DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 104-121 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 104 is vague and indefinite because it is unclear of what exactly the first state and second state for the residues are.
Claim 104 is vague and indefinite because it is unclear of what are the metes and bounds for the term “sensitizer”.
Double Patenting
Claims 104-113, 116-121 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 268-271, 273-291 of copending Application No. 18809812 (reference application); over claims 114-142 of copending Application No. 18410087 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both claim a method, comprising (a) providing a polymer, wherein said polymer comprises a plurality of convertible residues, wherein each convertible residue of said plurality of convertible residues is in a first state, and is capable of being converted into a second state by a stimulus; (b) encoding data into said polymer by converting convertible residues from said first state into said second state using said stimulus.
The instant application discloses the plurality of spacer residues are naturally occurring nucleobases, non-naturally nucleobases, tetrahydrofuran abasic residues, or ethylene glycol residues, or naturally occurring nucleobases [000127]; In some embodiments, the ratio of the total number of nucleotides of the convertible residues in the nucleic acid polymer is between 2 to 100 [00011].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 104-108, 110-113, 116-121 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown et al. (WO 2020/128517).
Brown et al. teaches method for modifying the polynucleotide strand (polymer). The modifications made to the polynucleotide strand typically do not alter the overall length of the polynucleotide strand; i.e. data is encoded on the polynucleotide strand backbone rather than involving the addition or removal of monomer units from the polynucleotide strand. Any suitable modifications can be made to the polynucleotide strand. For example, the modifications may be epigenetic modifications. Selectively modifying portions of the polynucleotide strand may comprise subjecting the portions of the polynucleotide strand in the nanoreactor to reaction conditions comprising (i) the presence, absence or concentration of one or more chemical reagent(s); (ii) the engagement of an enzyme with the polynucleotide strand under conditions that the enzyme modifies the nucleotides within the polynucleotide strand; (iii) the presence or absence of electromagnetic radiation; and/or (iv) the presence or absence of applied heat (page 4 line 7 - page 5 line 18; page 6 line 25 - page 7 line 13; Fig. 1). (Thereby, converting the residues from a first state into a second state).
Brown et al. teaches in preferred embodiments data is written onto the polynucleotide through photocleavable moieties of the convertible residues that can be selectively modified by light (405 nm or 435 nm) when passing through a nanopore. The nanopore is conjugated to a photosensitizer, optionally via a cysteine residue (page 58 lines 26-29, page 60 line 1 - page 61 line 28; Examples 4, 5; Fig. 15).
Brown et al. teaches the movement of the polynucleotide with respect to the nanoreactor can be controlled with polynucleotide motors, for example polymerases, helicases, translocases, exonucleases, etc. Polynucleotide motors are also referred to herein as polynucleotide handling enzymes. In certain embodiments the nanopore is conjugated to a 'polynucleotide handling enzyme' that is a polymerase, nuclease or helicase (page 46 line 15 -page 47 line - 25; page 50 line 25 - page 52 line 16; page 53 lines 14-18), and thus the photosensitizer that is conjugated to the nanopore is also conjugated to the enzyme.
Brown et al. teaches the methods of the invention comprise selectively modifying portions of the polynucleotide strand. In some embodiments, such methods comprise selectively controlling the number of nucleotides that are modified within each portion of the polynucleotide strand. For example, in some embodiments 1 nucleotide may be selectively modified. In other embodiments more than one nucleotide may be selectively modified; for example from 1 to about 1000 nucleotides, such as from about 10 to about 500, e.g. from about 50 to about 250 nucleotides may be selectively modified. Different portions of the polynucleotide strand may have different numbers of modified nucleotides and thereby by distinguished (pages 55-56 and claims).
/JEZIA RILEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681 24 September 2026