DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0091545 to Genova (hereinafter “Genova”).
Regarding claim 1, Genova discloses a coach portable computing device having non-transitory computer-executable instructions that:
when executed by programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device; cause the programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device to: display a play card data file at a display of the coach portable computing device (para [0011], "Embodiments disclosed herein present a method and system for communicating plays or other messages between a coach or other nonplayer user and a player' user during a live sports event or training session. The system includes a set of wearable devices that are worn by players during a sporting event and a computing node that can be used by the coach to select plays or actions. The plays or other actions selected by the coach can be disseminated to the set of wearable devices enabling one or more players to quickly and accurately determine the play or action to perform.", para (0024], ''The game data repository 218 can store a set of plays from which a coach can select. For example, the game data repository 218 can store an entire playbook that may have been created by one or more users."); receive, at the coach portable computing device, play card annotation input associated with the displayed play card data file, the play card data file and the received play card annotation input associated with the displayed play card data file together comprising an annotated play card data file (para [0041], "The user interface system 304 may include any system capable of generating a user interface to present a play or other message to a user. Further, the user interface system 304 may include a system capable of receiving input from a user. For example, user interface system 304 may receive touch inputs via a touchscreen display 302 indicating, for example, that the user acknowledges receiving the play. In other cases, the user may interact with the user interface 304 to cause a video to play or run of the selected play to be performed by the user."); and transmit the annotated play card data file to a wearable player portable electronic device (para [0036], "Continuing this example, if the user of the primary system 204 selects a play to be performed by a sports team wearing the wearable devices 202, the private network 206 may transmit a message or data packet with the play selection to the wearable device ·202D. Wearable device 202D may in tum transmit the message or data packet, or a copy of the message or data packet, to the wearable device 202J.").
Regarding claim 2, Genova discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the play card data file displayed at the coach portable electronic computing device comprises predetermined player positional formation data and player designated play execution data (para [0088], "In some embodiments, different wearable devices 202 may receive different messages. For example, during a football game, each player may receive a different message on his or her wearable device 202. For instance, the quarterback may receive a message with a selection of three or four plays from which to choose. Each wide receiver may receive a different message highlighting that receiver's route. A running back may receive a different message highlighting the running backs role (e.g., as a runner, a blocker, or receiver). Each offensive lineman may receive a different message highlighting a direction in which to block the defensive linemen. In some cases, each wearable device 202 may receive the same text identifying a particular play, but may receive different subtext highlighting, for example, each individual's role within the play.").
Regarding claim 3, Genova discloses the device of claim 2, wherein the predetermined player positional formation data includes a position alignment location for the first player relative to a designated reference point, and wherein the player designated play execution data includes a specified movement pathway for a first player to traverse for a first play and a specified blocking scheme for a second, different player to block for the first play (para [0088], "Each wide receiver may receive a different message highlighting that receiver's route. A running back may receive a different message highlighting the running backs role (e.g., as a runner, a blocker. or receiver). Each offensive lineman may receive a different message highlighting a direction in which to block the defensive linemen. in some cases, each wearable device 202 may receive the same text identifying a particular play, but may receive different subtext highlighting, for example, each individual's role within the play.").
Regarding claim 4, Genova discloses the device of claim 3, wherein the non-transitory computer-executable instructions, when executed by programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device, cause the programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device to receive, at the coach portable computing device, the play card annotation input associated with the displayed play card data file as a change to at least one of the specified movement pathway for the first player to run for the first play and the specified blocking scheme for the second, different player to block for the first play (para [0025], "A coach may review a history of play selections during one or more sporting events and determine that each time the particular running play is called a defensive back is able to run around the left side of the line and tackle the running back. Based on this analysis the coach may modify the play such that the tight end acts as an additional blocker on the line instead of a decoy receiver.").
