Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 1/27/2025 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are cancelled. Claims 8 and 11-24 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 1, replace “the chamber” with “the process chamber” to be consistent with the same limitation in claim 8. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: device for preventing gas flow in claims 18 and 19.
Claims 18 and 19 recite a device for preventing gas flow. The Examiner interprets this under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because (A) the claim uses the term “device” and (B) the terms “device” is modified by the functional language “preventing gas flow” and (C) the term “device” is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the function of extraction. The Examiner could not locate the detailed structural description of this device in the instant specification. As the result, this limitation and their claims are rejected under 35 USC 112(a) and 35 112 (b)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 18 and 19 recite a device for preventing the first and the second gas flow from flowing over the construction field. Instant disclosure does not provide any description and structure for this device. It is not clear how the gas flow is prevented from flowing over the construction field. There is a dashed line (032) in instant FIG. 7 that is drawn to illustrate the boundary of the construction field. However, it is not a solid line and thus not clear whether it is indeed a barrier. It seems to be two imaginary lines drawn to illustrate the extension of an imaginary boundary from the surface. Furthermore, there is no description of the detailed structure of this dashed line in the instant specification. Claims 19 and 20 are dependent on claim 18 and are rejected as well.
Note that the Examiner could not examine claims 18-19 since this device is unknown. Furthermore, instant claim 24 recites that the first and the second gas flow have to flow over the air spaces above construction field in order to cool them down (emphasis added by the Examiner). Therefore, placing a device for preventing these flows as recited in claims 18-19 is in contradiction with claim 24.
Claims 16-20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 16-17 recites the limitation "the exit duct" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claims 18 and 19 recite a device for preventing the first and second gas flow from flowing over the construction field. There is already a device recited in the preamble of all the claims. Therefore, there is confusion regarding whether these devices are the same.
Claims 18-19 limitation “device for preventing gas flow” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Claims 19 and 20 are dependent on claim 18 and are rejected as well.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 23 recites the limitations "the first gas flow into the process chamber", "the first gas flow out of the process chamber", "the second gas flow into the process chamber", and "the second gas flow out of the process chamber". There are insufficient antecedent bases for these limitation in the claim. The Examiner notes that claim 8 recites that the first and the second gas flow are into the first air space and the second air space, respectively, and not into the process chamber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, 11-17, 20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by HAACK (EP-2774703-A1), hereinafter HAACK.
Regarding claims 8, 11-17, 20, and 23, the Examiner has annotated FIG. 2 of HAACK and has pasted it below with detailed description of all the limitations of these instant claims. Note that the system is the process chamber (also see highlighted text on the first page of HAACK).
Regarding claims 13-14, the Examiner notes that when considering the very top of the vertical boundaries (first and second), the limitation “between” is met. Regarding claim 20, the Examiner notes that solid boundaries around the device of HAACK that prevents convection of flow from unassigned exits, read on the limitation of “convection guards”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAACK as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of DESIMONE (US-2017/0173880), hereinafter DESIMONE. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claim 21, HAACK discloses all the limitations of claim 8, as discussed above. HAACK, however, is silent on a temperature sensor for the gas flow.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to 3D printing with gas induction, DESIMONE discloses wherein the device includes a temperature sensor and/or a controller for controlling a temperature of the first gas flow {[0195]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teaching of DESIMONE in the device of HAACK and have included a temperature sensor in gas flow in the device of HAACK. As disclosed by DESIMONE, the advantage of the sensor is that it can be coupled to controller to maintain a desired temperature {[0195]}.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAACK as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of GOLD (US-2017/0146382), hereinafter GOLD. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claim 21, HAACK discloses all the limitations of claim 8, as discussed above. HAACK, however, is silent on an anemometer for the gas flow.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to gas flow characterization in 3D printing, GOLD discloses wherein the device includes an anemometer {[0035]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teaching of GOLD in the device of HAACK and have included an anemometer in gas flow in the device of HAACK. As disclosed by GOLD, the advantage of the sensor is that it can accurately measure and characterize the gas flow {[0035]}.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAACK as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of DE-102013004940 – of record. The Examiner notes that for claim mapping and in lieu of DE-102013004940, its English family member US-2015/0266238 – of record, hereinafter EDERER is used. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claim 24, HAACK discloses all the limitations of claim 8, as discussed above. HAACK, however, is silent on an overhead radiator.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to 3D printing, EDERER discloses wherein the device includes an overhead radiator, the first gas flow and the second gas flow cool the first air space and the second air space respectively, and the overhead radiator independently heats the build space above the construction field {[0018]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teaching of EDERER in the device of HAACK and have included an overhead radiator in the device of HAACK. As disclosed by EDERER, the advantage of this radiator is that can provide additional heat if needed {[0018]}. The Examiner notes that the device of HAACK also sinters or melts the raw material to produce the 3D printed object {[0002]} and therefore may need additional heat in certain circumstances.
Conclusion
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748