DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 & 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohtomo et al. US 2013/0164631 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Ohtomo discloses a battery [0022] comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and an electrolyte [0022]. Ohtomo discloses that the positive electrode includes a positive electrode current collector and a positive electrode active material supported by the positive electrode current collector [0086]. Ohtomo discloses that the positive electrode active material includes a positive electrode active material [0022, 0086]. Ohtomo further discloses that the positive electrode active material layer additionally comprises a positive electrode additive (sulfide solid electrolyte material) [0090]. Ohtomo discloses that the sulfide solid electrolyte material comprises an ion conductor with the anion structure of PS3O3-, PS2O23- (or dithiophosphate anion), or PSO33- (or thiophosphate anion) [0068], thus Ohtomo discloses comprises a thiophosphate salt.
Regarding Claim 4, Ohtomo discloses that the positive electrode active material is a lithium composite oxide containing Ni having a rock salt bed type of structure (i.e. layered structure) [0091].
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kishi et al. JP 2002352804 A. Citations to Kishi are mapped to the English machine translation provided. Further evidence provided by Hiine et al. “Unravelling a layered LiNiO₂ surface, surface doping, and interaction with the electrolyte: computational study”.
Regarding Claim 1, Kishi discloses a nonaqueous secondary battery [0039] comprising a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and an electrolyte [0039]. Kishi discloses that the electrolyte is a nonaqueous electrolyte [0030, 0043]. Kishi discloses that the positive electrode includes a positive electrode current collector and a positive electrode active material supported by the positive electrode current collector [0020-0022]. Kishi discloses that the positive electrode active material includes a positive electrode active material [0020-0021]. Kishi further discloses that the positive electrode active material layer additionally comprises a positive electrode additive [0018], which Kishi discloses comprises a thiophosphate salt [0018].
Regarding Claims 2 & 3, Kishi discloses that the content of the positive electrode additive in the positive electrode active material layer is 0.01-1mass% [0019] which overlaps with the claimed ranges of Claim 2 and Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 4, Kishi discloses that the positive electrode active material is a lithium composite oxide containing Ni [0020]. As evidenced by Hiine et al., lithium nickel oxide as disclosed by Kishi is known to have a layered structure [Page 2 Left Column Section 3.1.1.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohtomo et al. US 2013/0164631 A1.
Regarding Claim 5, Ohtomo discloses a battery as described above in addressing claim 1. Ohtomo further teaches that the positive electrode additive (sulfide material) comprises one of either PS3O3-, PS2O23- (or dithiophosphate anion), or PSO33- (or thiophosphate anion) as the ion conductor [0068] which when combined with LiI creates the lithium salt of those compounds [0069-0070]. Thus, Ohtomo discloses that the positive electrode additive can be any of Li3PS3O, Li3PS2O2, or Li3PSO3 as suitable alternatives as anion structures [0068].
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to substitute one anion structure, i.e. thiophosphate PSO33-, for another anion structure, i.e. dithiophosphate PS2O23-, with reasonable expectation of success. The simple substitution of one anion structure for another to obtain predictable results, as taught by Ohtomo’s disclosure of the various anion structures as alternatives, is not patentable. See KSR International Co v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727,82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007); MPEP 2143 B.
Conclusion
/A.G.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 9 July 2026