Regarding claim 5, Genova discloses the device. of claim 1, wherein the coach portable computing device comprises an annotation enablement input mechanism, and wherein the non-transitory computer-executable instructions, when executed by programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device, cause the programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device to receive the play card annotation input as a result of actuation of the annotation enablement input mechanism at the coach portable computing device (para [0020], "The play, message, or instruction may be received from a primary system 204. The primary system 204 may be configured to receive a selection of a play, a message, or an instruction to communicate to the wearable device 202 via the private network 206. The primary system 204 may be a user computing system used by a coach, manager, or other advisor or decision-maker that may communicate with the player using or wearing the wearable device 202.", para [0040], "In some embodiments, the display 302 may be a 'touch-capable display, such as a touchscreen. The user may interact with the touchscreen to select a play, acknowledge receipt of the play, or otherwise communicate with the primary system 204 or other wearable devices 202. The touchscreen· can be a capacitive touchscreen, a resistive touchscreen, a surface acoustic wave touchscreen, or other type of touchscreen technology that is configured to receive tactile inputs, also referred to as touch inputs, from a user. For example, the touch inputs can be received via a finger touching the screen, multiple fingers touching the screen, a stylus, or other stimuli that can be used to register a touch input on the touchscreen display.").
Regarding claim 6, Genova discloses the device of claim 5, wherein the non-transitory computer-executable instructions, when executed by programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device, cause the programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device to, as a result of actuation of the annotation enablement input mechanism, generate an editing layer at a display of the coach portable computing device, and wherein the non-transitory computer-executable instructions, when executed by programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device, cause the programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device to receive the play card annotation input at the editing layer at the display of the coach portable computing · device (para [0090], "An assistant coach sitting in an elevated booth in a stadium may have a different perspective than the coach of the ground-level and may determine that the play should be modified. Using the secondary system 210 assistant coach can, provide the selection of an alternative play or may message the quarterback suggesting an audible.", para [0025], "Using the play selection history and the success evaluation of the selected plays, a coach can determine whether to modify and how to modify a play selection in a subsequent sporting event or may modify how a particular play is run. For example, suppose a tight end is acting as a decoy receiver during a particular running play. A coach may review a history of play selections during one or more sporting events and determine that each time the particular running play is called a defensive back is able to run around the left side of the line and tackle the running back. Based on this analysis the coach may modify the play such that the tight end acts as an additional blocker on the line instead of a decoy receiver.").
Regarding claim 7, Genova discloses the device of claim 6, wherein the non-transitory computer-executable instructions, when executed by programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device, cause the programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device to, as a result of actuation of the annotation enablement input mechanism, generate the editing layer overlaid at the display over display of the play card data file, and wherein the non-transitory computer-executable instructions, when executed by programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device, cause the programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device to receive the play card annotation' input at the editing layer but not at the play card data file (para [0054], " When the identity of the plurality of plays is transmitted to a wearable device 202 of the player user, the priority of each of the plays affect the order in which the plays are presented to the user and/or an emphasis, such as highlighting or a ranking, used to indicate the coach is preferred play versus the audible or alternative plays.", para [0055], "In some embodiments, different portions of the image may be animated based on the role of the player associated with the wearable device 202 that receives the message. For example, a first portion of the image may be animated for a wide receiver, and a second portion of the image may be animated for a running back to make it •. easier for the respective players to determine their actions or routes within the play. In some embodiments, the message may include text in addition to or instead of the image. The text may state the play to be performed by the user receiving the message at the wearable device 202:'').
