Claim Objections
The below claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 3-9 and 11-19 refer to their parent claims as “describing” rather than claiming (i.e., the patent claims are not descriptions).
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 (all claims) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of each of U.S. Patent No. US 10489688 B2, US 10515443 B2, US 11069030 B2, US 11532036 B2, and US 12211129 B2 in view of the prior art as applied below.
Both the pending claims and the conflicting patents are all directed to aesthetic scores of images. Therefore, all of the conflicting patents are directed to the same problem as the present application. Further, any differences between the present claims and the claims in any of the conflicting patents are obvious in view of the prior art as applied below. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the below prior art with any of the conflicting patents for implementation details (especially as the patent claims lack implementation details). Based on the findings herein, this is an example of “(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.” MPEP 2143.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“processing device” in claims 1, 10, and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 (all claims) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected as a formality because the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph language in these claims does not have sufficient structure in the specification. This rejection matches the below indefiniteness rejection for the same language. Once that rejection is overcome, this one will be as well.
Claim 1 recites “generating, by the processing device, an aesthetic score of the input digital image using a machine-learning model,” but this is unlimited functional claiming because of the wide variety of different architectures and ways that this could be performed. MPEP 2173.05(g).
Claims 10 and 20 recite corresponding training language, and this is similarly rejected.
Dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claims 1-20 (all claims) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “processing device” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Here, the specification does not identify which hardware elements are the “processing device,” but rather shows box 704 on Fig. 7. This is insufficient to “clearly link or associate” the structure to the function. MPEP 2181(II)(C) and (III). Therefore, the claims are indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claim 1 recites “receiving … an input,” but it is not clear if “input” is a distinct requirement from the receiving. For example, is “input” intended to require that it was entered by a user?
Claim 1 recites “the machine-learning model trained using training digital images and user interaction data describing user interaction with the training digital images.” It is not clear if this is intended as a required method step or if this is a product-by-process claim element. If product-by-process, it is unclear what structure is implied.
Claims 1, 10 and 20 recite “aesthetic score,” but this is new terminology. MPEP 2173.05(a). In particular, claim 2 recites “aesthetic score is configured to specify an amount” and claims 10 and 20 recite the same language, but without the “is.” Whether something is “configured to specify an amount” is subjective (one person might think that the color green is good, and someone else may not assign it meaning). MPEP 2173.05(b)(IV). Additionally, it is unclear if “aesthetic score” is intended to be specific to the training data, or if it applies generally.
Claims 1, 10 and 20 recite “describing,” but this is subjective because different people can have different opinions as to what is meant. MPEP 2173.05(b)(IV).
Claims 1, 3, 4, 9, 10, and 18-20 recite “respectively,” but it is not clear how this term is meant. https://www.dictionary.com/browse/respectively defines respectively as:
Adverb
(of two or more things) referring or applying to two or more things previously mentioned in a parallel or sequential way.
Joe and Bob escorted Betty and Alice, respectively.
in precisely the order given; sequentially.
Here, none of the uses comport with the first meaning because none of the uses provide parallel lists. From context, it does not appear that the intent of “respectively” is the second meaning.
Claim 4 recites “training the machine-learning model,” but it is not clear if the antecedent basis is intended to mean the machine learning model that has already been trained (i.e., fine tuning), or it includes the initial training of the model.
Claims 6, 12, and 16 recite “aesthetics learning,” but this is new terminology. MPEP 2173.05(g). In particular, is this limited to the claimed bucketing of classifications?
Claims 9 and 18 recite “associated,” but this is subjective because it lacks an objective relationship. MPEP 2173.05(b)(IV).
Claim 10 recites “implemented by a processing device,” but it is not clear what this relationship is. For example, is the intent that the processing device generated the underlying code, that the code is stored on the processing device, or the that the processing device is presently executing the code (which would be an impermissible method step in an apparatus claim).
Claim 10 recites “a training data collection module,” but this is new terminology. MPEP 2173.05(a). Additionally, the module is claimed with “to,” which is interpreted as being an intended use, with the result that there is not clarity on either what the module is or what it does. Further, it is unclear what it means to be a module that collects training data.
