DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's submission filed on 13 April 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 10, 12, 14-17, and 20 are currently amended; no claims are cancelled; claims 6, 8, 11, 13, 18, and 19 are previously presented; no claims have been added. Claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed 13 April 2026, with respect to “Claim Objections” have been fully considered and the examiner notes the applicant has made the appropriate corrections to overcome the objection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The claims depend on independent claims 1, 12, and 17 respectively which states “determining that a wireless device is a high-performance device” as line 2 of claim 1 states. Dependent claims contradicts this with the opposite: “determining that the wireless device is not a high-performance wireless device” as lines 2-3 of claim 3 states. This is not further limiting but instead it attempts to void the claim as there are no such wireless device that can be determined to be both “a high performance device” and simultaneously “not a high-performance device”, where the claim states that the high-performance wireless device includes one or more of a relay node or a 5G capable device. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 12, 14, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng et al. (US 2018/0124718 A1), hereafter referred Ng, in view of Wang et al. (US 2021/0092625 A1), hereafter referred Wang. Wang was cited by applicant’s IDS filed 21 March 2024.
Regarding claim 1, Ng teaches a method comprising:
determining that a wireless device is a high-performance device, wherein the high-performance wireless device includes one or more of a relay node or a 5G-capable device (Ng, Fig. 1, [0044]-[0049];the cellular system includes BS1 which is the anchor base station and BS2 which is a relay node (RN), where it can also be extended to multi-hop wireless relay networks that have additional RNs); and
upon determining that the wireless device is a high-performance wireless device, dynamically identifying a signal performance parameter for the high-performance wireless device (Ng, Fig. 7A-7B, [0078]-[0079]; the ABS can instruct the RN to monitor any SS block on the signal quality of that SS block); and
comparing the signal performance parameter to a predetermined threshold (Ng, Fig.7A-7B, [0078]-[0079]; the ABS can indicate a signal quality threshold where the RN monitors if the SS block signal quality is above or below the indicated threshold or not).
Ng does not expressly teach determining that the signal performance parameter meets the predetermined threshold; and adjusting a channel state information (CSI) reporting protocol by increasing CSI reporting frequency for the high-performance wireless device based on the comparison.
However, Wang teaches determining that the signal performance parameter meets the predetermined threshold; and adjusting a channel state information (CSI) reporting protocol by increasing CSI reporting frequency for the high-performance wireless device based on the comparison (Wang, Fig. 2, [0038], [0043], and [0046]-[0048]; the UE compares the signal quality of a serving downlink beam against thresholds, where signal quality measurements may be based on the RSRP or the CSI-RS or other signal quality measurements like BLER of the PDCCH, where when the signal quality for a serving downlink beam is below threshold 2, the CSI reporting frequency is increased to high reporting frequency from medium reporting frequency).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ng to include the above recited limitations as taught by Wang in order to reduce the likelihood of a beam link failure (Wang, [0046]).
Regarding claim 12, Ng teaches a system comprising:
a processing node (Ng, [0006] and [0009]; an anchor base station includes a processor and a transceiver operably connected to the processor); and a processor coupled to the processing node configured to perform operations (Ng, [0005]-[0006] and [0009]; relay node and anchor base station includes a processor configured to perform operations with a combination of hardware, software, and firmware) comprising:
identifying a wireless device requiring high performance, wherein the high-performance wireless device includes one or more of a relay node or a 5G-capable device (Ng, Fig. 1, [0044]-[0049];the cellular system includes BS1 which is the anchor base station and BS2 which is a relay node (RN), where it can also be extended to multi-hop wireless relay networks that have additional RNs);
responsive to the identification, determining a signal performance parameter for the high-performance wireless device (Ng, Fig. 7A-7B, [0078]-[0079]; the ABS can instruct the RN to monitor any SS block on the signal quality of that SS block); and
comparing the signal performance parameter to a predetermined threshold (Ng, Fig.7A-7B, [0078]-[0079]; the ABS can indicate a signal quality threshold where the RN monitors if the SS block signal quality is above or below the indicated threshold or not).
