DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8, 12-13, 18-19 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ericsson (R1-2108166) in view of Zhang et al. (Pub. No. 20220015002).
- With respect to claims 1, 12, 18, Ericsson discloses a communication method, comprising: receiving first request information from a first device, wherein the first request information requests a measurement result of a first reference signal (e.g. section 2.1 request for first path PRS RSRP); measuring the first reference signal transmitted on a first path, to obtain a first measurement result (section 2.1.1 discloses DL PRS-RSRP-PP); and sending the first measurement result to the first device (e.g. step report in section 2.1); wherein the first measurement result is a path power of the first path (e.g. section 2.1 discloses first path and section 2.1.1 discloses DL PRS-RSRP-PP). Ericsson fails to discloses maximum RSRP among multiple path power values measured on multiple receiving branches. Zhang teaches highest RSRP determined among transmission path (see par. 55). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement the method of selecting highest RSRP for better performance of the transmission in the communication.
- With respect to claims 2, 8, 13, 19, Ericsson discloses wherein the first measurement result is a power value obtained by performing, based on propagation delay information on the first path (e.g. section 2.1.1 page 3 discloses DL PRS-RSRP-PP for the path with delay), frequency domain compensation processing and averaging processing on a channel frequency response associated with channel frequency response information of frequency domain resource information corresponding to the first reference signal (e.g. section 2.1.1 discloses RSRP measurement within the consider measurement frequency bandwidth and range).
- With respect to claim 7, Ericsson discloses a communication (e.g. section 2 discloses enhancement for improve DL-AoD postitioning) method, comprising: sending first request information, wherein the first request information requests a measurement result of a first reference signal (e.g. section 2.1 page 1, discloses requesting UE for measurement the PRS RSRP); and receiving a first measurement result of the first reference signal transmitted on a first path (e.g. section 2.1 discloses UE report the measurement); wherein the first measurement result is a path power of the first path (section 2.1.1 discloses DL-PRS-RSRP-PP). Zhang teaches highest RSRP determined among transmission path (see par. 55). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement the method of selecting highest RSRP for better performance of the transmission in the communication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 9-10, 14-16, 20-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
. Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/PHUC H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471