DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 4-7, filed 01/16/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 4-6 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Nakamura et al. (JP 2018-030957 A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura et al. (JP 2018-030957 A).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura et al. teaches an ink comprising of water (paragraph [0008]), a water-soluble organic solvent comprising at least one member selected from the group consisting of glycol ethers and glycols having six or more carbon atoms (paragraph [0069]), a resin comprising an acrylic silicone resin (paragraph [0020]) and a urethane resin (paragraph [0032]) at a mass ration of 1:1 to 1:3 (paragraph [0067]) and the urethane comprising at least one member selected from the group consisting of polyester-based urethane resins and polyether-based urethane resins (paragraph [0033]), a pigment (paragraph [0078]).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura et al. teaches all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and the acrylic silicone resin is in the form of particles having a volume average particle diameter of from 10 nm to 300 nm (paragraph [0026]), and the urethane resin is in the form of particles having a volume average particle diameter of from 10 nm to 300 nm (paragraph [0062]).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura et al. teaches all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and that the dry matter of the fabric inkjet ink has a glass transition temperature (Tg) of from −40°C to 25°C (paragraph [0028])
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura et al. teaches all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and teaches wherein the pigment is a resin-covered pigment (paragraph [0084]).
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura et al. teaches all of the elements of claim 1 as stated above and a method of applying the ink to a base material (paragraph [0104]) and heating the base material to which the fabric inkjet ink is applied to 120°C or higher (paragraph [0112]).
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura et al. teaches all the elements of claim 5 as stated above and recorded matter recorded by the inkjet recording method (paragraph [0104]).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura et al. teaches all the elements of claim 5 as stated above and wherein the base material is fabric (paragraph [0100]).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura et al. teaches all the elements of claim 7 as stated above and wherein said fabric is selected from the group consisting of a woven fabric, knitted fabric, woven cloth and an unwoven cloth (paragraph [0100] in that cloth in encompasses both woven and unwoven cloth).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (JP 2018-030957 A) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 20190352528 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura et al. teaches all the elements of claim 7 as stated above but fails to teach where said fabric is comprised of cotton fiber. However, Yamazaki et al. teaches it is well known in the art to print an ink on a fabric wherein said fabric is cotton (paragraph [0087]). In view of this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to perform the inkjet recording method of Nakamura et al. to print the ink onto cotton as suggested by Yamazaki et al. as this would be an obvious application of fabric inkjet inks onto known materials within the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hagiwara et al. (US 20200095444 A1) and Matsumoto et al. (WO 2017168817 A1) are disclosed as having similar compositions of ink as the claim invention.
/SAMUEL FREDERICK BOELITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/Leslie J Thompson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853