DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species VII, FIGs. 3B and 3C, claims 1-6 and 8-9 in the reply filed on 05/25/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 7 and 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings received on 03/21/2024 are acceptable.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 8-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,967,446 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,967,446 B2 contain all the limitations of claims 1-6 and 8-9 of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-6 and 8-9 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ogawa et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2012/0188040 A1, hereafter “Ogawa”) in view of Nakada et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2009/0058591 A1, hereinafter “Nakada”).
With respect to claim 1, Ogawa teaches a magnetic device 10-1 (FIGs. 1-4), comprising:
a T-shaped magnetic core 11, comprising a magnetic powder (para. [0044]), wherein the T-shaped magnetic core comprises a base 11a and a pillar 11b, wherein the base comprises a top surface (upper surface) and a bottom surface (lower surface) opposite to the top surface, and the pillar is located on the top surface of the base;
a coil 14, wound on the pillar; and
a magnetic body 15, encapsulating the pillar and the coil, wherein the magnetic body and the bottom surface of the base form an outer surface of the magnetic device;
said two electrodes ET1 and ET2 being electrically connected to two leads 14b and 14c of the coil (paras. [0043], [0044] and [00489]).
Ogawa does not expressly teach
wherein μC×Hsat(Oe) ≥ 1800, where μC is a permeability of the T-shaped magnetic core, and Hsat(Oe) is a strength of the magnetic field at 80% of μC0, where μC0 is the permeability of the T-shaped magnetic core when the strength of the magnetic field is 0.
However, in paragraph [0025] of the originally specification of the present invention, the T-shaped magnetic core is made with, for example, “Fe-Si alloy powder, Fe-Si-Al alloy power, Fe-Ni alloy power, Fe-Ni-Mo alloy powder” or “a combination of two or more thereof.” Similarly, in Ogawa, the T-shaped magnetic core is made with Fe-Si-Al alloy (para. [0044]). Therefore, the T-shaped magnetic core of Ogawa would have the “wherein μC×Hsat(Oe) ≥ 1800, where μC is a permeability of the T-shaped magnetic core, and Hsat(Oe) is a strength of the magnetic field at 80% of μC0, where μC0 is the permeability of the T-shaped magnetic core when the strength of the magnetic field is 0” as claimed, or a person with ordinary skill in the art could derive the claimed limitations, without undue experimentations, to get the needed magnetic properties. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the claimed limitation, as would be obvious over Ogawa, to provide the desired permeability and or saturation characteristics to meet design requirements.
Ogawa does not also expressly teach
wherein two electrodes are embedded in the base,
wherein the base has two recesses respectively located on two lateral sides of the base, the two recesses respectively receiving said two leads of the coil with said two leads being respectively in contact with the two electrodes via the two recesses.
Nakada teaches a magnetic device 10 (FIGs. 1 and 2),
wherein two electrodes 16A and 16B are embedded in the base 11c,
wherein the base has two recesses 15 respectively located on two lateral sides of the base, the two recesses respectively receiving said two leads 13A and 13B of the coil 13 with said two leads being respectively in contact with the two electrodes via the two recesses (paras. [0034], [0036] and [0039]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to recess and the lead connection to the electrodes as taught by Nakada to the magnetic device of Ogawa to improve solder wettability of the electrodes (para. [0021]).
With respect to claim 2, Ogawa in view of Nakada teaches the magnetic device of claim 1, wherein the magnetic device is an inductor (Ogawa, para. [0004], Nakada, para. [0004]).
With respect to claim 3, Ogawa in view of Nakada teaches the magnetic device of claim 2. Ogawa in view of Nakada does not expressly teach the wherein μCx Hsat ≥ 2250. However, as stated in the rejection of claim 1, the present invention and Ogawa use the same magnetic material. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the claimed limitation, as would be obvious over Ogawa, to provide the desired permeability and or saturation characteristics to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 4, Ogawa in view of Nakada teaches the magnetic device of claim 2. Ogawa in view of Nakada does not expressly teach the wherein μCx Hsat≥2520. However, as stated in the rejection of claim 1, the present invention and Ogawa use the same magnetic material. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the claimed limitation, as would be obvious over Ogawa, to provide the desired permeability and or saturation characteristics to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 5, Ogawa in view of Nakada teaches the magnetic device of claim 2. Ogawa in view of Nakada does not expressly teach the magnetic powder comprises Fe—Si alloy powder, wherein the permeability of the T-shaped magnetic core is between 48 and 108. However, as stated in the rejection of claim 1, the present invention and Ogawa use the same magnetic material. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the claimed limitation, as would be obvious over Ogawa, to provide the desired permeability and or saturation characteristics to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 6, Ogawa in view of Nakada teaches the magnetic device of claim 2, wherein the magnetic powder comprises Fe—Si—Al alloy powder (Ogawa, para. [0044]). Ogawa in view of Nakada does not expressly teach the permeability of the T-shaped magnetic core is between 48 and 150. However, as stated in the rejection of claim 1, the present invention and Ogawa use the same magnetic material. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the claimed limitation, as would be obvious over Ogawa, to provide the desired permeability and or saturation characteristics to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 8, Ogawa in view of Nakada teaches the magnetic device of claim 2. Ogawa in view of Nakada does not expressly teach μB×Hsat_B(Oe)≥2250, where μB is a permeability of the magnetic body, and Hsat_B(Oe) is a strength of the magnetic field at 80% of μB0, where μB0 is the permeability of the magnetic body when the strength of the magnetic field is 0. However, as stated in the rejection of claim 1, the present invention and Ogawa use the same magnetic material. Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the claimed limitation, as would be obvious over Ogawa, to provide the desired permeability and or saturation characteristics to meet design requirements.
With respect to claim 9, Ogawa in view of Nakada teaches the magnetic device of claim 1, wherein the magnetic device is a choke (Ogawa, para. [0004], Nakada, para. [0004]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837