Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 16-19 are withdrawn. Claims 1-15 and 20 are under examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention II, claims 1-16 and 20 the species Lactobacillus, sunflower seed oil, glycerin fatty acid ester, peanuts, fructo-oligosaccharide, xanthan gum and disease is hangover in the reply filed on 3/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/8/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 3/21/24 and 6/26/25 have been considered and initialed copies are enclosed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 7, 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “pentose such as xylose an arabinose” and “hexose such as glucose, mannose, fructose and galactose”. The phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 20 recites the use of a composition comprising gastric acid stable probiotic formulation according to claim 1, for manufacture of medicines employed for treating or preventing hangover or liver disease.
Claim 20 does not set forth any steps for manufacture of the composition of claim 1, thus the claim is vague and indefinite.
Claims 2 and 7 recites the special character “~” for the weight part. Does this mean the ranges are approximate ranges?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is not a proper process because it does not provide process steps for the manufacture of the composition of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pompejus et al. WO 2012/100991 8/2/2012.
Claim 1, 3-6, 8-15, and 20: Pompejus et al disclose a probiotic formulation for relieving hangovers contains (a) Lactobacillus, (b) edible oils such as sunflower seed oil, and (c) emulsifiers such as glycerin fatty acid ester or sucrose fatty acid ester as essential ingredients and further comprises dietary fiber such as xanthan gum or guar gum, prebiotics such as sucrose, fructose, galactose or glucose, oil seed meals such as peanut meal, soybean meal, sunflower meal or coconut meal . See p. 4 lines 13-28, p. 5-6, p. 40-41, p. 42 lines 23-25, p. 43 first and second paragraph, p. 45 last paragraph, p. 46 second paragraph, p. 47 last paragraph lines 17-20.
Pompejus et al disclose the formulation comprises 0.025 wt.% to 2 wt-% of Lactobacillus. See p. 40 lines 3-6 and p. 40-41.
The composition of Pompejus is a health care food, a food additive and a pharmaceutical composition comprising the probiotic formulation as an active ingredient. See in addition abstract and claims
Regarding claim 14, Pompejus et al disclose the health functional food is a beverage, oral tablet, chewing tablet (oral tablet), granule, or capsule.
The recitation for the prevention or alleviation of hangover or treating or preventing hangover is drawn to the intended use of the probiotic formulation.
A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pompejus et al. WO 2012/100991 8/2/2012.
Pompejus et al disclose a probiotic formulation for relieving hangovers contains (a) Lactobacillus, (b) edible oils such as sunflower seed oil, and (c) emulsifiers such as glycerin fatty acid ester or sucrose fatty acid ester as essential ingredients and further comprises dietary fiber such as xanthan gum or guar gum, prebiotics such as sucrose, fructose, galactose or glucose, oil seed meals such as peanut meal, soybean meal, sunflower meal or coconut meal . See p. 4 lines 13-28, p. 5-6, p. 40-41, p. 42 lines 23-25, p. 43 first and second paragraph, p. 45 last paragraph, p. 46 second paragraph, p. 47 last paragraph lines 17-20.
Pompejus et al disclose the formulation comprises 0.025 wt.% to 2 wt-% of Lactobacillus. See p. 40 lines 3-6 and p. 40-41.
Pompejus et al does not disclose, claim 2, the probiotic formulation according to claim 1, Wherein relative weight ratio of the individual components of the probiotic formulation consists of (a) lactic acid bacteria 1.0 weight part, (b) edible oil 1 ~ 90 weight part, and (c) emulsifier 0.1 ~ 5.0 weight part.
Pompejus et al does not disclose claim 7, the probiotic formulation according to claim 6, Wherein said relative weight ratio of the individual components of a probiotic formulation for relieving hangovers consists of (a) lactic acid bacteria 1.0 weight part, (b) edible oil 1 ~ 90 weight part, (c) emulsifier 0.1 ~ 5.0 weight part, (d) nuts 5.0 ~ 90.0 weight part, (e) prebiotics 0.01 ~ 5.0 weight part, and (f) cohesive agents 0.1 ~ 5.0 weight part.
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Pompejus et al teach that the components of the probiotic formulation comprise therapeutically effective amounts so as to provide the form for proper administration to the patient and disclose that the active ingredient is 0.025 wt.% to 2 wt-% of Lactobacillus relative to the total mass of the composition. See p. 40 lines 3-6 and p. 40-41.
Thus, arriving at the claimed weight parts of lactic acid bacteria, approximate weight parts of edible oil and approximate weight parts of emulsifier and furthermore approximate weight parts of nuts, approximate weight parts of prebiotics and approximate weight parts of cohesive agents would have been achieved by one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date by routine optimization of the disclosed ingredients in order to arrive at therapeutic amounts of the components of the probiotic formulation so as to provide a proper form for proper administration to the patient.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/611,899 (‘899). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
1. The ‘899 application discloses a probiotic formulation for relieving hangovers contains (a) lactic acid bacteria, (b) edible oils, and (c) emulsifiers as essential ingredients.
