DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in reply to amendment filed on October 22, 2025. Claims 1, 7, 8 and 12 have been amended. Claims 1-12 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C. 103(a) rejection of claims 1-7 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that, Abraham US 2013/0318357 A1 fails to teach using a public one-time signature key or ‘decrypting the encrypted updated package using the secret encryption key and updating the device using the decrypted updated package. Applicant further argues that Anh US 2022/0069984 A1 fails to teach verifying the signature using the public one-time signature key, decrypting the encrypted package using the secret encryption key and updating the device using the decrypted update package.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Examiner would point out that, Abraham teaches verifying the signature using the public signature key [paragraphs 0044-0047]; decrypting the encrypted update package using the secret encryption key [paragraphs 0044-0047]; and updating the device using the decrypted update package (i.e., using the public signature key to process the digital signature for validation, decrypting the session key and encrypted checksum for the executable update file, paragraphs 0044-0048). Examiner would further point out that Ahn teaches a system for signature verification including receiving by a device a public one-time signature key and verifying generated signature using the one-time public signature key (i.e., one-time public key for signature processing, paragraph 0045). Examiner would further point out that, employing the one-time public key of Anh in place of the public key of Abraham teaches the claimed limitations.
No argument was presented for independent claims 4 and 5 and therefore the rejection of claims 4-6 is respectfully maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C. 103(a) rejections of claims 8-12 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 8-12 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abraham et al. US 2013/0318357 A1 [hereinafter Abraham] in view of Ahn US 2022/0069984 A1.
As per claim 1, Abraham teaches a method for updating a device, comprising:
receiving, by the device, a public signature key [paragraphs 0034 and 0044];
receiving, by the device, a secret encryption key [paragraphs 0034 and 0044];
receiving an encrypted update package and signature from an update provider [paragraphs 0044-0047];
verifying the signature using the public signature key [paragraphs 0044-0047];
decrypting the encrypted update package using the secret encryption key [paragraphs 0044-0047]; and
updating the device using the decrypted update package [paragraphs 0044-0048].
In the same field of endeavor, Ahn teaches a system for signature verification including receiving by a device a public one-time signature key and verifying generated signature using the one-time public signature key [paragraph 0045]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the application to employ the teachings of Ahn within the system of Abraham in order to enhance security of the system by using keys only once.
As per claim 4, Abraham teaches a method for updating a device by an update provider, comprising:
sending, by the update provider, a public signature key to the device [paragraphs 0034 and 0044];
sending, by the update provider, a secret encryption key to the device [paragraphs 0034 and 0044];
encrypting an update package using the secret encryption key [paragraphs 0044-0047];
producing a signature of the encrypted update package using a secret signature key [paragraphs 0044-0047]; and
sending the encrypted update package and the signature to the device [paragraphs 0044-0047].
In the same field of endeavor, Ahn teaches a system for signature verification including sending by a device a public one-time signature key and verifying generated signature using the one-time public signature key [paragraph 0045]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the application to employ the teachings of Ahn within the system of Abraham in order to enhance security of the system by using keys only once.
As per claim 5, Abraham teaches a method for updating a device, comprising:
receiving, by the device, a first public signature key and a second public signature key [paragraphs 0034 and 0044];
receiving, by the device, a secret encryption key [paragraphs 0034 and 0044];
receiving an update mode message and a first signature [paragraphs 0034 and 0044];
verifying the first signature using the first public signature key [paragraphs 0044-0047];
receiving an encrypted update package and a second signature from an update provider [paragraphs 0044-0047];
verifying the second signature using the second public signature key [paragraphs 0044-0047];
decrypting the encrypted update package using the secret encryption key [paragraphs 0044-0047]; and
updating the device using the decrypted update package [paragraphs 0044-0047].
In the same field of endeavor, Ahn teaches a system for signature verification including receiving by a device a public one-time signature key and verifying generated signature using the one-time public signature key [paragraph 0045]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the application to employ the teachings of Ahn within the system of Abraham in order to enhance security of the system by using keys only once.
As per claim 7, Abraham teaches a method for updating a device by an update provider, comprising:
sending a first public signature key and a second public signature key to the device [paragraphs 0034 and 0044];
sending a secret encryption key to the device [paragraphs 0034 and 0044];
producing a first signature of an update mode message using a first secret signature key corresponding to the first public one-time signature key [paragraphs 0044-0047];
sending the update mode message and the first signature to the device [paragraphs 0044-0047];
encrypting an update package using the secret encryption key [paragraphs 0044-0047];
producing a second signature of the encrypted update package using a second secret one-time signature key corresponding to the second public signature key [paragraphs 0044-0047]; and
sending the encrypted update package and second signature to the device [paragraphs 0044-0047].
In the same field of endeavor, Ahn teaches a system for signature verification including sending by a device a public one-time signature key and verifying generated signature using the one-time public signature key [paragraph 0045]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the application to employ the teachings of Ahn within the system of Abraham in order to enhance security of the system by using keys only once.
As per claim 2, Abraham further teaches the method further comprising; provisioning the device with a secret seed [paragraphs 0044-0047]; and reserving code space in the device for key generation using the secret seed [paragraphs 0044-0047].
As per claim 3, Abraham further teaches the method further comprising: provisioning code to run a signature verification in the device [paragraphs 0044-0047].
As per claim 6, Abraham further teaches the method further comprising: receiving code to run a one-time signature verification from the update provider [paragraphs 0044-0047].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-12 are allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BEEMNET W. DADA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2435
/BEEMNET W DADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435