DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Witelson (US PUB. No.: 2022/0003015 A1: hereinafter “Witelson”).
Consider claims 1, 7, and 15:
Witelson teaches a docking station for a pool cleaner (See Witelson, e.g., “…A pool cleaning robot that may include a drive motor; an impeller; an impeller motor that is configured to rotate the impeller; wherein the impeller, once rotated at a first rotational direction, is configured to induce fluid to flow through the pool cleaning robot; a filter for filtering fluid that flows through the pool cleaning robot; and wherein the filter (a) is detachably coupled to one or more elements of the pool cleaning robot; and (b) is configured to exit the pool cleaning robot from a first side of the pool cleaning robot…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0061]-¶ [0088], ¶ [0096]-¶ [0102], ¶ [0110]-¶ [0120], ¶ [0125]-¶ [0152], ¶ [0115]-¶ [0214], and Figs. 1-5 elements 100-410, Figs. 6-17 elements 100-804, Figs, 18-21 elements 20-725, steps 410-510) comprises at least one inductive element for charging the pool cleaner (See Witelson, e.g., “…A first contactless charging element 210 may be connected to the platform 220, embedded in the platform 220 or otherwise included in the underwater station 200 and may be used to charge the pool cleaning robot 100 that in turn has a second contactless charging element (denoted 150 in FIGS. 3A and 3B) to facilitate the contactless charging of the pool cleaning robot 100. FIGS. 3A and 3B also illustrate a cable 402 that feeds the underwater station with electrical power. This electrical power can be supplied to the first contactless charging element 210…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0061]-¶ [0088], ¶ [0096]-¶ [0102], ¶ [0110]-¶ [0120], ¶ [0125]-¶ [0152], ¶ [0115]-¶ [0214], and Figs. 1-5 elements 100-410, Figs. 6-17 elements 100-804, Figs, 18-21 elements 20-725, steps 410-510) and means for guiding the pool cleaner to the docking station using light-based communication (See Witelson, e.g., “…a first contactless charging element 210, and radiation sources 241 and 242. Radiation sources 241 and 242 may be spaced apart from each other and are arranged to emit radiation (such as ultrasonic radiation) that can be detected by sensor 110 of pool cleaning robot 100 and allow the pool cleaning robot 100 to navigate towards the underwater station 200. The pool cleaning robot 100 may compare between the radiation received from the different radiation sources (241 and 242) and direct itself toward the underwater station 200. The radiation sources 241 and 242 may emit radiation of different frequencies, in different points of time and the like…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0061]-¶ [0088], ¶ [0096]-¶ [0102], ¶ [0110]-¶ [0120], ¶ [0125]-¶ [0152], ¶ [0115]-¶ [0214], and Figs. 1-5 elements 100-410, Figs. 6-17 elements 100-804, Figs, 18-21 elements 20-725, steps 410-510).
Consider claim 3:
Witelson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Witelson teaches wherein the docking station is positionable within water and on a floor of a swimming pool or spa (See Witelson, e.g., “…A pool cleaning robot that may include a drive motor; an impeller; an impeller motor that is configured to rotate the impeller; wherein the impeller, once rotated at a first rotational direction, is configured to induce fluid to flow through the pool cleaning robot; a filter for filtering fluid that flows through the pool cleaning robot; and wherein the filter (a) is detachably coupled to one or more elements of the pool cleaning robot; and (b) is configured to exit the pool cleaning robot from a first side of the pool cleaning robot…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0061]-¶ [0088], ¶ [0096]-¶ [0102], ¶ [0110]-¶ [0120], ¶ [0125]-¶ [0152], ¶ [0115]-¶ [0214], and Figs. 1-5 elements 100-410, Figs. 6-17 elements 100-804, Figs, 18-21 elements 20-725, steps 410-510).
