DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This is in response to applicant’s amendment filed 4/27/26. Claims 1-2, 4-14 and 16-20 are pending in the application.
Continuing Examination
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson, in view of Hayes et al. (Hayes; US 20140259414 A1), further in view of Sugla et al. (Sugla; US 20160228050 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Wilson discloses a patient support apparatus (Abstract) comprising:
a frame (122 of Fig 2A);
a support surface supported on the frame and adapted to support a patient thereon (134 of Fig 2A);
a user interface (including 34, 36, 150, 152 of Figs 1, 2A; 128, 130 or 132 of Fig 2A; 206 of Fig 5A; [0072] The patient stations 34, 36… graphical touchscreen user interface 82… a non-touchscreen display 84) adapted to allow a caregiver to enter new patient information regarding a new patient assigned to the patient support apparatus ([0155] a caregiver or other authorized staff person may manually enter the patient's status at a master station 26, a patient station 34, 36, a non-bed mounted user interface 150, 152 of Fig 2A; [0196] FIG. 7C, at step 314…patient admit information (which includes a patient identifier and an admit indicator) may be…manually input at a user interface);
a display (82, 84 of Fig 1; 154, 156 of Fig 2A; [0072]); and
a controller (192 of Fig 4, [0077]) adapted to receive data indicating that a service event exists for the patient support apparatus ([0198] At step 318, the system 10 determines whether the bed-integrated weigh scale has been zeroed before the patient has been admitted to the room by checking the date and time stamp of the last bed scale zeroing and comparing it to the date and time stamp of the patient admit), the service event indicating that a form of maintenance work should be performed on the patient support apparatus ([0160] room status identifiers include, but are not limited to "room not ready" or "room dirty," "room clean," "room ready," "room occupied," "bed scale zeroed," and "bed scale not zeroed." [0199] If the bed scale has not been zeroed…At step 324, the room status of "not ready" is displayed on the electronic status board 30 and/or one or more of the in-room user interfaces 34, 36, 206), wherein the controller further adapted to provide an indication on the display that the service event exists in response to the caregiver attempting to enter new patient information ([0196] patient admit information… may be manually input at a user interface, step 314 of Fig 7C) regarding the new patient ([0199] If the bed scale has not been zeroed…At step 324, the room status of "not ready" is displayed on the electronic status board 30 and/or one or more of the in-room user interfaces 34, 36, 206; [0200] user control for zeroing the scale may be made available at one of the non-bed mounted user interfaces; Fig 7C).
Regarding the new limitations of a memory for receiving patient information, user interface and display supported by the frame and a transceiver adapted to communicate with a server:
Wilson discloses an interface supported by the frame (130 or 132 of Fig 2A), a transceiver adapted to communicate with a local area network ([0051], [0137]-[0138]), wherein the controller is adapted to receive the data for the patient support apparatus from a server on the local area network via the transceiver ([0051] The room-based components of the system 10 are in bidirectional communication with the server 18 via the communications interface 20, which includes the network interface 22; [0176] server 18 may send a notification to a caregiver); and memory ([0017] bed controller includes memory in which data and computer-executable instructions are stored); but doesn’t specify a display supported by the frame and the server sending the event.
In the same field of endeavor, Hayes discloses a patient support apparatus includes a computer supported thereon that acts as a thin client for at least one network service available on a remote network to which the patient support apparatus has access. The thin client architecture may be applied to generating alerts, performing maintenance functions, analyzing sensor data including weight sensors used to detect weight distributions on the patient support apparatus, implementing patient care protocols, performing patient assessments, accumulating information for billing, and monitoring patient movement.