Claim 10 also recites “a training module configured to,” but this module is also new terminology. MPEP 2173.05(a). Additionally, in light of the recent In re Blue Buffalo (Fed. Cir. January 14, 2026, non-precedential, slip opinion retrieved from https://www.cafc.uscourts.gov/opinions-orders/24-1611.OPINION.1-14-2026_2632686.pdf), it is unclear if this language is interpreted as limiting the structure, or if it instead means “capable of.”
Claims 11, 12, and 14-18 recite various other modules are “configured” in various ways, and this raises the same issue. Further, each of the claimed modules are new terminology. MPEP 2173.05(a).
Claim 10 recites “a training module configured to train a machine-learning model,” but this is subjective because, since the actual model is not required for the claim, different people can have different opinions about whether a given module could train an unspecified model.
Claim 11 recites “learning signal extraction module,” but this is new terminology. MPEP 2173.05(a).
Claim 14 recites a “machine-learning system,” but this is new terminology. MPEP 2173.05(a).
Claim 20 recites “an amount of visual aesthetics exhibited by the input digital image,” but this is subjective. MPEP 2173.05(b)(IV).
Claim 20 recites “collecting, by a processing device, training data,” but it is unclear what this means. Is the intent that the processing device merely loads data, does the processing device need to generate the data, does the processing device need to facilitate the user interactions?
Dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because independent claim 10’s “training module” is software per se. Additionally, as per the 112 rejection, it is unclear if “implemented by a processing device” necessitates hardware.
Dependent claims are likewise rejected.
Claims 1-20 (all claims) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea (mental process) without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1 and 20 (and their dependents) recite a method, and processes satisfy Step 1 of the eligibility test.
Claim 10 (and its dependents) are addressed in the above rejection.
Step 2A, prong one: All of the elements of claims 1-20 are a mental process because a person can look at an image and assign an aesthetic score. Further, the various models are also mental processes, see example 47, claim 2, element (d) (from the July 2024 AI subject matter eligibility examples). MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(C) explains that use of a generic computer or in a computer environment is still a mental process. In particular, this section begins by citing Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 US 63 (1972). “The Supreme Court recognized this in Benson, determining that a mathematical algorithm for converting binary coded decimal to pure binary within a computer’s shift register was an abstract idea.” In Benson the Supreme Court did not separately analyze the computer hardware at issue; the specifics of what hardware was claimed is only included in an appendix to the decision.
Because there are no additional elements, no further analysis is required for Step 2A, prong two or Step 2B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-16, 19, and 20 (all claims except those rejected under 103 below) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as anticipated by US20180039879A1 (“Shaji”).
1. A method comprising:
receiving, by a processing device, an input digital image; (Shaji, claim 1, “receiving an image for scoring;”)
generating, by the processing device, an aesthetic score of the input digital image using a machine-learning model, the machine-learning model trained using training digital images and user interaction data describing user interaction with the training digital images, respectively; and (Shaji, claim 1, “applying the machine-learned model to the received image thereby assigning an aesthetic score to the received image, wherein the learned features are inputs to the machine-learned model.” See also, claim 9 detailing the user interaction.)
outputting, by the processing device, the aesthetic score. (Shaji, [0081] “a ranking may be generated, and displayed in display 602, that shows a user the best rated images.” Shaji’s ranking teaches the claimed aesthetic score.)
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the aesthetic score is configured to specify an amount of visual aesthetics exhibited by the input digital image. (Shaji, claim 1, “wherein a more aesthetically-pleasing image is given a higher aesthetic score and a less aesthetically-pleasing image is given a lower aesthetic score;”)
3. The method as described in claim 1, wherein the user interaction data describes, respectively, a number of appreciations of the training digital images and a number of views of the training digital images. (Shaji, [0068] “As another example, training images may come from known information about a user (or segment), such as, for example, recently visited or most visited images, “likes,” or other data that may be collected for a given user (or segment) indicative of a user's (or segment's) aesthetic preference.” See also, claim 9 detailing an additional user interaction.)
4. The method as described in claim 1, further comprising training the machine-learning model using training data including the training digital images and the user interaction data describing user interaction with the training digital images, respectively. (Shaji, claim 1, “updating the base neural network to generate a personalized neural network based on the received second set of training images … executing the personalized neural network on the received image to generate learned features.”)
