DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to communications filed 05 February 2026.
Claims 1-20 are subject to examination.
Response to Arguments
The 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections have been withdrawn in view of amendments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
However, Applicant argues in substance:
Mansour does not disclose “a host subscriber device that operates as a fiber connection extension control point”
In response to Applicant’s arguments (a), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The limitations above, under broadest reasonable interpretation, denote that a host subscriber device is operative to be a control point for a fiber connection extension, therefore, Mansour discloses and/or teaches [1:40-55] “… IAB may be utilized to increase capacity in areas where fiber may be difficult to deploy … do not add new capacity, but are able to share the capacity of a donor site across a larger coverage area … IAB technology may be utilized to extend network reach.” [5:5-12] “… allocating wireless air interface resources to relay nodes 140a-c by identifying relay nodes 140a-c as being within range of donor access node 110 …” [10:32-48] “… IAB nodes 310A, 310B and 310C communicate with the IAB donor node 320 over wireless backhaul links … connects to a core network 350 via a wired non-IAB backhaul 342, which may be high capacity fiber …”, such that Mansour’s donor node operates to extend a fiber network, such as via IAB to increase capacity where fiber is difficult to deploy, e.g. serving as a fiber extension control point by controlling extension of the fiber backhaul.
Mansour fails to teach “slicing the predetermined fiber connection resource into multiple segments” and “distributing, via the host subscriber device, the multiple segments to the identified group of neighbor subscriber devices.”
In response to Applicant’s arguments (b), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The limitations above, under broadest reasonable interpretation, denote to split network resources and distribute them to neighboring devices, therefore, Mansour discloses and/or teaches [10:32-48] “… IAB nodes 310A, 310B and 310C communicate with the IAB donor node 320 over wireless backhaul links … connects to a core network 350 via a wired non-IAB backhaul 342, which may be high capacity fiber …” [12:18-36] “ donor node 320 multiplexes data originating at the donor node with a unique donor code … transmits the multiplexed data from step 540 simultaneously with the multiplexed data from the IAB node to the core network … enable the data to be sent in parallel without interference … may be demultiplexed (i.e., separated) upon receipt by the core network …” [12:59-67] “each of the nodes 310A, 310B and 310C multiplexes its respective unique code with data for transmission … transmit the multiplexed data in parallel to the donor node …”, such that Mansour’s donor node receives and transmits data that is multiplexed to the core network, the donor node being connected to multiple nodes, and receiving and transmitting to multiple nodes in parallel that may be demultiplexed is a splitting of network resources to multiple nodes, the donor node operates to extend a fiber network, such as via IAB to increase capacity where fiber is difficult to deploy, e.g. serving as a fiber extension control point by controlling extension of the fiber backhaul.
Cui does not cure the deficiencies of Mansour.
In response to Applicant’s arguments (c), the Examiner disagrees for the same reasons set forth above as in response to arguments (a)/(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mansour et al. (US-12349040-B2) hereinafter Mansour in view of Rakib (US-7007296-B2) further in view of Cui et al. (US-9736022-B2) hereinafter Cui.
Regarding claim 1, Mansour discloses:
A device ([5:5-12] processing node within system 100), comprising:
a processing system including a processor ([13:20-27] processor included in the access node or a processor included in any controller node); and
a memory that stores executable instructions that ([13:28-37] computer-readable codes embodied on a computer-readable recording medium), when executed by the processing system ([13:28-37] processing system executing computer-readable codes), facilitate performance of operations ([5:5-12] configured to perform operations), the operations comprising:
identifying a host subscriber device that operates as a fiber connection extension control point ([5:5-12] identifying relay nodes 140a-c as being within range of donor access node 110 (i.e. to identify being in range of the donor access node would require to identify which node is the donor), see [FIG. 3] extended via donor node 320, see also [1:40-55] Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) … increase capacity in areas where fiber may be difficult to deploy … IAB technology may be utilized to extend network reach), wherein the host subscriber device is connected to a fiber network via a wired connection ([10:32-48] IAB donor node 320 connects to a core network 350 via a wired non-IAB backhaul 342, … high capacity fiber);
identifying a group of neighbor subscriber devices located proximate to the host subscriber device within a predetermined distance threshold relative to the host subscriber device and connected to the fiber network via the host subscriber device ([5:5-12] identifying relay nodes 140a-c as being within range (i.e. predetermined threshold of within range) of donor access node 110, see [FIG. 3] IAB nodes 310a-c, extended via donor node 320, see also [1:40-55] Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) … increase capacity in areas where fiber may be difficult to deploy … IAB technology may be utilized to extend network reach);
slicing the predetermined fiber connection resource into multiple segments ([10:32-48] share the capacity of donor site 320, see [12:28-36] codes enable the data to be sent in parallel without interference (i.e. sharing a capacity and sending signals in parallel is equated to slicing the connection into multiple segments, e.g. nodes 310a-c communicating with donor node 320 to be sent to core network 350 as in [FIG. 3] as the signals only share the capacity but separately sent), see also [12:59-67] data is separated by the unique code … multiplexed data); and
distributing, via the host subscriber device ([FIG. 3] IAB donor node 320), the multiple segments to the identified group of neighbor subscriber devices ([FIG. 3] IAB nodes 310a-c via 336, 338, 332, e.g. for multiplexing/demultiplexing of transmissions set forth above in [12:18-36], see [12:59-67] data is separated by the unique code … multiplexed data).
