 max. estimate to estimate your FTP. The watch will automatically detect your FTP during steady, high intensity rides with a power meter. Pages 30-31, Getting Your VO2 Max. Estimate for Cycling. Ride at a steady, high intensity for at least 20 minutes.
Regarding claim 16, Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks further discloses, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
receiving updated functional threshold power information corresponding to the user (Pages 79-80 discusses allowing a user to enter the FTP, construed as allowing a user to enter an updated FTP.); and
in response to receiving the updated functional threshold power information corresponding to the user, re-calculating power zone ranges for a plurality of power zones based on the updated functional threshold power information (Page 79 discusses that a user can enter the FTP and the software will calculate you power zones automatically based on your FTP, construed as including entering updated FTP and re-calculating power zone ranges.).
Regarding claim 17, Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks further discloses, wherein re-calculating power zone ranges for the plurality of power zones based on the updated functional threshold power information comprises:
in accordance with a determination that the power zone ranges for the plurality of power zones are default power zone ranges that were previously calculated using a set of default formulas and were not previously modified by a user, re-calculating the power zone ranges of the plurality of power zones based on the updated functional threshold power information and the set of default formulas (Page 79 discusses default power zones as a percentage of FTP such that which the user enters an FTP, the power zones are calculated according to the default percentages of FTP, construed as based on default formulas.); and
in accordance with a determination that the power zone ranges for the plurality of power zones are manually entered power zone ranges, re-calculating the power zone ranges based on a set of custom formulas different from the default formulas, wherein the set of custom formulas are determined based on the manually entered power zone ranges (Page 79 discusses that a user can manually edit the power zone ranges as a percentage of FTP such that when a user enters an FTP, the power zones are calculated based on the manually enters percentages, construed as based custom formulas.).
Regarding claim 25, Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks further discloses, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
displaying, via the one or more display generation components, at a first time, a first user interface that includes:
a representation of the first power zone, including a first maximum power zone value and a first minimum power zone value corresponding to the first power zone; and
a representation of the second power zone, including a second maximum power zone value and a second minimum power zone value corresponding to the second power zone; and
at a second time subsequent to the first time, re-displaying the first user interface, including:
the representation of the first power zone, wherein the representation of the first power zone is updated to have a first updated maximum power zone value different from the first maximum power zone value and a first updated minimum power zone value different from the first minimum power zone value, wherein the first updated maximum power zone value and the first updated minimum power zone value were entered by a user on a first external device different from the computer system ; and
the representation of the second power zone, wherein the representation of the second power zone is updated to have a second updated maximum power zone value different from the second maximum power zone value and a second updated minimum power zone value different from the second minimum power zone value, wherein the second updated maximum power zone value and the second updated minimum power zone value were entered by a user on the first external device (As per claim 1, Garmin discloses displaying a power gauge which shows a representation of the power zones based on the power zone settings. Page 79 discusses that power zones have minimum and maximum values and that they may be edited by a user such that the power gauge would display, at a second time, a representation of the power zones according to the values entered by the user.).
Regarding claims 26-27: all limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 1. Claims 26-27 do not teach or define any new limitations beyond claim 1; therefore claims 26-27 are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 28, Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks further discloses the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while displaying the first workout metrics user interface, receiving a current power output of a user of the computer system, wherein the current power output of the user is greater than the first value and less than the second value; and
in response to receiving the current power output of the user of the computer system, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, an indication that the current power output of the user is in a respective power zone, including:
in accordance with a determination that the maximum value of the first range of power zone values is the first value that is less than the current power output of the user, the respective power zone is the second power zone; and
in accordance with a determination that the maximum value of the first range of power zone values is the second value that is greater than the current power output of the user, the respective power zone corresponds to the first power zone (Page 75, Training with Power Meters. Page 40, Wireless Sensors, Power: You can use the Rally™ or Vector™ power meter bike pedals to view your power data on your watch. Page 118, Power Gauge: A color gauge showing your current power zone. Page 122, Power Zone: The current range of power output (1 to 7) based on your FTP or custom settings. Also see page 73 showing a color gauge having multiple zones and page 79 discussing the power zones.).
