DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The action is responsive to the Applicant’s Amendment filed on 2/24/2026. Claims 1-7, 9-15, and 17-20 are pending in the application. Claims 1, 9, and 17 are amended. Claim 16 is canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claims 1-7, 9-15, and 17-20 have been fully considered. In view of the claim amendment filed, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Further, regarding the new limitations recited in claims 1, 9 and 17, it is submitted that they are properly addressed by the new ground of rejection.
Furthermore, it is also submitted that all limitations in pending claims, including those not specifically argued, are properly addressed. The reason is set forth in the rejections. See claim analysis below for detail.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 5.The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claims 1-7, 9-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Challa et al. (US Patent Number 10,978,056 B1) in view of Anbil et al. (US20180107362-A1), and Gruber et al. (US 20180350353 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Challa discloses a method implemented using one or more processors ([Col. 4, lines 7-10]: Embodiments according to the invention are in particular disclosed in the attached claims directed to a method, a storage medium, a system and a computer program product, Fig. 10; [Col. 3, line 14]: computer system 1000 includes a processor 1002), comprising:
receiving a natural language input from a user at an input component of a computing device ([Col. 39, lines 55-60]: Fig. 6; The method may begin at step 610, where the assistant system 140 may receive, from a client system 130 associated with a user, a user input),
wherein the natural language input is directed by the user to an automated assistant that operates at least in part on the computing device (Fig. 1, assistant system 140; [Col. 2, lines 4-6]: The assistant system may enable the user to interact with it with multi-modal user input (such as voice, text, image, video, motion)), and identifies an intent of the user ([Col. 12, lines 1-4]: An intent may be an element in a pre-defined taxonomy of semantic intentions, which may indicate a purpose of a user interacting with the assistant system 140);
retrieving a web page of an interactive website that includes one or more interactive elements, wherein the web page is operable to carry out the identified intent of the user (Fig. 1; [Col. 6, lines 27-28]: The client system 130 may render a web interface (e.g. a webpage); [Col. 11, lines]: An intent may be an element in a pre-defined taxonomy of semantic intentions, which may indicate a purpose of a user interacting with the assistant system 140), the one or more interactive elements are operable to input one or more parameters associated with carrying out the intent of the user, and the one or more interactive elements include one or more of a radio button, a check box, a drop down menu, or a text input field ([Col. 42, lines 19-37]: The third-party web interface or resource may include, among other elements, content, a selectable or other icon, or other inter-actable object (which may be implemented, for example, in JavaScript, AJAX, or PHP codes) representing an action or activity);
generating, as a current state of the user, one or more embeddings, ([Col. 44, lines 16- 67]: FIG. 8 illustrates an example view of an embedding space… an object may be represented in the vector space 800 as a vector referred to as a feature vector or an object embedding; [Col. 37, lines 13-15]: A vanilla LSTM-based decoder model, where the decoder hidden state is initialized using embeddings of the goal and arguments);
processing the one or more embeddings using one or more neural networks to generate output indicative of a plurality of candidate actions for operating one or more of the interactive elements of the web page (Fig. 8; [Col. 44, lines 41-44]: In particular embodiments, an n-gram may be mapped to a vector representation in the vector space 800 by using a machine leaning model (e.g., a neural network); Fig. 6; [Col. 40, lines 12-14]: At step 620, the assistant system 140 may generate, by a natural-language generation module, a plurality of candidate responses in response to the user input);
selecting a given candidate action from the plurality of actions based on one or more criteria (Fig. 6; [Col. 40, lines 14-24]: At step 630, the assistant system 140 may determine, by a filtering module, for each candidate response of the plurality of candidate responses, a quality-indication… based on one or more acceptance-criteria. At step 640, the assistant system 140 may select one or more candidate responses from the plurality of candidate responses based on their respective quality-indications).