Mansour does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the host subscriber device includes a multiport modem and is located at a premises of a subscriber based on a subscriber agreement with a service provider for fiber connection networks;
based on the identifying and a first subscription agreement, providing a predetermined fiber connection resource to the host subscriber device;
However, Rakib discloses:
wherein the host subscriber device includes a multiport modem and is located at a premises of a subscriber based on a subscriber agreement with a service provider for fiber connection networks ([15:39-60] using a shared DSL concentrator and shared cable modem is shown which has the advantage of extending DSL technology beyond its current distance limits, see [10:9-24] software of an Ethernet Smart Switch is incorporated into the cable modem to drive 8 separate ports (i.e. multiport modem), see also [4:64-5:27] switch is coupled to a shared cable modem … in the premises of the subscribers (i.e. requires a subscriber agreement/subscription for subscribers to subscribe to the system, e.g. being a subscriber));
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mansour in view of Rakib to have the host subscriber device include a multiport modem and located at a premises of a subscriber based on a subscriber agreement with a service provider for fiber connection networks. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to extend DSL technology beyond its current distance limits (Rakib, [15:39-60]).
Mansour-Rakib do not explicitly disclose:
based on the identifying and a first subscription agreement, providing a predetermined fiber connection resource to the host subscriber device;
However, Cui discloses:
based on the identifying and a first subscription agreement ([7:64-8:11] after upgrading the subscriber line 112b of the subscriber premises 104b … subscriber profiles data structure 502 can be updated … indicate that the subscriber line 112b … provided using optical fiber), providing a predetermined fiber connection resource to the host subscriber device ([4:63-5:22] replaced by an optical fiber transmission medium … to implement a fiber-on-the-premises (FTTP));
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mansour-Rakib in view of Cui to have provided a predetermined fiber connection resource to the host subscriber device based on the identifying and a first subscription agreement. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to adaptively deliver communication services via electrically conductive transmission media and/or optical fiber transmission media (Cui, [4:63-5:22]).
Regarding claim 3, Mansour-Rakib-Cui disclose:
The device of claim 1, set forth above,
Mansour-Rakib do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the providing the predetermined fiber connection resource further comprises providing elevated fiber bandwidth to the host subscriber device, and
the multiple segments indicate different levels of access to the elevated fiber bandwidth by the group of neighbor subscriber devices.
However, Cui discloses:
wherein the providing the predetermined fiber connection resource further comprises providing elevated fiber bandwidth to the host subscriber device ([7:64-8:11] after upgrading the subscriber line 112b of the subscriber premises 104b … subscriber profiles data structure 502 can be updated … indicate that the subscriber line 112b … provided using optical fiber, see [4:63-5:22] replaced by an optical fiber transmission medium … to implement a fiber-on-the-premises (FTTP) [5:31-56] higher bandwidth capabilities (e.g., greater than 100 megabits-per-second (Mbps) as provided by optical fiber transmission media), see also [FIG. 5]), and
the multiple segments indicate different levels of access to the elevated fiber bandwidth by the group of neighbor subscriber devices ([FIG. 2] service provider via fiber to ONU, then distributed to subscribers 104 a-c [FIG. 3] e.g. 104b upgrades to fiber to achieve full fiber bandwidth; however 112a still utilizes copper between the premises and ONU, see also [FIG. 5]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mansour-Rakib in view of Cui to have provided elevated fiber bandwidth to the host subscriber device, wherein the multiple segments indicate different levels of access to the elevated fiber bandwidth by the group of neighbor subscriber devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to adaptively deliver communication services via electrically conductive transmission media and/or optical fiber transmission media (Cui, [4:63-5:22]).
Regarding claim 4, Mansour-Rakib-Cui disclose:
The device of claim 1, wherein the providing the predetermined fiber connection resource set forth above, further comprises
Mansour-Rakib do not explicitly disclose:
providing, to the host subscriber device, a quality of Service (qoS) level greater than a qoS level associated with the group of neighbor subscriber devices.
However, Cui discloses:
providing, to the host subscriber device ([FIG. 5] fiber subscriber, e.g. SUB-B), a quality of Service (qoS) level greater than a qoS level associated with the group of neighbor subscriber devices ([3:65-4:36] to provide a higher quality of service … optical fiber transmission media, see [7:64-8:11] after upgrading the subscriber line 112b of the subscriber premises 104b … subscriber profiles data structure 502 can be updated … indicate that the subscriber line 112b … provided using optical fiber, see [4:63-5:22] replaced by an optical fiber transmission medium … to implement a fiber-on-the-premises (FTTP) [5:31-56] higher bandwidth capabilities (e.g., greater than 100 megabits-per-second (Mbps) as provided by optical fiber transmission media), see also [FIG. 5]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mansour-Rakib in view of Cui to have provided a greater QoS level to the host subscriber device than the neighbor subscriber devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to adaptively deliver communication services via electrically conductive transmission media and/or optical fiber transmission media (Cui, [4:63-5:22]).
