DETAILED ACTION
Specification
It is recommended to the application to amend their specification include the updated information, i.e. patent numbers for the priority claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a sensor in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-9, 12, 14, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henkin (USPN 6294084) in view of Porat (PGPub 20130152970).
Henkin teaches a pool cleaning robot, comprising: a housing (6); a filtering mechanism (water permeable container; col. 3, lines 23-26) configured to filter fluid; at least one cleaning element (propeller operates to pull in water from the vacuum port, col 4, lines 40-42); a propulsion module (13) that is configured to propel the pool cleaning robot; and a skimmer that is positioned at an upper part of the submersible pool cleaner (cleaning subsystem operates to collect water therefrom by skimming, col. 4, lines 7-11).
Henkin teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach a sensor for detecting debris. Porat teaches a pool cleaner with image sensors (60) for scanning a surface of the pool for objects (paragraph 0049). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Henkin so that it comprises an image sensor as taught by Porat to allow for the pool cleaner to scan for debris which will assist in collecting and retaining debris.
With regards to claim 3, the skimmer is configured to collect floating dirt (col. 4, lines 7-11).
With regards to claim 7, the skimmer comprises a skimmer door (128) for selectively opening or closing the skimmer opening.
With regards to claim 8, the skimmer comprises an enclosure (rectangular housing 100).
With regards to claim 9, a width of the enclosure exceeds a height of the enclosure (figure 4 and 5).
With regards to claim 12, there is a rechargeable battery (there are solar cells 11 and/or battery; the battery can be recharged by the solar cells, col. 3, lines 1-5).
With regards to claim 14, there are multiple propulsion drive motors (one or more electric motors are selectively controlled to generate pool water flows for level control, propulsion, and/or cleaning (col. 1, lines 62-65).
With regards to claim 18, the pool cleaning robot is a cableless pool cleaning robot (figure 1c and 1d show a pool cleaner without electrical power wire 9; col. 2, line 66-col. 3, line 1).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-8, 11, 14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benoit (PGPub 20140262997) in view of Porat (PGPub 20130152970).
Benoit teaches a pool cleaning robot, comprising: a housing (114); a filtering mechanism (172, paragraph 0054) configured to filter fluid; at least one cleaning element (cylindrical roller; paragraph 0013); a propulsion module (144, 160, 170, 171; paragraph 0049) that is configured to propel the pool cleaning robot; and a skimmer that is positioned at an upper part of the submersible pool cleaner (162).
Benoit teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach a sensor for detecting debris. Porat teaches a pool cleaner with image sensors (60) for scanning a surface of the pool for objects (paragraph 0049). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Benoit so that it comprises an image sensor as taught by Porat to allow for the pool cleaner to scan for debris which will assist in collecting and retaining debris.
With regards to claim 3, the skimmer is configured to collect floating dirt (paragraph 0051).
With regards to claim 7, the skimmer comprises a skimmer door (122; a door (cap) could be pivotally mounted to the deck for closing the access openings; paragraph 0053) for selectively opening or closing the skimmer opening.
With regards to claim 8, the skimmer comprises an enclosure (filter bag or bucket; paragraph 0054).
With regards to claim 11, the at least one cleaning element is a brush (cylindrical roller formed of foam and/or provided with a brush; paragraph 0013).
With regards to claim 14, there are multiple propulsion drive motors (paragraph 0056 bottom mode pump 132, top mode pump 150, turn/backup pump 166).
With regards to claim 16, there are sensors for navigation (paragraph 0057).
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-9, 12, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henkin (PGPub 20030201218) in view of Porat (PGPub 20130152970).
Henkin teaches a pool cleaning robot, comprising: a housing (6); a filtering mechanism (water permeable container; paragraph 0038) configured to filter fluid; at least one cleaning element (lower inlet 140; paragraph 0038); a propulsion module (120) that is configured to propel the pool cleaning robot; and a skimmer that is positioned at an upper part of the submersible pool cleaner (cleaning subsystem operates to collect water therefrom by skimming, paragraph 0044).
Henkin teaches all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fails to teach a sensor for detecting debris. Porat teaches a pool cleaner with image sensors (60) for scanning a surface of the pool for objects (paragraph 0049). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Henkin so that it comprises an image sensor as taught by Porat to allow for the pool cleaner to scan for debris which will assist in collecting and retaining debris.
With regards to claim 3, the skimmer is configured to collect floating dirt (paragraph 0044).
With regards to claim 7, the skimmer comprises a skimmer door (128) for selectively opening or closing the skimmer opening.
With regards to claim 8, the skimmer comprises an enclosure (202).
With regards to claim 9, a width of the enclosure exceeds a height of the enclosure (figure 4 and 5).
With regards to claim 12, there is a rechargeable battery (onboard power source, i.e. rechargeable battery, paragraph 0032).
With regards to claim 14, there are multiple propulsion drive motors (46, 85, 400, 412).
With regards to claim 15, there are multiple impellers (226, 228).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Henkin (USPN 6294084), Benoit (PGPub 20140262997) or Henkin (PGPub 20030201218) all in view of Porat (PGPub 20130152970) as shown above for claim 1, and further in view of Agajanian (USPN 8555989).
Henkin (‘084), Benoit and Henkin (‘218) all in view of Porat teach all the essential elements of the claimed invention however fail to teach a baffle at the front of the skimmer that operates in the claimed manner. All the reference teaches a baffle of some type (Both Henkin references teach 134 and Benoit teaches a door in paragraph 0067) but do not teach how or when it opens or closes. Agajanian teaches a skimmer with a baffle (DD) containing a float at its opening. The baffle is attached by means of a hinge (col. 8, line 10). When water is absent, the baffle drops down horizontally to open a skimmer entrance to allow debris to enter the skimmer (Figure 3a), and the baffle is configured to a vertical position when in water (figure 2a) (col. 8, lines 11-18). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the baffles of Henkin and Benoit so that they operate in a manner similar to Agajanian to prevent the collected debris from escaping.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The applicant amended claim 1 to include limitations from previous claim 10. None of the previous dependent claims required the limitations of claim 10. Further, the applicant amended claim 10 to include structure that was never previously considered and thus a new rejection was made in view of newly found art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAY KARLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723