However, Challa does not explicitly teach “wherein the one or more embeddings represent both: one or more aspects of the natural language input and at least some of the interactive elements of the retrieved web page; performing the selected candidate action to operate with one or more of the interactive elements of the web page using one or more of the parameters; based on the performing, obtaining data configured to render a different web page of the interactive website; and providing, by the automated assistant as audio or visual output to the user, output indicating an outcome of performing the selected candidate action, wherein the output indicating the outcome comprises content from the different web page.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Anbil teaches
wherein the one or more embeddings represent both: one or more aspects of the natural language input (Fig. 1: [0028]: While shell 139 is a text-based, line-oriented user interface, the present invention will equally well support other user interface modes, such as graphical, voice, gestural, etc.) and
at least some of the interactive elements of the retrieved web page (Figs. 5-6; [0036]-[0045]: building a neural mobile screen knowledge base in which mobile screens of famous apps… are semantically, contextually, and compactly captured through neural embedding vectors… The components are identified as output as mobile screen layout files (e.g., string and/or XML files) to a system that creates a neural embedding representation of the current GUI (see block 502)… the output from block 502 is the neural embedding vector representation for all of these mobile screens… Now each mobile screen is represented as a neural embedding vector [This is nonfunctional descriptive material. None of the steps of the claim are depending on this information.]).
Additionally, Gruber teaches performing the selected candidate action to operate one or more of the interactive elements of the web page using one or more of the parameters ([Abstract]: The text string can be parsed into multiple candidate substrings based on domain keywords; Fig. 8; [0264]: At block 812… a virtual assistant can determine a user's intent from speech input by matching the user's speech to a particular domain with tasks, processes, and the like that the virtual assistant can perform or execute; [0281]: Referring again to process 800 of FIG. 8, at block 814, a first process associated with the first intent and a second process associated with the second intent can be executed);
based on the performing, obtaining data configured to render a different web page of the interactive website (Fig. 11; [0272]-[275]: For example, a user might utter “Reply to those emails with my out of office reply, remind me to call mom in twenty minutes, tell Joe sure, snooze those reminders an hour, and accept that meeting request… a virtual assistant can begin to take action immediately upon interpreting user intent for one command… the content displayed can be used to determine that “those emails” correspond to emails 1142 shown on display 1030… the displayed content can similarly be used to disambiguate a user's request); and
providing, by the automated assistant as audio or visual output to the user, output indicating an outcome of performing the selected candidate action, wherein the output indicating the outcome comprises content from the different web page (Figs. 11-12; [0272]: For example, a virtual assistant might begin sending out of office emails to Jane Doe and Jennifer Smith; [0281]-[0282]: For example, messages can be composed and sent, emails can be deleted, notifications can be dismissed, or the like… Referring again to process 800 of FIG. 8, at block 816, an acknowledgment associated with the first intent and the second intent can be provided to the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Challa to incorporate the teachings of Anbil and Gruber to include performing the selected candidate action to operate with the interactive elements of the web page using one or more of the parameters; based on the performing, obtaining data configured to render a different web page of the interactive website; and providing, by the automated assistant as audio or visual output to the user, output indicating an outcome of performing the selected candidate action, wherein the output indicating the outcome comprises content from the different web page.
The motivation for doing so would be to utilize embeddings for representing GUI elements as recognized by Anbil ([0042] of Anbil: the output from block 502 is the neural embedding vector representation for all of these mobile screens), and to determine and execute a user intent, and provide an acknowledgment to the user, as recognized by Gruber ([Abstract] of Gruber: the user intent of each substring can be determined, processes associated with the user intents can be executed, and an acknowledgment can be provided to the user).
Regarding Claim 2, the combined teachings of Challa, Anbil, and Gruber disclose the method of claim 1.
Challa further teaches wherein the one or more neural networks comprise a policy for automatic navigation of webpages (Figs. 2-3; [Col. 21, lines 35-55]: An agent 340 may select among registered content providers to complete the action… In particular embodiments, the dialog engine 235 may execute a dialog policy 320 to determine the next action to carry out. The dialog policies 320 may comprise generic policy 321 and domain specific policies 322, both of which may guide how to select the next system action based on the dialog state).
Regarding Claim 3, the combined teachings of Challa, Anbil, and Gruber disclose the method of claim 1.
Challa further teaches wherein the one or more criteria include rankings of the plurality of candidate actions ([Abstract]: ranking the selected candidate responses based on one or more ranking-criteria; [Col. 22, lines 59-63]: Therefore, the assistant system 140 may use a generate, filter, and rank framework, in which candidate responses are first filtered to eliminate unacceptable responses, and then ranked to select the best response).
Regarding Claim 4, the combined teachings of Challa, Anbil, and Gruber disclose the method of claim 1.
