DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 138, 139 and 141-145 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined disclosures of Nowak et al (US 2020/0046787 A1 hereafter Nowak) in view of Bruun et al (US 2020/0330423 A1 hereafter Brunn).
Nowak discloses an orally dissolvable tablet powder formulation comprising mesoporous silica carriers [0017, 0023, 0048]. The formulation water soluble agents comprise sugar alcohols and flavors like mannitol, sorbitol, sucrose and glucose [0056, 0064]. Cannabinoids are dissolved in a non-volatile solvent and form a solution that is absorbed into the mesoporous carrier, where the solvents include oils and triglycerides [p0041]. The ratio of the active agent to the solvent is 1:10 [Table 2].
The reference discloses the use of sorbitol but does not disclose the concentration of sorbitol of the instant claims. The use of sorbitol in oral cannabinoid formulations is well known in the art as seen in the Bruun patent.
Bruun discloses an oral dissolvable or chewable formulation comprising cannabinoids [0055-0058]. The formulation comprises sugar alcohol particles, where the sugar alcohol is sorbitol [0011, 0070]. The sorbitol is present at least 30%, more preferably at least 50% [0153, Table 8]. The formulation further comprises magnesium aluminum silicates [0322]. These silicates would be processing aids which are present about 0.5% or at least 80 mg of a 1.6 g tablet [Table 5]. The cannabinoid can be an isolate of 98.5% purity [Example 4]. The ratio of the cannabinoid : to solvent can be 1:1 [Example 1]. The solvents, being 50% of the extract, would be half of the 2.273% of the tablet, about 18 mg of a 1.6 g tablet [Table 5]. The formulation further comprises a self-emulsifying system [0102-0108, 0308]. The non-volatile solvents include triglycerides [0115-0118, 0310]. It would have been obvious to include these components as well as the sorbitol concentration into the formulation of Nowak as they solve the same problem.
Regarding the ratios and concentration of the instant claims, it is the position of the Examiner that said claims do not distinguish over the claims. The prior art discloses an orally disintegrating tablet or powder comprising cannabinoid absorbed onto mesoporous silica carriers meeting the general conditions of the claims. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
With these aspects in mind, it would have been obvious to combine the prior art in order to produce a stable oral dosage form comprising solubilized cannabinoids absorbed onto mesoporous silica carriers useful in treating pain quickly. It would have been obvious to combine the carriers and components of Bruun into the similar formulation of Nowak as they solve the same problem. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the components with an expected result of a stable oral formulation for treating pain quickly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 2/8/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 138, 139, 141-145 under 35 USC 103(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the above recited rejection.
/MICAH PAUL YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618