Regarding claim 5, Mansour-Rakib-Cui disclose:
The device of claim 1, set forth above,
Mansour does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the host subscriber device includes a multiport modem and the group of neighbor subscriber devices is connected to the multiport modem, wirelessly or wired.
However, Rakib discloses:
wherein the host subscriber device includes a multiport modem and the group of neighbor subscriber devices is connected to the multiport modem, wirelessly or wired ([15:39-60] using a shared DSL concentrator and shared cable modem is shown which has the advantage of extending DSL technology beyond its current distance limits, see [10:9-24] software of an Ethernet Smart Switch is incorporated into the cable modem to drive 8 separate ports (i.e. multiport modem), see also [4:64-5:27] switch is coupled to a shared cable modem … in the premises of the subscribers);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mansour in view of Rakib to have the host subscriber device include a multiport modem and located at a premises of a subscriber based on a subscriber agreement with a service provider for fiber connection networks. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to extend DSL technology beyond its current distance limits (Rakib, [15:39-60]).
Regarding claim 6, Mansour-Rakib-Cui disclose:
The device of claim 5, set forth above,
Mansour-Rakib do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the operations further comprise facilitating access to the multiport modem based on a dedicated slice associated with each of the group of the neighbor subscriber devices.
However, Cui discloses:
wherein the operations further comprise facilitating access to the multiport modem based on a dedicated slice associated with each of the group of the neighbor subscriber devices ([FIG. 5] e.g. SUB-A via copper, SUB-B via fiber, SUB-C via copper, see also [FIG. 3] e.g. interfacing with subscriber premises (i.e. on respective slices of network on respective transmission cabling)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mansour-Rakib in view of Cui to have facilitated access to the multiport modem based on a dedicated slice associated with each of the group of neighbor subscriber devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to adaptively deliver communication services via electrically conductive transmission media and/or optical fiber transmission media (Cui, [4:63-5:22]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mansour et al. (US-12349040-B2) hereinafter Mansour in view of Rakib (US-7007296-B2) further in view of Cui et al. (US-9736022-B2) hereinafter Cui further in view of Li et al. (US-11212188-B2) hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 2, Mansour-Rakib-Cui disclose:
The device of claim 1, set forth above, wherein the operations further comprise:
Mansour-Rakib do not explicitly disclose:
receiving, from the group of neighbor subscriber devices, a dataset including a subscriber level, usage data pattern, real time data traffic information, or a combination thereof; and
optimizing the multiple segments based on the received dataset using a machine learning algorithm.
However, Cui discloses:
receiving, from the group of neighbor subscriber devices ([FIGs. 2-3, e.g. neighbors 104a-c), a dataset including a subscriber level ([5:31-55] track or maintain status records indicating subscriber distribution areas … that have been enabled for selective upgrading … and to keep status records indicating which individual subscriber premises have already been upgraded to optical fiber transmission media, see [FIG. 5]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mansour-Rakib in view of Cui to have received subscriber level from the group of neighbor subscriber devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to adaptively deliver communication services via electrically conductive transmission media and/or optical fiber transmission media (Cui, [4:63-5:22]).
Mansour-Rakib-Cui do not explicitly disclose:
optimizing the multiple segments based on the received dataset using a machine learning algorithm.
However, Li discloses:
optimizing the multiple segments based on the received dataset using a machine learning algorithm ([25:20-38] network optimization … based on one or more network optimization recommendations … based on information from multiple layers of the system … improve network performance … network optimization plans … e.g., adding fibers, strengthening fiber back-haul … balancing demands and capacity … generated using a machine-learning (ML) model).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mansour-Rakib-Cui in view of Li to have optimized the multiple segments based on the received dataset using a machine learning algorithm. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to optimize the communication based on information from multiple layers of the system as generated by a ML model (Li, [25:20-38]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mansour et al. (US-12349040-B2) hereinafter Mansour in view of Rakib (US-7007296-B2) further in view of Cui et al. (US-9736022-B2) hereinafter Cui further in view of Van Baelen (US-11474297-B2) hereinafter VB.
Regarding claim 7, Mansour-Rakib-Cui disclose:
The device of claim 1, set forth above,
Mansour-Rakib-Cui do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the operations further comprise connecting the host subscriber device to the group of the neighbor subscriber devices via a daisy chained connection.
However, VB discloses:
wherein the operations further comprise connecting the host subscriber device to the group of the neighbor subscriber devices via a daisy chained connection ([10:17-26] fiber distribution terminal 220 is the start of a first daisy-chain of distribution terminals 220 within the multi-dwelling unit 200, see [FIG. 9]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Mansour-Rakib-Cui in view of VB to have connected the host subscriber device to the group of the neighbor subscriber devices via a daisy chained connection. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to have a splitter arrangement as a daisy-chain in a multi-dwelling unit (VB, [10:17-26]).