Challa further teaches wherein the output indicative of the plurality of candidate actions comprises data indicative of a sequence in which the plurality of candidate actions should be performed (Fig. 2; [Col. 15, lines 50-53]: The surface realization component may determine specific words to use, the sequence of the sentences, and the style of the communication content; [Col. 1, lines 55-60]: The dialog engine 235 may additionally store previous conversations between the user and the assistant xbot 215; [Note that sequences of interactive web pages may be represented in a database of previous user states as “scripts” of previous user states and corresponding actions]).
Regarding Claim 5, the combined teachings of Challa, Anbil, and Gruber disclose the method of claim 1.
Challa further teaches further comprising determining whether performance of the selected candidate action was successful ([Col. 24, lines 29-39]: Using different types of classification models including grammaticality models… these classification models may automatically determine whether a response satisfies grammaticality, semantic correctness, and naturalness, based on which the assistant system 140 may further determine if it is acceptable… In particular embodiments, the assistant system 140 may include a filtering step that performs acceptability classification in the more widely used generate & rank framework).
Regarding Claim 6, the combined teachings of Challa, Anbil, and Gruber disclose the method of claim 5.
Challa further teaches wherein the output indicating the outcome of performing the selected candidate action comprises an indication of whether the selected candidate action was successful (Fig. 2; [Col. 17, lines 8-40]: In particular embodiments, the dialog state and history may indicate if the user is engaged in an ongoing conversation with the assistant xbot 215; [Col. 39, lines 63-67]: As an example and not by way of limitation, after receiving the user's question 510 “What's the weather like this week in Oak Hill on Wednesday?” the assistant xbot 215 may respond with an answer 512 “Here's your weather forecast).
Regarding Claim 7, the combined teachings of Challa, Anbil, and Gruber disclose the method of claim 5.
Challa further teaches further comprising: determining a reward or penalty based on whether performance of the selected candidate action was successful ([Col. 2, line 47-Col. 3, line 40]: candidate responses are first filtered to eliminate unacceptable responses… these classification models may automatically determine whether a response satisfies grammaticality, semantic correctness, and naturalness, based on which the assistant system may further determine if it is acceptable; [Col. 28, lines 17-22]: each original ungrammatical utterance in the dataset is a negative example, and the final corrected utterance… is a positive example. Additionally, sentences without any corrections are positive examples as well; See also [Col. 31, lines 53-63], Table 5]); and
training one or more of the neural networks based on the determined reward or penalty ([Col. 28, lines 23-26]: These positive and negative samples can then be directly used to train the grammaticality filter described in previous sections; [Col. 47, lines 26-30]: a training method may be used (e.g., the conjugate gradient method, the gradient descent method, the stochastic gradient descent) to backpropagate the sum-of-squares error measured as a distances between each vector representing a training object (e.g., using a cost function that minimizes the sum-of-squares error)).
Regarding Claim 9, Challa discloses a system comprising one or more processors and memory storing instructions that, in response to execution by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to ([Col. 4, lines 7-10]: Embodiments according to the invention are in particular disclosed in the attached claims directed to a method, a storage medium, a system and a computer program product, Fig. 10; [Col. 3, line 14]: computer system 1000 includes a processor 1002):
receive a natural language input from a user at an input component ([Col. 39, lines 55-60]: Fig. 6; The method may begin at step 610, where the assistant system 140 may receive, from a client system 130 associated with a user, a user input),
wherein the natural language input is directed by the user to an automated assistant that operates at least in part on the system, and identifies an intent of the user ([Col. 39, lines 55-60]: Fig. 6; The method may begin at step 610, where the assistant system 140 may receive, from a client system 130 associated with a user, a user input);
retrieve a web page of an interactive website that includes one or more interactive elements, wherein the web page is operable to carry out the identified intent of the user (Fig. 1; [Col. 6, lines 27-28]: The client system 130 may render a web interface (e.g. a webpage); [Col. 11, lines]: An intent may be an element in a pre-defined taxonomy of semantic intentions, which may indicate a purpose of a user interacting with the assistant system 140), the one or more interactive elements are operable to input one or more parameters associated with carrying out the intent of the user, and the one or more interactive elements include one or more of a radio button, a check box, a drop down menu, or a text input field ([Col. 42, lines 19-37]: The third-party web interface or resource may include, among other elements, content, a selectable or other icon, or other inter-actable object (which may be implemented, for example, in JavaScript, AJAX, or PHP codes) representing an action or activity);
