CTNF 18/612,173 CTNF 82341 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1, 6, 8-10, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Sun et al (WO 2023/004540). Sun discloses: With regard to claim 1 - A dashboard assembly comprising: a dashboard body 8 and a steering column unit 2, the steering column unit 2 extending along a steering column axis , wherein the steering column unit 2 is adjustable with respect to the dashboard body 8 along a first adjustment direction (back and forth, see Fig. 8) extending in parallel to the steering column axis and along a second adjustment direction (up and down, see Fig. 7) extending perpendicular to the steering column axis, and a cover part 1, wherein the cover part 1 is movably connected to the steering column unit 2 and movably connected to the dashboard body 8; and wherein the dashboard assembly is configured as a component of a vehicle. With regard to claim 6 - wherein a surface of the cover part 1 is oriented towards the steering column unit 2 at least partially follows an outer form of the steering column unit (see Fig. 4). With regard to claim 8 - wherein the cover part 1 and the steering column unit 2 are translatorily movable with respect to one another (see Fig. 8). With regard to claim 9 - wherein the cover part 1 comprises the guide rail 11 and the steering column unit 2 comprises the engagement element 21, wherein the engagement element 21 is located in the guide rail 11 such that the engagement element is translatorily movable along the guide rail direction. With regard to claim 10 - wherein the steering column unit 2 comprises the at least two engagement elements 21 being arranged at the distance from each other, wherein the at least two engagement elements 21 are located in the guide rail 11 such that the at least two engagement elements 21 are translatorily movable along the guide rail direction. With regard to claim 15 - wherein the steering column unit is configured to move further towards the dashboard body or into the dashboard body during a crash (“The installation structure of the fatigue monitoring camera according to claim 1, characterized in that, when a crash occurs, the steering column shield (2) moves in the direction of collapse to the separation process from the electrical device assembly (1) Among them, the electrical device assembly (1) is matched with the steering wheel (3).” – see translation). With regard to claim 17 - wherein the steering column unit is configured for providing a steering wheel 3 at a first end, wherein the steering wheel is configured such that a position of the steering wheel in a first direction and a second direction relative to the dashboard assembly is adjustable, wherein the first direction is parallel to the steering column axis and the second direction is substantially perpendicular to the first direction (see the rejection to claim 1). With regard to claim 18 - A steering wheel comprising a steering column unit 2, wherein the steering column unit is configured for receiving the steering wheel 3 at a first end of a dashboard assembly; and wherein the dashboard assembly comprises, a dashboard body 8 and the steering column unit 2, the steering column unit 2 extending along a steering column axis, wherein the steering column unit 2 is adjustable with respect to the dashboard body along a first adjustment direction extending in parallel to the steering column axis and along a second adjustment direction extending perpendicular to the steering column axis (see rejection to claim 1), and a cover part1, wherein the cover part 1 is movably connected to the steering column unit and movably connected to the dashboard body; and wherein the steering wheel 3 is configured as a component of a vehicle. With regard to claim 19 - A cover part 1 comprising a first coupling interface 11 configured to movably connect the cover part 1 to a steering column unit 2 and wherein the cover part 1 comprises a second coupling interface 9 configured to movably connect the cover part 1 to a dashboard body 8 (“Preferably, a soft barrier 9 is also included, the soft barrier 9 is fixedly connected between the electrical device assembly 1 and the instrument panel 8, and the soft barrier 9 is used to cover the first connecting rod 5 and the second connecting rod 6 and rail bracket 7. It improves the overall aesthetics of the installation structure and enhances the user experience.” – see translation), and wherein the cover part 1 is configured as a component of a dashboard assembly. With regard to claim 20 - wherein the dashboard assembly comprises the dashboard body 8 and the steering column unit 2, the steering column unit 2 extending along a steering column axis , wherein the steering column unit is adjustable with respect to the dashboard body along a first adjustment direction extending in parallel to the steering column axis and along a second adjustment direction extending perpendicular to the steering column axis, and wherein the dashboard assembly is configured as a component of a vehicle . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-3, 7-9, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Usami et al (US 8,502,338) in view of Sun et al (WO 2023/004540). Usami discloses: With regard to claim 1 - A dashboard assembly comprising: a dashboard body 4 and a steering column unit 1, the steering column unit 1 extending along a steering column axis , wherein the steering column unit 1 is adjustable with respect to the dashboard body 4 along a first adjustment direction (see Fig. 2) extending in parallel to the steering column axis, and a cover part 3, wherein the cover part 3 is movably connected to the steering column unit 1 and movably connected to the dashboard body 4; and wherein the dashboard assembly is configured as a component of a vehicle. Usami fails to explicitly disclose wherein the steering column unit is adjustable with respect to the dashboard body along a second adjustment direction extending perpendicular to the steering column axis. As seen in the 102 rejection above, Sun teaches a similar dashboard assembly comprising a steering column unit 2 that is adjustable with respect to the dashboard body 8 along a first adjustment direction (back and forth, see Fig. 8) extending in parallel to the steering column axis and along a second adjustment direction (up and down, see Fig. 7) extending perpendicular to the steering column axis. