DETAILED ACTION
Oath/Declaration
1. Oath and declaration filed on 6/10/2024 is accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The prior art documents submitted by application in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 12/30/2024 and 1/29/2025 have all been considered and made of record (note the attached copy of form PTO – 1449).
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Perreault (2019/0243134 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Perreault discloses (figures 1, 2 and figure 8) a display (100) , comprising a self-luminous array (112, paragraph 0020) , a pixel expansion apparatus, and a lens of an optical engine, wherein: the self-luminous array comprises a plurality of self-luminous pixels (202,204,206,208,210), wherein a color of a light beam emitted by a first self-luminous pixel in the plurality of self-luminous pixels is different from a color of a light beam emitted by a second self-luminous pixel (paragraph 0033), and the first self-luminous pixel is adjacent to the second self-luminous pixel (paragraph 0020); the pixel expansion apparatus comprises a driver and a transparent flat plate (800) (figure 8), wherein the driver is configured to drive rotation of the transparent flat plate (paragraph 0057); a light beam emitted by the self-luminous array is imaged on an imaging plane of the lens (218) of the optical engine through the transparent flat plate; and the transparent flat plate is configured to be driven by the driver to perform a rotation operation (paragraph 0058),
Regarding claim 11, Perreault discloses (figures 1, 2 and figure 8) an imaging method (100), wherein the method is applied to a displayluminous pixel, and wherein the first self-luminous pixel is adjacent to the second self-luminous pixel; and wherein the transparent flat plate is driven by the driver to rotate in a time-division manner (paragraph 0049) , wherein a first area on the imaging plane of the lens of the optical engine displays different colors in the time-division manner, and wherein the first area is any unit imaging area in an imaging area of the imaging plane (paragraph 0052).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,3,5,6,12,13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perreault (2019/0243134 A1) in view of Hiroyuki Sugimoto (JP 2002 287082 A).
Regarding claim 2, depends on claim 1, Perreault discloses all of the claimed limitations except N self-luminous pixels in the self-luminous array form one pixel unit, the N self-luminous pixels comprise at least two self-luminous pixels that emit light beams of different colors, and N is a positive integer greater than wherein the driver is configured to control, in the time-division manner, rotation of the transparent flat plate in a rotation periodicity of the transparent flat plate, wherein the transparent flat plate switches between N1 states, wherein the first area on the imaging plane displays colors of N self-luminous pixels of a first pixel unit in the time- division manner, and wherein N1 is a positive integer less than or equal to N; and wherein the first pixel unit is one pixel unit comprised in the self-luminous array.
Hiroyuki discloses N self-luminous pixels comprise at least two self-luminous pixels that emit light beams of different colors, and N is a positive integer greater than wherein the driver is configured to control, in the time-division manner, rotation of the transparent flat plate in a rotation periodicity of the transparent flat plate, wherein the transparent flat plate switches between N1 states, wherein the first area on the imaging plane displays colors of N self-luminous pixels of a first pixel unit in the time- division manner, and wherein N1 is a positive integer less than or equal to N; and wherein the first pixel unit is one pixel unit comprised in the self-luminous array (paragraph 0024).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide teaching N self-luminous pixels comprise at least two self-luminous pixels that emit light beams of different colors, and N is a positive integer greater than wherein the driver is configured to control, in the time-division manner, rotation of the transparent flat plate in a rotation periodicity of the transparent flat plate and switches between N1 states, wherein the first area on the imaging plane displays colors of N self-luminous pixels of a first pixel unit in the time- division manner, and wherein N1 is a positive integer less than or equal to N; and wherein the first pixel unit is one pixel unit comprised in the self-luminous array in to the Perreault display device for the purpose of reduce mechanical vibration and noise of an display device as taught by Hiroyuki Sugimoto (abstract).
Regarding claim 3, depends on claim 2, Perreault discloses all of the claim limitations except a rotation periodically comprising first and second time unit .
However, Hiroyuki Sugimoto discloses a rotation periodically comprising first and second time unit (figure 9) and two states of the possible are shown and a relation ship between the size of the self-luminous pixels and spacing (paragraph 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide teaching a rotation periodically comprising first and second time unit and spacing is related to sizes of the N self luminous pixels in to the Perrault display device for the purpose of reduce mechanical vibration and noise of an display device as taught by Hiroyuki Sugimoto (abstract).
Regarding claim 5,wherein the sizes of the N self-luminous pixels comprised in the first pixel unit are the same, and N1 is equal to N.
Regarding claim 6, wherein the sizes of the N self-luminous pixels comprised in the first pixel unit are the same, and a spacing between any two adjacent self-luminous pixels in the N self-luminous pixels is a second spacing; and wherein the first spacing is the same as the second spacing.
Regarding claim 12, depends on claim 11, Perreault discloses all of the claimed limitations except N self-luminous pixels in the self-luminous array form one pixel unit, the N self-luminous pixels comprise at least two self-luminous pixels that emit light beams of different colors, and N is a positive integer greater than wherein the driver is configured to control, in the time-division manner, rotation of the transparent flat plate in a rotation periodicity of the transparent flat plate, wherein the transparent flat plate switches between N1 states, wherein the first area on the imaging plane displays colors of N self-luminous pixels of a first pixel unit in the time- division manner, and wherein N1 is a positive integer less than or equal to N; and wherein the first pixel unit is one pixel unit comprised in the self-luminous array.
