DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, Claims 6-14 in the reply filed on 08/07/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-5 and 15-20 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20100023133 A1 (hereafter –Fairbanks--).
Regarding Claim 6, Fairbanks discloses a hydraulic valve assembly comprising: a valve core (250) having one or more valve core ports (251, see paragraph [0097], see also annotated valve core ports in Figures 26-28 below); and a valve sleeve (260) surrounding the valve core so that the valve core is rotatable relative to the valve sleeve (see paragraph [0097], see also valve sleeve in Figures 26-28), the valve sleeve comprising one or more valve sleeve ports (261, see paragraph [0097], see also annotated valve sleeve ports in Figures 26-28 below); wherein a hydraulic resistance of the valve assembly varies approximately linearly with a change in valve position of the valve assembly caused by rotating the valve core relative to the valve sleeve to vary an alignment between the one or more valve core ports and one or more valve sleeve ports (see paragraphs [0097], [0084], [0085], and [0086] denoting that valve core 250 is turned by valve electric motor 270, three-way valve 210 assumes one of at least three positions, each position having a different resistance fluid fluid).
Regarding Claims 7, 8, and 10, Fairbanks discloses a circular port and a linear plane that is perpendicular to the axis of the valve assembly (see annotated plane and axis in Figure 27 below). The plane overlaps with a portion of the circle as annotated in Figure 27 below. The exact point in which the plane intersects with the circle is considered to have a 0 degree angle with the point of the circle it is overlapping with. As you move along the circle from the overlapping point, the circle angle with respect to the plane smoothly increases until a peak angle with respect to the plane at the overlapping point. The angle must therefore pass through 3 degrees as it increases. The overlapping point (0 degrees) then extends to another point on the circle, in which that point has a 3 degree angle with the plane. The portion between the 0 degree point (overlapping point) and the point in which the circle has a 3 degree curve, is what is being considered to be the “linear portion,” as this would be a very small portion of the circle in which the curvature would be so miniscule that it could be considered to be linear. “Portion” can be any portion, big or small, of any part of the port. The Examiner recommends narrowing this limitation to be more specific to the structure of your device.
Regarding Claim 7, Fairbanks discloses the hydraulic valve assembly of Claim 6, wherein at least one of the one or more valve sleeve ports is a curved valve sleeve port comprising a rounded portion and a linear portion (see annotated curved and linear portions in Figure 27 above, see also the explanation above).
Regarding Claim 8, Fairbanks discloses the hydraulic valve assembly of Claim 7, wherein the linear portion extends at an angle relative to a plane transverse to an axis of the valve assembly (see annotated plane in Figure 27 above).
Regarding Claim 10, Fairbanks discloses the hydraulic valve assembly of Claim 8, wherein the angle is equal to or between 2 and 3 degrees (see explanation above).
Regarding Claim 9, Fairbanks discloses the hydraulic valve assembly of Claim 8, wherein the plane is perpendicular the axis of the valve assembly (see annotated axis and plane in Figure 27 above).
Regarding Claim 11, Fairbanks discloses the hydraulic valve assembly of Claim 6, wherein at least one of the one or more valve sleeve ports is a circular port (see also valve sleeve ports in Figures 26-28).
Regarding Claim 12, Fairbanks discloses the hydraulic valve assembly of Claim 6, wherein the one or more valve core ports are multiple valve core ports (see also valve core ports in Figures 26-28, see paragraph [0097]).
Regarding Claim 13, Fairbanks discloses the hydraulic valve assembly of Claim 12, wherein at least one of the multiple valve core ports is oblong in shape (see also valve core ports in Figures 26-28).
Regarding Claim 14, Fairbanks discloses the hydraulic valve assembly of Claim 13, wherein the multiple valve core ports are configured to at least partially overlap with the one or more valve sleeve ports (see positions in Figures 29A-29D above, some showcasing positions in which the ports overlap).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220296393 A1: This reference discloses a hydraulic system with a valve core and sleeve, both having ports that overlap with linear up and down movement to control alignment and fluid flow resistance.
US 20150134081 A1: This reference discloses a hydraulic valve system with ports and resistance fluid control.
/PARIS MARIE BLASS/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/SARAH W ALEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774