generate, as a current state of the user, one or more embeddings ([Col. 44, lines 16- 67]: FIG. 8 illustrates an example view of an embedding space… an object may be represented in the vector space 800 as a vector referred to as a feature vector or an object embedding; [Col. 37, lines 13-15]: A vanilla LSTM-based decoder model, where the decoder hidden state is initialized using embeddings of the goal and arguments);
process the one or more embeddings using one or more neural networks to generate output indicative of a plurality of candidate actions for operating one or more of the interactive elements of the web page (Fig. 8; [Col. 44, lines 41-44]: In particular embodiments, an n-gram may be mapped to a vector representation in the vector space 800 by using a machine leaning model (e.g., a neural network); Fig. 6; [Col. 40, lines 12-14]: At step 620, the assistant system 140 may generate, by a natural-language generation module, a plurality of candidate responses in response to the user input);
select a given candidate action from the plurality of actions based on one or more criteria (Fig. 6; [Col. 40, lines 14-24]: At step 630, the assistant system 140 may determine, by a filtering module, for each candidate response of the plurality of candidate responses, a quality-indication… based on one or more acceptance-criteria. At step 640, the assistant system 140 may select one or more candidate responses from the plurality of candidate responses based on their respective quality-indications);
However, Challa does not explicitly teach “wherein the one or more embeddings represent both: one or more aspects of the natural language input and at least some of the interactive elements of the retrieved web page; perform the selected candidate action to operate with one or more of the interactive elements of the web page using one or more of the parameters; based on the performing, obtain data configured to render a different web page of the interactive website; and provide, by the automated assistant as audio or visual output to the user, output indicating an outcome of performing the selected candidate action, wherein the output indicating the outcome comprises content from the different web page.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Anbil teaches
wherein the one or more embeddings represent both: one or more aspects of the natural language input (Fig. 1: [0028]: While shell 139 is a text-based, line-oriented user interface, the present invention will equally well support other user interface modes, such as graphical, voice, gestural, etc.) and
at least some of the interactive elements of the retrieved web page (Figs. 5-6; [0036]-[0045]: building a neural mobile screen knowledge base in which mobile screens of famous apps… are semantically, contextually, and compactly captured through neural embedding vectors… The components are identified as output as mobile screen layout files (e.g., string and/or XML files) to a system that creates a neural embedding representation of the current GUI (see block 502)… the output from block 502 is the neural embedding vector representation for all of these mobile screens… Now each mobile screen is represented as a neural embedding vector [This is nonfunctional descriptive material. None of the steps of the claim are depending on this information.]).
Additionally, Gruber teaches perform the selected candidate action to operate one or more of the interactive elements of the web page using one or more of the parameters ([Abstract]: The text string can be parsed into multiple candidate substrings based on domain keywords; Fig. 8; [0264]: At block 812… a virtual assistant can determine a user's intent from speech input by matching the user's speech to a particular domain with tasks, processes, and the like that the virtual assistant can perform or execute; [0281]: Referring again to process 800 of FIG. 8, at block 814, a first process associated with the first intent and a second process associated with the second intent can be executed);
based on the performing, obtain data configured to render a different web page of the interactive website (Fig. 11; [0272]-[275]: For example, a user might utter “Reply to those emails with my out of office reply, remind me to call mom in twenty minutes, tell Joe sure, snooze those reminders an hour, and accept that meeting request… a virtual assistant can begin to take action immediately upon interpreting user intent for one command… the content displayed can be used to determine that “those emails” correspond to emails 1142 shown on display 1030… the displayed content can similarly be used to disambiguate a user's request); and
provide, by the automated assistant as audio or visual output to the user, output indicating an outcome of performing the selected candidate action, wherein the output indicating the outcome comprises content from the different web page (Figs. 11-12; [0272]: For example, a virtual assistant might begin sending out of office emails to Jane Doe and Jennifer Smith; [0281]-[0282]: For example, messages can be composed and sent, emails can be deleted, notifications can be dismissed, or the like… Referring again to process 800 of FIG. 8, at block 816, an acknowledgment associated with the first intent and the second intent can be provided to the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Challa to incorporate the teachings of Anbil and Gruber to include performing the selected candidate action to operate with the interactive elements of the web page using one or more of the parameters; based on the performing, obtaining data configured to render a different web page of the interactive website; and providing, by the automated assistant as audio or visual output to the user, output indicating an outcome of performing the selected candidate action, wherein the output indicating the outcome comprises content from the different web page.
