DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1-3 recite “silicone”, which appears to be a typographical error. It is believed that these claims were intended to recite “silicon” instead. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harayama et al. (hereinafter “Harayama”) (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0099441 A1) in view of Zguris et al. (hereinafter “Zguris”) (U.S. Pub. No. 2004/0096670 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Harayama teaches a lithium ion secondary battery 10 comprising a structure in which a wound electrode assembly 30 (electrode body) is housed with a suitable electrolyte solution in a rectangular outer case 20 (see paragraph 38). The outer case 20 includes a case main body 20 and a lid 22 (see paragraph 40). A terminal 40 connected to the electrode assembly 30 is led to the outside from a through hole 242 in the lid 22 and is separated from the lid outer surface 22A by an outside resin member 60 (see Abstract). The through hole 242 is sealed on a lid inner surface by an inside resin member 50 (resin member having an inner exposed surface exposed inside the case) (see paragraph 51). The inside resin member 50 may be formed from the same resin composition as the outside resin member 60 (see paragraph 78). This resin composition comprises a resin matrix 62 and an inorganic fiber 64 dispersed in the resin matrix 62 (see paragraph 64). The inorganic fiber 64 may comprise a glass fiber (glass filler) (see paragraph 66).
Although Harayama teaches that the inorganic fiber 64 may comprise SiO2 as a main component (see paragraph 66), Harayama does not explicitly teach a number of atoms ratio of group 2 elements to silicon in the glass filler
Zguris teaches a glass fiber composition suitable for use as a battery insulation material, the glass fiber composition comprising 54-70 wt% of SiO2, 3-7 wt% of CaO, 1-5 wt% of MgO, and 0-5 wt% of BaO (see paragraphs 12 and 41; Table 1). This composition corresponds to a number of atoms ratio of group 2 elements to silicon that is approximately 6.7% to approximately 31.3%. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adapted the glass fiber composition of Zguris to the inorganic fiber of Harayama because the selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claim 2, in the glass fiber composition of Zguris, a mass ratio magnesium to silicon is approximately 1.8% to approximately 11.9%.
Regarding claim 3, in the glass fiber composition of Zguris, a mass ratio of calcium to silicon is approximately 6.5% to approximately 19.8%.
Regarding claims 4-6, as described above, Harayama teaches that the terminal 40 connected to the electrode assembly 30 is led to the outside from a through hole 242 in the lid 22 and is separated from the lid outer surface 22A by an outside resin member 60 (see Abstract). The through hole 242 is sealed on a lid inner surface by an inside resin member 50 (see paragraph 51).
Conclusion
/STEPHAN J ESSEX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727