DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 12/04/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 8 and 9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/04/2024.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the engagement portions as recited in claim 1 must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: “plurality of claws is provided” and “plurality of fitted portions is provided” should both read “are provided” as both elements are plural. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 3 and 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the plurality of engagement portions are unclear as it is unknown what specific part of the structure the claim is referring to. Also, it is unclear what “hidden” means in this context as the claim later states “the lid member has a plurality of holes at positions corresponding to the plurality of engagement portions” which would seemingly reveal the engagement portions rendering them not hidden. For these reasons the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Regarding claim 2, the directions cited in the claim including “a direction of pressing”, “toward an outside” and “direction of releasing engagement” are not clearly defined in the claim, because the claim fails to recite a particular frame of reference for which inside and outside can be interpreted as. Because of this it is unclear what specific directions are being referred to rendering the claim indefinite. Furthermore, the claim recites no particular structure and seems to be just a functional recitation.
Regarding claim 5, the repetition of the phrase “the case body has a bottomed rectangular cylindrical shape” from claim 1 and the phrase “an opening” (instead of the opening) makes it seem like there is additional part on the case that has a bottomed rectangular cylindrical shape and that there is an additional opening that the lid member covers. The lack of clarity renders the claim indefinite. This rejection could be overcome by using language such as the following: “wherein the bottomed cylindrical shape of the case body is a bottomed rectangular cylindrical shape with the opening at one end.”
For the purposes of examination, the claims are interpreted by the examiner as follows:
Claim 1: the engagement portions are interpreted to be where the area where the fitted portions and claws meet as shown in Fig. 9.
Claim 1 cont: a plurality of engagement portions in which the plurality of fitting claws and the plurality of fitted portions are engaged, respectively, is located while
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hattori et al. (DK 2039520 T4).
Regarding claim 1, Hattori et al teaches a case (Fig. 3(b) element 20 and paragraph [0018]), storing a liquid pack for containing a liquid (Fig. 5 element 100 and paragraph [0026]),
that includes a case body having a bottomed cylindrical shape with an opening at one end (Fig. 3b element 20 specifically the rounded corners), and
a lid member (Fig. 2(b) element 21 and paragraph [0020]) that covers the opening of the case body (Fig. 3(b) element 90 and paragraph [0020]), and is formed through fitting of the case body and the lid member in a state in which the lid member closes the opening (paragraph [0020]);
a plurality of fitting claws that is provided in one of the lid member and the case body (Fig. 10(a) and 10(b) elements 120 and 126); and
a plurality of fitted portions that is provided in another one of the lid member and the case body and configured to be engaged with the plurality of fitting claws (Fig. 10(a) and 10(b) elements 182 and 183 and paragraph [0059] and [0060]),
wherein a plurality of engagement portions in which the plurality of fitting claws and the plurality of fitted portions are engaged, respectively, is located while being covered on at least one side(Fig. 10(a) and 10(b) where elements 182 and 120 meet), and
the lid member has a plurality of holes at positions corresponding to the plurality of engagement portions, respectively (see element 1 and 2 of below labeled version of Fig. 11(a) and 11(b)).
Regarding claim 2, Hattori et al. teaches all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and a direction of pressing an inner wall surface of the case toward an outside is a direction of releasing engagement of the fitting claws and the fitted portions (If the case is pressed in the in the direction of the red arrows, as shown in the modified version of Fig. 9, the claws 120 and 126 would unhook from the fitted portions 182 and 183).
Regarding claim 3, Hattori et al. teaches all the elements of claim 2 as stated above and the lid member has a pair of extension portions between which an end portion of the case body on a side of the opening is interposed (Fig. 9 elements 164 and 163),
either the fitting claws or the fitted portions are provided inside the pair of extension portions (Fig. 9), and
a direction of pressing an inner wall surface of the pair of extension portions toward an outside is a direction of releasing engagement of the fitting claws and the fitted portions (see the above modified version of Fig. 9 where if elements 164 and 163 are pressed outwards the claws 126 and 120 would release from the fitted portions 182 and 183).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori et al. (DK 2039520 T4).
Regarding claim 4, Hattori et al. teaches all the elements of claim 1 as stated above and teaches that the lid member has the plurality of holes at positions corresponding to the plurality of fitting claw (see element 1 and 2 of below labeled version of Fig. 11(a) and 11(b)). Also, Hattori et al. teaches a similar but reversed relationship where the plurality of fitting claws are provided in the case body (Fig. 10(a) element 120 and Fig. 10(b) element 126), and the plurality of fitted portions are provided in the lid member(Fig. 10(a) element 182 and Fig. 10(b) element 183). Note that the courts have held that the reversal of parts is an obvious modification. See MPEP 2144(VI)(A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to configure the claws and fitting portions such that they reside in the lid member and case body respectively as an obvious reversal of parts of the fitted portions and claws found in Hattori et al.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest all the structure recited in the claim, in combination with and particularly including, the lid member has a lid plate portion having a rectangular plate shape and facing the opening, and the plurality of holes includes four holes provided at four corners of the lid plate portion.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest all the structure recited in the claim, in combination with and particularly including, the respective fitted portions are engaged with the respective fitting claws at a position where the respective fitted portions are not guided any further after being guided by the guide surface.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest all the structure recited in the claim, in combination with and particularly including, the respective fitting claws have an L-shape when viewed in a first direction, which is a relative movement direction in a process of fitting of the lid member and the case body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Maeshima (US 20140292961 A1), Muranaka et al. (US 20060139420 A1) and Karasawa et al. (US 20130194357 A1) teaches a structure similar to the disclosed invention.
/SAMUEL FREDERICK BOELITZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/Leslie J Evanisko/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853