Detailed Action
Specification Objection
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
Applicant’s abstract recites “According to an embodiment of the disclosure, an electronic device may include….In an embodiment….”.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "This disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "This disclosure describes," etc.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims complies with the statutory requirements.
Claims 7 & 18 recite the limitation “the contact pole or the electrically conductive plate electrically connects the radiation conductor to the printed circuit board” where the option to have the electrically conductive plate connected directly to the radiation conductor is a broadening embodiment which excludes the previously claimed contact pole cited in the respective base Claims 6 & 17. Examiner suggests either moving the option of the limitation for an electrically conductive plate in direct electrical contact with the radiation conductor or to replace the “or” with an “and” to reflect the complete electrical conductivity of the radiation plate to the contact pole to the conductive plate.
All dependent claims are rejected for their dependence on a rejected base claim.
Indication of Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 & 18 are rejected and would be allowable if:
1) Rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) set forth in this Office action.
2) Rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8 & 19 are objected to and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claims 7 & 18. The closest prior art is Kim (KR 20220017192) which discloses the claimed invention of the respective base Claims 1, 6, 15 & 17. Kim nor the prior art disclose the arrangements of respective base claims with a contact pole penetrates the printed circuit board and protrudes toward the second surface beyond the circuit board and the contact pole and the electrically conductive plate [e.g. as arranged in the base claims] electrically connects the radiation conductor to the printed circuit board.
Regarding Claims 8 & 19 The closest prior art is Kim (KR 20220017192) which discloses the claimed invention of the respective base Claims 1, 6, 15 & 17. Kim nor the prior art disclose the arrangements of respective base claims with a contact pole penetrates the printed circuit board and protrudes toward the second surface beyond the circuit board and the electrically conductive plate [e.g. as arranged in the base claims] further comprises a semi-sphere-shaped contact protrusion protruding from an end of the contact pole or a contact end configured to retractably protrude from the end of the contact pole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9, 11-16 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20220017192: “Kim” translation provided for citations).
Claim 1. Kim discloses an electronic device (Figs. 1 & 2: 100) comprising: a housing (Fig. 3: 110) comprising a first surface (110-1) and a second surface (110-2 back face) facing opposite to the first surface (110-1); a printed circuit board (150) disposed in a space between the first surface (110-1 top glass) and the second surface (110-2); a sensor assembly (160) comprising at least one sensor (160) disposed between the first surface (110-1) and the printed circuit board (150) and comprising first contact members (151) comprising a conductive material [0111: the pressure sensor module (160) can be electrically connected to the circuit board (150) by the conductive area (166) being in contact with the contact structure (151)] disposed on a surface (160 surface) facing the printed circuit board (150) [0111]; an elastic member (162) comprising an elastic material (162)[0070: flexible material] disposed between the printed circuit board (150) and the sensor assembly (160)[0070-0071]; and an electrically conductive plate (166) disposed between the printed circuit board (150) and the elastic member (Fig. 6: 162)[0071], wherein at least one of the first contact members (151) is electrically connected to the printed circuit board (150) [0111: a conductive area (166) facing the same direction as the second area (164) and in contact with a contact structure (151) of the circuit board (150), and the pressure sensor module (160) can be electrically connected to the circuit board (150) by the conductive area (166) being in contact with the contact structure (151) ]. Kim does not explicitly disclose:
The contact member are plural contact members
Having a plurality of contact members in contact with a singular conductive material over a single contact member is a duplication of parts. The courts have held mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. vs. Bemis Co. 293 USPQ 8 and In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), and where duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kim’s contact member for electrical conductivity as a plurality of Kim’s contact members between a sensor and a circuit board because a plurality of electrical
members around an elastic buffer layer ensures reliable electrical contact in a dynamic environment.
Claim 2. Dependent on the electronic device (100) of claim 1. Kim further discloses the printed circuit board (150) comprising a conductive material (151) [0111] configured to be in contact one of the first contact members (151), and wherein the sensor assembly (160) is electrically connected to the printed circuit board (150) via the first contact members (151)[0071] & [0111]. Kim, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the printed circuit board comprises second contact members comprising a conductive material configured to be in contact one of the first contact members, and wherein the sensor assembly is electrically connected to the printed circuit board via the first contact members and the second contact members.