2. The ‘899 application discloses the probiotic formulation according to claim 1, Wherein relative weight ratio of the individual components of the probiotic formulation consists of (a) lactic acid bacteria 1.0 weight part, (b) edible oil 1 to 90 weight part, and (c) emulsifier 0.1 to 5.0 weight part. See claims 1, 4 and 5.
3. The ‘899 application discloses the probiotic formulation according to claim 1, Wherein said (a) lactic acid bacteria is characterized by one or more strains selected from microorganisms of the genus Lactobacillus, Bifidobacterium, Bacillus, Streptococcus, and Enterococcus. See claim 6.
4. The ‘899 application discloses the probiotic formulation according to claim 1, Wherein said (b) edible oils are characterized by one or more ingredients selected from a group of avocado oil, canola oil, evening primrose oil, coconut oil, Brazil nut oil, corn oil, cottonseed oil, flaxseed oil, grapeseed oil, hemp oil, olive oil, palm oil, safflower seed oil, soybean oil, peanut oil, sunflower seed oil, krill oil, anchovy oil, salmon oil, rice bran oil, brown rice oil, virgin coconut oil, rosehip oil, and tuna oil. See claim 7.
5. The ‘899 application discloses the probiotic formulation according to claim 1, Wherein said (c) emulsifiers are characterized by one or more components selected from a group consisting of propylene glycol fatty acid esters, glycerin fatty acid esters, sucrose fatty acid esters, polyglycerin fatty acid esters, sorbitan fatty acid esters, organic acid monoglycerides, polyoxyethylene fatty acid esters, propylene glycol fatty acid esters, polyoxyethylene fatty acid esters, polysorbate, egg yolk lecithin, soybean lecithin, carboxymethylcellulose, glycerin, soy phospholipids, and stearyl calcium lactate. See claim 8.
6. The ‘899 application discloses the probiotic formulation according to claim 1, Wherein said probiotic formulation comprises one or more additional ingredients selected from (d) nuts, (e) prebiotics, and (f) cohesive agents in addition to the essential ingredients consisting of (a) lactic acid bacteria, (b) edible oils, and (c) emulsifiers. See claim 10.
7. The ‘899 application discloses probiotic formulation according to claim 6, Wherein said relative weight ratio of the individual components of a probiotic formulation for relieving hangovers consists of (a) lactic acid bacteria 1.0 weight part, (b) edible oil 1 ~ 90 weight part, (c) emulsifier 0.1 ~ 5.0 weight part, (d) nuts 5.0 ~ 90.0 weight part, (e) prebiotics 0.01 ~ 5.0 weight part, and (f) cohesive agents 0.1 ~ 5.0 weight part. See claim 11.
8. The ‘899 application discloses the probiotic formulation according to claim 6, Wherein said (d) nuts is characterized by one or more components selected from a group of peanuts, almonds, walnuts, pine nuts, pistachios, pecans, macadamias, hazelnuts, cashews, Brazil nuts, chestnuts, soybeans, cacao nibs, coconuts, sunflower seeds, and pumpkin seeds. See claim 9.
9. The ‘899 application discloses the probiotic formulation according to claim 6, Wherein said (e) prebiotics is characterized by being one or more components selected from pentose such as xylose and arabinose, hexose such as glucose, mannose, fructose, and galactose; lactulose, lactitol, sucrose, lactose, maltose, trehalose; fructo-oligosaccharide, raffinose, stachyose, maltodextrin, amylose, amylopectin, starch, cellulose, and pectin. See claim 12.
10. The ‘899 claims disclose the probiotic formulation according to claim 6, Wherein said (f) the cohesive agents is characterized by one or more components selected from a group consisting of sodium silico aluminate, xanthan gum, carrageenan, guar gum, diutan gum, cellulose gum, gellan gum, pectin, and carboxymethylcellulose. See claim 13.
11. The ‘899 claims disclose a health care food comprising the probiotic formulation according to claim 1 for the prevention or alleviation of hangover or liver disease. The recitation of “for the prevention or alleviation of hangover or liver disease” is an intended use of the composition.
12. The ‘899 claims disclose a food additive comprising the probiotic formulation according to claim 1 for the prevention or alleviation of hangover or liver disease. The recitation of “for the prevention or alleviation of hangover or liver disease” is an intended use of the composition.
13. The ‘899 claims disclose a health functional food, comprising the probiotic formulation according to claim 1 as an active ingredient to improve or prevent hangover or liver disease. The recitation of “for the prevention or alleviation of hangover or liver disease” is an intended use of the composition.
14. The ‘899 claims disclose the health functional food according to claim 13, Said health functional food is provided as powder, granule, tablet, chewing tablet, capsule or beverage type. See claim 17.
15. The ‘899 claims disclose a pharmaceutical composition comprising the probiotic formulation according to claim 1 as an active ingredient to treat or prevent hangover or liver disease. The recitation of “for the prevention or alleviation of hangover or liver disease” is an intended use of the composition.
Claim 20: The ‘899 claims disclose the composition comprising gastric acid-stable probiotic formulation as set forth above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 and 20 are rejected. Claims 16-19 are withdrawn.
/OLUWATOSIN A OGUNBIYI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645