The motivation for doing so would be to utilize embeddings for representing GUI elements as recognized by Anbil ([0042] of Anbil: the output from block 502 is the neural embedding vector representation for all of these mobile screens), and to determine and execute a user intent, and provide an acknowledgment to the user, as recognized by Gruber ([Abstract] of Gruber: the user intent of each substring can be determined, processes associated with the user intents can be executed, and an acknowledgment can be provided to the user).
Regarding Claim 10, the combined teachings of Challa, Anbil, and Gruber disclose the system of claim 9.
Challa further teaches wherein the one or more neural networks comprise a policy for automatic navigation of webpages (Figs. 2-3; [Col. 21, lines 35-55]: An agent 340 may select among registered content providers to complete the action… In particular embodiments, the dialog engine 235 may execute a dialog policy 320 to determine the next action to carry out. The dialog policies 320 may comprise generic policy 321 and domain specific policies 322, both of which may guide how to select the next system action based on the dialog state).
Regarding Claim 11, the combined teachings of Challa, Anbil, and Gruber disclose the system of claim 9.
Challa further teaches wherein the one or more criteria include rankings of the plurality of candidate actions ([Abstract]: ranking the selected candidate responses based on one or more ranking-criteria; [Col. 22, lines 59-63]: Therefore, the assistant system 140 may use a generate, filter, and rank framework, in which candidate responses are first filtered to eliminate unacceptable responses, and then ranked to select the best response).
Regarding Claim 12, the combined teachings of Challa, Anbil, and Gruber disclose the system of claim 9.
Challa further teaches wherein the output indicative of the plurality of candidate actions comprises data indicative of a sequence in which the plurality of candidate actions should be performed (Fig. 2; [Col. 15, lines 50-53]: The surface realization component may determine specific words to use, the sequence of the sentences, and the style of the communication content; [Col. 1, lines 55-60]: The dialog engine 235 may additionally store previous conversations between the user and the assistant xbot 215; [Note that sequences of interactive web pages may be represented in a database of previous user states as “scripts” of previous user states and corresponding actions]).
Regarding Claim 13, the combined teachings of Challa, Anbil, and Gruber disclose the system of claim 9.
Challa further teaches further comprising instructions to determine whether performance of the selected candidate action was successful ([Col. 24, lines 29-39]: Using different types of classification models including grammaticality models… may automatically determine whether a response satisfies grammaticality, semantic correctness, and naturalness, based on which the assistant system 140 may further determine if it is acceptable… In particular embodiments, the assistant system 140 may include a filtering step that performs acceptability classification in the more widely used generate & rank framework; [Cols. 26-27]: TABLE-US-00001 TABLE 1 Mistakes involving grammatical errors and other cases of unacceptability).
Regarding Claim 14, the combined teachings of Challa, Anbil, and Gruber disclose the system of claim 13.
Challa further teaches wherein the output indicating the outcome of performing the selected candidate action comprises an indication of whether the selected candidate action was successful ([Col. 17, lines 8-40]: In particular embodiments, the dialog state and history may indicate if the user is engaged in an ongoing conversation with the assistant xbot 215; [Col. 39, lines 63-67]: As an example and not by way of limitation, after receiving the user's question 510 “What's the weather like this week in Oak Hill on Wednesday?” the assistant xbot 215 may respond with an answer 512 “Here's your weather forecast).
Regarding Claim 15, the combined teachings of Challa, Anbil, and Gruber disclose the system of claim 13.
Challa further teaches further comprising instructions to:
determine a reward or penalty based on whether performance of the selected candidate action was successful ([Col. 2, line 47-Col. 3, line 40]: candidate responses are first filtered to eliminate unacceptable responses… these classification models may automatically determine whether a response satisfies grammaticality, semantic correctness, and naturalness, based on which the assistant system may further determine if it is acceptable; [Col. 28, lines 17-22]: each original ungrammatical utterance in the dataset is a negative example, and the final corrected utterance… is a positive example. Additionally, sentences without any corrections are positive examples as well; See also [Col. 31, lines 53-63], Table 5]); and
train one or more of the neural networks based on the determined reward or penalty ([Col. 28, lines 23-26]: These positive and negative samples can then be directly used to train the grammaticality filter described in previous sections; [Col. 47, lines 26-30]: a training method may be used (e.g., the conjugate gradient method, the gradient descent method, the stochastic gradient descent) to backpropagate the sum-of-squares error measured as a distances between each vector representing a training object (e.g., using a cost function that minimizes the sum-of-squares error)).
