DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment to the specification dated 5/22/2024 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
In FIG. 14 the character 100 appears to have meant to be 1000.
In FIG. 15 the character 100G appears to have meant to be 100H in accordance with paragraph [00103].
In FIG. 16 the character 100H appears to have meant to be 100J in accordance with paragraph [00106].
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign mentioned in the description:
110F as seen in paragraph [00101].
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description:
122, 124, and 242 as seen in FIG. 1.
262 and 264 as seen in FIG. 2.
RM as seen in FIG. 8.
122 and 124 as seen in FIG. 13.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0092] the phrase “first adapter plate 102” should instead be “first adapter plate 202.”
In paragraph [0096] the phrase “flange adapter plate 112” should instead be “flange adapter plate 212.”
In paragraph [0099] the phrase “propulsor averted side 3024” should instead be “propulsor averted side 1324.”
In paragraph [0099] the phrase “propulsor averted side 1024” should instead be “propulsor averted side 1324.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 14-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0093668 to Gieras et al. (hereinafter Gieras; cited by Applicant on 3/21/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Gieras teaches an electrical machine (FIG. 1, 10) for integration into a vehicle frame structure (Paragraph [0011]), wherein the vehicle frame structure comprises a structural wall (FIG. 3, 20) that at least partially encloses an inner volume, the electrical machine comprising:
a rotor (FIG. 3, 32) with a rotor shaft (FIG. 3, 39), wherein the rotor shaft is rotatable around a rotational axis and connectable to a propulsor (FIG. 3, 22) for transferring torque to or from a fluid;
a first bearing unit (FIG. 3; 34A, 40A) configured to hold the rotor shaft in a rotatable manner; and
a second bearing unit (FIG. 3; 34B, 40B) configured to hold the rotor shaft in a rotatable manner,
wherein the first bearing unit is releasably attachable to a first wall region of the structural wall, and the second bearing unit is releasably attachable to a second wall region of the structural wall (Paragraph [0020]), and
wherein the first wall region and the second wall region are spaced apart with respect to the rotational axis (FIG. 3; 38A, 38B, 38C, 38D).
Regarding claim 2, Gieras teaches the electrical machine of claim 1, wherein the propulsor is a propeller (FIG. 2, 22).
Regarding claim 4, Gieras teaches the electrical machine of claim 1, further comprising:
a cooling system for guiding a cooling fluid flow (Paragraph [0019]), the cooling system comprising at least one fluid inlet and at least one fluid outlet (FIG. 3; 33A, 33B, 33C, 33D),
wherein the at least one fluid inlet and the at least one fluid outlet are arranged in or on the structural wall (FIG. 3; 33A, 33B, 33C, 33D).
Regarding claim 5, Gieras teaches the electrical machine of claim 4, wherein the at least one fluid outlet comprises a suction outlet (FIG. 3; 33A, 33B, 33C, 33D), the suction outlet being configured to propel the cooling fluid flow (Paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 6, Gieras teaches the electrical machine of claim 5, wherein the suction outlet is configured to propel the cooling fluid flow by an ambient fluid flow flowing relative to the electrical machine and the vehicle frame structure (Paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 14, Gieras teaches an electrical propulsion unit comprising:
an electrical machine (FIG. 1, 10) for integration into a vehicle frame structure (Paragraph [0010]), wherein the vehicle frame structure comprises a structural wall (FIG. 3, 20) that at least partially encloses an inner volume, the electrical machine comprising:
a rotor (FIG. 3, 32) with a rotor shaft (FIG. 3, 39), wherein the rotor shaft is rotatable around a rotational axis and connectable to a propulsor (FIG. 3, 22) for transferring torque to or from a fluid;
a first bearing unit (FIG. 3; 34A, 40A) configured to hold the rotor shaft in a rotatable manner; and
a second bearing unit (Fig. 3; 34B, 40B) configured to hold the rotor shaft in a rotatable manner,
wherein the first bearing unit is releasably attachable to a first wall region of the structural wall, and the second bearing unit is releasably attachable to a second wall region of the structural wall (Paragraph [0020]), and
wherein the first wall region and the second wall region are spaced apart with respect to the rotational axis (FIG. 3; 38A, 38B, 38C, 38D).
Regarding claim 15, Gieras teaches the electrical propulsion unit of claim 14, further comprising: a power converter (Paragraph [0012]) that is electrically connected to an energy supply via at least one supply cable (FIG. 3, 18).
Regarding claim 20, Gieras teaches a vehicle (FIG. 1, 12) comprising:
a vehicle frame structure (Paragraph [0011]) comprising:
a structural wall (FIG. 3, 20) that at least partially encloses an inner volume; and
an electrical machine (FIG. 1, 10) comprising:
a rotor (FIG. 3, 32) with a rotor shaft (FIG. 3, 39), wherein the rotor shaft is rotatable around a rotational axis and connectable to a propulsor (FIG. 3, 22) for transferring torque to or from a fluid;
a first bearing unit (FIG. 3; 34A, 40A) configured to hold the rotor shaft in a rotatable manner; and
a second bearing unit (Fig. 3; 34B, 40B) configured to hold the rotor shaft in a rotatable manner,
wherein the first bearing unit is releasably attachable to a first wall region of the structural wall, and the second bearing unit is releasably attachable to a second wall region of the structural wall (Paragraph [0020]), and
wherein the first wall region and the second wall region are spaced apart with respect to the rotational axis (FIG. 3; 38A, 38B, 38C, 38D).