While Garmin does not explicitly disclose the current power output of the user being greater than the first value and less than the second value or the specific scenarios of the maximum values of the first range of power zone values and specific current power output resulting in an indication that the user is in a first or second power zone, Garming and modified by TrainingPeaks allow a user to select the number of power zones to define the percentage of FTP range of the power zones to determine the power zone range values, such that current zone of the user is determined based on the users current power being within a specific power zone range. This encompasses being in a second zone when the current power is above the maximum of the first power zone range and being in a first zone when the current power is below the maximum of the first power zone range.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garmin (Forerunner 965 Watch Owners Manual; and Garmin 820 FTP Update) in view of TrainingPeaks (TrainingPeaks; How to Update Power and Heart Zones and add Zones) and Power Apps (PowerApps Context Variable to enable disable buttons or show hide buttons).
Regarding claim 7, Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks further discloses, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
interface, a reset object that is selectable to recalculate the first maximum power zone value and the first minimum power zone value according to one or more predetermined formulas (Page 79 discusses default power zones as a percentage of FTP and receiving a user request to edit the power zones using the on the watch or using your Garmin Connect™ account. Garmin 820 FTP Update, timestamp 0:54 shows that the Garmin Connect user interface for editing the power zones displays a reset button which would reset the user power zone edits to default power zone values.).
Garmin does not appear to explicitly disclose that the displaying of the reset object is in response to receiving the one or more user inputs.
Power Apps teaches that it was old and well known in the art of user interface design at the time of the filing to conditionally display buttons based on user input (Power Apps, Timestamps 0:00-2:03).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of user interface design at the time of the filing to modify the reset button of Garmin to display in response to the user input, as taught by Power Apps, as this is merely applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Garmin teaches a user interface reset button during power zone editing, but does not disclose that the button is displayed in response to the user input. Power Apps discloses the known technique of displaying a button in response to a user input. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying this known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system of conditional button display.
Regarding claim 8, Garmin as modified by Training Peaks does not appear to explicitly disclose the one or more programs further including instructions for: prior to receiving the one or more user inputs corresponding to the user request to modify the first power zone, displaying, within the power zone editing user interface, a non-selectable representation of the reset object.
Power Apps teaches that it was old and well known in the art of user interface design at the time of the filing display a disabled button before user input (Power Apps, Timestamps 0:00-2:03).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of user interface design at the time of the filing to modify the reset button of Garmin to be disabled before user input, as taught by Power Apps, such that prior to receiving the one or more user inputs corresponding to the user request to modify the first power zone, displaying, within the power zone editing user interface, a non-selectable representation of the reset object, as this is merely applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results as discussed above with respect to claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, Garmin as modified by Training Peaks does not appear to explicitly disclose the one or more programs further including instructions for: prior to receiving the one or more user inputs corresponding to the user request to modify the first power zone, forgoing display of the reset object within the power zone editing user interface.
Power Apps teaches that it was old and well known in the art of user interface design at the time of the filing hide a button before user input (Power Apps, Timestamps 0:00-2:03).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of user interface design at the time of the filing to modify the reset button of Garmin to be hidden before user input, as taught by Power Apps, such that prior to receiving the one or more user inputs corresponding to the user request to modify the first power zone, forgoing display of the reset object within the power zone editing user interface, as this is merely applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results as discussed above with respect to claim 7.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garmin (Forerunner 965 Watch Owners Manual) in view of TrainingPeaks (TrainingPeaks; How to Update Power and Heart Zones and add Zones) and Power Apps (PowerApps Context Variable to enable disable buttons or show hide buttons).