Hayes discloses a memory (54 of Fig 2) for receiving patient information and display (66 of Fig 2) supported by the frame (Figs 2, 3; [0004] patient support is provided that includes a frame, a support surface, a display, a transceiver, and a computer. The transceiver is adapted to communicate with a remote network. The computer is in communication with the display and the transceiver and is configured to act as a thin client with respect to at least one network service available on the remote network; [0026] The maintenance alert may be displayed on the display mounted on the patient support apparatus; [0045] memory 54 in communication with the controller 52, a user interface 56; [0092] controller 52 forwards the alert via transceiver 60 to the appropriate destination on network 72 for transmitting the alert to the desired caregivers (e.g. to a remote alerting server 90 discussed above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Wilson with a display and memory on the frame in order to provide for dynamically changing functions, algorithms, features of the system more easily, as suggested by Hayes (Abstract).
In the same field of endeavor, Sugla discloses a method for monitoring and preventing a patient from developing pressure ulcers, comprising a sensing unit, which includes a pressure sensor, attachable to a body part of a patient and having a unique identifier, for detecting pressure exerted by a supporting surface and outputting pressure data indicative of pressure as a function of time; and a wireless transceiver for transmitting the pressure data and/or the unique identifier; a controller unit configured for receiving the pressure data and the unique identifier; and a central server device for receiving the unique identifier and the pressure data from the controller unit; determining whether the pressure data exceeds a predetermined value associated with the body part of the patient; and transmitting to the controller unit a determination that the pressure data exceeded the predetermined value, the controller unit outputting a signal indicative of the determination.
Sugla discloses a server sends notification to bed display for alert conditions ([0092] A second function of the CU 102 is to support the generation of local alerts and notifications. The Central Server 104 may send alerts generated for a specific ISU 101 to the CU 102. The Local Controller 713 receives this alert and then issues commands for to the LED 706 to flash and/or to the speaker 707 to buzz. Since the CU 102 knows the bed assignment of the ISU 101, it may display that bed number on the display 704 (of patient’s bed [0089] FIG. 9 diagrammatically illustrates the Controller Unit (CU) 102 and its various components. CU 102, which may be powered through an outlet on the wall or the bed)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wilson with Sugla using a server transmitting notifications in order to provide a centralized controller that can keep track of numerous beds and room conditions to effectively disseminate updated information regarding dangerous situations.
Regarding Claim 2, Wilson discloses the controller is further adapted to prevent the caregiver from entering new patient information until service for the service event has been completed ([0202] At step 354, the system 10 determines (e.g. by detecting signals issued by the bed controller 192 over the bed network 190) whether the zeroing of the bed scale has been successfully completed. If the bed scale zeroing fails, an error message is displayed at the bed-mounted user interface 198 and no date and time stamp for bed scale zeroing is issued).
Regarding Claim 4, Wilson discloses the user interface includes a plurality of controls adapted to control a plurality of functions of the patient support apparatus ([0030] FIG. 2A patient room including patient beds with bed-mounted user controls; [0219] display allows the caregiver to…zero the bed scale; Figs 12-13), and the controller is adapted to display the indication in response to a user activating one or more of the controls ([0094]-[0095] 158, 162 displays of need to clean or zero the bed; [0064] displays that the bed is dirty; [0099] list of functions).
Regarding Claim 8, Wilson discloses a first control for carrying out a first function of the patient support apparatus ([0030] FIG. 2A patient room including patient beds with bed-mounted user controls); and wherein the controller (192) is further adapted to detect when the first control is activated by a user ([0088] include a display 154, 156 as well as one or more user controls 158, 160, 162, 164) and, in response to such activation, if the controller has received the data indicating that the service event exists (need for cleaning or zeroing) for the patient support apparatus, to respond to the activation of the first control in a first manner ([0094]-[0095],158, 162, 168 display indicates need to clean or zero the bed); and if the controller has not received the data indicating that the service event exists for the patient support apparatus, to respond to the activation of the first control in second manner, the second manner being different from the first manner ([0094]-[0095] display indicates no need to clean or zero bed).