Regarding claim 8, Genova discloses the device of claim 6, wherein the non-transitory computer-executable instructions, when executed by programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device, cause the programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device to save, at a non-transitory memory and in association with the play card data file, a first data file comprising the editing layer with the play card annotation input, and the non-transitory computer-executable instructions, when executed by programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device, cause the programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device to transmit to a centralized computing device the first data file tagged with an association to the play card data file (para (0024], "The sports play communication system 200 can communicate with one or more external devices via a network 220. For example, the sports play communication system 200 can communicate with a game data repository 218. The game data repository 218 can store a set of plays from which a coach can select. For example, the game data repository 218 can store an entire playbook that may have been created by one or more users. The primary system 204 may load the playbook during a sporting event or at some time prior to the sporting event.", para [0030], "For example, the primary system 204 may be equipped with networking equipment and network software applications (for example, a web browser) that facilitate communications via a network (for example, the Internet) or an intranet (for example, the private network 206). The primary system 204 may include a number of local computing resources. such as central • processing units and architectures, memory, mass storage, graphics processing units, communication network availability and bandwidth, and so forth. Further, the primary system 204 may include any type of computing system.").
Regarding claim 9, Genova discloses the device of claim 8, wherein the non-transitory computer-executable instructions, when executed by programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device, cause the programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device to transmit the annotated play card data file to the wearable player portable electronic device via the centralized computing device that is in data communication with the coach portable computing device and the wearable player portable electronic device (para [0011], "The system includes a set of wearable devices that are worn by players during a sporting event and a computing node that can be used by the coach to select plays or actions. The plays or other actions selected by the coach can be disseminated to the set of wearable devices enabling one or more players to quickly and accurately determine the play or action to perform. Further, a player can interact with his or her wearable device to acknowledge receipt of the play, to change the play, or to select a play for a set of options provided by the coach.", para [0020], ''The play, message, or instruction may be received from a primary system 204. The primary system 204 may be configured to receive a selection of a play, a message, or an instruction to communicate to the wearable device 202 via the private network 206. The primary system 204 may be a user computing system used by a coach, manager; or other advisor or decisionmaker that may communicate with the player using pr wearing the wearable device 202. The primary system 204 may include any type of computing device that can be used to communicate with a wearable device 202. The private network 206 may include any type of network that separates systems of the sports play communication system 200 from a public network, such as the Internet, and prevents unauthorized access to the wearable device 202 or the primary system 204.'').
Regarding claim 10, Genova discloses the device of claim 6, wherein the non-transitory computer-executable instructions, when executed by programmable processing circuitry of the coach-portable computing device, cause the programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device to, as a result of actuation of the annotation enablement input mechanism, to receive non-verbal play card annotation input at the editing layer to c:hange at least one player designated play execution data of the play card data file selected from the group consisting of: a change, relative to the play card data file, to at least one of the specified movement pathway for a first player to run for a first play and a specified blocking scheme for a second, different player to block for the first play (para [0015], "If the coach 104 desires to change the play after an initial play selection has been transmitted to the players, the coach 104 can select the new play and transmitted to the wearable devices of the players. Further, in some cases the coach 104 may identify multiple plays that may be transmitted to a particular player. For example, the coach 104 may select a set of potential plays to be executed and may send the set of potential plays to a wearable device of the quarterback 110. The quarterback 110 may then select one of the set of potential plays to be performed. Using the wearable device of the quarterback 110, the quarterback 110 can disseminate the selected play to other players on the team.").
Regarding claim 11, Genova discloses the device of claim 10, wherein the non-transitory computer-executable instructions, when executed by programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device, cause the programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device to: first receive a selection of the first player at the display at the coach portable computing device, and following selection of the first player receive annotation input at the coach portable computing device changing the specified movement pathway for the first player to run for the first play relative to that of the play card data file (para [0015], "In some cases, a modified version of the play may be transmitted to different players based on the players roll on the team. For example, wide receivers may receive a copy of the play that highlights their routes while offensive linemen may receive a copy of the play that highlights the direction they should attempt to push the defensive linemen or where the offensive linemen should attempt to create running routes between the defensive linemen.").
