DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are persuasive in part.
The argument relating to perpendicularly vs parallel axes is persuasive as indicated in the interview. However, the rejection has been altered to relate to the amendment of the current claims and reads on them as noted below.
The argument and amendment relating to wherein “the manifold includes a longitudinal manifold axis located generally parallel to the chopper axis.” and the limitations of “a manifold axis” and “a chopper axis”, even in view of the addition of “longitudinal” to the term manifold, are broad enough to allow for placement of the 2 axes to meet the parallel requirement as noted below. This is illustrated more fully below in the claim rejections over the prior art with the annotated figure.
The previous 112 rejections and claim objections are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-14, and 17-120 recites the limitation "manifold" or “manifold axis” after having referred to the element as a “longitudinal manifold” or “longitudinal manifold axis.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 12-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sechinato (US 2019/0082605 A1), hereinafter Sechinato.
Regarding claim 1, Sechinato discloses a sugarcane harvester (10, fig. 1-2, [0016-0017]) for harvesting a sugarcane crop (sugar cane stalks, fig. 1, [0018]) comprising:
a chopper (50, fig. 1-2, [0022]) defining a chopper axis (see line running through chopper 50 in annotated fig. 2), the chopper configured to cut a mat of sugarcane crop (severed stalks of sugar cane, fig. 1-2, [0021]) into a chopped mat (51+53, fig. 1-2, [0022]) including sugarcane billets (51, fig. 1-2, [0022]) and crop residue (53, fig. 1-2, [0022]) and to discharge the chopped mat along a flow path (fig. 2, [0022]);
a primary separator (78, fig. 1, [0025]) including a cleaning chamber (body of 78, fig. 1, [0025]) and a fan (80, fig. 1, [0025]) to induce a primary flow of air within the cleaning chamber (fig. 1, [0025]), wherein the primary flow of air separates crop residue from the sugarcane billets of the chopped mat (fig. 1, [0025]); and
a supplemental air system (54/100, fig. 1-5, [0023] and [0027-0028]) located between the chopper and the primary separator (fig. 1), the supplemental air system including a longitudinal manifold (102, annotated fig. 2 and fig. 3, [0029]) including a constant cross-section along a length of the manifold (fig. 2-3), wherein the manifold includes a longitudinal manifold axis located generally parallel to the chopper axis (see manifold axis in annotated fig. 2), wherein the manifold is configured to provide a manifold air flow directed toward the flow path of the chopped mat (fig. 1-2, [0030]), wherein the manifold air flow supplements the primary flow of air within the cleaning chamber to separate the crop residue from the sugarcane billets (fig. 1, [0027]).
Regarding claim 2, Sechinato discloses wherein the supplemental air system (54/ 100) includes a blower (120/ 140, fig. 2-5, [0030 and 0035]) coupled to an inlet of the manifold (144, fig. 3-4, [0035]) to deliver pressurized air to the manifold to provide the manifold air flow ([0030 and 0035]), wherein the manifold directs the pressurized air delivered by the blower to the cleaning chamber (fig. 2-4, [0023 and 0027], wherein air is moved towards the cleaning chamber).
Regarding claim 12, Sechinato discloses a blower nozzle system (120/ 140, fig. 2-5, [0030 and 0035]) for a sugarcane harvester (10, fig. 1-2, [0016-0017]) including a cleaning chamber to clean chopped sugarcane (inside of 54/100, fig. 1-2, [0029-0030]) and a chopper (50, fig. 1-2, [0022]) defining a chopper axis (see line running through chopper 50 in annotated fig. 2), configured to discharge a chopped sugarcane mat (51+53, fig. 1-2, [0022]) along a flow path to the cleaning chamber (fig. 2, [0022]), the blower nozzle system comprising:
a longitudinal manifold (102, annotated fig. 2 and fig. 3, [0029]) including a constant cross-section along a length of the manifold (fig. 2-3), defining a longitudinal manifold axis (see manifold axis in annotated fig. 2), wherein the manifold axis is generally parallel to the chopper axis (see annotated fig. 2), wherein the manifold is configured to provide a manifold air flow directed toward the flow path of the chopped sugarcane mat (fig. 1-2, [0030]), wherein the manifold air flow supplements a primary flow of air within the cleaning chamber to separate crop residue from the sugarcane billets of the chopped sugarcane mat (fig. 1, [0027]), wherein the manifold is configured to provide a manifold air flow directed toward the flow path of the chopped sugarcane mat to separate the crop residue from the sugarcane billets (fig. 2-4, [0023 and 0027]).
Regarding claim 13, Sechinato discloses wherein the manifold (102, fig. 2-5, [0029]) includes a plenum (108+152+area inside of 152, fig. 3-5, [0029 and 0036]) having a cylinder defining an interior space (area inside of 152, fig. 3-5, [0036]) including the constant cross-section (fig. 3-5) and including a convex outside surface (108, fig. 3-5, [0029]).
Regarding claim 14, Sechinato discloses including a plurality of nozzles (142/170, fig. 3-5, [0035 and 0042]) extending from the convex outside surface (fig. 5), wherein each of the nozzles is aligned along the manifold axis (104, fig. 2-3 and 5).