Ng does not expressly teach determining that the signal performance parameter meets the predetermined threshold; and dynamically increasing channel state information (CSI) reporting protocol for the high-performance wireless device based on the comparison.
However, Wang teaches determining that the signal performance parameter meets the predetermined threshold; and dynamically increasing channel state information (CSI) reporting protocol for the high-performance wireless device based on the comparison (Wang, Fig. 2, [0038], [0043], and [0046]-[0048]; the UE compares the signal quality of a serving downlink beam against thresholds, where signal quality measurements may be based on the RSRP or the CSI-RS or other signal quality measurements like BLER of the PDCCH, where when the signal quality for a serving downlink beam is below threshold 2, the CSI reporting frequency is increased to high reporting frequency from medium reporting frequency).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ng to include the above recited limitations as taught by Wang in order to reduce the likelihood of a beam link failure (Wang, [0046]).
Regarding claim 17, Ng teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions executed by a processor to perform operations (Ng, [0005]-[0006] and [0010]; relay node and anchor base station includes a processor configured to perform operations with computer programs stored in computer readable medium) comprising:
identifying a wireless device requiring high performance, wherein the high-performance wireless device includes one or more of a relay node or a 5G-capable device (Ng, Fig. 1, [0044]-[0049];the cellular system includes BS1 which is the anchor base station and BS2 which is a relay node (RN), where it can also be extended to multi-hop wireless relay networks that have additional RNs);
responsive to the identification of the high-performance wireless device, determining a signal performance parameter for the wireless device (Ng, Fig. 7A-7B, [0078]-[0079]; the ABS can instruct the RN to monitor any SS block on the signal quality of that SS block); and
comparing the signal performance parameter to a predetermined threshold (Ng, Fig.7A-7B, [0078]-[0079]; the ABS can indicate a signal quality threshold where the RN monitors if the SS block signal quality is above or below the indicated threshold or not).
Ng does not expressly teach determining that the signal performance parameter meets the predetermined threshold; and dynamically increasing channel state information (CSI) reporting protocol for the high-performance wireless device based on the comparison.
However, Wang teaches determining that the signal performance parameter meets the predetermined threshold; and dynamically increasing channel state information (CSI) reporting protocol for the high-performance wireless device based on the comparison (Wang, Fig. 2, [0038], [0043], and [0046]-[0048]; the UE compares the signal quality of a serving downlink beam against thresholds, where signal quality measurements may be based on the RSRP or the CSI-RS or other signal quality measurements like BLER of the PDCCH, where when the signal quality for a serving downlink beam is below threshold 2, the CSI reporting frequency is increased to high reporting frequency from medium reporting frequency).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ng to include the above recited limitations as taught by Wang in order to reduce the likelihood of a beam link failure (Wang, [0046]).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Ng in view of Wang teaches the method of claim 1 and the system of claim 12 above. Ng does not expressly teach further comprising decreasing the CSI reporting frequency for the high-performance wireless device upon determining the signal performance parameter does not meet the predetermined threshold and increasing the CSI reporting frequency when the signal performance parameter meets the predetermined threshold.
However, Wang teaches further comprising decreasing the CSI reporting frequency for the high-performance wireless device upon determining the signal performance parameter does not meet the predetermined threshold and increasing the CSI reporting frequency when the signal performance parameter meets the predetermined threshold (Wang, Fig. 2, [0046]-0048]; the UE is configured with two signal quality thresholds denoted Threshold 1 and Threshold 2. The thresholds define three different signal quality ranges where different CSI configurations are applied and each CSI configuration includes different reporting frequencies, referred to as the low frequency, medium frequency, and high frequency. When the signal quality is above Threshold 1, the UE transmits the CSI reports using a low reporting frequency, when the signal quality is between Threshold 1 and Threshold 2, the UE transmits the CSI reports using a medium reporting frequency, and when the signal qual8ity is below Threshold 2, the UE transmits the CSI reports using a high reporting frequency).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ng to include the above recited limitations as taught by Wang in order to reduce the likelihood of a beam link failure (Wang, [0046]).