Consider claim 4:
Witelson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Witelson teaches wherein the docking station is configured to engage the pool cleaner at a waterline of a swimming pool or spa (See Witelson, e.g., “…a portion of a pool 300, a pool cleaning robot 100, an underwater station 200, a turbine 404, an electrical generator 406 that feeds the underwater station 200 with electrical power via cable 401 and a tube 408 of a pool fluid circulation system according to an embodiment of the invention…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0061]-¶ [0088], ¶ [0096]-¶ [0102], ¶ [0110]-¶ [0120], ¶ [0125]-¶ [0152], ¶ [0115]-¶ [0214], and Figs. 1-5 elements 100-410, Figs. 6-17 elements 100-804, Figs, 18-21 elements 20-725, steps 410-510).
Consider claim 5:
Witelson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 4. In addition, Witelson teaches wherein the docking station is at a skimmer of the swimming pool or spa (See Witelson, e.g., “…A first contactless charging element 210 may be connected to the platform 220, embedded in the platform 220 or otherwise included in the underwater station 200 and may be used to charge the pool cleaning robot 100 that in turn has a second contactless charging element (denoted 150 in FIGS. 3A and 3B) to facilitate the contactless charging of the pool cleaning robot 100. FIGS. 3A and 3B also illustrate a cable 402 that feeds the underwater station with electrical power. This electrical power can be supplied to the first contactless charging element 210…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0061]-¶ [0088], ¶ [0096]-¶ [0102], ¶ [0110]-¶ [0120], ¶ [0125]-¶ [0152], ¶ [0115]-¶ [0214], and Figs. 1-5 elements 100-410, Figs. 6-17 elements 100-804, Figs, 18-21 elements 20-725, steps 410-510).
Consider claim 6:
Witelson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Witelson teaches wherein the docking station further comprises a housing defining a receiving area for housing the pool cleaner (See Witelson, e.g., “…A first contactless charging element 210 may be connected to the platform 220, embedded in the platform 220 or otherwise included in the underwater station 200 and may be used to charge the pool cleaning robot 100 that in turn has a second contactless charging element (denoted 150 in FIGS. 3A and 3B) to facilitate the contactless charging of the pool cleaning robot 100. FIGS. 3A and 3B also illustrate a cable 402 that feeds the underwater station with electrical power. This electrical power can be supplied to the first contactless charging element 210…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0061]-¶ [0088], ¶ [0096]-¶ [0102], ¶ [0110]-¶ [0120], ¶ [0125]-¶ [0152], ¶ [0115]-¶ [0214], and Figs. 1-5 elements 100-410, Figs. 6-17 elements 100-804, Figs, 18-21 elements 20-725, steps 410-510).
Consider claim 8:
Witelson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 7. In addition, Witelson teaches wherein the docking station is configured to support the pool cleaner and provide access to a filter of the pool cleaner at or above the waterline (See Witelson, e.g., “…A pool cleaning robot that may include a drive motor; an impeller; an impeller motor that is configured to rotate the impeller; wherein the impeller, once rotated at a first rotational direction, is configured to induce fluid to flow through the pool cleaning robot; a filter for filtering fluid that flows through the pool cleaning robot; and wherein the filter (a) is detachably coupled to one or more elements of the pool cleaning robot; and (b) is configured to exit the pool cleaning robot from a first side of the pool cleaning robot…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0061]-¶ [0088], ¶ [0096]-¶ [0102], ¶ [0110]-¶ [0120], ¶ [0125]-¶ [0152], ¶ [0115]-¶ [0214], and Figs. 1-5 elements 100-410, Figs. 6-17 elements 100-804, Figs, 18-21 elements 20-725, steps 410-510).
Consider claim 9:
Witelson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 7. In addition, Witelson teaches wherein the docking station is configured to support the pool cleaner such that a filter of the pool cleaner is at or above the waterline (See Witelson, e.g., “…A first contactless charging element 210 may be connected to the platform 220, embedded in the platform 220 or otherwise included in the underwater station 200 and may be used to charge the pool cleaning robot 100 that in turn has a second contactless charging element (denoted 150 in FIGS. 3A and 3B) to facilitate the contactless charging of the pool cleaning robot 100. FIGS. 3A and 3B also illustrate a cable 402 that feeds the underwater station with electrical power. This electrical power can be supplied to the first contactless charging element 210…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0061]-¶ [0088], ¶ [0096]-¶ [0102], ¶ [0110]-¶ [0120], ¶ [0125]-¶ [0152], ¶ [0115]-¶ [0214], and Figs. 1-5 elements 100-410, Figs. 6-17 elements 100-804, Figs, 18-21 elements 20-725, steps 410-510).
