DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office action is in response to the amendment and / or remarks filed on November 25, 2025. Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 & 13 are pending and currently being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, 10 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2012 / 0286003 A1) to Shadday et al., in view of (U.S. Patent Number 6,129,096) to Johnson, (U.S. Patent Number 11,525,227 B2) to Garland, (U.S. Patent Number 9,078,417 B1) to Lees et al., and (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2008 / 0067201 A1) to Obstler.
Regarding claim 1, Shadday discloses the system (See Figure 1), comprising:
the pack (10) having the main body (i.e. Body Portion of (10) in Figure 1) that includes:
the rear pocket (42) having the back wall (i.e. Back Wall of (42) in Figure 4), an intermediate wall (i.e. Rear Face Wall Portion of (42) in Figure 1), the bottom wall (44) and the pair of side walls (i.e. Left & Right (42) in Figure 4) that define an interior space (i.e. Interior Space of (42) in Figure 1);
an elongated belt (58) that is connected to each of the pair of side walls (i.e. Left & Right (60) in Figures 1, 2 & 4);
the lid (24) that is configured to selectively cover the interior space of the rear pocket (i.e. Pocket of (42) in Figures 1 & 8);
the front pocket (i.e. Pocket b/w (48 & 42) in Figure 1) that is positioned along a front surface of the intermediate wall, the front pocket (i.e. Pocket b/w (48 & 42) in Figure 1) including the back wall (i.e. Back Wall of Pocket (48 & 42) in Figures 1, 8 & 10), the front wall (i.e. Front Wall of (48) in Figure 2), the bottom wall (44) (See Figure 8) and the pair of side walls (i.e. Left & Right (50) in Figure 1);
the bag dispenser (54) that is positioned along the front wall (48) of the front pocket (46), the bag dispenser (54) including the central opening (See Figures 1, 2, 4, 8 & 10) having the plurality of resilient flaps (i.e. via three (3) flaps of (54) in Figure 9);
the roll of plastic bags (12) that are positioned within the front pocket (46) and being in communication with the bag dispenser (54) (See Figure 10); and
the watertight bucket (i.e. via Stainless Steele of (14) in Paragraph 0056) that is removably positioned within the rear pocket (42) (See Figures 1, 4 & 8).
However, Shadday et al., does not explicitly disclose the fanny pack.
Johnson teaches the fanny pack (10) having the main body (i.e. Body Portion of (10) in Figure 1) that includes: the rear pocket (i.e. Interior Cavity Portion of (10) in Figure 1), the elongated belt (16 & 17), and the front pocket (18) (See Column 2, line 58) (See Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the fanny pack as taught by Johnson with the system of Shadday et al., in order to provide waist or hip storage configuration.
However, Shadday et al., does not explicitly disclose the side pocket that is positioned along the first side of the main body.
Garland teaches the side pocket (72) that is positioned along the first side (56) of the main body (See Figures 1, 4, 7, 8, 9 & 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the side pocket that is positioned along the first side of the main body as taught by Garland with the system of Shadday et al., for the purpose of position articles, such as dog treats.
However, Shadday et al., does not explicitly disclose the clip that is positioned along the main body at a location opposite to the side pocket.
Lees et al., teaches the bag dispenser (173) that is positioned along the front wall of the front pocket (160) (See Figure 2), the bag dispenser (173) including the central opening (See Figure 2); the roll of plastic bags (107, 151) that are positioned within the front pocket (160) and being in communication with the bag dispenser (173); and the clip (140) that is positioned along the main body (114) at a location opposite to the side (See Figure 2) (See Column 5, lines 39 – 42); the item (142) that is connected to the clip (136) (See Column 8, lines 40 – 43) (See Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the clip that is positioned along the main body at a location opposite to the side pocket as taught by Lees et al., with the system of Shadday et al., for the purpose of holding personal items.
However, Shadday et al., does not explicitly disclose the collapsible pet bowl.
Obstler teaches the collapsible pet bowl (200) that is connected to the clip (See Figure 1) (See Paragraph 0011).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the collapsible pet bowl that is connected to the clip as taught by Obstler with the system of Shadday et al., in order to provide a portable feeding and / or hydration reservoir for a pet.