Having a plurality of contact members in contact with a singular conductive material over a single contact member is a duplication of parts. The courts have held mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. vs. Bemis Co. 293 USPQ 8 and In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), and where duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kim’s contact member for electrical conductivity as a plurality of Kim’s contact members to contact the same conductive material between a sensor and a circuit board because a plurality of electrical members around an elastic buffer layer ensures reliable electrical contact in a dynamic environment.
Claim 3. Dependent on the electronic device (100) of claim 1. Kim, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
at least one of the elastic member or the electrically conductive plate is at least partially disposed in an area between the first contact members.
Having a plurality of contact members in contact with a singular conductive material over a single contact member is a duplication of parts. The courts have held mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. vs. Bemis Co. 293 USPQ 8 and In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), and where duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kim’s contact member for electrical conductivity as a plurality of Kim’s contact members to contact the same conductive material between a sensor and a circuit board because a plurality of electrical members around an elastic buffer layer ensures reliable electrical contact in a dynamic environment.
Claim 4. Dependent on the electronic device (100) of claim 1. Kim further discloses a support (130) disposed between the first surface (110-1) and the printed circuit board (150), wherein the support (130) is configured to fix the sensor assembly (160) on the printed circuit board (150) [0048: the bracket (130) may be placed between the circuit board (150) and the display (120)].
Claim 5. Dependent on the electronic device (100) of claim 1. Kim further discloses the sensor assembly (160) further comprises a substrate (162 front & 163 back) and a sensor element (161) disposed on one surface of the substrate (163), and wherein the first contact member (151) are disposed on another surface of the substrate (162)[0112]. The plurality of the contact members is taught with motivation to combine in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 9. Dependent on the electronic device (100) of claim 1. Kim further discloses each of the first contact members (151) comprises an electrically conductive pad (166)[0111].
Claim 11. Dependent on the electronic device (100) of claim 1. Kim further discloses at least one processor [0063], comprising processing circuitry, individually and/or collectively, configured to identify atmospheric pressure [0063: the pressure sensor module (160) can measure the pressure of air outside the housing] or water pressure inside the housing (110) using the sensor assembly (160) [0063].
Claim 12. Dependent on the electronic device (100) of claim 11. Kim further discloses a side surface bezel (112) at least partially surrounding the space between the first surface (110-1) and the second surface (110-2) [0119]; a support (130) disposed between the first surface (110-1) and the printed circuit board (150)[0048: the pressure sensor module (160) can measure the pressure of air outside the housing] and configured to fix the sensor assembly (160) on the printed circuit board (150)[0133]; an accommodation hole (137) provided in the support (130) and configured to accommodate a portion of the sensor assembly (160)[0102][0133]; and a ventilation hole (114) penetrating the side surface bezel (112) and connected to the accommodation hole (138)[0119].
Claim 13. Dependent on the electronic device (100) of claim 12. Kim further discloses the sensor assembly (160) further comprises a substrate (162), a sensor element (161) disposed on one surface of the substrate (162), and a seal (165) provided around the sensor element (161)[0109], and wherein the seal (165) is in contact with the inner wall of the accommodation hole (138)[0109-0110].
Claim 14. Dependent on the electronic device (100) of claim 13. Kim further discloses wherein the seal (165) is in contact with an inner wall of the accommodation hole (139) along a closed loop trajectory [0110: he sealing structure (165) are accommodated inside the second opening area (138), and the sealing structure (165) may be configured to seal the space between the inner wall of the second opening area (138) and the pressure sensor (161) by adhering to the inner wall of the second opening area (138)].