Regarding claim 15, Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks further discloses, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
receiving user-entered functional threshold power information corresponding to the user (Page 79, Select FTP or Threshold Power, and enter your value.); and
entered functional threshold power information (TrainingPeaks timestamps 2:17-4:25 shows that the power zone settings display includes a calculate button which calculates power zone ranges based on the entered FTP and selected method.).
Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks does not appear to explicitly disclose that the first selectable option is displayed in response to receiving the user-entered functional threshold power information corresponding to the user.
Power Apps teaches that it was old and well known in the art of user interface design at the time of the filing to conditionally display buttons based on user input (Power Apps, Timestamps 0:00-2:03).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of user interface design at the time of the filing to modify the first selectable option of Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks to be displayed in response to the user input, as taught by Power Apps, such that the first selectable option in response to receiving the user-entered functional threshold power information corresponding to the user, as this is merely applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks teaches a user interface method and calculate button displayed during power zone editing, but does not disclose that the button is displayed in response to the user input. Power Apps discloses the known technique of displaying a button in response to a user input. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying this known technique would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system of conditional button display.
Claims 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garmin (Forerunner 965 Watch Owners Manual) in view of TrainingPeaks (TrainingPeaks; How to Update Power and Heart Zones and add Zones; and Training Peaks & Finding Your FTP).
Regarding claim 18, Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks further discloses, the one or more programs further including instructions for: Pages 32-33 discuss displaying an estimated FTP for a user.).
Garmin further discloses enabling performance notifications which appear upon completion of your activity, during an activity or when you achieve a new performance measurement and that performance measurements include FTP estimates (Pages 32-34), but does not appear to explicitly disclose concurrently displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a current functional threshold power corresponding to the user and an estimated functional threshold power for the user separate from the current functional threshold power.
TrainingPeaks teaches that it was old and well known in the art of fitness tracking at the time of the filing to concurrently display a current functional threshold power corresponding to the user and an estimated functional threshold power for the user separate from the current functional threshold power (TrainingPeaks & Finding Your FTP timestamps 3:19-4:20 shows that TrainingPeaks will send a notification which displays a new estimate FTP and previous current FTP concurrently.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of fitness tracking at the time of the filing to modify the performance notifications of Garmin to include the notification functionality of TrainingPeaks to concurrently display, via the one or more display generation components, a current functional threshold power corresponding to the user and an estimated functional threshold power for the user separate from the current functional threshold power, as taught by TrainingPeaks, as this is merely use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. Garmin discloses a method for displaying FTP estimate notifications when you achieve a new performance measurement, but does not disclose concurrently displaying the new FTP estimate with the current FTP. TrainingPeaks teaches a method for displaying FTP estimate notifications when you achieve a new performance measurement concurrently with a previous/current FTP. One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied this known FTP notification technique in the same way to the method of Garmin and the result of a concurrently displaying a FTP estimate a current FTP would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 19, Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks further discloses the time of the filing the one or more programs further including instructions for: in accordance with a determination that the estimated functional threshold power is different from the current functional threshold power, displaying, via the one or more display generation components, a first object that is selectable to change the current functional threshold power to the estimated functional threshold power (TrainingPeaks & Finding Your FTP timestamps 3:19-4:20 shows that TrainingPeaks will send a notification when an estimated FTP is different from a previously recorded current FTP, the notification including a button to update the current FTP to the new estimated FTP.).
Regarding claim 20, Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks further discloses wherein the first object is displayed in accordance with a determination that a first device setting is enabled (Page 34 shows that performance notifications occur when performance notifications are turned on.).
Regarding claim 21, Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks further discloses, the one or more programs further including instructions for: in accordance with a determination that the first device setting is disabled, displaying the estimated functional threshold power without displaying the first object (Pages 32-34 show that a user can view their estimated FTP without the performance notification (which includes the button to update the current FTP to the new estimated FTP) when performance notifications are turned off.).