Consider claims 10, 18:
Witelson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 7, 15. In addition, Witelson teaches wherein the docking station further a housing defining a receiving area for receiving and concealing the APC (See Witelson, e.g., “…pool cleaning robot 100 includes turbine 120, housing 104, first fluid opening 101 and second fluid opening 102 formed in the housing 104, electrical generator 122, pump motor 132, impeller 133, rechargeable power source such as battery 135, drive motor 124 and first track 141…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0061]-¶ [0088], ¶ [0096]-¶ [0102], ¶ [0110]-¶ [0120], ¶ [0125]-¶ [0152], ¶ [0115]-¶ [0214], and Figs. 1-5 elements 100-410, Figs. 6-17 elements 100-804, Figs, 18-21 elements 20-725, steps 410-510).
Consider claim 11:
Witelson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 10. In addition, Witelson teaches wherein the at least one inductive element is within the receiving area (See Witelson, e.g., “…A first contactless charging element 210 may be connected to the platform 220, embedded in the platform 220 or otherwise included in the underwater station 200 and may be used to charge the pool cleaning robot 100 that in turn has a second contactless charging element (denoted 150 in FIGS. 3A and 3B) to facilitate the contactless charging of the pool cleaning robot 100. FIGS. 3A and 3B also illustrate a cable 402 that feeds the underwater station with electrical power. This electrical power can be supplied to the first contactless charging element 210…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0061]-¶ [0088], ¶ [0096]-¶ [0102], ¶ [0110]-¶ [0120], ¶ [0125]-¶ [0152], ¶ [0115]-¶ [0214], and Figs. 1-5 elements 100-410, Figs. 6-17 elements 100-804, Figs, 18-21 elements 20-725, steps 410-510).
Consider claim 12:
Witelson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 7. In addition, Witelson teaches further comprising means for guiding the pool cleaner to the docking station using light-based communication (See Witelson, e.g., “…a first contactless charging element 210, and radiation sources 241 and 242. Radiation sources 241 and 242 may be spaced apart from each other and are arranged to emit radiation (such as ultrasonic radiation) that can be detected by sensor 110 of pool cleaning robot 100 and allow the pool cleaning robot 100 to navigate towards the underwater station 200. The pool cleaning robot 100 may compare between the radiation received from the different radiation sources (241 and 242) and direct itself toward the underwater station 200. The radiation sources 241 and 242 may emit radiation of different frequencies, in different points of time and the like…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0061]-¶ [0088], ¶ [0096]-¶ [0102], ¶ [0110]-¶ [0120], ¶ [0125]-¶ [0152], ¶ [0115]-¶ [0214], and Figs. 1-5 elements 100-410, Figs. 6-17 elements 100-804, Figs, 18-21 elements 20-725, steps 410-510).
Consider claims 13, 17:
Witelson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 7, 15. In addition, Witelson teaches wherein the docking station is integrated into the swimming pool or spa (See Witelson, e.g., “…a first contactless charging element 210, and radiation sources 241 and 242. Radiation sources 241 and 242 may be spaced apart from each other and are arranged to emit radiation (such as ultrasonic radiation) that can be detected by sensor 110 of pool cleaning robot 100 and allow the pool cleaning robot 100 to navigate towards the underwater station 200. The pool cleaning robot 100 may compare between the radiation received from the different radiation sources (241 and 242) and direct itself toward the underwater station 200. The radiation sources 241 and 242 may emit radiation of different frequencies, in different points of time and the like…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0061]-¶ [0088], ¶ [0096]-¶ [0102], ¶ [0110]-¶ [0120], ¶ [0125]-¶ [0152], ¶ [0115]-¶ [0214], and Figs. 1-5 elements 100-410, Figs. 6-17 elements 100-804, Figs, 18-21 elements 20-725, steps 410-510).