Claims 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chinese Patent No. 108750102 to Wang et al. (hereinafter Wang; provided by Applicant on 3/21/2024).
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches a vehicle frame structure (FIG. 2, 10) for an aircraft (Paragraph [0002]), the vehicle frame structure comprising:
a structural wall (FIG. 2, 11) that at least partially encloses an inner volume; and
an electrical machine (FIG. 2, 31) comprising:
a rotor with a rotor shaft (FIG. 2, 34), wherein the rotor shaft is rotatable around a rotational axis and connectable to a propulsor (FIG. 2, 51) for transferring torque to or from a fluid;
a first bearing unit (FIG. 2, 21) configured to hold the rotor shaft in a rotatable manner; and
a second bearing unit (FIG. 2, 22) configured to hold the rotor shaft in a rotatable manner,
wherein the first bearing unit is releasably attachable to a first wall region of the structural wall, and the second bearing unit is releasably attachable to a second wall region of the structural wall (Paragraph [0031]), and
wherein the first wall region and the second wall region are spaced apart with respect to the rotational axis (FIG. 2; 21, 22).
Regarding claim 17, Wang teaches the vehicle frame structure of claim 16, wherein the vehicle frame structure comprises a rotor boom (Paragraph [0010])
Regarding claim 19, Wang teaches the vehicle frame structure of claim 16, further comprising: a fork structure (FIG. 2, 11) configured to receive the electrical machine.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gieras in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0051701 to Kupiszewski et al. (hereinafter Kupiszewski).
Regarding claim 3, Gieras teaches the electrical machine of claim 1.
Gieras does not teach the rotor being connected in a torque transferring manner to the rotor shaft via a flexible coupling.
However, Kupiszewski teaches a rotor (FIG. 4, 258) connected in a torque transferring manner to a rotor shaft (FIG. 4, 224) via a flexible coupling (FIG. 6, 252; Paragraph [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical machine of Gieras with the flexible rotor coupling of Kupiszewski as it helps absorb and dampen forces to the machine (Paragraph [0047]).
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gieras in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0315476 to Lawrence (cited by Applicant on 3/21/2024).
Regarding claim 7, Gieras teaches the electrical machine of claim 1.
Gieras does not teach the first bearing unit, the second bearing unit, or the first bearing unit and the second bearing unit being releasably attachable to the structural wall by an adapter plate, and the first bearing unit, the second bearing unit, or the first bearing unit and the second bearing unit being fixed to the adapter plate.
However, Lawrence teaches a bearing unit (FIG. 2, 30) fixed to an adapter plate (FIG. 2, 31) attachable to the structural wall (Paragraph [0059]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical machine of Gieras with the adapter plate of Lawrence to simplify and aid in the installation of the bearing unit.
Regarding claim 8, Gieras in view of Lawerence teaches the electrical machine of claim 7, wherein Lawrence further teaches the adapter plate being configured to cover a wall opening with an opening diameter (see annotated FIG. 2), and
wherein the opening diameter is larger than an outer machine diameter of the electrical machine (see annotated FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Gieras in view of Lawrence teaches the electrical machine of claim 7, wherein Lawrence further teaches the adapter plate comprising a shoulder configured to fit a wall shoulder of the structural wall (see annotated FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Gieras in view of Lawrence teaches the electrical machine of claim 7, wherein Gieras further teaches a stator module (FIG. 3, 30A) that is attachable to the structural wall (Paragraph [0014]).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gieras in view of Lawrence and in further view of Chinese Patent No. 109131853 to Qi et al. (hereinafter Qi).
Regarding claim 11, Gieras in view of Lawrence teaches the electrical machine of claim 10.
Gieras does not teach a cartridge that contains the rotor, the stator module, the first bearing unit, the second bearing unit, or any combination thereof, and wherein the cartridge is attachable to the structural wall, to the adapter plate, or to the structural wall and to the adapter plate.
However, Qi teaches a cartridge (FIG. 1, 1) containing a rotor (FIG. 1, 3) attachable to a structural wall (Paragraph [0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical machine of Gieras in view of Lawrence with the cartridge of Qi to increase the modularity and ease of installation of the components of the electrical machine.
Regarding claim 12, Gieras in view of Lawrence and Qi teaches the electrical machine of claim 11, wherein Qi further teaches the cartridge comprising a plurality of cartridge orifices (FIG. 2, 9).
Regarding claim 13, Gieras in view of Lawrence Qi teaches the electrical machine of claim 11, wherein Gieras further teaches a machine fairing (FIG. 3; 28A, 28B), wherein the machine fairing at least partially surrounds the electrical machine.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Lawerence.
Regarding claim 18, Wang teaches the vehicle frame structure of claim 16.
Wang does not teach the structural wall comprising at least one wall opening configured to accommodate an adapter plate, a cartridge, or the adapter plate and the cartridge.
However, Lawerence teaches a wall opening (see annotated FIG. 2) configured to accommodate an adapter plate (FIG. 2, 31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrical machine of Wang with the adapter plate of Lawrence to simplify and aid in the installation of the bearing unit.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA KIEL M RODRIGUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/AHMED ELNAKIB/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2834