5. The method as described in claim 4, wherein the training includes generating aesthetics classification labels as a learning signal based on the training data. (Shaji, claim 9, “receiving input from the user indicating one or more of: (i) that the user prefers an image of the one or more candidate images; (ii) that the user dislikes an image of the one or more candidate images; and (iii) that the user prefers one image over another image of the one or more candidate images.”)
6. The method as described in claim 5, wherein the generating aesthetics classification labels includes:
generating a learning signal based on the training data; and (Shaji, claim 1, “updating the base neural network to generate a personalized neural network based on the received second set of training images … executing the personalized neural network on the received image to generate learned features.”)
generating the aesthetics classification labels through aesthetics learning as a classification of the learning signal into respective buckets. (Shaji, claim 9, “receiving input from the user indicating one or more of: (i) that the user prefers an image of the one or more candidate images; (ii) that the user dislikes an image of the one or more candidate images; and (iii) that the user prefers one image over another image of the one or more candidate images.”)
7. The method as described in claim 4, wherein the training includes generating candidate aesthetics scores and confidence estimates of the candidate aesthetics scores. (Shaji, [0081] “The user may also receive a confidence score, which indicates the degree of certainty based on the current ranking.” Shaji’s ranking teaches the claimed aesthetics score.)
8. The method as described in claim 7, wherein the generating the candidate aesthetics scores and the confidence estimates of the candidate aesthetics scores includes:
generating aesthetics classifications using a classifier; and (Shaji, [0033] “In some embodiments, a personalization layer can receive as input, the output of a multi-label, multi-class classifier”)
generating the candidate aesthetics scores and the confidence estimates based on the aesthetics classifications. (Shaji, Fig. 5.)
10. A system comprising: a training data collection module implemented by a processing device to collect training data including training digital images and user interaction data describing user interaction with the training digital images, respectively; and (Shaji, claim 1, “updating the base neural network to generate a personalized neural network based on the received second set of training images … executing the personalized neural network on the received image to generate learned features.”)
a training module configured to train a machine-learning model using the training data to generate an aesthetic score based on an input digital image, the aesthetic score configured to specify an amount of visual aesthetics exhibited by the input digital image. (Shaji, claim 1, “wherein a more aesthetically-pleasing image is given a higher aesthetic score and a less aesthetically-pleasing image is given a lower aesthetic score;”)
11. The system as described in claim 10, wherein the training module includes a learning signal extraction module that is configured to generate aesthetics classification labels as a learning signal based on the training data. (Shaji, claim 9, “receiving input from the user indicating one or more of: (i) that the user prefers an image of the one or more candidate images; (ii) that the user dislikes an image of the one or more candidate images; and (iii) that the user prefers one image over another image of the one or more candidate images.”)
12. The system as described in claim 11, wherein the learning signal extraction module includes:
a learning signal computation module configured to generate a learning signal based on the training data; and (Shaji, claim 1, “updating the base neural network to generate a personalized neural network based on the received second set of training images … executing the personalized neural network on the received image to generate learned features.”)
a discretization module configured to generate the aesthetics classification labels through aesthetics learning as a classification of the learning signal into respective buckets. (Shaji, claim 9, “receiving input from the user indicating one or more of: (i) that the user prefers an image of the one or more candidate images; (ii) that the user dislikes an image of the one or more candidate images; and (iii) that the user prefers one image over another image of the one or more candidate images.”)
13. The system as described in claim 12, wherein the learning signal is based on a number of appreciations of the training digital images and a number of views of the training digital images. (Shaji, [0068] “As another example, training images may come from known information about a user (or segment), such as, for example, recently visited or most visited images, “likes,” or other data that may be collected for a given user (or segment) indicative of a user's (or segment's) aesthetic preference.” See also, claim 9 detailing an additional user interaction.)
14. The system as described in claim 10, wherein the training module includes an aesthetic classification module that is configured to generate candidate aesthetics scores and confidence estimates of the candidate aesthetics scores. (Shaji, [0081] “The user may also receive a confidence score, which indicates the degree of certainty based on the current ranking.” Shaji’s ranking teaches the claimed aesthetics score.)