Claim 15. Kim discloses a wearable electronic device (Figs. 1 & 2: 100) comprising: a housing (Fig. 3: 110) comprising a front surface plate (110-1), a rear surface plate (110-2) facing opposite to the front surface plate (110-1)(Figs.1& 2: 110-1 & 110-2 are opposite facing), and a side surface bezel (112) at least partially surrounding a space between the front surface plate (110-1) and the rear surface plate (110-2)[0035]; at least one wearing member (Figs. 1 & 2: 190) comprising a strap or band (190) detachably provided on the housing (Fig. 3: 110)[0026]; a printed circuit board (Fig. 3: 150) disposed in the space between the front surface plate (110-1) and the rear surface plate (110-2)[0048-0049]; a sensor assembly (160) comprising at least one sensor (161)[0070] disposed between the front surface plate (110-1) and the printed circuit board (150)[0111] and comprising first contact member (150) comprising a conductive material [0111] disposed on a surface facing the printed circuit board (150); at least one processor [0050: processor on 150] comprising processing circuitry [0050] , individually and/or collectively, configured to determine information about an operating environment within the housing (Fig. 3: 110) using the sensor assembly (160)[0063]; an elastic member (162) comprising an elastic material [0070: flexible material] disposed between the printed circuit board (150) and the sensor assembly (160)[0070]; and an electrically conductive plate (166) disposed between the printed circuit board (150) and the elastic member (162)[0071], wherein at least one of the first contact members is electrically connected to the printed circuit board (150) [0111: a conductive area (166) facing the same direction as the second area (164) and in contact with a contact structure (151) of the circuit board (150), and the pressure sensor module (160) can be electrically connected to the circuit board (150) by the conductive area (166) being in contact with the contact structure (151) ]. Kim does not explicitly disclose:
The contact member are plural contact members
Having a plurality of contact members over one contact member is a duplication of parts. The courts have held mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. vs. Bemis Co. 293 USPQ 8 and In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960), and where duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Kim’s contact member for electrical conductivity as a plurality of Kim’s contact members between a sensor and a circuit board because a plurality of electrical members around an elastic buffer layer ensures reliable electrical contact in a dynamic environment.
Claim 16. Dependent on the wearable electronic device (100) of claim 15. Kim further discloses the sensor assembly (160) further comprises a substrate (162 front & 163 back) and a sensor element (161) disposed on one surface of the substrate (163), and wherein the first contact member (151) are disposed on another surface of the substrate (162)[0112]. The plurality of the contact members is taught with motivation to combine in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 20. Dependent on the wearable electronic device (100) of claim 15. Kim further discloses a support (130) disposed between the front surface plate (110-1) and the printed circuit board (150)[0048] and configured to fix the sensor assembly (160) on the printed circuit board (150)[0048]; an accommodation hole (138) provided in the support (130) and configured to accommodate a portion of the sensor assembly (160); and a ventilation hole (114) penetrating the side surface bezel (112) and connected to the accommodation hole (138)[0119].
Claims 6 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Aoki (JPH1146108: “Aoki”).
Claims 6 & 17. Dependent on the electronic device (100) of respective claims 1 & 15. Kim, as modified, does not explicitly disclose:
the electrically conductive plate further comprises a contact pole extending from one surface, and wherein the contact pole penetrates the printed circuit board and protrudes toward the second surface beyond the printed circuit board.
Aoki teaches a built-in antenna by which a mount efficiency of a printed circuit board with a tight mount condition is improved [Abstract]. Aoki further teaches the electrically conductive plate (6) further comprises a contact pole (3) extending from one surface (2), and wherein the contact pole (3) penetrates the printed circuit board (4) and protrudes toward the second surface (2) beyond the printed circuit board (4) [0014-0015].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Aoki’s contact pole connecting a conductive plate on one side of a circuit board thru the board to an electrical contact surface on a separate surface with Kim’s circuit board to back cover electrical needs because running an electrical connecting rod from supplied power on one side of the circuit board thru a hole in the circuit board to a separate substrate requiring power improves the space efficiency in space constrained devices and improves signal reliability of sensitive electronics on the separate substrate by isolating the substrate from interference from the power supply side [Aoki 0006].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Hongki ( US 20200323489: “Hongki”).
Claim 10. Dependent on the electronic device (100) of claim 1. Kim does not explicitly disclose:
the elastic material of the elastic member comprises at least one of rubber, silicone, or urethane.
Hongki teaches an electronic device including a biometric sensor and a wireless charging module [Abstract]. Hongki further teaches the elastic material [0115] of the elastic member (337) comprises at least one of rubber, silicone, or urethane [0121: The second protection member 337 may include a shock absorption or elastic material such as Poron, sponge, or rubber].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Hongki’s material choice of a rubber elastic member with Kim’s, as modified, elastic member because rubber as a material for an elastic member provides water protection along with impact protection [Hongki 0121].
Conclusion
/MONICA S YOUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855