Detailed Office Action
Applicant’s amendments and arguments dated 6/4/2026 have been entered and fully considered. Claims 8, 16-20, and 23 are amended. New claim 25 is added. Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are cancelled. Claims 8 and 11-25 remain pending.
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant’s amendments have overcome claim objection and the 35 USC 112(a) and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the non-final office action of 12/15/2025. Those objection and rejections are withdrawn.
Amendments are noted. Upon further search and consideration these amendments are rejected in view of an additional prior art as outlined below in the 35 USC 103 rejection section.
Claim Objections
Claims 18-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18, line 1: replace “abvove” with “above”.
Claim 19, line 2: replace “a air ducts” with “the air ducts” so it has a correct antecedent basis for the four ducts recited in the independent claim 8. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 18 recites the limitation “energy input means”. The Examiner interprets this under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because (A) the claim uses the term “means” and (B) the terms “means” is modified by the functional language “energy input” and (C) the term “means” is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the function of inputting energy. The Examiner referred to the instant specification and will interpret “energy input means” as overhead heater or IR lamp or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 11-20, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAACK (EP-2774703-A1), hereinafter HAACK, in view of BAUMANN (US-2007/0238056), hereinafter BAUMANN.
Regarding claims 8, 11-20, 23, and 25, the Examiner has annotated FIG. 2 of HAACK and has pasted it below with detailed description of all the limitations of these instant claims. Note that the system is the process chamber (also see highlighted text on the first page of HAACK).
Regarding claim 8, the annotated FIG. 2 of HAACK discloses all the limitations of i) through vii). The Examiner notes that coater 14 is the claimed recoater for applying the particulate material onto the construction field.
HAACK, however, is silent on the last limitation of claim 8 reciting “viii) a print head for applying a liquid” and claim 25 limitation of “wherein the print head selectively applies the liquid and the liquid includes an absorber”.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to additive manufacturing, BAUMANN discloses “viii) a print head for applying a liquid” and claim 25 limitation of “wherein the print head selectively applies the liquid and the liquid includes an absorber” {[abstract], [0008], [0028]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the laser sintering device of HAACK with the print head liquid absorber applicator and electromagnetic energy heater of BAUMANN to carry out the selective sintering and additive manufacturing of the applied powder.
As disclosed by BUAMANN, the advantage of this replacement is that the selectivity is achieved solely via the application of the absorber; the resultant achievable precision and speed of the process are therefore the same as, or higher than, those obtained with conventional laser sintering using a laser, and the process is markedly less expensive, more flexible, and simpler to operate {[0008]}.
Regarding claims 13-14, the Examiner notes that when considering the very top of the vertical boundaries (first and second), the limitation “between” is met. Regarding claim 20, the Examiner notes that solid boundaries around the device of HAACK that prevents convection of flow from unassigned exits, read on the limitation of “convection guards”.
Regarding claim 18, the Examiner notes that modified HAACK will have the energy input means as disclosed by BAUMANN {[FIG. 1] IR lamp 5}. As seen, this device is closer to the surface, and as the result, the air flow of HAACK is conducted above the energy input means.
Regarding claim 19 and since HAACK discloses that the purpose of flow is purging {[0041]}, the cooling of the construction field is achieved via fresh gas flow.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAACK and BAUMANN as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of DESIMONE (US-2017/0173880), hereinafter DESIMONE. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claim 21, combination of HAACK and BAUMANN discloses all the limitations of claim 8, as discussed above. This combination, however, is silent on a temperature sensor for the gas flow.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to 3D printing with gas induction, DESIMONE discloses wherein the device includes a temperature sensor and/or a controller for controlling a temperature of the first gas flow {[0195]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teaching of DESIMONE in the combination device of HAACK and BAUMANN and have included a temperature sensor in gas flow in the device of HAACK and BAUMANN. As disclosed by DESIMONE, the advantage of the sensor is that it can be coupled to controller to maintain a desired temperature {[0195]}.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAACK and BAUMANN as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of GOLD (US-2017/0146382), hereinafter GOLD. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claim 22, combination of HAACK and BAUMANN discloses all the limitations of claim 8, as discussed above. This combination, however, is silent on an anemometer for the gas flow.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to gas flow characterization in 3D printing, GOLD discloses wherein the device includes an anemometer {[0035]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teaching of GOLD in the combination device of HAACK and BAUMANN and have included an anemometer in gas flow in the device of HAACK and BAUMANN. As disclosed by GOLD, the advantage of the sensor is that it can accurately measure and characterize the gas flow {[0035]}.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAACK and BAUMANN as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of DE-102013004940 – of record. The Examiner notes that for claim mapping and in lieu of DE-102013004940, its English family member US-2015/0266238 – of record, hereinafter EDERER is used. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claim 24, combination of HAACK and BAUMANN discloses all the limitations of claim 8, as discussed above. This combination, however, is silent on an overhead radiator.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to 3D printing, EDERER discloses wherein the device includes an overhead radiator, the first gas flow and the second gas flow cool the first air space and the second air space respectively, and the overhead radiator independently heats the build space above the construction field {[0018]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teaching of EDERER in the combination device of HAACK and BAUMANN and have included an overhead radiator in the device of HAACK and BAUMANN. As disclosed by EDERER, the advantage of this radiator is that can provide additional heat if needed {[0018]}.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748