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the dashboard assembly of Usami with the teaching of Sun such that the steering column is adjustable with respect to the dashboard body along a second adjustment direction extending perpendicular to the steering column axis, with a reasonable expectation of success, to help maximize adjustability according to a driver’s needs. With regard to claim 2, Usami discloses wherein the cover part 3 comprises a connection interface 15 for connecting a functional part 12 to the cover part 3. With regard to claim 3, Usami discloses wherein the functional part comprises 12 a camera unit and wherein the camera unit is connected to the cover part 3 via the connection interface 15. With regard to claim 7, Usami discloses a biasing means biasing the cover part towards the steering column unit (“Under normal conditions, the on-board camera 3 is disposed on the front of the rails 36. The on-board camera 3 may be urged forward by a spring or the like in order to secure the on-board camera 3 on the front of the rails 36 under normal conditions.” – column 10, lines 56-60). With regard to claim 8 Usami discloses wherein the cover part 3 and the steering column unit 1 are translatorily movable with respect to one another (see Fig. 9). With regard to claim 9 Usami discloses wherein the cover part 3 comprises the guide rail 39 and the steering column unit 1 comprises the engagement element 36, wherein the engagement element 36 is located in the guide rail 39 such that the engagement element is translatorily movable along the guide rail direction. With regard to claim 12 Usami discloses wherein the cover part 3 and the dashboard body 1 are translatorily movable with respect to one another and wherein the cover part and the dashboard body are rotatably movable with respect to one another (see Fig. 5). With regard to claim 16 Usami discloses wherein the dashboard assembly comprises a spring biasing the cover part 3 towards the steering column unit 1, wherein the spring biasing is configured to reduce noises occurring due to play effects inside the dashboard assembly (reducing noise is considered to be intended use and is not given patentable weight; “Under normal conditions, the on-board camera 3 is disposed on the front of the rails 36. The on-board camera 3 may be urged forward by a spring or the like in order to secure the on-board camera 3 on the front of the rails 36 under normal conditions.” – column 10, lines 56-60) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Usami and Sun , as applied to claim s 1-3, 7-9, 12, and 16 , above, and further in view of Chen et al (US 2015/0197135). Usami and Sun fail to explicitly disclose wherein the functional part comprises a display unit and wherein the display unit is connected to the cover part via the connection interface or wherein the functional part comprises a ventilation nozzle part and wherein the ventilation nozzle part is connected to the cover part via the connection interface. Chen teaches a dashboard assembly for a motor vehicle comprising a dashboard body and a steering column unit 102, the steering column unit 102 extending along a steering column axis, and a cover part 100, wherein the cover part 100 is movably connected to the steering column unit 102 and movably connected to the dashboard body 104; wherein the cover part 100 comprises a connection interface for connecting a functional part to the cover part 100, wherein the functional part comprises a display unit 112 and wherein the display unit 112 is connected to the cover part 100 via the connection interface and wherein the functional part further comprises a ventilation nozzle part 114 and wherein the ventilation nozzle part 114 is connected to the cover part via the connection interface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the dashboard assembly of Usami and Sun with the teaching of Chen such that the functional part comprises a display unit and/or a ventilation nozzle part, with a reasonable expectation of success, to allow for maximum comfort and awareness for the driver . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 11, 13, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nishina (US 2010/0288573) discloses a dashboard assembly comprising a steering column and a cover part for a camera attached thereto. Lisseman (US 11,713,048) discloses a similar dashboard assembly including a cover part and camera attached to a steering column and dashboard. Kossakovski (US 10,370,020) discloses a dashboard assembly comprising a steering column and dashboard as well as a cover part for a ventilation nozzle . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TIMOTHY WILHELM whose telephone number is (571)272-6980. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8:30-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Paul Dickson can be reached at 571-272-7742. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TIMOTHY WILHELM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617 May 15, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/612,173 Page 2 Art Unit: 3617 Application/Control Number: 18/612,173 Page 3 Art Unit: 3617 Application/Control Number: 18/612,173 Page 4 Art Unit: 3617 Application/Control Number: 18/612,173 Page 5 Art Unit: 3617 Application/Control Number: 18/612,173 Page 6 Art Unit: 3617 Application/Control Number: 18/612,173 Page 7 Art Unit: 3617 Application/Control Number: 18/612,173 Page 8 Art Unit: 3617