Consider claims 14, 16:
Witelson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 7, 15. In addition, Witelson teaches wherein the docking station is supported on a wall of the swimming pool or spa (See Witelson, e.g., “…a first contactless charging element 210, and radiation sources 241 and 242. Radiation sources 241 and 242 may be spaced apart from each other and are arranged to emit radiation (such as ultrasonic radiation) that can be detected by sensor 110 of pool cleaning robot 100 and allow the pool cleaning robot 100 to navigate towards the underwater station 200. The pool cleaning robot 100 may compare between the radiation received from the different radiation sources (241 and 242) and direct itself toward the underwater station 200. The radiation sources 241 and 242 may emit radiation of different frequencies, in different points of time and the like…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0061]-¶ [0088], ¶ [0096]-¶ [0102], ¶ [0110]-¶ [0120], ¶ [0125]-¶ [0152], ¶ [0115]-¶ [0214], and Figs. 1-5 elements 100-410, Figs. 6-17 elements 100-804, Figs, 18-21 elements 20-725, steps 410-510).
Consider claim 19:
Witelson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 15. In addition, Witelson teaches further comprising a first cover and a second cover, wherein the first cover controls access to the receiving area from a first direction (See Witelson, e.g., “…a first contactless charging element 210, and radiation sources 241 and 242. Radiation sources 241 and 242 may be spaced apart from each other and are arranged to emit radiation (such as ultrasonic radiation) that can be detected by sensor 110 of pool cleaning robot 100 and allow the pool cleaning robot 100 to navigate towards the underwater station 200. The pool cleaning robot 100 may compare between the radiation received from the different radiation sources (241 and 242) and direct itself toward the underwater station 200. The radiation sources 241 and 242 may emit radiation of different frequencies, in different points of time and the like…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0061]-¶ [0088], ¶ [0096]-¶ [0102], ¶ [0110]-¶ [0120], ¶ [0125]-¶ [0152], ¶ [0115]-¶ [0214], and Figs. 1-5 elements 100-410, Figs. 6-17 elements 100-804, Figs, 18-21 elements 20-725, steps 410-510) and the second cover controls access to the receiving area from a second direction (See Witelson, e.g., “…a first contactless charging element 210, and radiation sources 241 and 242. Radiation sources 241 and 242 may be spaced apart from each other and are arranged to emit radiation (such as ultrasonic radiation) that can be detected by sensor 110 of pool cleaning robot 100 and allow the pool cleaning robot 100 to navigate towards the underwater station 200. The pool cleaning robot 100 may compare between the radiation received from the different radiation sources (241 and 242) and direct itself toward the underwater station 200. The radiation sources 241 and 242 may emit radiation of different frequencies, in different points of time and the like…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0061]-¶ [0088], ¶ [0096]-¶ [0102], ¶ [0110]-¶ [0120], ¶ [0125]-¶ [0152], ¶ [0115]-¶ [0214], and Figs. 1-5 elements 100-410, Figs. 6-17 elements 100-804, Figs, 18-21 elements 20-725, steps 410-510).
Consider claim 20:
Witelson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 15. In addition, Witelson teaches wherein at least a portion of an external surface of the housing is mirrored (See Witelson, e.g., “…pool cleaning robot 100 includes turbine 120, housing 104, first fluid opening 101 and second fluid opening 102 formed in the housing 104, electrical generator 122, pump motor 132, impeller 133, rechargeable power source such as battery 135, drive motor 124 and first track 141…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0061]-¶ [0088], ¶ [0096]-¶ [0102], ¶ [0110]-¶ [0120], ¶ [0125]-¶ [0152], ¶ [0115]-¶ [0214], and Figs. 1-5 elements 100-410, Figs. 6-17 elements 100-804, Figs, 18-21 elements 20-725, steps 410-510).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Witelson in view of WU (CN 115833405 A: hereinafter “WU”).