8>Regarding Claim 9, Wilson discloses the first manner includes carrying out the first function of the patient support apparatus without a predetermined limit (indicates “not zeroed” on display until zeroed), and the second manner includes at least one of the following: carrying out the first function of the patient support apparatus with the predetermined limit (166 of Fig 2B shows time stamp, as a reminder that the bed will again need to be zeroed after appropriate time frame, [0199] If the bed scale has not been zeroed within the appropriate time frame…then the room status is set to "not ready"), or not carrying out the first function of the patient support apparatus.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson, Hayes and Sugla, further in view of Andrienko (US 2012/0137436).
Regarding Claim 5, Wilson doesn’t specify that the controller is further adapted to limit a function of the patient support apparatus based upon a comparison of a current date to a date on which the patient support apparatus has been scheduled for service.
However, Wilson teaches the system determines whether the bed-integrated weigh scale has been zeroed before the patient has been admitted to the room by checking the date and time stamp of the last bed scale zeroing and comparing it to the date and time stamp of the patient admit. If the bed scale has been zeroed within the appropriate time frame, the room status remains as "ready" (step 328) ([0198], Fig 7C) and if not (and not auto ready) the room is set to not ready ([0199] step 322). So Wilson limits usage of the room (not ready) based on the date comparison, but doesn't specify limiting a function.
In the same field of endeavor, Andrienko teaches a bed has one or more electronically-controllable features. Input-output devices are used by persons to control the electronically-controllable features. A biometric input-output device obtains biometric data from persons who desire to control one or more of the electronically-controllable features. The bed may restrict access or modify the electronically-controllable features based on the biometric data. Andrienko teaches if the routine obtains the patient's weight information (from the HIS 148, for example), based on the biometric data, then the routine may disable the bed's weigh scale ([0097]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wilson in order to eliminate redundancy and save energy.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson, Hayes and Sugla, further in view of Pathare (US 2004/0172182).
Regarding Claim 6, Wilson doesn’t specify the indication includes data regarding a date for which the patient support apparatus has been scheduled for service.
In the field of support apparatuses for occupants, Pathare teaches a user interface with a display configured to include a fixed area and a selectable area. The fixed area displays information, while the selectable area displays one of a plurality of pages that includes parameters for at least one of a plurality of optional subsystems.
Pathare discloses the indication includes data regarding the date for which a support apparatus has been scheduled for service ([0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wilson in order to provide helpful reminders and assurance that maintenance has been scheduled.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson, Hayes and Sugla, further in view of Reeder (US 2014/0320290).
Regarding Claim 7, Wilson discloses the controller is further adapted to receive a level associated with the scheduled service and change the indication based upon the conditions ([0064] dirty would have a different indication than clean), but doesn’t specify priority level.
In the same field of endeavor, Reeder teaches a hospital monitoring system for monitoring hospital personnel, a plurality of patient locations for patients, and associated devices is configured to control associated devices based on the presence of hospital personnel or alarms.
Reeder receives a priority level associated with the scheduled service and changes the indication based upon the priority level ([0063]-[0068]; Fig 9 no lockout, partial lockout or full lock out).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wilson in order to prepare the working environment when an alarm is received, subject to environmental and patient control overrides depending on the nature and time of the alarm, as suggested by Reeder ([0005]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson, Hayes and Sugla, further in view of Andrienko.
8>Regarding Claim 10, Wilson discloses the first manner includes carrying out the first function of the patient support apparatus ([0094]-[0095],158, 162, 168 display indicates need to clean or zero the bed)and the second manner includes carrying out the first function of the patient support apparatus (Fig 2A indicating clean, Fig 2B scale zeroed), but doesn’t specify changing how the controller reacts to a subsequent activation of a second control for carrying out a second function of the patient support apparatus.
Andrienko teaches changing how the controller reacts to a subsequent activation of a second control for carrying out a second function of the patient support apparatus ([0097] for instance, the weighing mechanism works normally, but is disabled once biometrics of patient are taken).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wilson in order to eliminate redundancy and save energy.
Claims 11-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson, Reeder, HERBST et al. (Herbst; US 20140184408 A1) and Sugla.
