DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant arguments/Remarks made in amendment in which the following is noted: claims 1, 4, 6, 10, 14, and 15 are amended; the rejection of the claims traversed; claims 2, 9, 12 and 13 are cancelled; and claim 16 is newly added. Claims 1, 3 0 8, 10 – 11, and 14 – 16 are currently pending and an Office action on the merits follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 – 6, 10 – 11, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shojiro Osada (Publication number: JPH09168170A), hereafter Osada, in view of Yoshimura et al; (Publication number: JPH09205603 A1), hereafter Yoshimura. Note an English-language machine translation of the references is relied upon in the rejection of the claims below.
Regarding claim 1:
Osada discloses an apparatus for holding a 3D display screen (Osada Figure 1; [0016] stereoscopic image display; [0026]), the apparatus comprising:
reception circuitry to receive (Osada Figure 1 17), from at least one location-tracking device, location information indicative of a location of a viewer (Osada Figure 1 13; [0027] camera 13 images observer 7);
position-tracking circuitry response to the location information to determine a relative position of the viewer relative to the 3D display screen (Osada [0027] position of eyes relative to display are determined by position tracking circuitry 17);
viewing-region-checking circuitry to determine whether the relative position of the viewer is within a predetermined viewing region, wherein the predetermined viewing region comprises a region within which an image displayed on the 3D display screen causes a parallax effect to be visible with respect to an object of the image when viewed by the viewer positioned in the predetermined viewing region (Osada [0033]; Figure 3 see rhombic region); and
adjustment control circuitry (Osada Figure 1 driver unit 25 and rotation driving unit 11) response to the viewing-region-checking-circuitry to adjust an orientation of the 3D display screen with respect to yaw and pitch to maintain the parallax effect by maintain a relative yaw and pitch with respect to the viewer (Osada [0032][0045]).
In Osada, the adjustment by the circuitry with respect to roll is not disclosed. However, Yoshimura discloses an image display device. More particularly, Yoshimura discloses detecting the tilt (roll) of the user and adjusting the roll of the display to match the inclination of the user (Yoshimura Figure 6A and 6B; [0026]).
It would have been obvious to modify Osada to include roll of the user wherein the adjustment control circuitry responsive to the viewing-region-checking circuitry to adjust an orientation of the 3D display screen with respect to pitch, yaw AND roll to maintain the parallax effect by maintaining relative yaw, pitch, AND roll with respect to the user, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate the ability to set an optimum inclination of the display screen without bother the viewer (Yoshimura [0012]).
Regarding claim 3:
Osada (in view of Yoshimura) discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the predetermined viewing region comprises a region within which the at least one location-tracking device is capable of tracking the viewer (Osada [0033] Figure 3).
Regarding claim 4:
Osada (in view of Yoshimura) discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the adjustment control circuitry comprises at least one of: rotation circuitry to adjust the orientation of the 3D display screen by rotating the display screen about one or more axes of rotation; and translation circuitry to adjust a position of the 3D display screen (Osada [0029][0032]).
Regarding claim 5:
Osada (in view of Yoshimura) discloses the apparatus of calim 1, wherein: the reception circuitry is configured to receive, as the location information, image data captured by at least one camera; and the position-tracking circuitry comprises image recognition circuitry to determined, based on the image data, the relative position of the viewer (Osada [0027 – 0028] [0033]).
Regarding claim 6:
Osada (in view of Yoshimura) discloses the apparatus of claim 5, further comprising image processing circuitry configured to perform an object recognition process to identify a given object within the image, and then to perform object tracking to determine relative position of the viewer, wherein the object recognition process comprises a facial recognition process and the identified object comprises at least one of an object identified as a face and an object identified as an eye (Osada [0027] position detection camera used to detect position of his/her eyes).
Regarding claim 10:
Osada (in view of Yoshimura) discloses the apparatus of claim 1, comprising the 3D display screen (Osada Figure 1 image display 3 is stereoscopic image display 1).
