DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 08/24/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 6, 9, 15 have been amended and claim 5 has been cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-4 and 6-20 are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clemmons, Quenten T. (US - 4,175,793) and further in view of E. B. Thurston (US – 1, 455,895).
As per claim 1, Clemmons discloses Parking Brake Control System For Railway Vehicles comprising:
a disk configured to rotate with a wheel of a vehicle (As shown in the drawing, the numeral 1 generally designates a conventional tread brake unit including a brake shoe 2 for engaging the running surface of a railway vehicle wheel 3, Col: 1, Ln: 56-59, Fig: 1);
a carrier (4, Fig: 1) having a rotational shaft (Attached figure and Fig: 1) formed at one side, configured to advance and retract by an actuator (5, Fig: 1) toward an outer circumferential surface of the disk (Fig: 1); and
a friction pad (2, Fig: 1) coupled to the carrier to be rotatable about the rotational shaft (Attached figure and Fig: 1), configured to pressurize or depressurize at least a portion of the outer circumferential surface of the disk in response to reciprocating motion of the carrier (via 4, 9, 6, parking brake operation, Col: 3, Ln: 30-45, Fig: 1).
Clemmons discloses all structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose an elastic member between the carrier and the friction pad, configured to provide an elastic force to allow the friction pas to be rotated about the rotational shaft;
wherein the elastic member is coupled to the carrier at one end and to the friction pad at the other end.
Thurston discloses Electromechanical Brake comprising:
an elastic member (11, Fig: 1) between the carrier (3, 8, Fig: 1) and the friction pad (7, Fig: 1), configured to provide an elastic force to allow the friction pas to be rotated about the rotational shaft (at 6, The arms 5 are forked toward each end with an intermediate web 8 having a slot 9 for stud bolt 10 threaded into the brake shoes. About each bolt 10 between the brake shoe 7 and web 8 is a helical spring 11, while on the opposite side of the web 8 adjusting nuts 12 contact for limiting rocking movement of the shoe 7 on its pivot pin 6 or against adhering to the drum 2 upon outward swinging of the arm 5, still leaving the shoe 7 so it may rock to. conform to proper seating against the drum 2, Page 1, Ln: 64-76, Fig: 1);
Wherein the elastic member (11, Fig: 1) is coupled to the carrier at one end (at 9, Fig: 1) and to the friction pad at the other end (Page 1, Ln: 64-76, Fig: 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Parking Brake Control System For Railway Vehicles of the Clemmons to make the elastic member between the carrier and the friction pad, configured to provide an elastic force to allow the friction pas to be rotated about the rotational shaft; and wherein the elastic member is coupled to the carrier at one end and to the friction pad at the other end as taught by Thruston in order to provide an emergency or terminal stop, in permitting the spring to set the brake shoes against the brake drum and also control mechanical control effective in permitting and shifting, the brake shoes to brake drum holding position.
As per claim 2, Clemmons discloses wherein the friction pad (2, Fig: 1) includes:
a pad plate (Attached figure and Fig: 1) having a hinge portion rotatably engaged with the rotational shaft (Attached figure and Fig: 1); and
a friction surface (Attached figure and Fig: 1) arranged between the pad plate and the outer circumferential surface of the disk (Attached figure and Fig: 1).
As per claim 3, Clemmons discloses wherein the friction surface is arranged in an arc shape having a curvature equal to a curvature of the disk (Attached figure and Fig: 1).
As per claim 4, Clemmons discloses wherein the rotational shaft is arranged parallel to a rotational axis of the disk (Attached figure and Fig: 1).
Claim(s) 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB - 398444 (from IDS) and further in view of E. B. Thurston (US – 1, 455,895).
