DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. .
Claim 1, line 8 and claim 11, line 10 “first port” and claim 1, line 9 and claim 11, line 11 “second port” doesn’t have support in the specification.
Claims 2-9 and 12-19 inherit the same deficiency it depends upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9.11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (EP 3916980 A1) in view of Mulcahy et al. (11,202,395 B1).
Liu et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the electric filed shield. Mulcahy et al. teach the detail of the electric filed shield for a power converter in Figure 8. Liu et al. disclose a conversion in Figures 1-19.
Regarding claim 1. A power conversion circuit applied to a power supply device (Figures 8-10), comprising: an AC/DC conversion circuit (AC/DC), wherein a DC side of the AC/DC conversion circuit has a first reference potential point; a first common-mode inductor (Lcm); a DC/DC conversion circuit (DC/DC) comprising a primary circuit having a second reference potential point, a secondary circuit and a transformer (see Figure 14) wherein, a first port of the first common-mode inductor (Lcm) is connected to the DC side of the AC/DC conversion circuit (AC/DC), and a second port of the first common-mode inductor is connected to the primary circuit of the DC/DC conversion circuit; the first reference potential point or the second reference potential point is connected to an electric field shield.
Mulcahy et al. discloses a power module operable in a hazardous environment in Figure 8 which shows an electrical shield (820) (see col. 7, line 29 to col. 8, line 8). It is well known in the art for power grid to include a an electrical shield as taught by Mulcahy et al. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide an electrical shield as taught by Mulcahy et al. in Liu et al. circuit to provide a stable output and optimizing the duty ratio of the semiconductor devices.
Regarding claim 9. The power conversion circuit according to claim 1, wherein, the electric field shield is a metal shield layer (Mulcahy et al. disclose in Figure 8 which shows an electrical shield (820) (see col. 7, line 29 to col. 8, line 8).
Regarding claim 11. A power supply device (Figures 8-10), comprising: an insulating shell; a metal shielding layer disposed within the insulating shell (Mulcahy et al. disclose in Figure 8 which shows an electrical shield (820) (see col. 7, line 29 to col. 8, line 8); a power conversion circuit (Figures 8-10), comprising: an AC/DC conversion circuit (AC/DC), wherein a DC side of the AC/DC conversion circuit has a first reference potential point; a first common-mode inductor (Lcm); a DC/DC conversion circuit (DC/DC) comprising a primary circuit having a second reference potential point, a secondary circuit and a transformer (see Figure 14); wherein, a first port of the first common-mode inductor is connected to the DC side of the AC/DC conversion circuit, and a second port of the first common-mode inductor (Lcm) is connected to the primary circuit of the DC/DC conversion circuit (DC/DC); the first reference potential point or the second reference potential point is connected to the metal shield layer.
Mulcahy et al. discloses a power module operable in a hazardous environment in Figure 8 which shows an electrical shield (820) (see col. 7, line 29 to col. 8, line 8). It is well known in the art for power grid to include a an electrical shield as taught by Mulcahy et al. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide an electrical shield as taught by Mulcahy et al. in Liu et al. circuit to provide a stable output and optimizing the duty ratio of the semiconductor devices.
Regarding claim 12. The power supply device according to claim 11, wherein, the first reference potential point is a first reference ground, and the second reference potential point is a second reference ground (Liu et al. Figures 8-10, reference potential between AC-DC and DC-DC converter).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 and 13-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 is allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a power conversion circuit including the limitation “further comprising: a first capacitor; a second capacitor connected in parallel to an output terminal of the AC/DC conversion circuit; a third capacitor connected in parallel to an input terminal of the DC/DC conversion circuit; wherein, a first end of the first capacitor is connected to one end of the third capacitor, and a second end of the first capacitor is electrically connected to one end of an output capacitor of the DC/DC conversion circuit“ in addition to other limitations recited therein.
Dependent claims 3-8 are allowable by virtue of their dependency.
Claim 13 is allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a power supply including the limitation “further comprising: a first capacitor; a second capacitor connected in parallel to an output terminal of the AC/DC conversion circuit; a third capacitor connected in parallel to an input terminal of the DC/DC conversion circuit; wherein, a first end of the first capacitor is connected to one end of the third capacitor, and a second end of the first capacitor is electrically connected to one end of an output capacitor of the DC/DC conversion circuit“ in addition to other limitations recited therein.
Dependent claim 14 is allowable by virtue of their dependency.
Claim 15 is allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a power supply circuit including the limitation “wherein the AC/DC conversion circuit further comprises: a rectifier circuit; a power factor correction circuit connected to the rectifier circuit; wherein, the power factor correction circuit has the first reference potential point, and the first common-mode inductor is disposed between the power factor correction circuit and the DC/DC conversion circuit“ in addition to other limitations recited therein.
Claim 16 is allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a power supply including the limitation “wherein an equivalent impedance value between the AC/DC conversion circuit and the DC/DC conversion circuit is greater than 1/2 of an impedance value of the first common-mode inductor, wherein the equivalent impedance value between the AC/DC conversion circuit and the DC/DC conversion circuit and the impedance value of the first common-mode inductor are associated with an operating frequency of the power conversion circuit“ in addition to other limitations recited therein.
Claim 17 is allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a power supply including the limitation “wherein the power conversion circuit comprises a control module, comprising: a first control circuit for controlling switching devices in the AC/DC conversion circuit; and a second control circuit for controlling switching devices in the DC/DC conversion circuit; wherein the first control circuit is electrically connected to the first reference potential point, and the second control circuit is electrically connected to the second reference potential point“ in addition to other limitations recited therein.
Dependent claims 18-19 are allowable by virtue of their dependency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9, 11 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular columns, line numbers and/or paragraphs in thereferences applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Althoughthe specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied tospecific limitations within the individual claim(s), other passages and figures may applyas well.
Additionally, in the event that other prior art is provided and made of record by theExaminer, as being relevant or pertinent to applicant's disclosure but not relied upon.The references are provided for the convenience of the applicant. The Examinerrequest that the references be considered in any subsequent amendments, as they arealso representative of the art and may apply to the specific limitations ofany newly amended claim(s).
It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing amendments or responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of theclaimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art and/ordisclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied upon inorder to ensure proper interpretation of the newly added limitations and toverify/ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADOLF D BERHANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838