Regarding claim 15, Sechinato discloses wherein each of the nozzles (142/170, fig. 3-5, [0035 and 0042]) includes a rectangular channel (fig. 3-5) having a first end extending externally from the convex outside surface (146, fig. 3-5, [0035]) and a second end extending into the interior space (144, fig. 3-5, [0035]).
Regarding claim 16, Sechinato discloses wherein the first end of each of the nozzles incudes a rectangular aperture having an external terminating edge (fig. 3-5).
Regarding claim 17, Sechinato discloses wherein the rectangular aperture of the first end defines an external plane and the plane is generally parallel to the manifold axis (fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 20, Sechinato discloses a method for separating crop residue (53, fig. 1-2, [0022]) from sugarcane billets (51, fig. 1-2, [0022]) in a cleaning chamber (inside 112, fig. 3, [0029-0030]) of a sugarcane harvester (10, fig. 1-2, [0016-0017]) comprising:
chopping a mat of harvested sugarcane into a chopped mat including the sugarcane billets and the crop residue with a chopper having a chopper axis (see line running through chopper 50 in annotated fig. 2), wherein the chopped mat moves along a flow path toward the cleaning chamber (fig. 2, [0022]);
directing a supplemental flow of air (flow from blower 140 in bottom left of fig. 3, [0029-0030 and 0035-0036]) toward the flow path of the chopped mat (fig. 1-2, [0030]) with a longitudinal manifold (102, annotated fig. 2 and fig. 3, [0029]) extending parallel to the chopper axis (see annotated fig. 2) and having a constant cross-section along a length of the manifold (fig. 2-3); and
separating sugarcane billets from crop residue in the cleaning chamber ([0029-0030]) with the supplemental flow of air (flow from blower 140 in bottom left of fig. 3, [0029-0030 and 0035-0036]) and with a primary flow of air (flow from blower 140 in top right of fig. 3, [0029-0030 and 0035-0036]) provided by a fan (blower 140 corresponding to the primary and supplemental flow, fig. 3, [0029-0030 and 0035-0036]) located adjacent to the cleaning chamber (fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sechinato (US 2019/0082605 A1), hereinafter Sechinato in view of Craig et al. (US 20220232772 A1), hereinafter Craig.
Regarding claim 3, Sechinato discloses the chopper (50, fig. 1-2, [0022]) and a chopper axis (see line running through chopper 50 in annotated fig. 2).
However, Sechinato fails to explicitly disclose wherein the chopper includes counter rotating drums defining the chopper axis.
Craig teaches a similar device in the same field of agricultural harvesters wherein the chopper includes counter rotating drums defining the chopper axis (fig. 3, [0016]).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have simply substituted the generic chopper of Sechinato to include the counter rotating drums of Craig to yield the predictable result of cutting the crop ([0016]).
Regarding claim 4, Sechinato in view of Craig teaches wherein the manifold (102, fig. 2-5, [0029]) includes a plenum (108+152+area inside of 152, fig. 3-5, [0029 and 0036]) having a cylinder defining an interior space (area inside of 152, fig. 3-5, [0036]) including the constant cross-section (fig. 3-5) and including a convex outside surface (108, fig. 3-5, [0029]).
Regarding claim 5, Sechinato in view of Craig teaches including a plurality of nozzles (142/170, fig. 3-5, [0035 and 0042]) extending from the convex outside surface (fig. 5), wherein each of the nozzles is aligned along the manifold axis (104, fig. 2-3 and 5).
Regarding claim 6, Sechinato in view of Craig teaches wherein each of the nozzles (142/170, fig. 3-5, [0035 and 0042]) includes a rectangular channel (fig. 3-5) having a first end extending externally from the convex outside surface (146, fig. 3-5, [0035]) and a second end extending into the interior space (144, fig. 3-5, [0035]).
Regarding claim 7, Sechinato in view of Craig teaches wherein the first end of each of the nozzles incudes one of a rectangular aperture, an elliptical aperture, and oval apertures, or a square aperture (fig. 2-3, wherein the aperture is rectangular), having an external terminating edge (fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 8, Sechinato in view of Craig teaches wherein the rectangular aperture of the first end defines an external plane and the plane is generally parallel to the manifold axis (fig. 2-3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 18-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Sechinato is regarded as the closest prior art, but fails to teach “wherein the internal terminating edge is inclined with respect to the manifold axis.” It would not be obvious to modify Sechinato to have an internal terminating edge that is inclined with respect to the manifold axis without undo hindsight. Claims 10-11 and 19 would be allowable for depending on claims 9 and 18 respectively.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 20 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 20 respectively of copending Application No. 18/611,893 in view of Puvak (US 2018/0352747).
18/611,893 discloses a manifold having a tapered cross-section, but fails to disclose a constant cross-section. US 2018/0352747 teaches that both an air-chaff outlet with a tapered cross-section (152A, fig. 4-5, [0014 and 0016]) and a constant cross-section (170, fig. 4-5, [0014 and 0016]) are known cross-section designs for an air-flow manifold. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention of 18/611,893 to have changed the shape from a tapered cross-selection to the claimed constant cross-section of the current case of US 2018/0352747, since this is a known design choice.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER A RAILEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/Nicole Coy/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672