Regarding claim 2, Shadday et al., discloses wherein the bucket (14) includes functionality for receiving and storing pet waste (i.e. Used Bags) (See Paragraph 0056).
Regarding claim 3, Shadday et al., discloses wherein the bucket (14) includes the shape and the size that is complementary to the shape and the size of the rear pocket (42) (See Figures 5, 6 & 7).
Regarding claim 4, Shadday et al., discloses wherein the bucket (14) includes the plurality of rigid sidewalls (i.e. Left & Right (18) in Figures 1, 5, 7 & 8) (See Paragraph 0056).
Regarding claim 6, Shadday et al., discloses wherein the bucket (14) is constructed from plastic (See Paragraph 0072).
Regarding claim 8, Shadday et al., discloses further comprising: the length adjustment mechanism (i.e. Slide Adjustment Buckle of (64) in Figure 1) that is positioned along the belt (58), the mechanism (i.e. Slide Adjustment Buckle of (64) in Figure 1) including functionality for selectively tightening and loosening the belt (58) around the waist of a user (See Paragraph 0069).
Regarding claim 9, Shadday et al., as modified by Garland discloses further comprising: the pair of connectors (i.e. Upper & Lower Zippers (20) in Figures 1 & 13) that are disposed along an upper portion of the rear pocket (14) and the lid (18), the pair of connectors (i.e. Upper & Lower Zippers (20) in Figures 1 & 13) functioning to secure the lid (18) in the closed position (See Figure 1).
Regarding claim 10, Shadday et al., as modified by Garland discloses wherein the pair of connectors (i.e. Upper & Lower Zippers (20) in Figures 1 & 13) comprise the zipper assembly (See Figures 1 & 13).
Regarding claim 13, Shadday et al., discloses the system (See Figure 1), consisting of:
the pack main body (i.e. Body Portion of (10) in Figure 1) having the rear pocket (42) having the back wall (i.e. Back Wall of (42) in Figures 1 & 8), an intermediate wall, the bottom wall (44) and the pair of side walls (i.e. Left & Right (42) in Figure 4) that define an interior space (i.e. Interior Space of (42) in Figure 8);
an elongated belt (58) that is connected to each of the pair of side walls (i.e. Left & Right (42) in Figure 4);
the lid (24) that is connected along one of the back wall (i.e. Back Wall of (42) in Figures 1 & 8), the intermediate wall or the pair of side walls (i.e. Left & Right (42) in Figure 4) of the rear pocket (42);
the front pocket (i.e. Pocket b/w (48 & 42) in Figure 1) that is positioned along the front surface of the intermediate wall (See Figure 1), the front pocket (i.e. Pocket b/w (48 & 42) in Figure 1) including the back wall (i.e. Back Wall of (42) in Figures 1 & 8), the front wall (48), the bottom wall (44) and the pair of side walls (i.e. Left & Right (50) in Figure 1);
the bag dispenser (54) that is positioned along the front wall (48) of the front pocket (i.e. Pocket b/w (48 & 42) in Figure 1), the bag dispenser (54) including the central opening (i.e. Central Opening of (54) in Figure 1) having the plurality of resilient flaps (See Figure 9);
the roll of plastic bags (12) that are positioned within the front pocket (i.e. Pocket b/w (48 & 42) in Figure 1) and being in communication with the bag dispenser (54) (See Figure 8); and
the watertight bucket (i.e. via Stainless Steele of (14) in Paragraph 0056) that is removably positioned within the rear pocket (42) (See Figures 1 & 8).
However, Shadday et al., does not explicitly disclose the fanny pack.
Johnson teaches the fanny pack (10) having the main body (i.e. Body Portion of (10) in Figure 1) that includes: the rear pocket (i.e. Interior Cavity Portion of (10) in Figure 1), the elongated belt (16 & 17), and the front pocket (18) (See Column 2, line 58) (See Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the fanny pack as taught by Johnson with the system of Shadday et al., in order to provide waist belt storage configuration.
However, Shadday et al., does not explicitly disclose the side pocket that is positioned along the first side of the main body.
