DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 209041317 U) in view of Ebara et al. (JP 2002235838 A).
Regarding claim 1, Li et al. discloses a crankshaft assembly (fig.1), comprising:
a crankshaft body (100) extending along an axis of rotation including:
a plurality of bearing journals (see annotated figure 1) mutually coaxial with the axis of rotation and spaced from each other along a length of the crankshaft body;
a plurality of crankpins (see annotated figure 1) spaced from each other along the length of the crankshaft body and axially offset from the axis of rotation;
a plurality of crank webs (evident from fig.1, webs between the journals and crankpins) projecting radially from the axis of rotation and interconnecting the bearing journals and the crankpins; and
a flange (110) extending from a distal end of the crankshaft body having a gear engaging surface (seen in fig.1; for gear 200).
Li et al. fails to explicitly disclose said flange having a conical gear engaging surface.
Ebara et al. teaches the concept of providing a conical gear engaging surface between a shaft engaging surface and a gear engaging surface (seen in fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the engaging surface disclosed in Li et al. to be of a conical interface between the gear/shaft in Li et al. according to the teaching provided by Ebara et al. in order to provide the predictable results of fixing the gear to the shaft with increased leverage and without rattling as taught by Ebara. It is further a well known concept in the mechanical arts to utilize tapers or wedging or conical interfaces between connecting elements in order to improve mechanical bond between the elements in accordance with the wedge principle. In addition, these concepts are well documented and evidenced in the literature such as the machinery’s handbook.
Regarding claim 2, the combination discloses the crankshaft assembly of claim 1, wherein the conical gear engaging surface tapers towards the distal end of the crankshaft body (as taught the surface would taper towards the distal end).
Regarding claim 3, the examiner takes official notice that it is old and well known that the conical gear engaging surface extends between five and fifteen degrees relative to the axis of rotation. As detailed in the rejection above for claim 1, this concept is well established in mechanical arts and the claimed range falls within known engineering standards for tapers and optimal angles for achieving good mechanical couplings.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the flange includes a first axially facing surface and a second axially facing surface and the conical gear engaging surface extends from the first axially facing surface to the second axially facing surface (see annotated figure below for axial surfaces, and as taught by the teaching above, the engaging surface would extend between).
Regarding claim 5, the combination discloses the crankshaft assembly of claim 2, including a gear (gear seen in Li et al. and as per teaching would have a conical engaging surface) having a conical flange engaging surface complementary to the conical gear engaging surface.
Regarding claim 6, Li et al. discloses the crankshaft assembly of claim 5, wherein the gear includes helical teeth (seen in fig.1, the teeth are helical) extending from a radially outer surface of the gear.
Regarding claim 7, Li et al. discloses the crankshaft assembly of claim 6, wherein the helical teeth on the gear are right direction helical teeth (seen in fig.1).
Regarding claims 8-10, Li et al. discloses the crankshaft assembly of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of bearing journals define a journal cavity therein; the crankshaft assembly of claim 8, wherein each of the plurality of crankpins define a crankpin cavity therein; the crankshaft assembly of claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of crank webs define a web cavity therein (seen in figure 1, these are all typical features of a crank shaft and are readily evident in fig.1).
Regarding claim 11, Li et al. discloses a method of manufacturing a crankshaft assembly, the method comprising: forming a crankshaft body along an axis of rotation (fig.1), the crankshaft body including:
a plurality of bearing journals (see annotated figure 1) mutually coaxial with the axis of rotation and spaced from each other along a length of the crankshaft body;
a plurality of crankpins (see annotated figure 1) spaced from each other along the length of the crankshaft body and axially offset from the axis of rotation;
a plurality of crank webs (evident from fig.1, webs between the journals and crankpins) projecting radially from the axis of rotation and interconnecting the bearing journals and the crankpins; and
a flange (110) extending from a distal end of the crankshaft body having a gear engaging surface (seen in fig.1; for gear 200).
Li et al. fails to explicitly disclose said flange having a conical gear engaging surface.
Ebara et al. teaches the concept of providing a conical gear engaging surface between a shaft engaging surface and a gear engaging surface (seen in fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the engaging surface disclosed in Li et al. to be of a conical interface between the gear/shaft in Li et al. according to the teaching provided by Ebara et al. in order to provide the predictable results of fixing the gear to the shaft with increased leverage and without rattling as taught by Ebara. It is further a well known concept in the mechanical arts to utilize tapers or wedging or conical interfaces between connecting elements in order to improve mechanical bond between the elements in accordance with the wedge principle. In addition, these concepts are well documented and evidenced in the literature such as the machinery’s handbook.