Claim(s) 8-9, 11-12, 14, 16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al. (US-9736022-B2) hereinafter Cui in view of Rakib (US-7007296-B2) further in view of Mansour et al. (US-12349040-B2) hereinafter Mansour.
Regarding claim 8, Cui discloses:
A non-transitory machine-readable medium ([8:12-26] tangible medium), comprising executable instructions ([8:12-26] instructions) that, when executed by a processing system including a processor ([8:12-26] performed using a processor … execution of the blocks), facilitate performance of operations ([8:12-26] process … performed using a processor), the operations comprising:
sending a subscription request as a host subscriber premises [7:64-8:11] after upgrading the subscriber line 112b of the subscriber premises 104b … subscriber profiles data structure 502 can be updated … indicate that the subscriber line 112b … provided using optical fiber, see [4:63-5:22] when upgraded communication services are requested or ordered for a particular one of the subscriber premises … replaced by an optical fiber transmission medium … to implement a fiber-on-the-premises (FTTP) [5:31-56] higher bandwidth capabilities (e.g., greater than 100 megabits-per-second (Mbps) as provided by optical fiber transmission media) [10:62-11:5] network interface 830 … DSL modem, cable modem, cellular modem, etc., see [10:28-35] example processor system … used to implement the example apparatus, methods, and articles of manufacture described herein, see also [FIG. 3] e.g. subscriber premises with device comprising a modem [FIG. 5]), wherein the host subscriber premises is connected to a fiber network via a wired connection ([7:64-8:11] after upgrading the subscriber line 112b of the subscriber premises 104b … subscriber profiles data structure 502 can be updated … indicate that the subscriber line 112b … provided using optical fiber, see [4:63-5:22] replaced by an optical fiber transmission medium … to implement a fiber-on-the-premises (FTTP) [5:31-56] higher bandwidth capabilities (e.g., greater than 100 megabits-per-second (Mbps) as provided by optical fiber transmission media), see also [FIG. 5]);
based on a host subscription agreement ([7:64-8:11] after upgrading the subscriber line 112b of the subscriber premises 104b … subscriber profiles data structure 502 can be updated … indicate that the subscriber line 112b … provided using optical fiber), receiving a predetermined fiber connection resource via the multiport modem ([4:63-5:22] replaced by an optical fiber transmission medium … to implement a fiber-on-the-premises (FTTP) [10:62-11:5] network interface 830 … DSL modem, cable modem, cellular modem, etc., see [10:28-35] example processor system … used to implement the example apparatus, methods, and articles of manufacture described herein, see also [FIG. 3] e.g. subscriber premises with device comprising a modem);
partitioning the predetermined fiber connection resource into multiple segments based on a dataset including a subscriber level ([5:31-55] track or maintain status records indicating subscriber distribution areas … that have been enabled for selective upgrading … and to keep status records indicating which individual subscriber premises have already been upgraded to optical fiber transmission media, see [FIG. 5] e.g. SUB-A via copper, SUB-B via fiber, SUB-C via copper, see also [FIG. 3] e.g. interfacing with subscriber premises (i.e. on respective segments of network on respective transmission cabling), a usage data pattern, real time data traffic information, or a combination thereof, which are associated with the first group of subscriber devices ([FIG. 5] e.g. SUB-A via copper, SUB-B via fiber, SUB-C via copper, see also [FIG. 3] e.g. interfacing with subscriber premises on respective slices of network on respective transmission cabling); and
distributing the multiple segments to the first group of subscriber devices via the multiport modem ([FIG. 2] service provider via fiber to ONU, then distributed to subscribers 104 a-c [FIG. 3] e.g. 104b upgrades to fiber to achieve full fiber bandwidth; however 112a still utilizes copper between the premises and ONU [10:62-11:5] network interface 830 … DSL modem, cable modem, cellular modem, etc., see [10:28-35] example processor system … used to implement the example apparatus, methods, and articles of manufacture described herein, see also [FIG. 3] e.g. subscriber premises with device comprising a modem (i.e., from the ONU to the premises via a modem), see also [FIG. 5]).
Cui does not explicitly disclose:
a host subscriber premises that houses a multiport modem;
identifying a first group of subscriber devices based on distance proximity to the host subscriber premises and connected to the fiber network via the multiport modem;
However, Rakib discloses:
a host subscriber premises that houses a multiport modem ([15:39-60] using a shared DSL concentrator and shared cable modem is shown which has the advantage of extending DSL technology beyond its current distance limits, see [10:9-24] software of an Ethernet Smart Switch is incorporated into the cable modem to drive 8 separate ports (i.e. multiport modem), see also [4:64-5:27] switch is coupled to a shared cable modem … in the premises of the subscribers);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cui in view of Rakib to have the host subscriber device include a multiport modem and located at a premises of a subscriber based on a subscriber agreement with a service provider for fiber connection networks. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to extend DSL technology beyond its current distance limits (Rakib, [15:39-60]).
