DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
In response to applicant’s amendment, dated 11/13/2025, the examiner acknowledges the cancellation of claim 6 and the addition of claim 8. Claims 1-5, 7 and 8 are pending.
Regarding the objections to the Drawings, Specification and Claims, as set forth in the Office Action mailed 09/19/2025, the examiner acknowledges the corrections and withdraws the objections.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 1-7, the examiner has considered applicant’s arguments in light of the amended claims and withdraws the rejection.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim(s) 1-2 and 5-7 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 107477320) in view of Oh (KR 10222388), the examiner has considered applicant’s arguments in light of the amended claims and withdraws the rejection. Likewise, the rejection based on Zhang of claims 3-4 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Mackin (US 2020/0386378) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mackin (US 2020/0386378) in view of Ancel (US 2003/0151912).
Regarding claim 1, Mackin discloses “a base assembly, comprising: a wall bracket (Fig. 4, ref.# 118), used to attach the modular mount to a wall, and a primary tube (Fig. 4, ref.# 104), attached to the wall bracket; and a head assembly, comprising: a secondary tube (Fig. 4, ref.# 106), with two ends, wherein the first end fastens to the primary tube (Fig. 4, connection at ref. # 112); and a head (Fig. 4, ref.# 116), which in its standard position is flush with the second end of the secondary tube, wherein the head and the secondary tube each attach to a hinge (Fig. 4, ref.# 122, 234, 132), wherein, when greater than a specified force is applied to the head, the head rotates around the hinge away from its standard position (paragraph 0023: frictionally held in place, which would allow for rotation after a specified force is applied).”
In the event that the pivoting structure of ref. # 122, 124 and 132 is considered to not be a “hinge”, Mackin would not teach “wherein the head and the secondary tube each attach to a hinge, wherein, when greater than a specified force is applied to the head, the head rotates around the hinge away from its standard position”. However, a loading dock light system that specifically teaches a “hinge” to rotate a head around the hinge away from a standard position was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention as taught by Ancel (See Fig. 2, ref.# 18; paragraph 0055). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify Mackin wherein the head and the secondary tube each attach to a hinge, wherein, when greater than a specified force is applied to the head, the head rotates around the hinge away from its standard position” in order for the head to be rotate through a larger angle and thus fully out of the way of any vehicle that hits the head (See Fig. 12 of Ancel).
Regarding claim 7, Mackin discloses “wherein the secondary tube comprises a conduit”. (paragraph 0020: hollow tubing)
Regarding claim 8, Mackin discloses “wherein a mounted device is selected from the group consisting of a still camera, a digital camera, a light, a microphone and a speaker.” (abstract: light)
Claim(s) 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mackin (US 2020/0386378) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mackin (US 2020/0386378) in view of Ancel (US 2003/0151912) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oh (KR 102223881).
Regarding claims 2 and 5, Mackin, or modified Mackin, discloses all the structure set forth in the claims except (Claim 2) “wherein the head comprises: a pan attached to the secondary tube, enabling a device to mount to the underside of the pan; and a lid that covers the pan” and (Claim 5) “wherein when the head is in the shape of a hexahedron.”
However, a head that includes pan enabling a device to mount to the underside of the pan; and a lid that covers the pan and “wherein when the head is in the shape of a hexahedron” was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention as taught by Oh (KR 102223881) (See Fig. 1: ref.# 110 (pan), ref.# 140 (lid), ref.# 50 (device), w/ cube shaped head (ref.# 110, 140)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mackin to include the head of Oh (including “a pan attached to the secondary tube, enabling a device to mount to the underside of the pan; and a lid that covers the pan” and “wherein when the head is in the shape of a hexahedron” in order to provide a system that is adjustable and resistant to weather.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mackin (US 2020/0386378) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mackin (US 2020/0386378) in view of Ancel (US 2003/0151912) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wiegel, et al. (US 11,215,346).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Mackin, or modified Mackin, discloses all the structure set forth in the claims except (Claim 3) “wherein the primary tube is L- shaped and comprises: a 1st part that attaches to the wall bracket and, when the modular mount is mounted on the wall, extends perpendicular to the wall, and a 2nd part connected to the 1st part, which forms a 90 degree angle with the first part” and (Claim 4) “wherein the secondary tube fits inside of or outside of the 2nd part of the primary tube and the secondary tube and the primary tube are fastened by aligning pre-drilled holes in each of the two tubes and inserting fasteners through the pre-drilled holes”. However, a loading dock support structure that that includes “a 1st part that attaches to the wall bracket and, when the modular mount is mounted on the wall, extends perpendicular to the wall, and a 2nd part connected to the 1st part, which forms a 90 degree angle with the first part”, and “wherein the secondary tube fits inside of or outside of the 2nd part of the primary tube and the secondary tube and the primary tube are fastened by aligning pre-drilled holes in each of the two tubes and inserting fasteners through the pre-drilled holes” was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention as taught by Wiegel (See Figs. 4, 7, 11). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Mackin “wherein the primary tube is L- shaped and comprises: a 1st part that attaches to the wall bracket and, when the modular mount is mounted on the wall, extends perpendicular to the wall, and a 2nd part connected to the 1st part, which forms a 90 degree angle with the first part” and “wherein the secondary tube fits inside of or outside of the 2nd part of the primary tube and the secondary tube and the primary tube are fastened by aligning pre-drilled holes in each of the two tubes and inserting fasteners through the pre-drilled holes” in order to allow the light to be positioned at a desired position offset from the wall and base of the mount.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Li, et al. (CN 109555940) and Japanese reference (JP S634738) teach a wall mount with a hinge.
Whitley, et al. (US 2011/0203059) teaches a loading dock support structure for a light and speaker.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RODNEY E FULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
February 27, 2026