15. The system as described in claim 14, wherein the aesthetic classification module includes:
a machine-learning system configured to generate aesthetics classifications using a classifier; and a (Shaji, [0033] “In some embodiments, a personalization layer can receive as input, the output of a multi-label, multi-class classifier”)
calculation module configured to generate the candidate aesthetics scores and the confidence estimates based on the aesthetics classifications. (Shaji, Fig. 5.)
16. The system as described in claim 15, wherein the machine-learning system is configured to generate the aesthetics classifications based on aesthetics classification labels generated through aesthetics learning as a classification of a learning signal into respective buckets based on the training data. (Shaji, claim 9, “receiving input from the user indicating one or more of: (i) that the user prefers an image of the one or more candidate images; (ii) that the user dislikes an image of the one or more candidate images; and (iii) that the user prefers one image over another image of the one or more candidate images.”)
19. The system as described in claim 10, wherein the user interaction data describes relative amounts of user interaction with the training digital images, respectively. (Shaji, [0068] “As another example, training images may come from known information about a user (or segment), such as, for example, recently visited or most visited images, “likes,” or other data that may be collected for a given user (or segment) indicative of a user's (or segment's) aesthetic preference.” See also, claim 9 detailing an additional user interaction.)
20. A method comprising:
collecting, by a processing device, training data including training digital images and user interaction data describing user interaction with the training digital images, respectively; and (Shaji, claim 1, “updating the base neural network to generate a personalized neural network based on the received second set of training images … executing the personalized neural network on the received image to generate learned features.”)
training, by the processing device, a machine-learning model using the training data to generate an aesthetic score based on an input digital image, the aesthetic score configured to specify an amount of visual aesthetics exhibited by the input digital image. (Shaji, claim 1, “wherein a more aesthetically-pleasing image is given a higher aesthetic score and a less aesthetically-pleasing image is given a lower aesthetic score;”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20180039879A1 (“Shaji”) in view of “Cross-validation (statistics),” March 8, 2024, Wikipedia, retrieved from https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Cross-validation_(statistics)&oldid=1212658624 (“Wikipedia”)
9. The method as described in claim 4, wherein the training includes generating training aesthetic scores using confidence-filtered and cross-validated model predictions by:
outputting candidate aesthetic scores and confidence estimates for the training images (Shaji, [0081] “The user may also receive a confidence score, which indicates the degree of certainty based on the current ranking.” Shaji’s ranking teaches the claimed aesthetics score.)
generating filtered scores by filtering the candidate aesthetic scores based on the confidence estimates; (Shaji, [0081] “In some embodiments, a ranking may be generated, and displayed in display 602, that shows a user the best rated images.”)
assigning aesthetics classification labels by discretizing the filtered scores into a plurality of classes associated, respectively, with a plurality of buckets; and (Shaji, claim 9, “receiving input from the user indicating one or more of: (i) that the user prefers an image of the one or more candidate images; (ii) that the user dislikes an image of the one or more candidate images; and (iii) that the user prefers one image over another image of the one or more candidate images.”)
training the machine-learning model based on aesthetic scores and confidence estimates generated based on the aesthetics classification labels. (Shaji, claim 9. Claim 9 recites that the above training data is used to train.)
Shaji is not relied on for the below claimed language.
However, Wikipedia teaches training images that are generated using cross-validation (Wikipedia, “In a prediction problem, a model is usually given a dataset of known data on which training is run (training dataset), and a dataset of unknown data (or first seen data) against which the model is tested (called the validation dataset or testing set).” See also the “Applications” section, specifying use with images.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Wikipedia to the teachings of Shaji such that Shaji’s training images are cross-validated for the purpose of “The goal of cross-validation is to test the model's ability to predict new data that was not used in estimating it, in order to flag problems like overfitting or selection bias[10] and to give an insight on how the model will generalize to an independent dataset (i.e., an unknown dataset, for instance from a real problem).” Wikipedia. Note that Shaji, claim 9, teaches a known dataset that is used for training.
Based on the above, this is an example of “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.” MPEP 2143.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected as per claim 9.
Conclusion
The patents (and their pre-grant publications) cited for double patenting are also considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, particularly US20190026609A1.
/DAVID ORANGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2663