Regarding claim 12, Genova discloses the device of claim 11, wherein the coach portable computing device comprises a non-transitory memory, wherein the non-transitory computer-executable instructions, when executed by programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device, cause the programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device to display a menu comprising a set of predetermined movement pathway edits, and wherein the non-transitory computer-executable instructions, when executed by programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device, cause the programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device to receive annotation input at the coach portable computing device changing the specified movement pathway for the first player to run for the first play relative to that of the play card data file by receiving selection of one of the set of predetermined movement pathway edits from the displayed menu (para [0039], "For example, a wide receiver may be presented with an animated image illustrating a route for the wide receiver to traverse during the play while an offensive lineman may be presented with an_ animated image illustrating the defensive player the offensive lineman is to block. In some cases, text may be presented on the wearable device 202 in addition to or instead of the image. The text may identify an action or play to perform or may identify a role of a user to be performed during the play. For example, a tight end may receive a particular play and may receive text informing the tight end and whether he or she should block an edge rusher or get open to catch the football.", para [0041], "The user interface system 304 may include any system capable of generating a user interface to present a play or other message to a user. Further, the user interface system 304 may include a system capable of receiving input from a user. For example, user interface system 304 may receive touch inputs via a touchscreen display 302 indicating, for example, that the user acknowledges receiving the play. In other cases, the user may interact with the user interface 304 to cause a video to play or run of the selected play to be performed by the user.").
Regarding claim 13, Genova discloses the device of claim 12, wherein the non-transitory computer-executable instructions, when executed by programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device, cause the programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device to receive selection of one of the set of predetermined movement pathway edits from the displayed menu by receiving a user input at the coach portable computing device dragging and dropping the selected one of the set of predetermined movement pathway edits at the editing layer (para [0040], The touchscreen can be a capacitive touchscreen, a resistive touchscreen, a ·surface acoustic wave touchscreen, or other type of touchscreen technology that is configured to receive tactile inputs, also referred to as touch inputs, from a user. For example, the touch inputs can be received via a finger touching the screen, multiple fingers touching the screen, a stylus, or other stimuli that can be used to register a touch input on the touchscreen display.", para [0054], "At block 404, a selection of an action from a plurality of actions is received via the action selection interface. The selection of the action may be received at the primary system 204 or a secondary system 210 in response to a user's interaction with the action selection interface presented by the primary system 204 or the secondary system 210. In some embodiments, the block 404 may include receiving the selection of multiple actions or plays. For example, a coach may select a plurality of plays to provide the players with options for the play to be performed. In some cases, a preference or priority may be associated with each of the selected plays from the plurality of plays.", para [0088], "In some embodiments, different wearable devices 202 may receive different messages. For example, during a football game, each player may receive a different message on his or her wearable device 202. For instance, the quarterback may receive a message with a selection of three or four plays from which to choose. Each wide receiver may receive a different message highlighting that receiver's route. A running back may receive a different message highlighting the running backs role (e.g., as a runner, a blocker, or receiver). Each offensive lineman may receive a different message highlighting a direction in which to block the defensive linemen. In some cases, each wearable device 202 may receive the same text identifying a particular play, but may receive different subtext highlighting, for example, each individual's role within the play.").
Regarding claim 14, Genova discloses the device of claim 5, wherein the non-transitory computer-executable instructions, when executed by programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device, cause the programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device to transmit the annotated play card data file to the wearable player portable electronic device with the received play card annotation input configured for display in a first visual manner that is visually distinct from display of original data at the play card data file in a second, different visual manner (para [0076], "The role selection screen 604 enables a user, such as a coach user, to access different tasks associated with different roles of the user. In some embodiments, a subset of roles may be accessible based on authentication of the user. For example, an assistant head coach may have access to each of the roles illustrated on the role selection screen 604 with the exception of the head coach role. Thus, as illustrated, the head coach role may be grayed out or otherwise differentiated from the roles that the user is authorized to access. In some embodiments, the role selection screen 604 displays only the roles the user is authorized to access.", para [0080], "FIG. 6G illustrates a configuration sub screen 612. Using the configuration sub screen 612, a user can configure a user interface for displaying different types and numbers of plays to a user and a wearable device 202.").