Regarding claim 4, Ng in view of Wang teaches the method of claim 1 above. Ng does not expressly teach further comprising sending an instruction using a radio resource configuration (RRC) message to the high-performance wireless device to increase CSI reporting frequency.
However, Wang teaches further comprising sending an instruction using a radio resource configuration (RRC) message to the high-performance wireless device to increase CSI reporting frequency (Wang, [0050]; the base station may order the UE to change its reporting frequency via radio resource control (RRC) signaling).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ng to include the above recited limitations as taught by Wang in order to reduce the likelihood of a beam link failure (Wang, [0046]).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Ng in view of Wang teaches the method of claim 1 and the system of claim 12, and the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17 above. Further, Ng teaches further comprising identifying the wireless device as relay node (Ng, Fig. 1, [0044]-[0049];the cellular system includes BS1 which is the anchor base station and BS2 which is a relay node (RN), where it can also be extended to multi-hop wireless relay networks that have additional RNs).
Regarding claim 6, Ng in view of Wang teaches the method of claim 1 above. Ng does not expressly teach further comprising determining an application of the wireless device requires high performance prior to comparing the signal performance parameter to the predetermined threshold.
However, Wang teaches further comprising determining an application of the wireless device requires high performance prior to comparing the signal performance parameter to the predetermined threshold (Wang, [0121]; RAM of the UE may be configured to include operating system 1223, application program 1225 such as a web browser application, a widget or gadget engine or another application and data file).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ng to include the above recited limitations as taught by Wang in order to reduce the likelihood of a beam link failure (Wang, [0046]).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Ng in view of Wang teaches the method of claim 2 and the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17 above. Ng does not expressly teach further comprising comparing a current CSI reporting frequency to a stored minimum CSI reporting frequency prior to decreasing the CSI reporting frequency.
However, Wang teaches further comprising comparing a current CSI reporting frequency to a stored minimum CSI reporting frequency prior to decreasing the CSI reporting frequency (Wang, Fig. 2, [0046]-0048] and [0111]; the UE is configured with two signal quality thresholds denoted Threshold 1 and Threshold 2. The thresholds define three different signal quality ranges where different CSI configurations are applied and each CSI configuration includes different reporting frequencies, referred to as the low frequency, medium frequency, and high frequency. When the signal quality is above Threshold 1, the UE transmits the CSI reports using a low reporting frequency, when the signal quality is between Threshold 1 and Threshold 2, the UE transmits the CSI reports using a medium reporting frequency, and when the signal qual8ity is below Threshold 2, the UE transmits the CSI reports using a high reporting frequency. The processing circuitry allows the UE to compare the obtained or converted information to information stored by the UE and then perform operations based on the comparison, where the minimum CSI reporting frequency is the low frequency).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ng to include the above recited limitations as taught by Wang in order to reduce the likelihood of a beam link failure (Wang, [0046]).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Ng in view of Wang teaches the method of claim 1 and the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17 above. Ng does not expressly teach further comprising comparing a current CSI reporting frequency to a stored maximum CSI reporting frequency prior to increasing the CSI reporting frequency.
However, Wang teaches further comprising comparing a current CSI reporting frequency to a stored maximum CSI reporting frequency prior to increasing the CSI reporting frequency (Wang, Fig. 2, [0046]-0048]; the UE is configured with two signal quality thresholds denoted Threshold 1 and Threshold 2. The thresholds define three different signal quality ranges where different CSI configurations are applied and each CSI configuration includes different reporting frequencies, referred to as the low frequency, medium frequency, and high frequency. When the signal quality is above Threshold 1, the UE transmits the CSI reports using a low reporting frequency, when the signal quality is between Threshold 1 and Threshold 2, the UE transmits the CSI reports using a medium reporting frequency, and when the signal quality is below Threshold 2, the UE transmits the CSI reports using a high reporting frequency. The processing circuitry allows the UE to compare the obtained or converted information to information stored by the UE and then perform operations based on the comparison, where the maximum CSI reporting frequency is the high frequency).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ng to include the above recited limitations as taught by Wang in order to reduce the likelihood of a beam link failure (Wang, [0046]).
