DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s remarks received on 05/26/2026 with respect to the amended independent claims have been acknowledged and are moot in view of a new ground of rejection necessitated by the corresponding amendment. Currently claims 1-15 are rejected.
Response to Amendment
Claim Interpretation – 35 U.S.C. § 112 (f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a registration reception unit, an information acquisition unit, a registration setting unit in claims 1-5, 9 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiohara et al (US Pub: 2022/0066707) and in further view of Udo (US Pub: 2021/0042074) and Kimura et al (US Pub: 2005/0060649).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently amended), Shiohara et al teaches: A relay server coupled to a first server that provides a first printing service and a second server that provides a second printing service and is coupled to an image forming device [p0022, p0030], the relay server comprising: one or more processors; and a memory including instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the relay server to function as [p0034, fig. 2]: a registration reception unit configured to acquire a registration instruction for the image forming device [p0094]; an information acquisition unit configured to acquire information on the image forming device from the second server when the registration instruction is acquired [p0042, p0095]; and a registration setting unit configured to register the image forming device in the first server using the information on the image forming device acquired from the second server [p0041, p0095].
In the same field of endeavor, Udo updates logical printer in another cloud print service using printer capability from a cloud print service [p0049-p0053].
And Kimura et al teaches: to instruct the first server to create client automatic setting information for registering the image forming device in a terminal device of a user [p0183-p0185, p0189, p196 (automatic client installation information)].
Shiohara connects between different cloud printing services, Udo updates logical printer in another service from one service, and Kimura automatically transmits client side configuration for a printer to be set up on user terminal. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to set up a printer on user terminal for improved operation.
Claim 11 (currently amended) has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1 and in accordance with Udo and Kimura et al’s further teaching on: A printing system comprising: a first server that provides a first printing service; an image forming device; a second server that provides a second printing service and is coupled to the image forming device; a terminal device coupled to the first server; and a relay server coupled to the first server and the second server [Udo: figs. 1 and 7], the first server transmits the client automatic setting information to the terminal device in response to a request from the terminal device, and the terminal device registers the image forming device in the terminal device using the client automatic setting information [Kimura: p0113-p0119].
Regarding claim 13 (currently amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 11 has been incorporated herein. Udo further teaches: The printing system according to claim 11, wherein the first printing service system acquires printing data from the terminal device, the relay server further includes a printing controller configured to relay, between the first printing service system and the second printing service system, information on a printing job for printing the printing data, and the image forming device executes printing of the printing data based on the information on the printing job relayed by the relay server [fig. 7: S703-S710].
Claim 14 (currently amended) has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1.
Claim 15 (currently amended) has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claim 1 and in accordance with Udo’s further teaching on: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program, the program causing a computer of a relay server coupled to a first printing service system and a second printing service system coupled to an image forming device to execute operations [p0085].
6. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiohara et al (US Pub: 2022/0066707), Udo (US Pub: 2021/0042074), and Kimura et al (US Pub: 2005/0060649); and in further view of Kawasaki (EP Pub: 3945409).
Regarding claim 2 (currently amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Shiohara et al in view of Udo and Kimura does not specify registration authority. In the same field of endeavor, Kawasaki teaches: The relay server according to claim 1, further comprising: a storage configured to store qualification information about a first user having first authority, wherein the registration reception unit acquires a registration instruction for the image forming device from a second user having second authority, which is authority more limited than the first authority, and the registration setting unit uses the qualification information on the first user stored in the storage when registering the image forming device in the first server [abstract, p0046, p0049, p0050 (Registration from different authority can be permitted/prohibited.)]. Therefore, given Kawasaki’s disclosure on different user having different registration authority and Udo’s teaching on manager setting user permission, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to set different qualification information for different user for registration setting.
7. Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiohara et al (US Pub: 2022/0066707), Udo (US Pub: 2021/0042074), and Kimura et al (US Pub: 2005/0060649); and in further view of Kashiwazaki (US Patent: 6459497).
Regarding claim 3 (currently amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Udo further deletes print job in [fig. 7: S706]. In the same field of endeavor, Kashiwazaki teaches: The relay server according to claim 1, wherein the registration setting unit is configured to transmit, to the first server, an instruction to delete the client automatic setting information stored in the first server [abstract, col 3: lines 35-40]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to transmit a deleting instruction for eliminating unnecessary information for freeing up memory space.
Regarding claim 4 (currently amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Shiohara et al in view of Udo and Kimura does not schedule for deleting. In the same field of endeavor, Kashiwazaki teaches: The relay server according to claim 3, wherein the registration setting unit sets a schedule such that the client automatic setting information stored in the first server is deleted after a certain period of time elapses, and transmits, to the first server, an instruction to delete the client automatic setting information based on the schedule [col 13: lines 1-6]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to send a deleting instruction for registered info upon time expiration for data management.
Regarding claim 5 (currently amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 3 has been incorporated herein. Kashiwazaki teaches: The relay server according to claim 3, wherein the registration setting unit is configured to be capable of acquiring, from the first printing service system, identification information for specifying the client automatic setting information created by the first printing service system, and the registration setting unit transmits the identification information when transmitting an instruction to delete the client automatic setting information to the first printing service system [col 1: line 52-60, col 3: lines 23-30]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to inform client of ID number for managing deletion of registered info per design choice.
8. Claims 6, 7, 8-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiohara et al (US Pub: 2022/0066707), Udo (US Pub: 2021/0042074), and Kimura et al (US Pub: 2005/0060649); and in further view of Styles (US Patent: 6,871,221) and Kawasaki (EP Pub: 3945409).
Regarding claim 6 (original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. In the same field of endeavor, Styles teaches: The relay server according to claim 1, wherein the client automatic setting information is information used for registering the image forming device in the terminal device when the user logs in the terminal device [col 1: lines 45-67, col 2: lines 1-5].
For a redundant teaching in the same field of endeavor, Kawasaki discloses user login to obtain a token including authority info [p0046]. Therefore, given Styles and Kawasaki’s teaching on login triggered automatic printer registration, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of all to automatically register when user logins for improving processing efficiency.
Regarding claim 7 (original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 6 has been incorporated herein. Kawasaki further teaches: The relay server according to claim 6, wherein the client automatic setting information includes access right information that defines a user who has access to the image forming device, and the image forming device is registered in the terminal device when the access right information in the client automatic setting information includes a user who logs in the terminal device [p0035].
Regarding claim 8 (original), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 6 has been incorporated herein. Kawasaki further teaches: The relay server according to claim 6, wherein the client automatic setting information further includes identification information for specifying the image forming device [p0075].
Regarding claim 9 (currently amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Udo further teaches: The relay server according to claim 1, wherein the registration setting unit registers the image forming device in the first server as a virtual device [p0023].
Regarding claim 10 (currently amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 1 has been incorporated herein. Udo further teaches: The relay server according to claim 1, wherein the relay server is provided in the second server [figs. 1 and 7: CPS 104 (part of system with MFPs)]
Regarding claim 12 (currently amended), the rationale applied to the rejection of claim 11 has been incorporated herein. Claim 12 has been analyzed and rejected with regard to claims 2 and 6.
Conclusion
9. There is a new ground of rejection necessitated by the corresponding amendment presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP 706.07(a).
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Contact
/Fan Zhang/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2682