DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 9, 12, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. 2017/0280450 to Jeong et al (hereinafter Jeong) in view of US Pub. 2022/0141680 to Min et al. (hereinafter Min).
In regard claim 1, Jeong teaches or discloses a method of an access point (AP), the method comprising:
configuring, by a processor, a first time slot (TS) for a first station (STA) (see paragraph [0170], the first terminal STA 1 is configured to, when the first time slot of the second RAW (RAW 2) is allocated thereto, transmit a first HNR frame to the AP in the first time slot (S400));
configuring, by the processor, a second TS for a second STA (see paragraphs [0171], the second terminal STA 2 is configured to, when the second time slot of the second RAW (RAW 2) is allocated thereto, transmit a second HNR frame to the AP in the second time slot (S420));
transmitting, by the processor, a first data frame for the first STA in the first TS (see paragraph [0163], when the first time slot of the first RAW (RAW 1) is allocated to the first terminal STA 1, STA 1 may transmit a first HND frame in the first time slot), and
transmitting, by the processor, a second data frame for the second STA in a transmission period including the second TS (see paragraph [0164], when the second time slot of the first RAW (RAW 1) is allocated to the second terminal STA 2, STA 2 may transmit a second HND frame in the second time slot).
Jeong may not explicitly teach or disclose wherein the first TS and the second TS are sequentially configured within a restricted target wake time (rTWT) service period (SP).
However, Min teaches or discloses wherein the first TS and the second TS are sequentially configured within a restricted target wake time (rTWT) service period (SP) (see paragraphs [0157], and [0158], the electronic device 101 or the external electronic device 205 may identify the time during which access of the electronic device 101 and the external electronic device 205 to the wireless medium is restricted in the TWT service period).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify method for alleviating hidden node problem in WLAN system of Jeong by including the first TS and the second TS are sequentially configured within a restricted target wake time (rTWT) service period (SP) suggested by Min. This modification would provide to prevent an increase in latency due to data retransmission read in paragraph [0015].
In regard claims 2 and 13, Jeong teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the configuring of the first TS for the first STA includes:
wherein at least one of the TWT setup request frame or the TWT setup response
frame includes offset information and duration information of the first TS (see paragraph [0016], setting a restricted access window that is located in a beacon interval and is used for channel access between terminals, setting a time offset between a first sub-restricted access window and a second sub-restricted access window included in the restricted access window), and the offset information indicates an offset from a start time of the rTWT SP to a start time of the first TS (see paragraph [0016], setting a restricted access window that is located in a beacon interval and is used for channel access between terminals, setting a time offset between a first sub-restricted access window and a second sub-restricted access window included in the restricted access window).
Jeong may not explicitly teach or disclose receiving a TWT setup request frame from the first STA; and transmitting a TWT setup response frame to the first STA in response to the TWT setup request frame.
However, Min teaches or discloses receiving a TWT setup request frame from the first STA (see paragraph [0188], the message (e.g., the TWT request frame and/or the TWT response frame) may be received by the counterpart device, and the TWT service period of the electronic device 101 and the external electronic device 205 may be rescheduled); and
transmitting a TWT setup response frame to the first STA in response to the TWT
setup request frame (see paragraph [0188], the message (e.g., the TWT request frame and/or the TWT response frame) may be received by the counterpart device, and the TWT service period of the electronic device 101 and the external electronic device 205 may be rescheduled).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify method for alleviating hidden node problem in WLAN system of Jeong by including receiving a TWT setup request frame from the first STA; and transmitting a TWT setup response frame to the first STA in response to the TWT setup request frame suggested by Min. This modification would provide to prevent an increase in latency due to data retransmission read in paragraph [0015].
In regard claims 4 and 15, Jeong teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each of the first data frame and the second data frame is transmitted after a channel access procedure succeeds (see paragraphs [0170], and [0171], transmit a first HNR frame to the AP in the first time slot (S400). Transmit a second HNR frame to the AP in the second time slot (S420)).
In regard claim 8, Jeong teaches or discloses a method of a station (STA), the method comprising:
wherein the TS is configured within a restricted TWT (rTWT) service period (SP) (see paragraphs [0014], [0015], [0022], [0028], [0029], and [0040], the first restricted access window may include at least one time slot, and different terminals may be allocated to respective time slots. Acquiring a time slot allocated to the terminal based on setting information of a first restricted access window. An access point that divides a service space into sectors and manage the sectors may set the sounding RAW field of restricted access window (RAW) parameter set (RPS) information so as to allocate a terminal to a specific sector so as to allocate a terminal to a specific sector); and
receiving a data frame from the AP within a time slot (TS) configured by exchanging the TWT setup request frame and the TWT setup response frame (see paragraphs [0090], [0103], and [0104], the terminals STA 1 and STA 2 are maintained in an awake state to receive data from the AP);
Jeong may not explicitly teach or disclose transmitting a target wake time (TWT) setup request frame to an access point (AP) and receiving a TWT setup response frame from the AP in response to the TWT setup request frame.