As per claim 9, GB - 398444 discloses Improvement In Or Relating To Brake For Railway Vehicle comprising:
a parking brake (On the right hand side of the drawings is illustrated the hand- brake constructed as an oil pressure brake, Page 1, Ln: 76-78, therefore it's inherently disclose parking brake,, Fig: 1-2) comprising:
a disk (c, Fig: 1) configured to rotate with a wheel of a vehicle (Fig: 1-2); a pair of carriers (f, Fig: 1) each having a rotational shaft (e, Fig: 1) arranged on one side (Fig: 1) and disposed on both sides of an outer circumferential surface of the disk relative to a rotational axis of the disk (Fig: 1), configured to advance and retract by an actuator toward the outer circumferential surface of the disk (actuator r [service brake] and actuator m [parking brake], Fig: 1); and
a pair of friction pads (g, Fig: 1) each coupled to the carrier (f, Fig: 1) to be rotatable about the rotational shaft (e, Fig: 1), configured to pressurize or depressurize at least a portion of the outer circumferential surface of the disk in response to reciprocating motion of the carrier (forward and backward motion of the carrier, Fig: 1).
GB - 398444 discloses all structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose a pair of elastic member each configured to provide an elastic force to allow the friction pas to be rotated about the rotational shaft;
wherein each elastic member is coupled to the carrier at one end to the friction pad at the other end.
Thurston discloses Electromechanical Brake comprising:
a pair of elastic member (11, both left and right, Fig: 1) each configured to provide an elastic force to allow the friction pas to be rotated about the rotational shaft (at 6, The arms 5 are forked toward each end with an intermediate web 8 having a slot 9 for stud bolt 10 threaded into the brake shoes. About each bolt 10 between the brake shoe 7 and web 8 is a helical spring 11, while on the opposite side of the web 8 adjusting nuts 12 contact for limiting rocking movement of the shoe 7 on its pivot pin 6 or against adhering to the drum 2 upon outward swinging of the arm 5, still leaving the shoe 7 so it may rock to. conform to proper seating against the drum 2, Page 1, Ln: 64-76, Fig: 1);
wherein the elastic member (11, Fig: 1) is coupled to the carrier at one end (at 9, Fig: 1) and to the friction pad at the other end (Page 1, Ln: 64-76, Fig: 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Parking Brake Control System For Railway Vehicles of the Clemmons to make the pair of elastic member each configured to provide an elastic force to allow the friction pas to be rotated about the rotational shaft; wherein each elastic member is coupled to the carrier at one end to the friction pad at the other end as taught by Thruston in order to provide an emergency or terminal stop, in permitting the spring to set the brake shoes against the brake drum and also control mechanical control effective in permitting and shifting, the brake shoes to brake drum holding position.
As per claim 10, GB - 398444 discloses wherein the friction pad (g, Fig: 1) includes:
a pad plate (g, Fig: 1) having a hinge portion (Attached figure and Fig: 1) rotatably engaged with the rotational shaft (at shaft e, Fig: 1); and a friction surface arranged between the pad plate and the outer circumferential surface of the disk (Attached figure and Fig: 1).
As per claim 11, GB - 398444 discloses wherein the friction surface is arranged in an arc shape having a curvature equal to a curvature of the disk (Attached figure and Fig: 1).
As per claim 12, GB - 398444 discloses wherein the rotational shaft (e, Fig: 1) is arranged parallel to a rotational axis of the disk (center of axal b, Fig: 1).
As per claim 13, GB - 398444 discloses wherein the carriers (f, Fig: 1) are arranged to be spaced from each other relative to a rotational axis of the disk by the actuator (Fig: 1).
As per claim 14, GB - 398444 discloses wherein the carriers (f, Fig: 1) are arranged to be advanced and retracted by the actuator independently of each other toward the outer circumferential surface of the disk (actuator m act only right side carrier, and both can retract by actuator r, Fig: 1, therefore, its disclose the actuator independently of each other toward the outer circumferential surface of the disk, Fig: 1).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clemmons, Quenten T. (US - 4,175,793) as modified by E. B. Thurston (US – 1, 455,895) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of W.T. LIVERMORE (US - 1,657,541).
As per claim 6, LIVERMORE further discloses wherein the elastic member (15, Fig: 2) is configured to rotate the friction pad to a predetermined angle about the rotational shaft when the carrier is spaced from the disk (Fig: 2).
