DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“dough-dispensing device” in claim 1.
“Fat dispensing device” in claim 1.
“one measuring device” in claim 1.
“processing means” in claim 1.
“sampling device” in claim 14.
“dough-dispensing device” is disclosed as a funnel and rollers.
“Fat dispensing device” is disclosed in specification to include a butter pump.
“one measuring device” disclosed in specification to include a line scanner, photocell, ultrasonic sensor, or ccd camera.
“processing means” is not disclosed in the specification.
“sampling device” is not disclosed in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 includes the limitation, “processing means for…” . This limitation is being interpreted as invoking 112f. The specification does not provide support for the structure required to perform the claimed functions.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). It is unclear whether a conveyer belt is required in the claim.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase “in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). It is unclear if the line scanner must be one of the embodiments further recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poppe et al. (US Pat# 3,408,981) in view of Blokland (PGPub# US 2018/0235241 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Poppe teaches a device for providing a dough sheet provided with a layer of fat (figure 1, and abstract), comprising: A conveyor, such as a conveyor belt 19, with a conveying surface extending in a longitudinal direction and a transverse direction perpendicular thereto, adapted for displacing goods placed on the conveyor in a conveying direction parallel to the longitudinal direction (figure 1); A dough-dispensing device (26/29/20/21) for applying a continuous dough sheet on the conveyor; A fat dispensing device (78) for applying a layer of fat; wherein The fat is applied on the dough sheet or the dough sheet is applied on the layer of fat (col. 4, lines 17-44 and figures 1-8).
Poppe further teaches the desire to control and maintain the thickness/ratio of dough and fat layers in order to make a uniform composition food product in all dimensions. (col. 1, line 29- col. 3, line 18).
Popper does not explicitly teach at least one measuring device placed above or along the conveyor for the continuous or random measurement of: the local height of the dough sheet at a dough measurement location; and the local height of the layer of fat at a fat measurement location; Processing means for: Determining a measured height of the dough sheet at a position the longitudinal direction on the dough sheet and a height of the layer of fat at the same position on the dough sheet the longitudinal direction; and Determining the dough-fat height ratio and thus the dough-fat volume ratio.
However, Blokland discloses a similar dough manufacturing line. (abstract, figure 1) Blokland discloses the use of one or more measurement sensors (18-23) configured to obtain distance information used by a controller to calculate physical properties of the dough like thickness as it continues to be processed along the manufacturing line. (par. 9-22)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the measurement system and controller of Blokland, to the apparatus of Poppe, in order to control/maintain the appropriate amounts of fat and dough in the manufacturing line as desired by Poppe. The combination of Poppe and Blokland would read on a controller configured to determine thicknesses of each layer and thus also determining ratios of the layers.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Poppe and Blokland teaches a single measuring device, for measuring at a dough measurement location in the direction of transport: the local height of the dough sheet at the dough measurement location; and the local height of the layer of fat at the fat measurement location, wherein the measuring device is configured for measuring the local height of the dough sheet and the local height of the layer of fat at a mutual distance in a direction with at least a directional component in the width direction. (Blokland: par. 9-22, and claim 8)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Poppe and Blokland teaches at least two measuring devices, for measuring at at least two locations located at a distance from each other in the direction of transport, relative to the conveyor: the local height of the dough sheet at a dough measurement location; and the local height of the layer of fat at a fat measurement location. (Blokland: par. 9-22, and claim 8)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Poppe and Blokland teaches wherein the at least one measuring device is configured for determining the dough sheet height and/or the layer of fat height at several locations in the width direction. (Blokland: par. 9-22, and claim 8)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Poppe and Blokland teaches wherein the at least one measuring device comprises a line scanner, in particular embodied by a series of analogue (laser) photocells, a laser line scanner, an ultrasonic scanner, or a ccd distance cam, which extends across the conveyor in a width direction. (claim 8, ultrasonic sensor)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Poppe and Blokland teaches a further dough-dispensing device for applying a continuous dough sheet on the combination of a dough sheet and a layer of fat; or a further fat dispensing device for applying a layer of fat on the combination of a dough sheet and a layer of fat; and at least one further measuring device for measuring a subsequent layer of dough or fat. (Poppe, col. 1, lines 26-62: Poppe discloses that pasties are made up of layers of fat and dough.) The resulting combination of Poppe and Blokland would lead to sensors to measure each subsequent layer to ensure appropriate ratio of fat to dough).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Poppe and Blokland teaches a control device for controlling the dough-dispensing device and the fat-dispensing device, arranged for controlling the dough dispensing device and the fat dispensing device on the basis of the determined dough-fat-height ratio and a desired dough-fat-height ratio. (Poppe discloses maintaining thickness of layers and Blokland teaches a controller for determining the thickness as cited in claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Poppe and Blokland teaches a weighing device for measuring the weight of the dough sheet and/or the layer of fat. (Blokland: Claim 10)
Regarding claim 9, Poppe teaches wherein the dough-dispensing device comprises a funnel followed by at least one pair of rollers. (col. 3, line 35- col. 4 line 10, and figures 1 and 2)
Regarding claim 10, Poppe teaches wherein the fat-dispensing device comprises a fat pump or vacuum pump. (col. 4, lines 17-31)
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Poppe and Blokland teaches a folding and/or laminating device for forming puff pastry. (Blokland: Claim 15)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Poppe and Blokland teaches adapted for determining the dough-fat height ratio during transport of the dough sheet with the layer of fat in the direction of transport. (See rejection of claim 1 above)
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Poppe and Blokland teaches a sample device placed downstream in the direction of transport relative to the at least one measuring device for manually determining the local height and width or weight of the dough sheet at a dough measuring location and/or the local height and width or weight of the layer of fat at a fat measurement location. (Blockland: claim 10: Weighing stage would read on sample device as claimed.)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poppe et al. (US Pat# 3,408,981) in view of Blokland (PGPub# US 2018/0235241 A1) and Paulucci (US Pat#5,968,570).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Poppe and Blokland teaches wherein the device furthermore comprises a folding device for folding the layer of fat over the dough sheet that extends width-wise beyond the layer of fat. (Blokland: Claim 15)
Poppe in view of Blokland does not explicitly teach wherein the dough-dispensing device and the fat-dispensing device are adapted for applying a layer of fat with a width that is smaller than the width of the dough layer.
However, Paulucci teaches a similar dough manufacturing line. (figure 5) Paulucci teaches adding filling less than the width of the dough layer and subsequent folding operation in order to form a folded pastry product. (figures 5-13, col. 9 lines 1-67)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the filling adaptation of Paulucci, to the apparatus of Poppe in view of Blokland, in order to form a sealed and folded pastry product as disclosed by Paulucci.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Harada et al. (PGPub# US2021/0045391A1) which teaches another dough system with measurement of filling and dough.
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761