DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment of Papers Received: Amendment/Response dated 6/9/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 138, 139, 141-145, 147 and 148 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the disclosures of Brunn et al (US 2020/0330423 hereafter Brunn).
Bruun discloses an oral dissolvable or chewable formulation comprising cannabinoids [0055- 0058, Examples]. The formulation comprises sugar alcohol particles, where the sugar alcohol is sorbitol [0011, 0070]. The sorbitol is present at least 30%, more preferably at least 50% [0153, Table 8]. The formulation further comprises magnesium aluminum silicates [0322]. These silicates would be processing aids which are present about 0.5% or at least 80 mg of a 1.6g tablet [Table 5]. The cannabinoid can be an isolate of 98.5% purity [Example 4]. The ratio of the cannabinoid : to solvent can be 1:1 [Example 1]. The solvents, being 50% of the extract, would be half of the 2.273% of the tablet, about 18 mg of a 1.6g tablet [Table 5]. The formulation further comprises a self-emulsifying system [0102-0108, 0308]. The non-volatile solvents include oils and triglycerides [0115-0118, 0310]. The tablet are formed by dissolving cannabinoid and forming a solution, followed by absorbing that cannabinoid extract to mesoporous aluminum silicates [Example 1, 3, 7]. The solution does not comprise any additional dissolution aids [Example 4]. The formulation further comprises flavors [0311].
Regarding the ratios and concentration of the instant claims, it is the position of the Examiner that said claims do not distinguish over the claims. The prior art discloses an orally disintegrating tablet or powder comprising cannabinoid absorbed onto mesoporous silica carriers meeting the general conditions of the claims. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With these aspects in mind it would have been obvious to optimize the ranges and concentrations of the Brunn patent in order to optimize the delivery of the cannabinoids to the body. It would have been obvious to follow these teachings and suggestions with an expected result of a stable oral formulation for oral dissolution.
Response to Amendment
The Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 6/9/26 is sufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 138, 139 and 141-145 based upon 35 USC 103(a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 6/9/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 138, 139 and 141-145 under 35 USC 103(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Brunn et al (US 2020/0330423). Brunn continues to disclose an oral cannabinoid formulation comprising a cannabinoid solution applied to a mesoporous aluminum silicate. The reference discloses the same concentration and broad ratios of the instant claims, as well as the same non-volatile solvents. These disclosures of Brunn render the instant claims obviated. Brunn also discloses that the cannabinoid solution can be free of additional dissolution aids in Example 3 and 4. The ratio of the solvent to the cannabinoid can be 1:1. Based on the tablet embodiment the concentration of the carrier and the solvent can be within the ranges of the claims. These disclosures continue to render the claims obvious.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICAH PAUL YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618