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garmin (Forerunner 965 Watch Owners Manual) in view of TrainingPeaks (TrainingPeaks; How to Update Power and Heart Zones and add Zones; Training Peaks & Finding Your FTP; and Setting Training Peaks to auto update (or not) after a threshold change).
Regarding claim 22, Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks further discloses, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
while a current functional threshold power corresponding to the user is set at a first value, the first power zone has a first maximum value, and the second power zone has a second maximum value (Page 79 discusses allowing a user to set a current FTP a set power zones based on the FTP. Zones having minimum and maximum values.):
updating the current functional threshold power to a second value different from the first value (Page 79 discusses allowing a user to enter the FTP, construed as allowing a user to update the current FTP.);
updating the first maximum value to a first updated maximum value different from the first maximum value based on the second value (Page 79 discusses that power zones are calculated based on the FTP, construed as based on the updated FTP and including new maximum values.); and
updating the second maximum value to a second updated maximum value different from the second maximum value based on the second value (Page 79 discusses that power zones are calculated based on the FTP, construed as based on the updated FTP and including new maximum values.).
Garmin further discloses automatically detecting and recording FTP during activities and detecting achievement of new performance measurements such as FTP (Pages 34 and 79-80), but does not appear to explicitly disclose that updating is in accordance with a determination that a first set of criteria are satisfied, including a first criterion that is satisfied when automatic FTP updates are enabled.
TrainingPeaks teaches that it was old and well known in the art of fitness tracking to include updating FTP and power zone values in accordance with a determination that a first set of criteria are satisfied, including a first criterion that is satisfied when automatic FTP updates are enabled (Setting Training Peaks to auto update (or not) after a threshold change, timestamps 0:40-1:23 show that training peaks zone setting include a option to enable automatic apply new threshold changes to update FTP and power zone values.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of fitness tracking at the time of the filing to modify the FTP features of Garmin to include updating the FTP and power zone values in accordance with a determination that a first set of criteria are satisfied, including a first criterion that is satisfied when automatic FTP updates are enabled, as taught by TrainingPeaks, as this is merely use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. Garmin discloses a method for updating FTP and power zone values, but does not disclose updating when automatic FTP updates are enabled. TrainingPeaks teaches a method for updating FTP and power zone values when automatic FTP updates are enabled. One of ordinary skill in the art could have applied this known FTP updating technique in the same way to the method of Garmin and the result of automatically updating FTP and power zone values would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 23, Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks further discloses, wherein the first set of criteria includes a second criterion that is satisfied when a current date satisfies date criteria (Setting Training Peaks to auto update (or not) after a threshold change, timestamps 0:40-1:23 show that the automatic updating occurs only for new threshold changes, construed as a date criteria.).
Regarding claim 24, Garmin as modified by TrainingPeaks further discloses:
updating the first maximum value to the first updated maximum value comprises:
in accordance with a determination that the first number of power zones is selected to be displayed, the first updated maximum value is calculated according to a first formula; and
in accordance with a determination that the second number of power zones is selected to be displayed, the first updated maximum value is calculated according to a second formula different from the first formula; and
updating the second maximum value to the second updated maximum value comprises:
in accordance with a determination that the first number of power zones is selected to be displayed, the second updated maximum value is calculated according to a third formula; and
in accordance with a determination that the second number of power zones is selected to be displayed, the second updated maximum value is calculated according to a fourth formula different from the third formula (Page 79 discusses that power zone values can be calculated/updated based on specified percentages of FTP for each zone, construed as formulas, resulting in different maximum values for each zone. When modified by TrainingPeaks as per claim 1, choosing a different number of zones with different corresponding percentages of FTP ranges would calculate/update each zone with different specified percentages of FTP for each zone, construed as different formulas, resulting in different maximum values for each zone.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 30, 2026 regarding claims 1-28 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues under Step 2A Prong Two that claim 1 is patent eligible because it provides an improved user interface for an electronic device similar to USPTO’s Subject Matter Eligibility Example 37. Specifically, it is argued that claim provides a specific manner of automatically displaying a workout metric user interface that has different maximum values for a particular power zone based on whether a first number of power zones or a second number of power zones is selected to be displayed, and that this particular way in which the user interface is displayed and organized results in the improvement.
