DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to communications: Amendment, filed on 08/04/2026.
This action is made FINAL.
2. Claims 1-9 and 16-26 are pending in the case. Claims 1, 16 and 21 are independent claims. Claims 1, 16 and 21 have been amended. Claims 10-15 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 and 16-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 16, 19 and 21 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pei Wang et al., US 2022/0261972 A1.
Independent claim 1, Wang discloses a method comprising: obtaining a text content image (i.e. the target image 706 includes a photograph of a kitten – Para 100; Fig. 7B “706”) and a text style image (i.e. the stylized image 708 includes artwork with a target style – Para 100; Fig. 7B “708”);
encoding, using a text content adapter of an image generation model, the text content image to obtain content guidance information (i.e. utilize a neural network image classifier to encode features of an initial image and a target image – abstract; generate a first feature set for an initial image and a second feature set for a target image (e.g., a guide image) – Para 18);
encoding, using a text style adapter of the image generation model, the text style image to obtain style guidance information (i.e. generating a first feature set for an initial image. For example, act 1002 involves generating, utilizing an encoder of a neural network image classifier, a first feature set for an initial image – Para 118; a stylized image as the initial image – Para 120); and
generating, using the image generation model, a synthesized image based on the content guidance information and the style guidance information, wherein the synthesized image includes text from the text content image having a text style from the text style image (i.e. generating a synthesized digital image from the initial image based on the constrained first feature set of the initial image – Para 122).
Independent claim 16, the claim is similar in scope to claim 1. Therefore, the rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 1 applies herein.
Claim 19, Wang discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein: the image generator comprises a diffusion model (i.e. utilize a neural network image classifier – Para 5; synthesizing a plurality of digital images based on a randomly initialized noise image – Para 123. It is inherent that a neural network that takes a noise image as input to generate similar images corresponds to a diffusion model, as Applicant’s Specification similarly discloses, Para 2).
Independent claim 21, the claim is similar in scope to claim 1. Therefore, the rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 1 applies herein.
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 8, 16, 18-21, 23 and 26 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by C. Fan et al., CN 116740204 B.
Independent claim 1, Fan discloses a method comprising: obtaining a text content image (i.e. a first image can be used as a pre-training input sample – p. 4, Detailed Description, Para 10) and a text style image (i.e. a plurality of second images can be acquired from the video with the target image style – p. 5, Para 3);
encoding, using a text content adapter of an image generation model, the text content image to obtain content guidance information (i.e. a key or specific first description text used for describing the first image is used as a guide condition- p. 4, Detailed Description, Para 10);
encoding, using a text style adapter of the image generation model, the text style image to obtain style guidance information (i.e. using the second description text as a guide condition – p. 5, Para 8); and
generating, using the image generation model, a synthesized image based on the content guidance information and the style guidance information, wherein the synthesized image includes text from the text content image having a text style from the text style image (i.e. obtain the stylized image generation model for generating the image with the target image style – p. 5, Para 10; Fig. 4).
Claim 4, Fan discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: encoding, using a text encoder of the image generation model, a text prompt to obtain text guidance information (i.e. taking the first description texts as guide conditions… and obtaining second description texts of the second images, wherein the second description texts comprise description contents of the target image styles, further taking the second images as fine-tuning input samples, taking the second description texts as guide conditions, fine-tuning the pre-trained guide diffusion model, p. 5, Para 11).
Claim 7, Fan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein generating the synthesized image comprises: performing a reverse diffusion process (i.e. In step S21, the first descriptive text and the gaussian noise image of the first image obtained by diffusing the noise-adding layer are input to the guided noise-removing layer in the guided diffusion model - p. 6, Para 4).
Claim 8, Fan discloses the method of claim 1, wherein generating the synthesized image comprises: providing the content guidance information and the style guidance information to an up- sampling layer of the image generation model (i.e. taking the first image as a pre-training input sample and the first description text as a guide condition, wherein the guide diffusion model comprises a diffusion noise adding layer and a guide denoising layer – p. 9, Para 3; taking the second description text as a guide condition to obtain a stylized image generation model comprising a guide denoising layer in the guide diffusion model after fine adjustment – p. 9, Para 5).
Independent claim 16, the claim is similar in scope to claim 1. Therefore, the rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 1 applies herein.
Claim 18, Fan discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein: the text content adapter and the text style adapter comprise a control network that is initialized using parameters from the image generator (i.e. And (3) reconstructing a first image to obtain a first reconstructed image each time, and adjusting model parameters of the guided diffusion model once according to a strategy of gradually reducing the first loss function value to be smaller than a first preset value. And carrying out multiple times of adjustment on the model parameters based on all the first images, and after the multiple times of adjustment are finished, completing the pre-training of the guiding diffusion model. – p. 6, Para 12).
Claim 19, Fan discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein: the image generator comprises a diffusion model (i.e. The guided Diffusion Model is one of Diffusion models (Diffusion Model) whose principle is to add noise to an image and learn attenuation of image information due to the noise, p. 4, Detailed Description, Para 9).
Claim 20, Fan discloses the apparatus of claim 16, further comprising: a multi-modal encoder configured to encode a text prompt to obtain text guidance information, wherein the synthesized image is generated based on the text guidance information (i.e. taking the first description texts as guide conditions… and obtaining second description texts of the second images, wherein the second description texts comprise description contents of the target image styles, further taking the second images as fine-tuning input samples, taking the second description texts as guide conditions, fine-tuning the pre-trained guide diffusion model, p. 5, Para 11).
Independent claim 21, the claim is similar in scope to claim 1. Therefore, the rationale as applied in the rejection of claim 1 applies herein.
Claims 23 and 26, the corresponding rationale as applied in the rejection of claims 4, 7-8 apply herein.
Claims 2-3, 5-6, 9, 22, 24 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHANTE E HARRISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615