However, Min teaches or discloses transmitting a target wake time (TWT) setup request frame to an access point (AP) (see paragraph [0101], the external electronic device 205 may transmit a message requesting TWT setup (e.g., a TWT request frame 501) to the electronic device 101) and receiving a TWT setup response frame from the AP in response to the TWT setup request frame (see paragraphs [0101], if the message requesting TWT setup (e.g., the TWT request frame 501) is received, the electronic device 101 may transmit a response message (e.g., a TWT response frame 503) including information on the parameters for the TWT service period. For example, the parameters for the TWT service period may include at least one of a target wake time 505, a TWT wake duration 507, and/or a TWT wake interval 509).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify method for alleviating hidden node problem in WLAN system of Jeong by including transmitting a target wake time (TWT) setup request frame to an access point (AP) and receiving a TWT setup response frame from the AP in response to the TWT setup request frame suggested by Min. This modification would provide to prevent an increase in latency due to data retransmission read in paragraph [0015].
In regard claim 9, Jeong may not explicitly teach or disclose the method of claim 8, wherein at least one of the TWT setup request frame or the TWT setup response frame includes offset information and duration information of the TS, and the offset information indicates an offset from a start time of the rTWT SP to a start time of the TS.
However, Min teaches or discloses wherein at least one of the TWT setup request frame or the TWT setup response frame includes offset information and duration information of the TS, and the offset information indicates an offset from a start time of the rTWT SP to a start time of the TS (see paragraphs [0100], and [0101], the external electronic device 205 may operate as a device (e.g., a TWT requesting STA) that requests the TWT setup, and the electronic device 101, which is a computing host, may operate as a device (e.g., a TWT responding STA) that responds to the TWT setup. The external electronic device 205 may operate as a device (e.g., a TWT responding STA) that responds to the TWT setup, and the electronic device 101 may operate as a device (e.g., a TWT requesting STA) that requests the TWT setup).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify method for alleviating hidden node problem in WLAN system of Jeong by including at least one of the TWT setup request frame or the TWT setup response frame includes offset information and duration information of the TS, and the offset information indicates an offset from a start time of the rTWT SP to a start time of the TS suggested by Min. This modification would provide to prevent an increase in latency due to data retransmission read in paragraph [0015].
In regard claim 12, Jeong teaches or discloses an access point (AP) (see Fig. 2) comprising:
a processor (see Fig. 2); and
a memory storing one or more instructions executable by the processor (see Fig. 2),
wherein the one or more instructions are executed by the processor to perform (see Fig. 2):
configuring a first time slot (TS) for a first station (STA) (see paragraph [0170], the first terminal STA 1 is configured to, when the first time slot of the second RAW (RAW 2) is allocated thereto, transmit a first HNR frame to the AP in the first time slot (S400));
configuring a second TS for a second STA (see paragraphs [0171], the second terminal STA 2 is configured to, when the second time slot of the second RAW (RAW 2) is allocated thereto, transmit a second HNR frame to the AP in the second time slot (S420));
transmitting a first data frame for the first STA in the first TS (see paragraph [0163], when the first time slot of the first RAW (RAW 1) is allocated to the first terminal STA 1, STA 1 may transmit a first HND frame in the first time slot); and
transmitting a second data frame for the second STA in a transmission period including the second TS (see paragraph [0164], when the second time slot of the first RAW (RAW 1) is allocated to the second terminal STA 2, STA 2 may transmit a second HND frame in the second time slot).
Jeong may not explicitly teach or disclose wherein the first TS and the second TS are sequentially configured within a restricted target wake time (rTWT) service period (SP).
However, Min teaches or discloses wherein the first TS and the second TS are sequentially configured within a restricted target wake time (rTWT) service period (SP) (see paragraphs [0157], and [0158], the electronic device 101 or the external electronic device 205 may identify the time during which access of the electronic device 101 and the external electronic device 205 to the wireless medium is restricted in the TWT service period).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify method for alleviating hidden node problem in WLAN system of Jeong by including the first TS and the second TS are sequentially configured within a restricted target wake time (rTWT) service period (SP) suggested by Min. This modification would provide to prevent an increase in latency due to data retransmission read in paragraph [0015].
Claims 3, 6, 7, 10, 11, 14, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of Min as applied to claims above, and further in view of US Pub. 2023/0104446 to Ajami et al. (hereinafter Ajami).