Cui-Rakib do not explicitly disclose:
identifying a first group of subscriber devices based on distance proximity to the host subscriber premises and connected to the fiber network via the multiport modem;
However, Mansour discloses:
identifying a first group of subscriber devices based on distance proximity to the host subscriber premises and connected to the fiber network via the multiport modem ([5:5-12] identifying relay nodes 140a-c as being within range (i.e. predetermined threshold of within range) of donor access node 110, see [FIG. 3] IAB nodes 310a-c, extended via donor node 320, see also [1:40-55] Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) … increase capacity in areas where fiber may be difficult to deploy … IAB technology may be utilized to extend network reach);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cui-Rakib in view of Mansour to have identified a first group of subscriber devices based on the proximity to the host subscriber premises and connected to the fiber network via the multiport modem. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to allocate wireless air interface resources to relay nodes within range of donor access nodes such as to extend network reach (Mansour, [1:40-55] [5:5-12]).
Regarding claim 9, Cui-Rakib-Mansour disclose:
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 8, set forth above, wherein the operations further comprise
Cui-Rakib do not explicitly disclose:
identifying a second group of subscriber devices based on a distance limit to the host subscriber premises, wherein the first group of subscriber devices is located within the distance limit to the host subscriber premises.
However, Mansour discloses:
identifying a second group of subscriber devices based on a distance limit to the host subscriber premises ([5:5-12] identifying relay nodes 140a-c as being within range (i.e. predetermined threshold of within range) of donor access node 110, see [FIG. 3] IAB nodes 310a-c [5:13-27] end-user wireless devices 152, 154, 156 attached thereto (e.g., attached to relay nodes but out of range of node 110), see [FIG. 1]), wherein the first group of subscriber devices is located within the distance limit to the host subscriber premises ([5:5-12] identifying relay nodes 140a-c as being within range (i.e. predetermined threshold of within range) of donor access node 110, see [FIG. 3] IAB nodes 310a-c);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cui-Rakib in view of Mansour to have identified a second group of subscriber devices based on the proximity to the host subscriber premises, wherein the first group is within the distance limit. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to allocate wireless air interface resources to relay nodes within range of donor access nodes such as to extend network reach (Mansour, [1:40-55] [5:5-12]).
Regarding claim 11, Cui-Rakib-Mansour disclose:
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 9, set forth above,
Cui-Rakib does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the operations further comprise facilitating multiple hops of device-to-device communications to provide a broadband connection extension between the multiport modem and the second group of subscriber devices.
However, Mansour discloses:
wherein the operations further comprise facilitating multiple hops of device-to-device communications to provide a broadband connection extension between the multiport modem and the second group of subscriber devices ([5:60-6:22] network 101 … broadband, see [FIG. 1] e.g. 101 broadband via 5G core 108 via node 110 via relay 140a to devices 152, 154, 156, see also [7:49-8:2] fiber 170 (i.e., see [FIG. 1], wherein wireless multi-hop of device to device communications provide a broadband extension to the wired fiber network connected to the network 101)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cui-Rakib in view of Mansour to have facilitated multiple hops of device-to-device communications to provide a broadband connection extension between the multiport modem and the second group of subscriber devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to allocate wireless air interface resources to relay nodes within range of donor access nodes such as to extend network reach (Mansour, [1:40-55] [5:5-12]).
Regarding claim 12, Cui-Rakib-Mansour disclose:
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 9, wherein the identifying the second group of subscriber devices, set forth above, further comprises:
Cui-Rakib do not explicitly disclose:
identifying the second group of subscriber devices using user equipment grouping; and
differentiating the first group of subscriber devices from the second group of subscriber devices based on the user equipment grouping.
However, Mansour discloses:
identifying the second group of subscriber devices using user equipment grouping ([5:13-27] end-user wireless devices 152, 154, 156 attached thereto (e.g., attached to relay nodes), see [FIG. 1]); and
differentiating the first group of subscriber devices from the second group of subscriber devices based on the user equipment grouping ([FIG. 1] e.g. 140a-c are relay nodes and 152, 154, 156 are devices to be reached by relay nodes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cui-Rakib in view of Mansour to have identified and differentiated a second group of subscriber devices by user equipment grouping. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to allocate wireless air interface resources to relay nodes within range of donor access nodes such as to extend network reach (Mansour, [1:40-55] [5:5-12]).