Regarding claim 18, Genova discloses a method comprising the steps of: displaying a play card data file at a coach portable electronic device (para [0011], [0024]); receiving, at the coach portable computing device, play card annotation input associated with the displayed play card data file, the play card data file and the received play card annotation input associated with the displayed play card data file together comprising an annotated play card data file (para [0041]); and transmitting the annotated play card data file to a wearable player portable electronic device (para [0036]).
Regarding claim 19, Genova discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the play card annotation input is received at the coach portable computing device after actuation of an annotation enablement input mechanism at the coach portable computing device, and wherein actuation of the annotation enablement input mechanism causes the coach portable computing device to generate an editing layer at a display of the coach portable computing device over a display of the play card data file at the coach portable computing device such that the play card annotation input is received at generated editing layer but not at the play card data file (para [0054], [0055]).
Regarding claim 20, Genova discloses the method of claim 19, further comprising:
receiving a selection of a first player at the display at the coach portable computing device (para [0017], "Further, in addition to providing a selected play to the players, the coach 104 may provide the selected play to a wearable device of the referee 108.", para [0020], "The primary system 204.may be a user computing system used by a coach, manager, or other advisor or decision-maker that may communicate with the player using or wearing the wearable device 202. The primary system 204 may include any type of computing device that can be used to communicate with a wearable device 202.", para [0039], "The display 302 may include any type of display that can display a message to a user of the wearable device 202. The display 302 may be capable of displaying text, an image, an animated image, or a video to the user.", para [0095], "While specific embodiments of, and examples for, the inventions are described above for illustrative purposes, various equivalent modifications are possible within the ·scope of the inventions, as those skilled in the relevant art will recognize."); after receiving the selection of the first player, presenting, at the display of the coach portable computing device, a menu that comprises a set of predetermined movement pathway edits (para [0040], ''The touchscreen can be a capacitive touchscreen, a resistive touchscreen, a surface acoustic wave touchscreen, or other type of touchscreen technology that is configured to receive tactile inputs, also referred to as touch inputs, from a user. For example, the touch inputs can be received via a finger touching the screen, multiple fingers touching the screen, a stylus, or other stimuli that can be used to register a touch input on the touchscreen display.", para [0054], "At block 404, a selection of an' action from a plurality of actions is received via the action selection interface. The selection of the action may be received at the primary system 204 or a secondary system 210 in response to a user's interaction with the action selection interface presented by the primary system 204 or the secondary system 210. In some embodiments, the block 404 may include receiving- the selection of multiple actions or plays. For example, a coach may select a plurality of plays to provide the players with options for the play to be performed. In some cases, a preference or priority may be associated with each of the selected plays from the plurality of plays."); and selecting one of the set of predetermined movement pathway edits from the menu by receiving a user input at the coach portable computing device dragging and dropping the selected one of the set of predetermined movement pathway edits at the editing layer to receive the play card annotation input at the coach portable computing device (para [0040], "The touchscreen can be a capacitive touchscreen, a resistive touchscreen, a surface acoustic wave touchscreen, ·or other type of touchscreen technology that is configured to receive tactile inputs, also referred to as touch inputs, from a user. For example, the touch inputs can be received via a finger touching the screen, multiple fingers touching the screen, a stylus, or other stimuli that can be used to register a ·touch input on the touchscreen display". para [0054], "At block 404, a selection of an action from a plurality of actions is received via the action selection interface. The selection of the action may be received at the primary system 204 or a secondary system 210 in response to a user's interaction with the action selection interface presented by the primary system 204 or the secondary system 210. In some embodiments, the block 404 may include receiving the selection of multiple actions or plays. For example, a coach may select a plurality of plays to provide the players with options for the play to be performed. In some cases, a preference or priority may be associated with each of the selected plays from the plurality of plays.", para [0088], "In some embodiments, different wearable devices 202 may receive different messages. For example, during a football game, each player may receive a different message on his or her wearable device 202. For instance, the quarterback may receive a message with a selection of three or four plays from which to choose. Each wide receiver may receive a different message highlighting that receiver's route. A running back may receive a different message highlighting the running backs role (e.g., as a runner, a blocker, or receiver). Each offensive lineman may receive a different message highlighting a direction in which to block the defensive linemen. In some cases, each wearable device 202 may receive the same text identifying a particular play, but may receive different subtext highlighting, for example, each individual's role within the play.").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Genova in view of US 2019/0043500 to Malik et al. (hereinafter “Malik”).