Regarding claim 11:
Osada (in view of Yoshimura) discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the 3D display screen comprises a spatial reality display screen (Osada [0002][0004 – 0005]).
Regarding claim 14:
Claim 14 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 15:
Claim 15 is similarly rejected for those reasons discussed above in claim 1.
Claim(s) 7is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shojiro Osada (Publication number: JPH09168170A), hereafter Osada, in view of Yoshimura et al; (Publication number: JPH09205603 A1), hereafter Yoshimura, in view of Hwang et al; (Patent number: US 7, 898, 429 B2), hereafter Hwang. Note an English-language machine translation of the references is relied upon in the rejection of the claims below.
Regarding claim 7:
Osada (in view of Yoshimura) does not disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the reception circuitry is configured to receive, as the location information, audio data recorded by at least one microphone; and the position-tracking circuity comprises audio processing circuity to determine, based on the audio data, the relative position of the viewer.
However, Hwang discloses an angle-adjustable method and automatic angle-adjustable display device. More particularly, Hwang discloses an automatic-adjustable display device which monitors the viewer’s position by detecting wireless signals emitted from the wireless transmitting and receiving sensor and reflected from the user. These transmitting and receiving sensor include ultrasonic transmitting and receiving sensors (Hwang Col 13 lines 14 – 31).
It would have been obvious to further modify Osada (in view of Yoshimura) wherein: the reception circuitry is configured to receive, as the location information, audio data recorded by at least one microphone; and the position-tracking circuity comprises audio processing circuity to determine, based on the audio data, the relative position of the viewer, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate reducing the need for image-based position determination, thereby simplifying operation.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shojiro Osada (Publication number: JPH09168170A), hereafter Osada, in view of Yoshimura et al; (Publication number: JPH09205603 A1), hereafter Yoshimura, in view of Abeloe, Kenneth A. (Publication number: US 2011/0267437 A1), hereafter Abeloe. Note an English-language machine translation of the references is relied upon in the rejection of the claims below.
Regarding claim 8:
Osada (in view of Yoshimura) does not disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the reception circuitry is configured to receive the location information from at least one handheld and/or wearable device.
However, Abeloe discloses the reception circuitry is configured to receive the location information from at leastone handheld and/or wearable device (Abeloe [0056] Glasses tracker performing motion tracking; see Figure 7).
It would have been obvious to further modify Osada (in view of Yoshimura) wherein the reception circuitry is configured to receive the location information from at least one handheld and/or wearable device, as claimed. Those skilled in the art would appreciate the ability to synchronize the stereoscopic images.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 16, the prior art does not disclose the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a turntable attached with the 3D display screen such that: (i) rotating the turntable about a yaw axis adjusts the yaw of the 3D display screen; (ii) tilting the turntable about a pitch axis adjusts the pitch of the 3D display screen; and (iii) tilting the turntable about a roll axis adjusts the roll of the 3D display screen; wherein the yaw axis, the pitch axis and the roll axis are orthogonal to one another.
As an example of the prior art, Yoshizumi, Shingo (Publication number: US 2011/0181690 A1), hereafter Yoshizumi, discloses an imaging control apparatus, imaging apparatus, imaging control method, and program. More particularly, Yoshizumi discloses a pan/tilt head 10 which is configured to pan and tilt a camera 1 mounted thereon (Yoshizumi Figure 4). However, the prior art does not disclose a turntable attached with the 3D display screen such that: (i) rotating the turntable about a yaw axis adjusts the yaw of the 3D display screen; (ii) tilting the turntable about a pitch axis adjusts the pitch of the 3D display screen; and (iii) tilting the turntable about a roll axis adjusts the roll of the 3D display screen; wherein the yaw axis, the pitch axis and the roll axis are orthogonal to one another, as claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yoshizumi, Shingo (Publication number: US 2011/0181690 A1),
/MIHIR K RAYAN/ 7 February 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621