Hiroyuki discloses N self-luminous pixels comprise at least two self-luminous pixels that emit light beams of different colors, and N is a positive integer greater than wherein the driver is configured to control, in the time-division manner, rotation of the transparent flat plate in a rotation periodicity of the transparent flat plate, wherein the transparent flat plate switches between N1 states, wherein the first area on the imaging plane displays colors of N self-luminous pixels of a first pixel unit in the time- division manner, and wherein N1 is a positive integer less than or equal to N; and wherein the first pixel unit is one pixel unit comprised in the self-luminous array (paragraph 0024).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide teaching N self-luminous pixels comprise at least two self-luminous pixels that emit light beams of different colors, and N is a positive integer greater than wherein the driver is configured to control, in the time-division manner, rotation of the transparent flat plate in a rotation periodicity of the transparent flat plate and switches between N1 states, wherein the first area on the imaging plane displays colors of N self-luminous pixels of a first pixel unit in the time- division manner, and wherein N1 is a positive integer less than or equal to N; and wherein the first pixel unit is one pixel unit comprised in the self-luminous array in to the Perreault display device for the purpose of reduce mechanical vibration and noise of an display device as taught by Hiroyuki Sugimoto (abstract).
Regarding claim 13, depends on claim 12, Perreault discloses all of the claim limitations except a rotation periodically comprising first and second time unit.
However, Hiroyuki Sugimoto discloses a rotation periodically comprising first and second time unit (figure 9) and two states of the possible are shown and a relationship between the size of the self-luminous pixels and spacing (paragraph 0033).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide teaching a rotation periodically comprising first and second time unit and spacing is related to sizes of the N self luminous pixels in to the Perrault display device for the purpose of reduce mechanical vibration and noise of an display device as taught by Hiroyuki Sugimoto (abstract).
Regarding claim 20, combination of Perreault in view of Hiroyuki Sugimoto discloses wherein the sizes of the N self-luminous pixels comprised in the first pixel unit are the same, and N1 is equal to N.
Claim(s) 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perreault (2019/0243134 A1) in view of Hiroyuki Sugimoto (JP 2002 287082 A) further in view of Fergason (2005/0093796 A1).
Regarding claim 4, depends on claim 3, wherein a value of N1 is related to the sizes of the N self-luminous pixels comprised in the first pixel unit.
Perreault in view of Hiroyuki Sugimoto discloses all of the claimed limitations except wherein a value and sizes of the luminous pixels comprised in the first pixel unit.
Fergason discloses wherein a value of related to the sizes of the luminous pixels comprised in the first pixel unit (paragraph 0228, pixels sizes and relationship).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide increase the resolution display device as taught by Fergason (paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 14, depends on claim 13, wherein a value of N1 is related to the sizes of the N self-luminous pixels comprised in the first pixel unit.
Perreault in view of Hiroyuki Sugimoto discloses all of the claimed limitations except wherein a value and sizes of the luminous pixels comprised in the first pixel unit.
Fergason discloses wherein a value of related to the sizes of the luminous pixels comprised in the first pixel unit (paragraph 0228, pixels sizes and relationship).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide increase the resolution display device as taught by Fergason (paragraph 0033).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claim 7-10,15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
6. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: ,wherein the first pixel unit comprises the first self-luminous pixel and the second self-luminous pixel, and further comprises a third self-luminous pixel, wherein a size of the second self-luminous pixel is twice a total size of the first self-luminous pixel and the third self-luminous pixel, wherein N is 3, and wherein N1 is 2 and a spacing between a total area occupied by the first self-luminous pixel and the third self-luminous pixel and area occupied by the second self-luminous pixel is a third spacing; and wherein the first spacing is the same as the third spacing and wherein the first self-luminous pixel and the second self-luminous pixel are sequentially set in a specified direction; and wherein a shift direction of the second light beam relative to the first light beam is the specified direction and wherein a rotation angle of the transparent flat plate in the second state relative to the transparent flat plate in the first state is a specified angle, and the specified angle and the first spacing meet the following condition:
Ay= d sin o1-,wherein Ay represents the first spacing, 0 represents the specified angle, d represents a thickness of the transparent flat plate, and n represents a refractive index of the transparent flat plate and wherein the sizes of the N self-luminous pixels comprised in the first pixel unit are the same, and a spacing between any two adjacent self-luminous pixels in the N self-luminous pixels is a second spacing; and wherein the first spacing is the same as the second spacing and wherein the first pixel unit comprises the first self-luminous pixel and the second self-luminous pixel, and further comprises a third self-luminous pixel, wherein a size of the second self-luminous pixel is twice a total size of the first self-luminous pixel and the third self-luminous pixel, wherein N is 3, and wherein N1is2 and wherein a spacing between a total area occupied by the first self-luminous pixel and the third self-luminous pixel and an area occupied by the second self-luminous pixel is a third spacing; and wherein the first spacing is the same as the third spacing and wherein the first self-luminous pixel and the second self-luminous pixel are sequentially set in a specified direction; and wherein a shift direction of the second light beam relative to the first light beam is the specified direction and wherein a rotation angle of the transparent flat plate in the second state relative to the transparent flat plate in the first state is a specified angle, and the specified angle and the first spacing meet the following condition: wherein Ay represents the first spacing, 0 represents the specified angle, d
represents a thickness of the transparent flat plate, and n represents a refractive index of the transparent flat plate.
Δy represents the first spacing, Ɵ represents the specified angle, d represents a thickness of the transparent flat plate, and n represents a refractive index of the transparent flat plate.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED A HASAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 1/28/2026