Regarding Claim 11, Wilson discloses a patient support apparatus comprising:
a frame (122 of fig 2A);
a support surface supported on the frame and adapted to support a patient thereon (134 of Fig 2A);
a transceiver adapted to communicate with a local area network (([0051] room-based components of the system 10 are in bidirectional communication with the server 18 via the communications interface 20, which includes the network interface 22, [0132], [0137]-[0138]) [0137], Figs 4, 5);
a display (82, 84 of Fig 1; 154, 156 of Fig 2A; [0072] patient stations 34, 36… graphical touchscreen user interface 82… a non-touchscreen display 84); and
a controller (192 of Fig 4, [0077]) adapted to receive data via the transceiver indicating that a service event exists for the patient support apparatus ([0198] At step 318, the system 10 determines whether the bed-integrated weigh scale has been zeroed before the patient has been admitted to the room by checking the date and time stamp of the last bed scale zeroing and comparing it to the date and time stamp of the patient admit, Figs 4,5), data being received from a server on the local area network ([0051] room-based components of the system 10 are in bidirectional communication with the server), the data including a dirty would have a different indication than clean), the service event indicating that a form of maintenance work should be performed on the patient support apparatus ([0160] room status identifiers include, but are not limited to "room not ready" or "room dirty," "room clean," "room ready," "room occupied," "bed scale zeroed," and "bed scale not zeroed." [0199] If the bed scale has not been zeroed…At step 324, the room status of "not ready" is displayed on the electronic status board 30 and/or one or more of the in-room user interfaces 34, 36, 206), wherein display indicates need or no need to clean or zero the bed), but doesn’t respond with a priority level.
Reeder receives a priority level associated with the scheduled service and change the indication based upon the priority level ([0063]-[0068]; Fig 9 no lockout, partial lockout or full lock out). Reeder also teaches alarms indicating a form of maintenance work should be performed on the patient support apparatus ([0037] Alarms 92 include bed malfunction alarms).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wilson with Reeder in order to prepare the working environment when an alarm is received, subject to environmental and patient control overrides depending on the nature of the alarm and time of the alarm, as suggested by Reeder ([0005]).
Regarding the new limitations:
Wilson discloses the controller is further adapted to prevent the caregiver from entering new patient information until service for the service event has been completed ([0202] At step 354, the system 10 determines (e.g. by detecting signals issued by the bed controller 192 over the bed network 190) whether the zeroing of the bed scale has been successfully completed. If the bed scale zeroing fails, an error message is displayed at the bed-mounted user interface 198 and no date and time stamp for bed scale zeroing is issued), but doesn’t specify the caregiver acknowledging the service event sent by a server.
In the same field of endeavor, Herbst discloses methods for managing patient alerts using a mobile device. A mobile device associated with a patient caregiver receives a critical alert related to the patient, and the alert is presented on the mobile device. The alert includes important contextual information that enables the caregiver to make a quick assessment of how to effectively address the alert. The alert includes options for accepting the alert or rejecting the alert. Acceptance of the alert enables the caregiver to communicate the alert to selected caregivers that can assist in managing the alert. Rejecting the alert causes the alert to be automatically communicated to additional caregivers associated with patient.
Herbst discloses a controller is adapted to disallow a caregiver from entering new patient information via the user interface until the caregiver acknowledges the service event ([0004] alert must be acknowledged in some manner before the caregiver can resume use of the mobile device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Wilson with Herbst in order to provide efficient communication, productive workflows, and reduce time lags between when alerting information is received and when it is acted on by the caregiver, as suggested by Herbst ([0001]-[0004]).
Sugla discloses a server sends notification to bed display for alert conditions ([0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wilson with Sugla using a server transmitting notifications in order to provide a centralized controller that can keep track of numerous beds and room conditions to effectively disseminate updated information regarding dangerous situations.
Regarding Claim 12, Wilson doesn’t specify if the priority level exceeds a predetermined level, the controller is further adapted to change the patient support apparatus to an unusable configuration.
However, if the bed is not ready it would likely be limited to who can use it.