Regarding claim 14, Cui discloses:
A method ([8:12-26] process), comprising:
identifying, by a processing system including a processor ([8:12-26] performed using a processor … execution of the blocks), a network location of a host subscriber premises ([FIG. 5] SUB-B, [FIG. 3] e.g. 104b (i.e. must be identified to upgrade to fiber)), wherein the host subscriber premises is connected to a fiber network via a wired connection ([7:64-8:11] after upgrading the subscriber line 112b of the subscriber premises 104b … subscriber profiles data structure 502 can be updated … indicate that the subscriber line 112b … provided using optical fiber, see [4:63-5:22] replaced by an optical fiber transmission medium … to implement a fiber-on-the-premises (FTTP) [5:31-56] higher bandwidth capabilities (e.g., greater than 100 megabits-per-second (Mbps) as provided by optical fiber transmission media), see also [FIG. 5]);
based on the network location of the host subscriber premises and a host subscription agreement ([7:64-8:11] after upgrading the subscriber line 112b of the subscriber premises 104b … subscriber profiles data structure 502 can be updated … indicate that the subscriber line 112b … provided using optical fiber), providing, by the processing system ([8:12-26] performed using a processor … execution of the blocks), a predetermined fiber connection resource to the host subscriber premises via the multiport modem ([4:63-5:22] replaced by an optical fiber transmission medium … to implement a fiber-on-the-premises (FTTP) [10:62-11:5] network interface 830 … DSL modem, cable modem, cellular modem, etc., see [10:28-35] example processor system … used to implement the example apparatus, methods, and articles of manufacture described herein, see also [FIG. 3] e.g. subscriber premises with device comprising a modem);
based on the identifying of the first group of subscriber devices and a subscription agreement of the first group of subscriber devices ([5:31-55] track or maintain status records indicating subscriber distribution areas … that have been enabled for selective upgrading … and to keep status records indicating which individual subscriber premises have already been upgraded to optical fiber transmission media, see [FIG. 5]), slicing, by the processing system ([8:12-26] performed using a processor … execution of the blocks), the predetermined fiber connection resource into multiple segments ([FIG. 5] e.g. SUB-A via copper, SUB-B via fiber, SUB-C via copper, see also [FIG. 3] e.g. interfacing with subscriber premises on respective slices of network on respective transmission cabling); and
distributing, by the processing system ([8:12-26] performed using a processor … execution of the blocks), the multiple segments to the identified first group of subscriber devices via the multiport modem ([FIG. 2] service provider via fiber to ONU, then distributed to subscribers 104 a-c [FIG. 3] e.g. 104b upgrades to fiber to achieve full fiber bandwidth; however 112a still utilizes copper between the premises and ONU [10:62-11:5] network interface 830 … DSL modem, cable modem, cellular modem, etc., see [10:28-35] example processor system … used to implement the example apparatus, methods, and articles of manufacture described herein, see also [FIG. 3] e.g. subscriber premises with device comprising a modem (i.e., from the ONU to the premises via a modem), see also [FIG. 5]).
Cui does not explicitly disclose:
a host subscriber premises that houses a multiport modem, wherein the host subscriber premises is connected to a fiber network via a wired connection based on a subscriber agreement with a service provider for fiber connection networks;
identifying, by the processing system, a first group of subscriber devices based on distance proximity to the host subscriber premises and connected to the fiber network via the multiport modem;
However, Rakib discloses:
a host subscriber premises that houses a multiport modem, wherein the host subscriber premises is connected to a fiber network via a wired connection based on a subscriber agreement with a service provider for fiber connection networks ([15:39-60] using a shared DSL concentrator and shared cable modem is shown which has the advantage of extending DSL technology beyond its current distance limits, see [10:9-24] software of an Ethernet Smart Switch is incorporated into the cable modem to drive 8 separate ports (i.e. multiport modem), see also [4:64-5:27] switch is coupled to a shared cable modem … in the premises of the subscribers (i.e. requires a subscriber agreement/subscription for subscribers to subscribe to the system, e.g. being a subscriber));
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cui in view of Rakib to have the host subscriber device include a multiport modem and located at a premises of a subscriber based on a subscriber agreement with a service provider for fiber connection networks. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to extend DSL technology beyond its current distance limits (Rakib, [15:39-60]).
Cui-Rakib do not explicitly disclose:
identifying, by the processing system, a first group of subscriber devices based on distance proximity to the host subscriber premises and connected to the fiber network via the multiport modem;
However, Mansour discloses:
identifying, by the processing system ([13:20-27] processor included in the access node or a processor included in any controller node), a first group of subscriber devices based on distance proximity to the host subscriber premises and connected to the fiber network via the multiport modem ([5:5-12] identifying relay nodes 140a-c as being within range (i.e. predetermined threshold of within range) of donor access node 110, see [FIG. 3] IAB nodes 310a-c, extended via donor node 320, see also [1:40-55] Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) … increase capacity in areas where fiber may be difficult to deploy … IAB technology may be utilized to extend network reach);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cui-Rakib in view of Mansour to have identified a first group of subscriber devices based on the proximity to the host subscriber premises and connected to the fiber network via the multiport modem. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to allocate wireless air interface resources to relay nodes within range of donor access nodes such as to extend network reach (Mansour, [1:40-55] [5:5-12]).
Regarding claim 16, Cui-Rakib-Mansour disclose:
The method of claim 14, set forth above, further comprising:
Cui-Rakib do not explicitly disclose:
identifying, by the processing system, a second group of subscriber devices based on a distance limit to the host subscriber premises, wherein the distance limit does not facilitate a wired connection to the host subscriber premises.