Regarding Claim 17, Challa discloses at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, in response to execution by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to ([Col. 55, lines 59-60]: Herein, a computer-readable non-transitory storage medium or media):
receive a natural language input from a user at an input component ([Col. 39, lines 55-60]: Fig. 6; The method may begin at step 610, where the assistant system 140 may receive, from a client system 130 associated with a user, a user input),
wherein the natural language input is directed by the user to an automated assistant that operates at least in part on the system, and identifies an intent of the user Fig. 1, assistant system 140; [Col. 2, lines 4-6]: The assistant system may enable the user to interact with it with multi-modal user input (such as voice, text, image, video, motion)), and identifies an intent of the user ([Col. 12, lines 1-4]: An intent may be an element in a pre-defined taxonomy of semantic intentions, which may indicate a purpose of a user interacting with the assistant system 140);
retrieve a web page of an interactive website that includes one or more interactive elements, wherein the web page is operable to carry out the identified intent of the user (Fig. 1; [Col. 6, lines 27-28]: The client system 130 may render a web interface (e.g. a webpage); [Col. 11, lines]: An intent may be an element in a pre-defined taxonomy of semantic intentions, which may indicate a purpose of a user interacting with the assistant system 140), the one or more interactive elements are operable to input one or more parameters associated with carrying out the intent of the user, and the one or more interactive elements include one or more of a radio button, a check box, a drop down menu, or a text input field ([Col. 42, lines 19-37]: The third-party web interface or resource may include, among other elements, content, a selectable or other icon, or other inter-actable object (which may be implemented, for example, in JavaScript, AJAX, or PHP codes) representing an action or activity);
generate, as a current state of the user, one or more embeddings ([Col. 44, lines 16- 67]: FIG. 8 illustrates an example view of an embedding space… an object may be represented in the vector space 800 as a vector referred to as a feature vector or an object embedding; [Col. 37, lines 13-15]: A vanilla LSTM-based decoder model, where the decoder hidden state is initialized using embeddings of the goal and arguments);
process the one or more embeddings using one or more neural networks to generate output indicative of a plurality of candidate actions for operating one or more of the interactive elements of the web page (Fig. 8; [Col. 44, lines 41-44]: In particular embodiments, an n-gram may be mapped to a vector representation in the vector space 800 by using a machine leaning model (e.g., a neural network); Fig. 6; [Col. 40, lines 12-14]: At step 620, the assistant system 140 may generate, by a natural-language generation module, a plurality of candidate responses in response to the user input);
select a given candidate action from the plurality of actions based on one or more criteria (Fig. 6; [Col. 40, lines 14-24]: At step 630, the assistant system 140 may determine, by a filtering module, for each candidate response of the plurality of candidate responses, a quality-indication… based on one or more acceptance-criteria. At step 640, the assistant system 140 may select one or more candidate responses from the plurality of candidate responses based on their respective quality-indications).
However, Challa does not explicitly teach “wherein the one or more embeddings represent both: one or more aspects of the natural language input and at least some of the interactive elements of the retrieved web page; perform the selected candidate action to operate with one or more of the interactive elements of the web page using one or more of the parameters; based on the performing, obtain data configured to render a different web page of the interactive website; and provide, by the automated assistant as audio or visual output to the user, output indicating an outcome of performing the selected candidate action, wherein the output indicating the outcome comprises content from the different web page.”
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Anbil teaches
wherein the one or more embeddings represent both: one or more aspects of the natural language input (Fig. 1: [0028]: While shell 139 is a text-based, line-oriented user interface, the present invention will equally well support other user interface modes, such as graphical, voice, gestural, etc.) and
at least some of the interactive elements of the retrieved web page (Figs. 5-6; [0036]-[0045]: building a neural mobile screen knowledge base in which mobile screens of famous apps… are semantically, contextually, and compactly captured through neural embedding vectors… The components are identified as output as mobile screen layout files (e.g., string and/or XML files) to a system that creates a neural embedding representation of the current GUI (see block 502)… the output from block 502 is the neural embedding vector representation for all of these mobile screens… Now each mobile screen is represented as a neural embedding vector [This is nonfunctional descriptive material. None of the steps of the claim are depending on this information.]).
