DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of Claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 7, it is physically impossible for the curvature of the suction head to be 45 degrees, 75 degrees, 90 degrees, and 135 degrees at the same time. Therefore, the suction head is best understood to be “45 degrees, 75 degrees, 90 degrees, or 135 degrees”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McClure (US 20110184427 A1) in view of Greene (US 20190191970 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, McClure discloses a negative-pressure suction device for a tonsillolith ([0012]), comprising:
an electric base ("handle" [0011-0013]; Drawing 2/2), a saliva bin ("reservoir head" [0013]), and a suction pipe ("detachable straw" [0014]),
wherein a cavity is disposed in the electric base, a vacuum pump is disposed in the cavity ("mini-vacuum motor internally housed within a plastic casing" [0015]),
the vacuum pump is provided with a first connecting pipe (see Annotated Drawing 2/2)
the first connecting pipe communicates with the saliva bin (see Annotated Drawing 2/2); and
the suction pipe communicates with the saliva bin ("straw locks securely to detachable reservoir head"; Drawing 2/2).
Annotated Drawing 2/2
McClure fails to specify a second connecting pipe wherein the second connecting pipe communicates with the cavity. However, Greene teaches a handheld vacuum device for removing tonsilloliths from the tonsillar crypts of a user (see Abstract) comprising a second connecting pipe ([0043]; Annotated FIG. 7) wherein the second connecting pipe communicates with the cavity (see Annotated FIG. 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of McClure to incorporate the teachings of Greene to suitably “produce an effective vacuum force” ([0043]).
Annotated FIG. 7
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McClure/Greene in view of Pagliacci et al. (US 20160361078 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, McClure discloses a suction head ("rubberized, or silicone head" [0014]) but fails to specify the remaining limitations. However, Pagliacci teaches “oral debris extractor” for “removal of tonsilloliths and tonsil stones in an oral cavity” ([0002]) wherein the suction head is a bent pipe (see FIGs. 1-2), the suction head is sleeved on the suction pipe ("tip portion 16′ may optionally attach to shaft 14 by pushing over top of the distal end of shaft 14" [0229]), and the suction pipe communicates with the suction head ("tip is a separate piece which is mounted on and/or attached to the shaft" [0228]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device of McClure/Greene to suitably tailor the suction head to the target ([0236]).
Regarding Claim 6, McClure fails to specify the suction pipe is detachably connected with the suction head. However, Pagliacci teaches the suction pipe is detachably connected with the suction head (“the bulb suction means, the shaft and the elastomeric tip are fully detachable and reattachable” ([0049]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device of McClure/Greene to suitably tailor the device according to manufacturing costs and methods ([0173]).
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McClure/Greene in view of Muse (US 20220280177 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, McClure discloses the electric base comprises a front housing and a rear housing, the front housing is engaged with the rear housing to form the cavity (NOTE: inherent physical feature of any cavity), a circuit board and a battery are further installed in the cavity ("Battery housing to store two "AA" batteries, or two "AAA" batteries; a circuit board to conduct power" [0012]),and a switch are disposed on the circuit board ("power button will be attached to the circuit card" [0012]), and a switch hole is opened ([0012]; Drawing 2/2) but fails to specify a charging port and a gear button, and a gear button column is disposed on the front housing. However, Muse teaches “a wireless oral electronic device with an electronic or electrically-powered vacuum action which allows for the aspiration of tonsil stones, fluids and other oral debris” ([0005]) comprising a charging port (“charging port 130” [0011]; FIG. 1) and a gear button, and a gear button column is disposed on the front housing (“interface 240 allows the user to specify the suction strength of the vacuum” [0015]; FIG. 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device of McClure/Greene to suitably enable recharging of the device ([0013]) and “specify the suction strength of the vacuum” ([0014]).
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McClure/Greene in view of Ripich et al. (US 20180280047 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, McClure/Greene fails to specify a conical pipe is disposed at a nozzle of the first connecting pipe, a bottom of the saliva bin is sleeved on the conical pipe and is not in tight contact with the conical pipe, and a gap is formed between the bottom of the saliva bin and the conical pipe; and an air duct that penetrates through a bottom plate is disposed on the bottom plate of the saliva bin, and the first connecting pipe, the gap, and the saliva bin communicate with each other through the air duct. However, Ripich teaches “a portable, self-contained vacuum tongue cleaning device” ([0006]) wherein a conical pipe (“frustoconical wall” [0022]; FIGs. 3-4) is disposed at a nozzle of the first connecting pipe (see FIG. 4), a bottom of the saliva bin (“baffle 40 is carried in chamber 32” [0022]) is sleeved on the conical pipe and is not in tight contact with the conical pipe (“Baffle 40 can be substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of device 2 or it can be tilted towards or away from the front of device 2 to increase the size of impingement surface of baffle 40” [0022]; FIG. 4), and a gap (“sidewall 44” [0022]; FIG. 4) is formed between the bottom of the saliva bin and the conical pipe; and an air duct (“opening 42” [0022]; FIG. 4) that penetrates through a bottom plate is disposed on the bottom plate of the saliva bin, and the first connecting pipe, the gap, and the saliva bin communicate with each other through the air duct (see FIG. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device of McClure/Greene to suitably control the speed of the vacuum flow ([0021]).
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McClure/Greene/Ripich in view of Muse.
Regarding Claim 5, McClure/Greene/Ripich fails to specify the saliva bin comprises a cylindrical bin pipe and a conical bin head, an upper part of the conical bin head is used for disposing the suction pipe, and a lower part of the conical bin head is detachably connected with the cylindrical bin pipe. However, Muse teaches the saliva bin comprises a cylindrical bin pipe ("sealing cap 390" [0015]; FIG. 3) and a conical bin head ("aspirator 395" [0015]; FIG. 3), an upper part of the conical bin head is used for disposing the suction pipe ("suction head 110" [0015]; FIG. 3), and a lower part of the conical bin head is detachably connected with the cylindrical bin pipe (see FIG. 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device of McClure/Greene/Ripich “to navigate to the intended target and perform its suction action upon contact with the target” while being “easily and comfortably received in the mouth of a user” ([0011]).
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McClure/Greene/Pagliacci in view of Kheradvar et al. (US 20220023020 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, McClure/Greene/Pagliacci fails to specify curvature of the suction head comprises 45 degrees, 75 degrees, 90 degrees, or 135 degrees. However, Kheradvar teaches a tonsilloliths treatment device ([0006]) wherein curvature of the suction head (“cleaning tip 9” [0055]; FIG. 5) comprises 45 degrees, 75 degrees, 90 degrees, or 135 degrees (“nozzle tip has a curvature that has an arc angle/measure ranging from about 90° to about 120°” [0057]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the device of McClure/Greene/Pagliacci “to maximize cleaning efficiency” ([0058-0059]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references provided on the attached PTO-892 form are considered relevant to applicant’s disclosure and are cited to further show the general state of the art.
/Adam Marcetich/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781
Cheng Fong "Ted" Yang
Examiner
Art Unit 3781