As per claim 7, LIVERMORE further discloses wherein the rotation angle of the friction pad rotating about the rotational shaft (33, Fig: 2) by the elastic member (15, Fig: 2) is limited by a jamming portion arranged on the carrier and a support portion arranged on the friction pad (A spring 15 between the shoe and adjacent bracket 14 assists in releasing the brake and maintaining the same released, Page 1, Ln: 94-97, Fig: 2).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clemmons, Quenten T. (US - 4,175,793) as modified by E. B. Thurston (US – 1, 455,895) and W.T. LIVERMORE (US - 1,657,541) as applied to claims 1, 5 and 6 above, and further in view of Asano (US - 2016/0144943 A1).
As per claim 8, Clemmons as modified by LIVERMORE discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the friction pad further includes a rounding portion arranged at an end where the carrier is moved toward the outer circumferential surface of the disk and makes first contact with the outer circumferential surface of the disk.
Asano discloses Brake Cylinder Device And Brake Device comprising:
wherein the friction pad (15, Fig: 1) further includes a rounding portion (Attached figure and Fig: 1) arranged at an end where the carrier is moved toward the outer circumferential surface of the disk and makes first contact with the outer circumferential surface of the disk (Fig: 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Parking Brake Control System For Railway Vehicles of the Clemmons as modified by Thurston and LIVERMORE to make the friction pad further includes a rounding portion arranged at an end where the carrier is moved toward the outer circumferential surface of the disk and makes first contact with the outer circumferential surface of the disk as taught by Asano in order to provide smooth braking operation and prevent damage of friction pad.
Claim(s) 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clemmons, Quenten T. (US - 4,175,793) and further in view of E. B. Thurston (US – 1, 455,895) and Ernst Moller (FR - 779245 A, from IDS).
As per claim 15, Clemmons discloses Parking Brake Control System For Railway Vehicles comprising:
a disk configured to rotate with a wheel of a vehicle (As shown in the drawing, the numeral 1 generally designates a conventional tread brake unit including a brake shoe 2 for engaging the running surface of a railway vehicle wheel 3, Col: 1, Ln: 56-59, Fig: 1);
a carrier (Attached figure and Fig: 1) having a rotational shaft (Attached figure and Fig: 1).
Clemmons discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose the carrier having a rotational shaft arranged on each side of the carrier, configured to advance and retract by an actuator toward an outer circumferential surface of the disk; and
a pair of friction pads each coupled to both sides of the carrier to be rotatable about each rotational shaft, configured to pressurize or depressurize at least a portion of the outer circumferential surface of the disk in response to reciprocating motion of the carrier.
Ernst discloses Patin De Frein comprising:
a carrier (Attached figure and Fig: 2) having a rotational shaft (Attached figure and Fig: 2) arranged on each side of the carrier (Attached figure and Fig: 2), configured to advance and retract by an actuator toward an outer circumferential surface of the disk (see arrow in Fig: 2); and
a pair of friction pads (Attached figure and Fig: 2) each coupled to both sides of the carrier to be rotatable about each rotational shaft (Attached figure and Fig: 2), configured to pressurize or depressurize at least a portion of the outer circumferential surface of the disk in response to reciprocating motion of the carrier (As per Fig: 2, friction pad provide pressurize or depressurize at least a portion of the outer circumferential surface of the disk due to reciprocating movement of the U-shape carrier, Attached figure and Fig: 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Parking Brake Control System For Railway Vehicles of the Clemmons to make the carrier having a rotational shaft arranged on each side of the carrier, configured to advance and retract by an actuator toward an outer circumferential surface of the disk; and a pair of friction pads each coupled to both sides of the carrier to be rotatable about each rotational shaft, configured to pressurize or depressurize at least a portion of the outer circumferential surface of the disk in response to reciprocating motion of the carrier as taught by Ernst in order to better distribution of brake force and improve the performance of the brake pad.
Further, GB - 398444 also fails to discloses all structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose a pair of elastic member each configured to provide an elastic force to allow the corresponding friction pas to be rotated about the corresponding rotational shaft;
wherein each elastic member is coupled to the carrier at one end to the friction pad at the other end.