Additionally, Gruber teaches perform the selected candidate action to operate one or more of the interactive elements of the web page using one or more of the parameters ([Abstract]: The text string can be parsed into multiple candidate substrings based on domain keywords; Fig. 8; [0264]: At block 812… a virtual assistant can determine a user's intent from speech input by matching the user's speech to a particular domain with tasks, processes, and the like that the virtual assistant can perform or execute; [0281]: Referring again to process 800 of FIG. 8, at block 814, a first process associated with the first intent and a second process associated with the second intent can be executed);
based on the performing, obtain data configured to render a different web page of the interactive website (Fig. 11; [0272]-[275]: For example, a user might utter “Reply to those emails with my out of office reply, remind me to call mom in twenty minutes, tell Joe sure, snooze those reminders an hour, and accept that meeting request… a virtual assistant can begin to take action immediately upon interpreting user intent for one command… the content displayed can be used to determine that “those emails” correspond to emails 1142 shown on display 1030… the displayed content can similarly be used to disambiguate a user's request); and
provide, by the automated assistant as audio or visual output to the user, output indicating an outcome of performing the selected candidate action, wherein the output indicating the outcome comprises content from the different web page (Figs. 11-12; [0272]: For example, a virtual assistant might begin sending out of office emails to Jane Doe and Jennifer Smith; [0281]-[0282]: For example, messages can be composed and sent, emails can be deleted, notifications can be dismissed, or the like… Referring again to process 800 of FIG. 8, at block 816, an acknowledgment associated with the first intent and the second intent can be provided to the user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Challa to incorporate the teachings of Anbil and Gruber to include performing the selected candidate action to operate with the interactive elements of the web page using one or more of the parameters; based on the performing, obtaining data configured to render a different web page of the interactive website; and providing, by the automated assistant as audio or visual output to the user, output indicating an outcome of performing the selected candidate action, wherein the output indicating the outcome comprises content from the different web page.
The motivation for doing so would be to utilize embeddings for representing GUI elements as recognized by Anbil ([0042] of Anbil: the output from block 502 is the neural embedding vector representation for all of these mobile screens), and to determine and execute a user intent, and provide an acknowledgment to the user, as recognized by Gruber ([Abstract] of Gruber: the user intent of each substring can be determined, processes associated with the user intents can be executed, and an acknowledgment can be provided to the user).
Regarding Claim 18, the combined teachings of Challa, Anbil, and Gruber disclose the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17.
Challa further teaches wherein the one or more neural networks comprise a policy for automatic navigation of webpages (Figs. 2-3; [Col. 21, lines 35-55]: An agent 340 may select among registered content providers to complete the action… In particular embodiments, the dialog engine 235 may execute a dialog policy 320 to determine the next action to carry out. The dialog policies 320 may comprise generic policy 321 and domain specific policies 322, both of which may guide how to select the next system action based on the dialog state).
Regarding Claim 19, the combined teachings of Challa, Anbil, and Gruber disclose the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17.
Challa further teaches wherein the one or more criteria include rankings of the plurality of candidate actions ([Abstract]: ranking the selected candidate responses based on one or more ranking-criteria; [Col. 22, lines 59-63]: Therefore, the assistant system 140 may use a generate, filter, and rank framework, in which candidate responses are first filtered to eliminate unacceptable responses, and then ranked to select the best response).
Regarding Claim 20, the combined teachings of Challa, Anbil, and Gruber disclose the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17.
Challa further teaches wherein the output indicative of the plurality of candidate actions comprises data indicative of a sequence in which the plurality of candidate actions should be performed (Fig. 2; [Col. 15, lines 50-53]: The surface realization component may determine specific words to use, the sequence of the sentences, and the style of the communication content; [Col. 1, lines 55-60]: The dialog engine 235 may additionally store previous conversations between the user and the assistant xbot 215; [Note that sequences of interactive web pages may be represented in a database of previous user states as “scripts” of previous user states and corresponding actions]).
Conclusion
24. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S D H/Examiner, Art Unit 2168
/CHARLES RONES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2168