However, Mansour discloses:
identifying, by the processing system ([13:20-27] processor included in the access node or a processor included in any controller node), a second group of subscriber devices based on a distance limit to the host subscriber premises ([5:5-12] identifying relay nodes 140a-c as being within range (i.e. predetermined threshold of within range) of donor access node 110, see [FIG. 3] IAB nodes 310a-c [5:13-27] end-user wireless devices 152, 154, 156 attached thereto (e.g., attached to relay nodes but out of range of node 110), see [FIG. 1]), wherein the distance limit does not facilitate a wired connection to the host subscriber premises ([FIG. 1] e.g. devices 152, 154, 156, are not directly connected to network 101 via fiber 170 where out of range and requiring relay nodes 140a-c, see also [5:5-12]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cui-Rakib in view of Mansour to have identified a second group of subscriber devices based on the proximity to the host subscriber premises not facilitating a wired connection to the host subscriber premises. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to allocate wireless air interface resources to relay nodes within range of donor access nodes such as to extend network reach (Mansour, [1:40-55] [5:5-12]).
Regarding claim 18, Cui-Rakib-Mansour disclose:
The method of claim 16, set forth above, further comprising:
Cui-Rakib do not explicitly disclose:
facilitating multiple hops of device-to-device communications to provide a broadband connection extension between the multiport modem and the second group of subscriber devices.
However, Mansour discloses:
facilitating multiple hops of device-to-device communications to provide a broadband connection extension between the multiport modem and the second group of subscriber devices ([5:60-6:22] network 101 … broadband, see [FIG. 1] e.g. 101 broadband via 5G core 108 via node 110 via relay 140a to devices 152, 154, 156, see also [7:49-8:2] fiber 170 (i.e., see [FIG. 1], wherein wireless multi-hop of device to device communications provide a broadband extension to the wired fiber network connected to the network 101)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cui-Rakib in view of Mansour to have facilitated multiple hops of device-to-device communications to provide a broadband connection extension between the multiport modem and the second group of subscriber devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to allocate wireless air interface resources to relay nodes within range of donor access nodes such as to extend network reach (Mansour, [1:40-55] [5:5-12]).
Regarding claim 19, Cui-Rakib-Mansour disclose:
The method of claim 14, wherein the providing the predetermined fiber connection resource, set forth above, further comprises
Cui discloses:
providing elevated fiber bandwidth to the multiport modem ([7:64-8:11] after upgrading the subscriber line 112b of the subscriber premises 104b … subscriber profiles data structure 502 can be updated … indicate that the subscriber line 112b … provided using optical fiber, see [4:63-5:22] replaced by an optical fiber transmission medium … to implement a fiber-on-the-premises (FTTP) [5:31-56] higher bandwidth capabilities (e.g., greater than 100 megabits-per-second (Mbps) as provided by optical fiber transmission media), see [10:28-35] example processor system … used to implement the example apparatus, methods, and articles of manufacture described herein, see also [FIG. 3] e.g. subscriber premises with device comprising a modem (i.e., from the ONU to the premises via a modem), see also [FIG. 5]), and
the multiple segments indicate different levels of access to the elevated fiber bandwidth by the first group of subscriber devices ([FIG. 2] service provider via fiber to ONU, then distributed to subscribers 104 a-c [FIG. 3] e.g. 104b upgrades to fiber to achieve full fiber bandwidth; however 112a still utilizes copper between the premises and ONU, see also [FIG. 5]).
Claim(s) 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al. (US-9736022-B2) hereinafter Cui in view of Rakib (US-7007296-B2) further in view of Mansour et al. (US-12349040-B2) hereinafter Mansour further in view of Ganesan et al. (US-20250220629-A1) hereinafter Ganesan.
Regarding claim 10, Cui-Rakib-Mansour disclose:
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 9, set forth above,
Cui-Rakib-Mansour do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the operations further comprise facilitating a side link wireless connection between the host subscriber premises and the second group of subscriber devices via the multiport modem.
However, Ganesan discloses:
wherein the operations further comprise facilitating a side link wireless connection between the host subscriber premises and the second group of subscriber devices via the multiport modem ([0015] sidelink communication in a wireless communications system is utilized for device-to-device communication as a way to extend network coverage in areas that may be out of range and/or not directly covered by the system [0076] transceiver 408 may also include a modem to modulate the packets, to provide the modulated packets to one or more antennas 412 for transmission, see [FIG. 1] e.g. sidelink 114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cui-Rakib-Mansour in view of Ganesan to have facilitated a sidelink between the host and second group of subscriber devices via the multiport modem. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to extend network coverage in areas that may be out of range and/or not directly covered by the system (Ganesan, [0015]).
Regarding claim 17, Cui-Rakib-Mansour disclose:
The method of claim 16, set forth above, further comprising:
Cui-Rakib-Mansour do not explicitly disclose:
facilitating, by the processing system, a side link wireless connection between the host subscriber premises and the second group of subscriber devices in a form of device to device communication.