Thurston discloses Electromechanical Brake comprising:
a pair of elastic member (11, both left and right, Fig: 1) each configured to provide an elastic force to allow the corresponding friction pas to be rotated about the corresponding rotational shaft (at 6, The arms 5 are forked toward each end with an intermediate web 8 having a slot 9 for stud bolt 10 threaded into the brake shoes. About each bolt 10 between the brake shoe 7 and web 8 is a helical spring 11, while on the opposite side of the web 8 adjusting nuts 12 contact for limiting rocking movement of the shoe 7 on its pivot pin 6 or against adhering to the drum 2 upon outward swinging of the arm 5, still leaving the shoe 7 so it may rock to. conform to proper seating against the drum 2, Page 1, Ln: 64-76, Fig: 1);
wherein the elastic member (11, Fig: 1) is coupled to the carrier at one end (at 9, Fig: 1) and to the friction pad at the other end (Page 1, Ln: 64-76, Fig: 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Parking Brake Control System For Railway Vehicles of the Clemmons to make the elastic member between the carrier and the friction pad, configured to provide an elastic force to allow the corresponding friction pas to be rotated about the corresponding rotational shaft; and wherein the elastic member is coupled to the carrier at one end and to the friction pad at the other end as taught by Thruston in order to provide an emergency or terminal stop, in permitting the spring to set the brake shoes against the brake drum and also control mechanical control effective in permitting and shifting, the brake shoes to brake drum holding position.
As per claim 16, Ernst further disclose wherein a center between the rotational shafts is arranged on a straight line equal to a center of a rotational axis of the disk (As per Fig: 2, it's obviously a straight line equal to a center of a rotational axis of the disk).
As per claim 17, Clemmons discloses wherein the friction pad (2, Fig: 1) includes:
a pad plate (Attached figure and Fig: 1) having a hinge portion rotatably engaged with the rotational shaft (Attached figure and Fig: 1); and
a friction surface (Attached figure and Fig: 1) arranged between the pad plate and the outer circumferential surface of the disk (Attached figure and Fig: 1).
As per claim 18, Clemmons discloses wherein the friction surface is arranged in an arc shape having a curvature equal to a curvature of the disk (Attached figure and Fig: 1).
As per claim 19, Clemmons discloses wherein the rotational shaft is arranged parallel to a rotational axis of the disk (Attached figure and Fig: 1).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clemmons, Quenten T. (US - 4,175,793) as modified by E. B. Thurston (US – 1, 455,895) and Ernst Moller (FR - 779245 A, from IDS) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Asano (US - 2016/0144943 A1)
As per claim 20, Clemmons as modified by Ernst and Thruston discloses all the structural elements of the claimed invention but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the friction pad further includes a rounding portion arranged at an end where the carrier is moved toward the outer circumferential surface of the disk and makes first contact with the outer circumferential surface of the disk.
Asano discloses Brake Cylinder Device And Brake Device comprising: wherein the friction pad (15, Fig: 1) further includes a rounding portion (Attached figure and Fig: 1) arranged at an end where the carrier is moved toward the outer circumferential surface of the disk and makes first contact with the outer circumferential surface of the disk (Fig: 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Parking Brake Control System For Railway Vehicles of the Clemmons as modified by Ernst and Thruston to make the friction pad further includes a rounding portion arranged at an end where the carrier is moved toward the outer circumferential surface of the disk and makes first contact with the outer circumferential surface of the disk as taught by Asano in order to provide smooth braking operation and prevent damage of friction pad.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARK, filed 08/24/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4 and 6-20 under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Clemmons, Quenten T. (US - 4,175,793) and further in view of E. B. Thurston (US – 1, 455,895), GB - 398444 (from IDS) and further in view of E. B. Thurston (US – 1, 455,895) and W.T. LIVERMORE (US - 1,657,541), Asano (US - 2016/0144943 A1), and Ernst Moller (FR - 779245 A, from IDS).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAN M AUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616