Regarding claim 12, the combination discloses the crankshaft assembly of claim 11, wherein the conical gear engaging surface tapers towards the distal end of the crankshaft body (as taught the surface would taper towards the distal end).
Regarding claim 13, the examiner takes official notice that it is old and well known that the conical gear engaging surface extends between five and fifteen degrees relative to the axis of rotation. As detailed in the rejection above, this concept is well established in mechanical arts and the claimed range falls within known engineering standards for tapers and optimal angles for achieving good mechanical couplings.
Regarding claim 14, wherein the flange includes a first axially facing surface and a second axially facing surface and the conical gear engaging surface extends from the first axially facing surface to the second axially facing surface (see annotated figure below for axial surfaces, and as taught by the teaching above, the engaging surface would extend between).
Regarding claim 15, the combination discloses including a gear (gear seen in Li et al. and as per teaching would have a conical engaging surface) having a conical flange engaging surface complementary to the conical gear engaging surface.
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 209041317 U) in view of Ebara et al. (JP 2002235838 A) and in view of Ito et al. (USP 4730512).
Regarding claim 16, Li et al. discloses a crankshaft assembly (fig.1), comprising:
a crankshaft body (100) extending along an axis of rotation including:
a plurality of bearing journals (see annotated figure 1) mutually coaxial with the axis of rotation and spaced from each other along a length of the crankshaft body;
a plurality of crankpins (see annotated figure 1) spaced from each other along the length of the crankshaft body and axially offset from the axis of rotation;
a plurality of crank webs (evident from fig.1, webs between the journals and crankpins) projecting radially from the axis of rotation and interconnecting the bearing journals and the crankpins; and
a flange (110) extending from a distal end of the crankshaft body having a gear engaging surface (seen in fig.1; for gear 200).
Li et al. fails to explicitly disclose said flange having a conical gear engaging surface.
Ebara et al. teaches the concept of providing a conical gear engaging surface between a shaft engaging surface and a gear engaging surface (seen in fig.2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the engaging surface disclosed in Li et al. to be of a conical interface between the gear/shaft in Li et al. according to the teaching provided by Ebara et al. in order to provide the predictable results of fixing the gear to the shaft with increased leverage and without rattling as taught by Ebara. It is further a well known concept in the mechanical arts to utilize tapers or wedging or conical interfaces between connecting elements in order to improve mechanical bond between the elements in accordance with the wedge principle. In addition, these concepts are well documented and evidenced in the literature such as the machinery’s handbook.
Li et al. fails to explicitly disclose the use of this crankshaft in a motor vehicle comprising: a vehicle body; a plurality of road wheels rotatably attached to the vehicle body; and an internal combustion engine (ICE) assembly attached to the vehicle body and operable to output engine torque to one or more of the road wheels to thereby propel the motor vehicle, the ICE assembly having an engine block defining a plurality of cylinder bores, a plurality of pistons each reciprocally movable within a respective one of the cylinder bores.
Ito et al. teaches the concept of utilizing a crankshaft within an engine of a motor vehicle comprising a vehicle body; a plurality of road wheels rotatably attached to the vehicle body; and an internal combustion engine (ICE) assembly attached to the vehicle body and operable to output engine torque to one or more of the road wheels to thereby propel the motor vehicle, the ICE assembly having an engine block defining a plurality of cylinder bores, a plurality of pistons each reciprocally movable within a respective one of the cylinder bores (all this structure is inherently part of a typical automobile that is disclosed in Ito et al.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made use of the crankshaft disclosed in Li et al. in a motor vehicle comprising the structure as taught/suggested in Ito et al. in order to provide the predictable result of allowing the engine to generate power so as to move the vehicle.
Regarding claim 17, the combination discloses wherein the conical gear engaging surface tapers towards the distal end of the crankshaft body (as taught the surface would taper towards the distal end).
Regarding claim 18, the examiner takes official notice that it is old and well known that the conical gear engaging surface extends between five and fifteen degrees relative to the axis of rotation. As detailed in the rejection above, this concept is well established in mechanical arts and the claimed range falls within known engineering standards for tapers and optimal angles for achieving good mechanical couplings.
Regarding claim 19, wherein the flange includes a first axially facing surface and a second axially facing surface and the conical gear engaging surface extends from the first axially facing surface to the second axially facing surface (see annotated figure below for axial surfaces, and as taught by the teaching above, the engaging surface would extend between).
Regarding claim 20, the combination discloses including a gear (gear seen in Li et al. and as per teaching would have a conical engaging surface) having a conical flange engaging surface complementary to the conical gear engaging surface.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THOMAS C DIAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617