Reeder teaches an unusable configuration ([0047], [0063]-[0068], Fig 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wilson in order to prepare the working environment when an alarm is received, subject to environmental and patient control overrides depending on the nature of the alarm and time of the alarm, Reeder ([0005]).
12>Regarding Claim 13, Reeder discloses the unusable configuration includes moving a section of a support deck of the patient support apparatus to an orientation adapted to deter a patient from resting on the support deck, and locking of the section of the support deck in the orientation until servicing of the patient support apparatus commences ([0072] lockout corresponds to the bed 90 siderail).
Regarding Claim 14, Wilson discloses a If the bed scale has not been zeroed…At step 324, the room status of "not ready" is displayed on the electronic status board 30 and/or one or more of the in-room user interfaces 34, 36, 206).
14>Regarding Claim 16, Wilson discloses the user interface includes a plurality of controls adapted to control a plurality of functions of the patient support apparatus ([0030] FIG. 2A patient room including patient beds with bed-mounted user controls; [0219] display allows the caregiver to…zero the bed scale; Figs 12-13), and the controller is adapted to display the indication in response to a user activating one or more of the controls ([0094]-[0095] 158, 162 displays of need to clean or zero the bed; [0064] displays that the bed is dirty; [0099] list of functions).
14>Regarding Claim 19, Wilson discloses a first control for carrying out a first function of the patient support apparatus ([0030] FIG. 2A patient room including patient beds with bed-mounted user controls); and wherein the controller (192) is further adapted to detect when the first control is activated by a user ([0088] include a display 154, 156 as well as one or more user controls 158, 160, 162, 164) and, in response to such activation, if the controller has received the data indicating that the service event exists (need for cleaning or zeroing) for the patient support apparatus, to respond to the activation of the first control in a first manner ([0094]-[0095],158, 162, 168 display indicates need to clean or zero the bed); and if the controller has not received the data indicating that the service event exists for the patient support apparatus, to respond to the activation of the first control in second manner, the second manner being different from the first manner ([0094]-[0095] display indicates no need to clean or zero bed).
19>Regarding Claim 20, Wilson discloses the first manner includes carrying out the first function of the patient support apparatus without a predetermined limit (indicates “not zeroed” on display until zeroed), and the second manner includes at least one of the following: carrying out the first function of the patient support apparatus with the predetermined limit (166 of Fig 2B shows time stamp, as a reminder that the bed will again need to be zeroed after appropriate time frame, [0199] If the bed scale has not been zeroed within the appropriate time frame…then the room status is set to "not ready"), or not carrying out the first function of the patient support apparatus.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson, Reeder, Herbst and Sugla, further in view of Andrienko.
Regarding Claim 17, Wilson doesn’t specify that the controller is further adapted to limit a function of the patient support apparatus based upon a comparison of a current date to a date on which the patient support apparatus has been scheduled for service.
However, Wilson teaches the system determines whether the bed-integrated weigh scale has been zeroed before the patient has been admitted to the room by checking the date and time stamp of the last bed scale zeroing and comparing it to the date and time stamp of the patient admit. If the bed scale has been zeroed within the appropriate time frame, the room status remains as "ready" (step 328) ([0198], Fig 7C) and if not (and not auto ready) the room is set to not ready ([0199] step 322). So Wilson limits usage of the room (not ready) based on the date comparison, but doesn't specify limiting a function.
Andrienko teaches if the routine obtains the patient's weight information (from the HIS 148, for example), based on the biometric data, then the routine may disable the bed's weigh scale ([0097]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wilson in order to eliminate redundancy and save energy.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson, Reeder, Herbst and Sugla, further in view of Pathare.
Regarding Claim 18, Wilson doesn’t specify the indication includes data regarding a date for which the patient support apparatus has been scheduled for service.
Pathare discloses the indication includes data regarding the date for which a support apparatus has been scheduled for service ([0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wilson in order to provide helpful reminders and assurance that maintenance has been scheduled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to Claims 1-2, 4-14 and 16-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/MARK S RUSHING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689