DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges receipt of Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 04/01/2026. The arguments set forth are addressed herein below.
Applicant’s amendments necessitated the new ground of rejection set forth herein; therefore, this action is made Final.
Applicant’s IDS submission is acknowledged and provided herewith.
Claims 1-15 are now pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: it recites a dependency from claim “12F” which does not exist. Appropriate correction is required.
AIA Notice
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being U.S. Patent 10,726,611 to Court.
Regarding Claim 1, and similarly recited Claims 11 and 12, (Currently Amended) A method of virtual character modelling, comprising the steps of:
defining a damage map for all or part of a virtual character, the damage map having a form corresponding to a texture map applied to the all or part of the virtual character, herein each point on the damage map corresponds to a respective vertex, texel, or pixel of the virtual character, thereby providing a spatial record of damage (figs. 3-5, Col. 1:30 – Col. 2:34, Col. 7:15-50 discloses an instance of a virtual object, a blend map in texture form, the blend map having grid elements that correspond respectively to pixels on a location of the particular instance of the object; the blend map is therefore a texture-form map whose points (grid elements) correspond to respective pixels/locations of the object surface);
assigning initial damage values to each point on the damage map (figs. 4A-4B, figs. 3-5, Col. 1:30 – Col. 2:34, Col. 8:45-60, Col. 9:28-55 discloses each grid element of the blend map stores a transform value indicating a degree of blending between an unaltered (undamaged) version and an altered (damaged) version of the object; the initial (unaltered) state corresponds to assigning initial values to each point);
recording on the damage map damage caused by a spatial interaction of a virtual damage agent at one or more of the points on the virtual character corresponding to the points on the damage map by altering the damage values that those points (figs. 4A-4B, Col. 9:8 – Col. 10:30 discloses the blend map is dynamically updated based on one or more actions within the gaming environment, expressly indicating the amount of damage a player has inflicted on the object at the locations where damage has occurred; locations corresponding to grid elements indicating heavy damage are recorded in the blend map); and
modifying an aspect of the virtual character in response to the recorded damage (figs. 4A-4B, 7, Col. 1:30 – Col. 2:34, Col. 6:15-55 discloses blending the unaltered and altered versions according to the per-grid element transform values so that the damaged locations the rendered shape/appearance conforms more to the damaged version).
Regarding Claim 2, and similarly recited Claim 13, (Previously Presented) Court discloses the method of claim 1, in which the spatial interaction comprises one or more of:
i. an intersection by the virtual character with at least part of the virtual damage agent;
ii. an intersection by the virtual character with at least part of an area effect associated with the virtual damage agent (Col. 6:15-55);
iii. an intersection by the virtual character with at least part of a damage pattern associated with the virtual damage agent; and
iv. an intersection by the virtual character with at least part of a hit box associated with the virtual damage agent.
Regarding Claim 3, (Previously Presented) Court discloses the method of claim 1, in which the spatial interaction comprises one or more of:
i. a predetermined interaction;
ii. one of a selection of interactions; and
iii. a simulated interaction (Col. 6:15-67).
Regarding Claim 4, (Currently Amended) Court discloses the method of claim 1,in which a point on the damage map corresponds to one of:
i. a respective pixel of the virtual character (figs. 3-5, Col. 1:30 – Col. 2:34, Col. 7:15-50);
ii. a respective texel of the virtual character;
iii. a respective vertex of the virtual character mesh; and
[[iii.]]iv. all or part of a respective polygon of the virtual character mesh.
Regarding Claim 5, (Currently Amended) Court discloses the method of claim 1,in which the step of recording damage on the damage map comprises modifying the damage value at a point on the damage map to an extent responsive to a weighting that in turn is responsive to [[the]]a current damage value at that point (Col. 9:8-55).
Regarding Claim 6, (Original) Court discloses the method of claim 1, comprising the step of
defining a weighting map for all or part of a virtual character, the weighting map having a form corresponding to a texture map applied to the all or part of the virtual character, with points on the weighting map corresponding to points on the damage map (Col. 9:8-55); and
the step of recording damage on the damage map comprises modifying the damage value at a respective point on the damage map to an extent responsive to a corresponding weighting indicated by the weighting map (figs. 3-5, Col. 1:30 – Col. 2:34, Col. 9:8-55).
Regarding Claim 7, (Currently Amended) Court discloses the method of claim 1, comprising the step of: changing the damage map in response to a change to [[the]]a shape of the character model (figs. 3-5, Col. 1:30 – Col. 2:34, Col. 9:8-55).
Regarding Claim 8, (Original) Court discloses the method of claim 1, comprising the step of: recording on the damage map healing at one or more of the points on the virtual character corresponding to the points on the damage map by altering the damage values that those points (figs. 3-5, Col. 1:30 – Col. 2:34, Col. 9:8-55).
Regarding Claim 9, and similarly recited Claim 14, (Previously Presented) Court discloses the method of claim 1, in which the step of modifying an aspect of the virtual character in response to the recorded damage comprises one or more of:
i. modifying a displacement map;
ii. modifying a bump map;
iii. modifying a normal map;
iv. modifying a transparency map; and
v. modifying a blend map (figs. 3-5, Col. 1:30 – Col. 2:34, Col. 8:20-55);
for the character responsive to the values of the damage map.
Regarding Claim 10, and similarly recited Claim 15, (Original) Court discloses the method of claim 1, in which two of more damage maps for a character are defined in respective colour channels of a data structure corresponding to a texture map applied to the all or part of the virtual character (figs. 3-5, Col. 1:30 – Col. 2:34, Col. 9:8-55).
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.N.H/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715