DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: “thus cooled” appears to be redundant. Examiner recommends deleting “thus cooled”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "Temperature detector" in claim 2. Examiner notes the word detector to be a generic (nonce) placeholder and is interpreting the it as a module/unit for detecting temperature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2016/0367668 hereinafter Kirscher.
In regards to Claim 1: A cancer treatment apparatus, comprising:
a magnetic field generator including a coil configured to generate an alternating magnetic field to be applied to a living body (Kirscher, Paragraph 44); and
a cooler configured to cool a magnetic field application part of the living body in which a temperature rises in response to application of the alternating magnetic field (Kirscher, Paragraph 170 & 243).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 & 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0367668 hereinafter Kirscher in view of 2005/0124846 hereinafter Pasula.
In regards to Claim 2: Kirscher teaches all of claim 1 and further comprising: a temperature detector configured to detect a temperature of the coil or the temperature in the magnetic field application part (Kirscher, Paragraph 240), but does not teach wherein the cooler cools the coil based on the temperature detected by the temperature detector, to cool the magnetic field application part via the coil thus cooled.
Pasula teaches wherein the cooler cools the coil based on the temperature detected by the temperature detector, to cool the magnetic field application part via the coil thus cooled (Pasula, Paragraph 33-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the cooler reacting to the temperature sensor taught by Pasula to the systems for treatment of disease taught by Kirscher, the motivation being to provide a more adaptive control over the temperature of the device.
In regards to Claim 3: A modified Kircher teaches all of claims 1 & 2, and wherein the coil has a shape of a pipe including a hollow portion, and the cooler supplies a fluid for cooling the coil into the hollow portion (Kirscher, Paragraph 172; Examiner interprets the coil generator to be a tube that is hollow; “One or more field generators can be shaped (e.g., as described above, including flat beds, tubes, half-tubes, etc.) and/or arranged to provide an effective working volume of nanoparticle rotation over a desired region of the subject, e.g., during treatment”), but does not teach controls either or both of a temperature and a flow rate of the fluid based on the temperature detected by the temperature detector.
Pasula teaches controls either or both of a temperature and a flow rate of the fluid based on the temperature detected by the temperature detector (Pasula, Paragraph 33-34; Examiner interprets being able to turn off and on the cooling unit as being able to regulate the flow rate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the control over either the temperature and the flow rate based on the temperature detected taught in Pasula to the systems for treatment of disease taught in Kirscher, the motivation being to provide real time feedback to keep the device in optimal operating temperature.
In regards to Claim 4: A modified Kirscher teaches all of claims 1, 2, & 3, but does not teach wherein the coil has a rectangular transverse-sectional shape having longer sides and shorter sides, and the coil is shaped such that the living body is faced by one of two external surfaces of the coil, the two external surfaces being surfaces having a dimension that is formed by the longer sides (Pasula, Figure 3 Item 34; Paragraph 30).
Pasula teaches wherein the coil has a rectangular transverse-sectional shape having longer sides and shorter sides, and the coil is shaped such that the living body is faced by one of two external surfaces of the coil, the two external surfaces being surfaces having a dimension that is formed by the longer sides (Pasula, Figure 3 Item 34; Paragraph 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the position of the coils when being applied to the user taught in Pasula to the systems for treatment of disease taught by Kirscher, the motivation being to provide an equal application to the whole body of the user.
In regards to Claim 5: A modified Kirscher teaches all of claims 1, 2, & 3, but does not teach wherein the coil has a wound shape conforming to a shape of the magnetic field application part.
Pasula teaches wherein the coil has a rectangular transverse-sectional shape having longer sides and shorter sides, and the coil is shaped such that the living body is faced by one of two external surfaces of the coil, the two external surfaces being surfaces having a dimension that is formed by the longer sides (Pasula, Figure 3 Item 34; Paragraph 30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the coil having a rectangular transverse-sectional shape and the positioning of the coil in the applicator taught in Pasula to the systems for treatment of disease taught by Kirscher, the motivation being to provide a defined application area that remains consistent.
In regards to Claim 6: A modified Kirscher teaches all of claims 1, 2, & 3, and wherein the temperature detector detects the temperature of the fluid flowing through the coil, the temperature in the magnetic field application part, or the temperature of the coil (Kirscher, Paragraph 240).
In regards to Claim 8: A modified Kircher teaches all of claims 1 & 2, but does not teach wherein the cooler includes a fan configured to generate an airflow toward the magnetic field application part, and controls a rotation rate of the fan based on the temperature detected by the temperature detector.
Pasula teaches wherein the cooler includes a fan configured to generate an airflow toward the magnetic field application part, and controls a rotation rate of the fan based on the temperature detected by the temperature detector (Pasula, Paragraph 33-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the cooler including a fan taught by Pasula to the system for treatment of disease taught in Kirscher, the motivation being to provide an increased airflow to cool components.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0367668 hereinafter Kirscher in view of 2005/0124846 hereinafter Pasula in further view of US 2020/0061385 hereinafter Schwarz in furthest view of US 2002/0103411 hereinafter Bailey.
In regards to Claim 7: A modified Kircher teaches all of claims 1 & 2, but does not teach a cover member including a storage space in which the coil is stored, an inflow hole through which air is flowed into the storage space, and an outflow hole through which the air is flowed out of the storage space to the magnetic field application part,
wherein the cooler controls an amount of the air flowed into the storage space based on the temperature detected by the temperature detector.
Schwarz teaches of a cover member including a storage space in which the coil is stored (Schwarz, Paragraph 91; Figure 3a Item 7), an inflow hole through which air is flowed into the storage space (Schwarz, Paragraph 91; Figure 1 Item 9), and an outflow hole through which the air is flowed out of the storage space to the magnetic field application part (Schwarz, Paragraph 91; Figure 1 Item 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the housing including an inlet and an outlet taught by Schwarz to the system for treatment of disease taught by modified Kircher, the motivation being to provide an effective cooling structure to cool the coils.
A modified Kirscher does not teach herein the cooler controls an amount of the air flowed into the storage space based on the temperature detected by the temperature detector.
Bailey teaches wherein the cooler controls an amount of the air flowed into the storage space based on the temperature detected by the temperature detector (Bailey, Paragraph 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the cooler reacting to the temperature measured by temperature sensors taught in Bailey to the system for treatment of disease taught by modified Kircher, the motivation being to provide active feedback to keep the coil at optimal temperature.
Conclusion
/N.R.D./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/CHRISTINE H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791