DETAILED ACTION
2. The specification, the abstract and the drawings are all acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
4. Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is a mathematic process for data manipulation and data gathering and is directed to an abstract idea without significant more.
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of Matter?
Claim 1 recites a method of parameter estimation for a PMSM (Permanent Magnet Synchronous Motor). Thus, the claim is directed to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
Claim 15 recites a method of parameter estimation for a PMSM (Permanent Magnet Synchronous Motor). Thus, the claim is directed to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
Claim 16 recites a method of parameter estimation for a PMSM (Permanent Magnet Synchronous Motor). Thus, the claim is directed to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
Claim 17 recites a non-transitory computer readable media storing a computer program operable, when executed by a controller, to direct the controller to execute a method of parameter estimation for a PMSM. Thus, this claim is directed to a manufacture, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A: Prong One: Does the Claim recite an Abstract Idea?
As to claim 1, it is rejected as it is directed to abstract ideas of a mathematic process for data manipulation and data gathering such as revising parameters, converging, diverging and collecting parameters /data for a permanent magnet synchronous motor. It is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
As to claim 15, it is rejected as it is directed to abstract ideas of a mathematic process for data manipulation and data gathering such as revising parameters, converging, diverging and collecting parameters /data for a permanent magnet synchronous motor. It is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
As to claim 16, it is rejected as it is directed to abstract ideas of a mathematic process for data manipulation and data gathering such as revising parameters, converging, diverging and collecting parameters /data for a permanent magnet synchronous motor. It is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
As to claim 17, it is rejected as it is directed to abstract ideas of a mathematic process for data manipulation and data gathering such as revising parameters, converging, diverging and collecting parameters /data for a permanent magnet synchronous motor. It is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Step 2A: Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application?
As to claim 1: Claim 1 is purely directed to abstract ideas of a mathematic process for data manipulation and data gathering which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
As to claim 15: Claim 15 is purely directed to abstract ideas of a mathematic process for data manipulation and data gathering which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
As to claim 16: Claim 16 is purely directed to abstract ideas of a mathematic process for data manipulation and data gathering which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
As to claim 17: Claim 17 is purely directed to abstract ideas of a mathematic process for data manipulation and data gathering which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significant more than the abstract idea?
Claim 1 is purely directed to abstract ideas of a mathematic process for data manipulation and data gathering which does not recite additional elements that amount to significant more than the abstract idea.
Claim 15 is purely directed to abstract ideas of a mathematic process for data manipulation and data gathering which does not recite additional elements that amount to significant more than the abstract idea.
Claim 16 is purely directed to abstract ideas of a mathematic process for data manipulation and data gathering which does not recite additional elements that amount to significant more than the abstract idea.
Claim 17 is purely directed to abstract ideas of a mathematic process for data manipulation and data gathering which does not recite additional elements that amount to significant more than the abstract idea.
Thus, independent claims 1, 15-17 are rejected under 35 USC 101 for the reasons as stated above.
Dependent claims 2-14 are rejected under 35 USC 101 because at least they are dependent on ineligible claim 1 which is the abstract ideas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 11,689,142 to White, and in view of USPN 9,515,596 to Deguchi.
As to claim 1, White teaches a method of parameter estimation for a PMSM, permanent magnet synchronous motor(col. 12: lines 7-18), the method comprising: iteratively revising an estimate of an inductance parameter of the PMSM, until the estimate either converges to a predetermined accuracy level or diverges(col. 24: lines 25-36).
White does not teach a method of controlling a magnitude of phase currents injected into the PMSM during each iteration of revising the estimate of the inductance parameter.
Deguchi teaches a method of controlling a magnitude of phase currents injected into the PMSM during each iteration of revising the estimate of the inductance parameter(col. 8: lines 33-37 wherein apparatus and method are taught for a motor control system to control the motor current based on the inductance parameter).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Deguchi into White since White suggests a motor control system and Deguchi suggests the beneficial use of controlling the motor current based on the inductance parameter in the analogous art of motor control technology.
The motivation for this comes from the fact that Deguchi teaches the method of controlling the motor current based on the inductance parameter which can be used to improve the motor control system disclosed by White.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
USPN 10,833,613 to Shigeta discloses a motor control system.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Eduardo Colon-Santana can be reached on 571-272-2060. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Center. For more information about the Patent Center, see https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DAVID LUO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846