DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura (US 6349026).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses a multilayer ceramic capacitor (Fig. 1-3) comprising: an element body (Fig. 1, 3) having a multilayer body (Fig. 1, 3) in which dielectric layers (Fig. 1, 7) formed of a dielectric ceramic and internal electrodes (Fig. 1, 5/6) containing a metal as a main component are stacked (Fig. 1), and a protective portion (Fig. 1, 7 above top 5/6) that covers a surface of the multilayer body (Fig. 1); and an external electrode (Fig. 1, 2) that is disposed on a surface of the element body and is electrically connected to the internal electrodes (Fig. 1), the external electrode having a conductor portion (Fig. 2, 21) formed of a metal containing copper ([Col 5, lines 48-56]) as a main component element and a ceramic portion (Fig. 2, 22) formed of a ceramic material ([Col 6, lines 25-52]), wherein a bending ceramic portion that is disposed to penetrate between a surface in contact with the element body in the conductor portion and a surface opposed to the surface and in which a path of the penetration bends is included in the ceramic portion (Fig. 2, 22 at corner has at least some bend in it).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura further discloses that the metal in the internal electrodes contains copper as a main component element ([Col 5, lines 26-35]).
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura further discloses that the ceramic portion contains components common to those of the dielectric layers ([Col 6, lines 25-52]).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura further discloses that the dielectric layers contain barium titanate as a main component ([Col 5, lines 17-25]).
Regarding claim 8, the language, term, or phrase “A manufacturing method of the multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, the manufacturing method comprising: preparing powder of a dielectric ceramic composition; mixing the powder of the dielectric ceramic composition with a binder and shaping a mixture into a sheet shape to obtain a green sheet; forming an internal electrode pattern containing a metal on the green sheet; obtaining a green multilayer body through executing pressure bonding after stacking a predetermined number of the green sheets on which the internal electrode pattern is formed and disposing green sheets for a cover layer at both end portions in a layer-stacking direction; dicing the green multilayer body to obtain a before-firing element body; removing the binder from the before-firing element body; causing paste for an external electrode containing metal particles containing copper as a main component element and ceramic particles having composition similar to composition of the dielectric ceramic composition to adhere to a surface of the before-firing element body resulting from the removal of the binder; and firing the before-firing element body to which the paste for the external electrode adheres to obtain a sintered body", is directed towards the process of making the multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1. It is well settled that "product by process" limitations in claims drawn to structure are directed to the product, per se, no matter how actually made. In re Hirao, 190 USPQ 15 at 17 (footnote 3). See also, In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685; In re Luck, 177 USPQ 523; In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324; In re Avery, 186 USPQ 161; In re Wethheim, 191 USPQ 90 (209 USPQ 554 does not deal with this issue); In re Marosi et al., 218 USPQ 289; and particularly In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, all of which make it clear that it is the patentability of the final product per se which must be determined in a "product by process" claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in "product by process" claims or otherwise. The above case law further makes clear that applicant has the burden of showing that the method language necessarily produces a structural difference. As such, the language "A manufacturing method of the multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, the manufacturing method comprising: preparing powder of a dielectric ceramic composition; mixing the powder of the dielectric ceramic composition with a binder and shaping a mixture into a sheet shape to obtain a green sheet; forming an internal electrode pattern containing a metal on the green sheet; obtaining a green multilayer body through executing pressure bonding after stacking a predetermined number of the green sheets on which the internal electrode pattern is formed and disposing green sheets for a cover layer at both end portions in a layer-stacking direction; dicing the green multilayer body to obtain a before-firing element body; removing the binder from the before-firing element body; causing paste for an external electrode containing metal particles containing copper as a main component element and ceramic particles having composition similar to composition of the dielectric ceramic composition to adhere to a surface of the before-firing element body resulting from the removal of the binder; and firing the before-firing element body to which the paste for the external electrode adheres to obtain a sintered body" only requires the multilayer ceramic capacitor according to claim 1, which does not distinguish the invention from Nakamura, who teaches the structure as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 6349026) in view of LEE et al (US 2015/0318111).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura fails to teach the claim limitations.
LEE teaches that a tortuosity of the path that penetrates the conductor portion regarding the bending ceramic portion is equal to or higher than 1.1 (Fig. 3, path of large 30c in center is greater than 1.1x the straight line distance).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of LEE to the invention of Nakamura, in order to reduce contact resistance between the internal and external electrodes (LEE [0006]).
Regarding claim 3, Nakamura fails to teach the claim limitations.
LEE teaches that a tortuosity of the path that penetrates the conductor portion regarding the bending ceramic portion is equal to or higher than 1.1 and equal to or lower than 7.0 (Fig. 3, path of large 30c in center is greater than 1.1x but less than 7x the straight line distance).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of LEE to the invention of Nakamura, in order to reduce contact resistance between the internal and external electrodes (LEE [0006]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (US 6349026) in view of SAKATSUME et al (US 2017/0345570).
Regarding claim 6, Nakamura fails to teach the claim limitations.
SAKATSUME teaches that the dielectric layers contain calcium zirconate as a main component ([0016]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of SAKATSUME to the invention of Nakamura, in order to construct the devices using known materials in the art to meet user needs based on known material properties and availability of those materials. The use of conventional materials/components to perform their known function is obvious. MPEP 2144.06.
Additional Relevant Prior Art:
Yokoyama et al (US 2002/0046861) teaches relevant art in Fig. 4.
ONISHI et al (US 2015/0016018) teaches relevant art in Fig. 5.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL P MCFADDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848