However, Ganesan discloses:
facilitating, by the processing system ([0020] system), a side link wireless connection between the host subscriber premises and the second group of subscriber devices in a form of device to device communication ([0015] sidelink communication in a wireless communications system is utilized for device-to-device communication as a way to extend network coverage in areas that may be out of range and/or not directly covered by the system [0076] transceiver 408 may also include a modem to modulate the packets, to provide the modulated packets to one or more antennas 412 for transmission, see [FIG. 1] e.g. sidelink 114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cui-Rakib-Mansour in view of Ganesan to have facilitated a sidelink between the host and second group of subscriber devices in a form of device to device communication. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to extend network coverage in areas that may be out of range and/or not directly covered by the system (Ganesan, [0015]).
Claim(s) 13, 15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al. (US-9736022-B2) hereinafter Cui in view of Rakib (US-7007296-B2) further in view of Mansour et al. (US-12349040-B2) hereinafter Mansour further in view of Li et al. (US-11212188-B2) hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 13, Cui-Rakib-Mansour disclose:
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 9, set forth above,
Cui-Rakib-Mansour do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the operations further comprise adjusting the partitioning of the multiple segments using a machine learning algorithm, wherein the machine learning algorithm is trained based on the dataset and configured to output a usage data pattern forecast and a real time data traffic forecast of the first group of subscriber devices.
However, Li discloses:
wherein the operations further comprise adjusting the partitioning of the multiple segments using a machine learning algorithm ([25:20-38] network optimization … based on one or more network optimization recommendations … based on information from multiple layers of the system … improve network performance … network optimization plans … e.g., adding fibers, strengthening fiber back-haul … balancing demands and capacity … generated using a machine-learning (ML) model), wherein the machine learning algorithm is trained based on the dataset and configured to output a usage data pattern forecast and a real time data traffic forecast of the first group of subscriber devices ([25:20-38] trained based on historical data … generate network optimization plans … balancing demands and capacity … recommendation (i.e. outputting a demand and capacity of the system based on the ML; e.g. usage and traffic)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cui-Rakib-Mansour in view of Li to have adjusted the partitioning the multiple segments based on the received dataset using a machine learning algorithm. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to optimize the communication based on information from multiple layers of the system as generated by a ML model (Li, [25:20-38]).
Regarding claim 15, Cui-Rakib-Mansour disclose:
The method of claim 14, set forth above, further comprising:
Cui discloses:
collecting, by the processing system ([8:12-26] performed using a processor … execution of the blocks), from the first group of subscriber devices, a dataset including a subscriber level ([13:20-27] processor included in the access node or a processor included in any controller node), a usage data pattern, real time data traffic information, or a combination thereof; and
Cui does not explicitly disclose:
optimizing, by the processing system, the multiple segments based on the collected dataset using a machine learning algorithm.
However, Li discloses:
optimizing, by the processing system ([25:20-38] system), the multiple segments based on the collected dataset using a machine learning algorithm ([25:20-38] network optimization … based on one or more network optimization recommendations … based on information from multiple layers of the system … improve network performance … network optimization plans … e.g., adding fibers, strengthening fiber back-haul … balancing demands and capacity … generated using a machine-learning (ML) model).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cui in view of Li to have optimized the multiple segments based on the received dataset using a machine learning algorithm. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to optimize the communication based on information from multiple layers of the system as generated by a ML model (Li, [25:20-38]).
Regarding claim 20, Cui-Rakib-Mansour disclose:
The method of claim 19, set forth above, further comprising:
Cui-Rakib-Mansour do not explicitly disclose:
automating, by the processing system, adjustment of the elevated fiber bandwidth and the slicing into the multiple segments using a machine learning algorithm based on usage patterns, real time data traffic, priority levels of the first group of subscriber devices or a combination thereof.
However, Li discloses:
automating, by the processing system ([25:20-38] system), adjustment of the elevated fiber bandwidth and the slicing into the multiple segments using a machine learning algorithm based on usage patterns ([25:20-38] network optimization … based on one or more network optimization recommendations … based on information from multiple layers of the system … improve network performance … network optimization plans … e.g., adding fibers, strengthening fiber back-haul … balancing demands and capacity … generated using a machine-learning (ML) model ... trained based on historical data … generate network optimization plans … balancing demands and capacity … recommendation (i.e. outputting a demand and capacity of the system based on the ML; e.g. usage and traffic)), real time data traffic, priority levels of the first group of subscriber devices or a combination thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Cui-Rakib-Mansour in view of Li to have adjusted the partitioning the multiple segments based on the received dataset using a machine learning algorithm. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so to optimize the communication based on information from multiple layers of the system as generated by a ML model (Li, [25:20-38]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lu et al. (US-20170196015-A1) NODES AND METHODS THEREIN FOR TRANSMISSION RESOURCES ALLOCATION IN A WIRELESS COMMUNICATIONS NETWORK;
Alba et al. (US-11962343-B1) METHOD FOR IDENTIFYING AND HIGHLIGHTING AVAILABLE FIBERS IN A FIBER DISTRIBUTION HUB;
Rofougaran et al. (US-12402017-B1) VIRTUAL FIBER COMMUNICATION SYSTEM AND METHOD OF SPECTRUM SHARING IN THE VIRTUAL FIBER COMMUNICATION SYSTEM.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alex Tran/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453