Regarding claim 15, Genova discloses the device of claim 14. However, Genova does not explicitly disclose wherein the non-transitory computer executable instructions, when executed by programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device, cause the programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device to: as a result of actuation of the annotation enablement input mechanism, receive a selection of the first player at the display at the coach portable computing device, and following selection of the first player receive annotation input at the coach portable computing device receive actuation on a user input mechanism at the coach portable computing device to activate a microphone at the coach portable computing device to receive verbal annotation input at the microphone.
In a related disclosure, Malik teaches as a result of actuation of the annotation enablement input mechanism, receive a selection of the first player at the display at the coach portable computing device, and following selection of the first player receive annotation input at the coach portable computing device receive actuation on a user input mechanism at the coach portable computing device to activate a microphone at the coach portable computing device to receive verbal annotation input at the microphone (para [0003], "Event detection based on audio and visual cues is a relatively straightforward task for humans. For example, a scorekeeper for a sporting event can record actions including plays, scoring, fouls, penalties, and the like while watching the game as it is being played.", para [0012], "The step of converting the audio signal to a set of text data is performed by using readable text to transmit data objects, wherein a keyword is selected from multiple potential variations of a word based upon an assigned confidence value.", para (0030],."The defined milestone window 206 assures that the transcribed text chunks are properly handled and broken into milestones. The speech recognizer is configured to get 'n' number of best results and is put in listening mode.", para [0044]. "FIG. 3 shows a system setup of an example of one embodiment in the sports application. The client-server based implementation depicts a full implementation of the voice-based event detection system to generate real-time game analytics.", para [0045], "A noise cancelling microphone 310 is used to capture the live audio commentary 312 to provide a noise free audio stream to third party speech to text AP!s 314 on the server side.", para [0046], "A coach can look at the sorted events based on players, scores, fouls. etc. and have access to all tagged events in the game for instant review or half-time analysis."). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to combine the coach portable computing device of Genova with the verbal annotation input at the microphone of Malik in order to improve the speed and convenience of user inputs.
Regarding claim 16, Genova and Malik disclose the device of claim 15. Malik teaches or suggests wherein the non-transitory computer-executable instructions, when executed by programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device, cause the programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device to process the received verbal annotation input at the microphone and generate corresponding text as the play card annotation input associated with the displayed play card data file (para [0003], [0012], [0030], [0044], [0045], [0046]).
Regarding claim 17, Genova and Malik disclose the device of claim 15. Genova further discloses wherein the non-transitory computer executable instructions, when executed by programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device, cause the programmable processing circuitry of the coach portable computing device to prohibit play card annotation input at the coach portable computing device until actuation of the annotation enablement input mechanism (para [0017], "Further, in addition to providing a selected play to the players, the coach 104 may provide the selected play to a wearable device of the referee 108. By providing the selected play to the referee 108, the referee 108 can more easily determine where to focus his or her attention during the play. In some embodiments, the referee 108 may be able to block communication between the computing device of the coach 104 and one or more of the wearable devices of the players. By blocking communication between the computing device of the coach 104 and one or more of the wearable devices of the players, a player or coach has been ejected from the game may be prevented from communicating during the game.").
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed on the attached Notice of References Cited.
/WILLIAM H MCCULLOCH JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715