Claims 9-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ng in view of Wang as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Shen et al. (US 2015/0117360 A1), hereafter referred Shen. Shen was cited by applicant’s IDS filed 21 March 2024.
Regarding claim 9, Ng in view of Wang teaches the method of claim 1 above. While Wang suggests the wireless device supports multiple RATs (Wang, [0105]; WD 1110 may include multiple sets of one or more illustrated components for different wireless technologies supported by WD 1110, such as LTE, NR, WiFi, WiMAX, Bluetooth, etc.), Ng in view of Wang does not expressly teach dynamically identifying the signal performance parameter comprises identifying the signal performance parameter on a first radio access technology (RAT) to determine a first signal performance parameter and identifying the signal performance parameter on a second RAT to determine a second signal performance parameter.
However, Shen teaches wherein dynamically identifying the signal performance parameter comprises identifying the signal performance parameter on a first radio access technology (RAT) to determine a first signal performance parameter and identifying the signal performance parameter on a second RAT to determine a second signal performance parameter (Shen, Fig. 5c, [0081]-[0082]; a multi-RAT small cell has a first RAT and second RAT and determines whether a first RAT signal measurement being below a first threshold and a second RAT signal measurement being above a second threshold).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ng in view of Wang to include the above recited limitations as taught by Shen in order to optimize operation of the different RATs (Shen, [0006]).
Regarding claim 10, Ng in view of Wang further in view of Shen teaches the method of claim 9 above. Ng does not expressly teach further comprising comparing the first and the second signal performance parameters to the predetermined threshold to determine when the first and second signal performance parameters meet the predetermined threshold and increasing the CSI reporting frequency for the high-performance wireless device over the first RAT when the first signal performance parameter meets the predetermined threshold and increasing the CSI reporting frequency for the high-performance wireless device over the second RAT when the second signal performance parameter meets the predetermined threshold.
However, Wang teaches further comprising comparing the first and the second signal performance parameters to the predetermined threshold to determine when the first and second signal performance parameters meet the predetermined threshold and increasing the CSI reporting frequency for the high-performance wireless device over the first RAT when the first signal performance parameter meets the predetermined threshold and increasing the CSI reporting frequency for the high-performance wireless device over the second RAT when the second signal performance parameter meets the predetermined threshold (Wang, Fig. 2, [0046]-0048]; the UE is configured with two signal quality thresholds denoted Threshold 1 and Threshold 2. The thresholds define three different signal quality ranges where different CSI configurations are applied and each CSI configuration includes different reporting frequencies, referred to as the low frequency, medium frequency, and high frequency. When the signal quality is above Threshold 1, the UE transmits the CSI reports using a low reporting frequency, when the signal quality is between Threshold 1 and Threshold 2, the UE transmits the CSI reports using a medium reporting frequency, and when the signal quality is below Threshold 2, the UE transmits the CSI reports using a high reporting frequency).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ng to include the above recited limitations as taught by Wang in order to reduce the likelihood of a beam link failure (Wang, [0046]).
Regarding claims 11 and 13, Ng in view of Wang teaches the method of claim 1 and the system of claim 12 above. Ng in view of Wang does not expressly teach wherein identifying the signal performance parameter comprises identifying one of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a fading measurement, or a path loss measurement.
However, Shen teaches wherein identifying the signal performance parameter comprises identifying one of a received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a fading measurement, or a path loss measurement (Shen, [0011]; determining a path loss value).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to create the invention of Ng in view of Wang to include the above recited limitations as taught by Shen in order to optimize operation of the different RATs (Shen, [0006]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416