In response, power zones are defined by the number of zones and the power zone ranges of each zone as defined by corresponding percentage of a person’s FTP ranges. Multiple pre-set power zone methods exist which have different numbers of powers zones and different percentage ranges for each zone, allowing a person to select different methods/number of power zones and determine the power zone ranges based on the corresponding percentages and the person’s FTP. If a person wants to use a 7 power zone method with specific percentages of FTP for each zone, the first zone will have a maximum value as defined by the upper range of the percentage of FTP assigned to the first zone. If a person wants to use a 6 power zone method with specific percentages of FTP for each zone, the first zone will also have a maximum value as defined by the upper range of the percentage of FTP assigned to the first zone. These first zone maximum values can be different depending on the number of zones and corresponding upper range of the percentage of FTP assigned to the first zone. Athletes such as swimmers, cyclists, skiers and runners routinely utilize power zones using different numbers of power zones and percentage of FTP ranges for each power zone to track their performance. Displaying a workout metric that has different maximum values for a particular power zone based on whether a first number of power zones or a second number of power zones is selected is determined the be directed to the abstract idea of certain methods of organizing human activity. The use of a user interface to display these metrics is determined to be mere instructions to apply an abstract idea under MPEP §2106.05(f). Because the alleged improvement is determined to be part of the abstract idea, it cannot integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Furthermore, Example 37 defined the particular technical problem of prior art systems, while the Applicant’s arguments and specific do not provide a particular technical problem of prior art system to which the claimed invention improves upon.
Applicant argues that determining of different maximum values of the particular power zones based on the user’s FTP and the number of power zones selected allows for these operations to be performed with fewer user inputs, enhances the operability of the system and makes the user-system interface more efficient (e.g., by helping the user to provide proper inputs and reducing errors) which, additionally, reduces power usage and improves battery life of the device by enabling the user to use the system more quickly and efficiently, thereby improving the user interface and integrating the abstract idea into a practical application.
In response, determining of different maximum values of the particular power zones based on the user’s FTP and the number of power zones selected is determined to be part of the abstract idea and cannot provide the improvement to the user interface. The mere automation of the determination is determined to be mere instructions to apply an abstract idea under MPEP §2106.05(f).
Applicant's arguments filed July 30, 2026 regarding claims 1-28 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that TrainingPeaks does not teach using the number of power zones selected to determine a maximum value for the first zone, but to determine a maximum value for the first zone based on what method is selected, further arguing that because TrainingPeaks shows two selectable methods with the same number of zones, the maximum values of the zones would be different based on the maximum values defined by the creator of the method and not the number of zones.
In response, TrainingPeaks determines the maximum values of zones using the user’s FTP and the defined power zone percentage of FTP ranges corresponding to the selected method/number of zones. While the actual calculation of the maximum values of zones uses the user’s FTP and the defined power zone percentage of FTP ranges, the power zone percentage of FTP ranges are determined based on the selected method/number of zones. Therefore, under BRI, the determination of the maximum values using the FTP and percentage ranges is also “based on” the method/number of zones. The claims and specification provide no details or further limits on what “based on” means or how the determination would utilize “number” of zones in a calculation to arrive at the maximum value. Similar to TrainingPeaks, the specification appears to treat the “number of zones” as a methods having predefined range of percentages ranges of the zones as discussed in paragraphs [0286], [0291], [0295], [0296], [0331] and [0333].
While TrainingPeaks does show selecting different methods with the same number of zones, which may result in different maximum values, TrainingPeaks still reads on the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above and in the instant rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVIN C HEIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3686