Consider claim 2:
Witelson teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Witelson teaches “…a first contactless charging element 210, and radiation sources 241 and 242. Radiation sources 241 and 242 may be spaced apart from each other and are arranged to emit radiation (such as ultrasonic radiation) that can be detected by sensor 110 of pool cleaning robot 100 and allow the pool cleaning robot 100 to navigate towards the underwater station 200. The pool cleaning robot 100 may compare between the radiation received from the different radiation sources (241 and 242) and direct itself toward the underwater station 200. The radiation sources 241 and 242 may emit radiation of different frequencies, in different points of time and the like…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0061]-¶ [0088], ¶ [0096]-¶ [0102], ¶ [0110]-¶ [0120], ¶ [0125]-¶ [0152], ¶ [0115]-¶ [0214], and Figs. 1-5 elements 100-410, Figs. 6-17 elements 100-804, Figs, 18-21 elements 20-725, steps 410-510. However, Witelson does not explicitly teach wherein the docking station comprises a platform extending upwards at a non-zero angle relative to a horizontal axis, and wherein the at least one inductive element is on the platform.
In an analogous field of endeavor, WU teaches wherein the docking station comprises a platform extending upwards at a non-zero angle relative to a horizontal axis, and wherein the at least one inductive element is on the platform (See WU, e.g., “…the wireless charger comprises a base, a charging base, a driving component and a controller, the charging base is connected to the base, capable of rotating around the horizontal axis relative to the base; the charging base is used for placing the electronic device and wirelessly charging the electronic device; the controller is electrically connected with the driving component…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0040]-¶ [0062], ¶ [0072]-¶ [0090], ¶ [0140]-¶ [0144], and Figs. 1-2 elements 10-400, Figs. 7-8 elements 210-222).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine “…a first contactless charging element 210, and radiation sources 241 and 242. Radiation sources 241 and 242 may be spaced apart from each other and are arranged to emit radiation (such as ultrasonic radiation) that can be detected by sensor 110 of pool cleaning robot 100 and allow the pool cleaning robot 100 to navigate towards the underwater station 200. The pool cleaning robot 100 may compare between the radiation received from the different radiation sources (241 and 242) and direct itself toward the underwater station 200. The radiation sources 241 and 242 may emit radiation of different frequencies, in different points of time and the like…”, as disclosed in Witelson with “wherein the docking station comprises a platform extending upwards at a non-zero angle relative to a horizontal axis, and wherein the at least one inductive element is on the platform.”, as taught in WU with a reasonable expectation of success to yield a system, method for efficiently, robustly, and seamlessly optimizing and simplifying the charging operation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ZHONG et al. (EP 4585772 A1) teaches “The present disclosure discloses a floating device and a swimming pool cleaning robot. The floating device includes a floating housing (110) and a wireless transmission module (130). The floating housing (110) is provided with a handle (120), whose top is higher than the floating housing (110). The wireless transmission module (130) is provided in the top of the handle (120). The floating device can be easily lifted by means of the handle, and can remotely transmit instructions to the wireless transmission module by means of a remote control, etc., so that it is easier to use the device and the cleaning efficiency is improved.”
YU et al. (CN 116290948 A) teaches “The invention claims a swimming pool cleaning machine automatic discharging method and system, comprising a swimming pool cleaning machine for detecting the direction and position of the underwater docking station, and moving to the underwater docking station; moving the swimming pool cleaning machine to the underwater docking station, and parking in the docking position; the sewage suction port assembly of the underwater docking station is butt jointed with the sewage outlet assembly of the swimming pool cleaning machine, the swimming pool cleaning machine is connected with the underwater docking station, and the sewage is discharged. The beneficial effects of the invention are as follows: the swimming pool cleaner can automatically drain the filter box under the water, without manual emptying the filter box, it is provided with an underwater docking station, the discharged dirt is directly discharged to the outside of the swimming pool under the action of the underwater docking station, the automation degree is high, the working efficiency is high.”
/BABAR SARWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667