DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an energy storage unit” in claim 1 (interpreted to be a spring, see for example Para. 0022 of Applicant’s specification), “an impact unit” in claim 1 (interpreted to be an impactor and a driving wheel, see for example Para. 0025 of Applicant’s specification), “a transmitting unit” in claim 1 (interpreted to be a belt and pulleys, see for example Para. 0027 of Applicant’s specification), “a driving unit” in claim 1 (interpreted to be a motor, see for example Para. 0024 of Applicant’s specification), “a fixing element” in claim 10 (interpreted to be a screw, see for example Para. 0028 of Applicant’s specification), “a first engaging mechanism” in claim 11 (interpreted to be an output shaft, a first cam, and a second cam, see for example claim 12), “a second engaging mechanism” in claim 11 (interpreted to be a first engaging portion and a second engaging portion, see for example claim 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohno et al (US 2022/0355456), hereinafter Ohno.
Regarding claim 1, Ohno discloses a fastener driving device (Fig. 1, item 10), comprising:
an energy storage unit (Fig. 2, item 36), having an energy storage state (Para. 0045-0047) and an energy release state (Para. 0045-0047);
an impact unit (Fig. 2, item 32, 34), moving along a first direction (Fig. 2, item DR1) to drive a fastener into a workpiece (Para. 0036);
a transmitting unit (Fig. 2, item 40, 42), connecting the energy storage unit with the impact unit (Para. 0047-0048);
a driving unit (Fig. 2, item 20), capable of cooperating with the impact unit (Para. 0049-0051); wherein,
during a transition of the energy storage unit (Para. 0045-0051) from the energy release state to the energy storage state (Para. 0045-0051), the driving unit drives the impact unit to move in a second direction (Fig. 2, item DR2) (Para. 0045-0051) different from the first direction (Para. 0045-0051), and the impact unit drives the energy storage unit (Para. 0045-0051) to store energy through the transmitting unit (Para. 0045-0051);
during a transition of the energy storage unit (Para. 0045-0051) from the energy storage state to the energy release state (Para. 0045-0051), the energy storage unit releases energy along the second direction (Para. 0045-0051) to drive the transmitting unit (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056), and the transmitting unit drives the impact unit to move along the first direction (Para. 0045-0051).
Regarding claim 2, Ohno discloses the fastener driving device according to claim 1, wherein the first direction is opposite to the second direction (Fig. 2, DR1 is opposite DR2) (Para. 0045-0051).
Regarding claim 4, Ohno discloses the fastener driving device according to claim 1, wherein
during the transition of the energy storage unit from the energy release state to the energy storage state (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056), the driving unit is cooperated with the impact unit (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056), and the driving unit drives the impact unit (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056) to move in the second direction different from the first direction (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056);
during the transition of the energy storage unit from the energy storage state to the energy release state (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056), the driving unit is not cooperated with the impact unit (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056), and the energy storage unit releases energy along the second direction to drive the transmitting unit (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056), the transmitting unit drives the impact unit to move along the first direction (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056).
Regarding claim 5, Ohno discloses the fastener driving device according to claim 1, wherein the transmitting unit comprises a transmitting belt (Fig. 2, item 40) (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056), the transmitting belt is connected between the energy storage unit and the impact unit (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056).
Regarding claim 6, Ohno discloses the fastener driving device according to claim 5, wherein
the transmitting unit further comprises at least one fixed pulley (Fig. 2, item 42), the transmitting belt is mounted on the at least one fixed pulley (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056),
the energy storage unit comprises a spring (Fig. 2, item 36), the spring comprises a fixed end (Fig. 4, item 36a) and a movable end (Fig. 4, item 36b), the movable end is movable relative to the fixed end (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056), and the movable end is associated with the impact unit through the transmitting unit (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056), a moving direction (Fig. 4) of the movable end is different from a moving direction (Fig 4) of the impact unit (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056).
Regarding claim 7, Ohno discloses the fastener driving device according to claim 1, wherein the energy storage unit comprises a spring (Fig. 2, item 36), the spring comprises a fixed end (Fig. 4, item 36a) and a movable end (Fig. 4, item 36b), the movable end is movable relative to the fixed end (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056), the movable end moves along the second direction (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056) to make the energy storage unit release energy (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056), and the movable end moves along the first direction (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056) to make the energy storage unit store energy (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056).
Regarding claim 8, Ohno discloses the fastener driving device according to claim 7, wherein the energy storage unit further comprises a baffle (Fig. 4, baffle is at base of spring 36a) and an end cap (Fig. 4, item 38), the fixed end is fixed to the baffle (Fig. 4), the movable end is accommodated in a receiving space (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056) formed by the end cap (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056), and the end cap moves together with the movable end (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056).
Regarding claim 9, Ohno discloses the fastener driving device according to claim 8, wherein the transmitting unit comprises a transmitting belt (Fig. 4, item 40) (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056), the transmitting belt is connected between the end cap and the impact unit (Para. 0045-0051) (Para. 0053-0056).
Regarding claim 16, Ohno discloses the fastener driving device according to claim 1, wherein the fastener driving device further comprises at least one guiding rail (Fig. 3, item 46), the impact unit moves along the at least one guiding rail (Para. 0057-0064);
the fastener driving device further comprises a first base (Fig. 2, item 38) connected to the at least one guiding rail (Para. 0045-0051) and a first buffering member (Fig. 4, item 50) mounted on the first base (Para. 0045), after the impact unit moves along the first direction to drive the fastener into the workpiece (Para. 0045-0051), the impact unit strikes the first buffering member (Para. 0045-0051).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohno in view of Wolf et al (US 2022/0063076), hereinafter Wolf.
Regarding claim 3, Ohno is silent about the fastener driving device according to claim 1, wherein when the energy storage unit is in the energy storage state, at least part of the impact unit is disposed in the energy storage unit.
However, Wolf teaches at least part of an impact unit (Wolf, Fig. 4, item 199, 110, 100) disposed in an energy storage unit (Wolf, Fig. 4, item 210) when the energy storage unit is in an energy storage state (Fig. 4, spring 210 is in energy storage state).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention having the teachings of Ohno and Wolf to modify the fastener driving device of Ohno to orient the impact unit to be disposed in the energy storage unit, as taught by Wolf. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such change in order to reduce the overall size of the fastener driving tool (Wolf, Para. 0003).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-15 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731