Garland teaches the side pocket (72) that is positioned along the first side (56) of the main body (See Figures 1, 4, 7, 8, 9 & 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the side pocket that is positioned along the first side of the main body as taught by Garland with the system of Shadday et al., for the purpose of position articles, such as dog treats.
However, Shadday et al., does not explicitly disclose the clip that is positioned along the main body at a location opposite to the side pocket.
Lees et al., teaches the bag dispenser (173) that is positioned along the front wall of the front pocket (160) (See Figure 2), the bag dispenser (173) including the central opening (See Figure 2); the roll of plastic bags (107, 151) that are positioned within the front pocket (160) and being in communication with the bag dispenser (173); and the clip (140) that is positioned along the main body (114) at a location opposite to the side (See Figure 2) (See Column 5, lines 39 – 42); the item (142) that is connected to the clip (136) (See Column 8, lines 40 – 43) (See Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the clip that is positioned along the main body at a location opposite to the side pocket as taught by Lees et al., with the system of Shadday et al., for the purpose of holding personal items.
However, Shadday et al., does not explicitly disclose the collapsible pet bowl.
Obstler teaches the collapsible pet bowl (200) that is connected to the clip (See Figure 1) (See Paragraph 0011).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the collapsible pet bowl that is connected to the clip as taught by Obstler with the system of Shadday et al., in order to provide a portable feeding and / or hydration reservoir for a pet.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2012 / 0286003 A1) to Shadday et al., in view of (U.S. Patent Number 6,129,096) to Johnson, (U.S. Patent Number 11,525,227 B2) to Garland, (U.S. Patent Number 9,078,417 B1) to Lees et al., and (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2008 / 0067201 A1) to Obstler as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of (U.S. Patent Number 5,397,040) to Lee.
Regarding claim 7, Shadday et al., as modified by above lacks and does not explicitly disclose wherein the back wall of the rear pocket is padded.
Lee teaches wherein the back wall (18) of the rear pocket (i.e. Interior Cavity Pocket of (16) in Figure 1) is padded for the purpose of increase comfort (See Column 3, lines 56 – 61).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the back wall of the rear pocket padded as taught by Lee with the system of Shadday et al., in order to provide increase comfort to the wearer during use (See Column 3, lines 56 – 61).
Claim(s) 11 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2012 / 0286003 A1) to Shadday et al., in view of (U.S. Patent Number 6,129,096) to Johnson, (U.S. Patent Number 11,525,227 B2) to Garland, (U.S. Patent Number 9,078,417 B1) to Lees et al., and (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2008 / 0067201 A1) to Obstler as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of (U.S. Patent Number 6,401,993 B1) to Andrino.
Regarding claim 11, Shadday et al., as modified by above does not explicitly disclose the second pair of connectors that are disposed along the front wall and the rear wall of the front pocket, the second pair of connectors functioning to secure the front pocket in the closed position.
Andrino teaches further comprising: the second pair of connectors (7A & 7B) that are disposed along the front wall (4) and the rear wall of the front pocket (48), the second pair of connectors (7A &7B) functioning to secure the front pocket (48) in the closed position (See Figures 1 & 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the second pair of connectors that are disposed along the front wall and the rear wall of the front pocket, the second pair of connectors functioning to secure the front pocket in the closed position as taught by Andrino with the system of Shadday et al., in order to provide quick release and secure items within the pocket.
Regarding claim 12, Shadday et al., as modified by Andrino discloses the second pair of connectors (7A & 7B) comprises strip of hook and loop material (See Figure 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 & 13 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(U.S. Patent Number 4,545,414) to Baum teaches the fanny pack (10) having the main body (i.e. Body Portion of (10) in Figure 1) that includes: the rear pocket (11), an elongated belt (31), the lid (15) and the front pocket (12) (See Figures 3 & 6).
(U.S. Patent Number 6,942,130 B1) to Duva teaches the system (See Figure 2), comprising:
the pack (16) having the main body (i.e. Body Portion (16) in Figure 2) that includes: the side pocket (i.e. Left & Right (32) in Figure 2).
(U.S. Patent Publication Number 2007 / 0128149 A1) to Dollar teaches the watertight container (12) (See Abstract) (See Paragraph 0030).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.L.V/Examiner, Art Unit 3734
/NATHAN J NEWHOUSE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3734