Detailed Office Action
This office action is in response to the communication dated 3/21/24.
Claims 1-20 are pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by KASTUR et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20110142063[hereinafter KASTUR]
As per claim 1, 8 and 14 Kasturi discloses an Information Handling System (IHS), comprising: a controller, wherein the controller comprises controller firmware that, upon execution by a controller processing core, causes the controller processing core to instantiate an orchestrator of a heterogeneous computing platform; and a plurality of devices coupled to the controller, wherein each device comprises device firmware that, upon execution by a corresponding device processing core, causes the corresponding device processing core to instantiate a node of the heterogeneous computing platform, wherein the device firmware that, upon execution by the device processing core, causes the device processing core to: (see fig. 2and pad description section 0025-0029, Exemplary information handling Network Device Configuration)
detect an adjacent node through a communication link; identify a communication protocol used by the adjacent node(see par. 0039, 0045, where an adjacent device information related to transport protocols (e.g., information in a TPIT) with other protocol adaptors in devices that are adjacent to network device 200 at the transport layer is detected)
obtain a protocol translation library [ Protocol adaptor 308 ] that translates the communication protocol used by the node to the communication protocol used by the adjacent node (see par. 0040, 0045, where Protocol adaptor 308 may consult a transport protocol translation table (TPTT) for translating transport protocols. A TPTT may include TPIT 400 that has been transferred from an adjacent downstream device.; and
communicate with the adjacent node using the protocol translation library.(see par. 0040-0041, 0045)
as per claim 2. 9, and 15 KASTUR discloses the IHS of claim 1, wherein the controller firmware causes the controller processor core to: add a header to a command, wherein the header specifies the adjacent node as the destination of the command; send the command to the node(see par. 0042).
as per claim 3. 10 and 16 KASTUR discloses the IHS of claim 2, wherein the controller firmware further causes the controller processor core to: add a sequence number to the header, wherein the sequence number specifies a sequence of each of a plurality of commands to be sent to the adjacent node; and send the commands to the node(see par. 0040,0043 where protocol adaptor 308 may send the packet in accordance with a transport protocol that is indicated in protocol field 406 of selected record 402-x..
as per claim 4, 11 and 17 KASTUR discloses the IHS of claim 1, wherein the device firmware further causes the device processor core to translate error messages from the communication protocol used by the node to the communication protocol used by the adjacent node(see par. 0045).
as per claim 5, 12 and 18 KASTUR discloses the IHS of claim 1, wherein the device firmware further causes the device processor core to download the protocol translation library from a cloud source at the commencement of each communication session(see par. 0065, where new transport protocol for the packet may be selected based on a lookup within the TPTT (block 810)).
As per claim 7, 13 and 20 KASTUR discloses The IHS of claim 1, wherein the device firmware further causes the device processor core to perform the acts of Identifying the communication protocol, obtaining the protocol translation library, and communicating with the adjacent node when a command is received that is destined for the adjacent node for the first time(see par. 0045, 0062).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KASTUR and further in view of Saraf et al. U.S. Patent Application Publications No. US 20230195516[hereinafter Saraf].
As per claim 6 and 19 Kasturi discloses substantial features of the claimed invention as discussed above with respect to claims1, 8 and 14
Kasturi does not disclose wherein the session comprises at least one of a time extending between each time the heterogeneous computing platform is turned on or re-booted or extending during the time an application is actively being used on the heterogeneous computing platform(see par. 0060). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Saraf into the system of Kasturi so that a workflows can be extends over a period of time. For example, operation of the computing platform 202 can be extending based application or subroutine that can trigger long running processing needs.
Conclusion
/ABDULLAHI E SALAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466