In regard claims 3, 10, and 14, Jeong and Min may not explicitly teach or disclose the method of claim 2, wherein X bits in a nominal minimum TWT wake duration included in the TWT setup request frame or the TWT setup response frame indicate the offset information, y bits in the nominal minimum TWT wake duration indicate the duration information, and X and y are each natural numbers.
However, Ajami teaches or discloses wherein X bits in a nominal minimum TWT wake duration included in the TWT setup request frame or the TWT setup response frame indicate the offset information, y bits in the nominal minimum TWT wake duration indicate the duration information, and X and y are each natural numbers (see paragraphs [0061], [0065], [0071], [0079], and [0175], the broadcast TWT Parameter Set field 1910 may include a Request Type field 1912, a Target Wake Time field 1914, a Nominal Minimum TWT Wake Duration field 1916, a TWT Wake Interval Mantissa field 1917, and a Broadcast TWT Info field 1918. The Request Type field 1912 indicates a type of TWT session requested. The Target Wake Time field 1914 carries an unsigned integer corresponding to a TSF time at which the STA requests to wake. The Nominal Minimum TWT Wake Duration field 1916 indicates the minimum amount of time that the TWT requesting STA or TWT scheduled STA is expected remain in an awake state or mode).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify method for alleviating hidden node problem in WLAN system of Jeong and electronic device performing rescheduling over wireless channel and method for controlling of Min by including X bits in a nominal minimum TWT wake duration included in the TWT setup request frame or the TWT setup response frame indicate the offset information, y bits in the nominal minimum TWT wake duration indicate the duration information, and X and y are each natural numbers suggested by Ajami. This modification would provide to ensure WLANs are able to meet latency, throughput, and timing requirements.
In regard claims 6 and 17, Jeong and Min may not explicitly teach or disclose the method of claim 1, wherein padding is added to the first data frame so that a transmission procedure of the second data frame starts after a start time of the second TS.
However, Ajami teaches or discloses wherein padding is added to the first data frame so that a transmission procedure of the second data frame starts after a start time of the second TS (see paragraphs [0071], [0072], [0180], each MSDU subframe 424 contains a corresponding MSDU 426 including a subframe header 428, a frame body 430, and one or more padding bits 432. Each A-MPDU subframe 408 may also include a frame check sequence (FCS) field 418 for error detection. For example, the FCS field 418 may include a cyclic redundancy check (CRC), and may be followed by one or more padding bits 420. The Padding field 2007 may extend a length of the trigger frame 2000, for example, to give a receiving device additional time to generate a response. The FCS field 2008 may store a frame check sequence (such as for error detection)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify method for alleviating hidden node problem in WLAN system of Jeong and electronic device performing rescheduling over wireless channel and method for controlling of Min by including padding is added to the first data frame so that a transmission procedure of the second data frame starts after a start time of the second TS suggested by Ajami. This modification would provide to ensure WLANs are able to meet latency, throughput, and timing requirements.
In regard claims 7 and 18, Jeong and Min may not explicitly teach or disclose the method of claim 1, wherein a header of the first data frame includes information indicating to add padding to a reception response frame for the first data frame.
However, Ajami teaches or discloses a header of the first data frame includes information indicating to add padding to a reception response frame for the first data frame (see paragraphs [0071], [0072], and [0180], each MSDU subframe 424 contains a corresponding MSDU 426 including a subframe header 428, a frame body 430, and one or more padding bits 432. Each A-MPDU subframe 408 may also include a frame check sequence (FCS) field 418 for error detection. For example, the FCS field 418 may include a cyclic redundancy check (CRC), and may be followed by one or more padding bits 420. The Padding field 2007 may extend a length of the trigger frame 2000, for example, to give a receiving device additional time to generate a response. The FCS field 2008 may store a frame check sequence (such as for error detection)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify method for alleviating hidden node problem in WLAN system of Jeong and electronic device performing rescheduling over wireless channel and method for controlling of Min by including a header of the first data frame includes information indicating to add padding to a reception response frame for the first data frame suggested by Ajami. This modification would provide to ensure WLANs are able to meet latency, throughput, and timing requirements.
In regard claim 11, Jeong teaches or discloses the method of claim 8, further including: transmitting a reception response frame for the data frame to the AP (see paragraph0 [0081], an association response frame, a reassociation request frame, a reassociation response frame, a probe request frame, a probe response frame, a beacon frame, an authentication frame, an action frame, etc.).
Jeong and Min may not explicitly teach or disclose wherein in a situation that a header of the data frame includes information indicating to add padding to the reception response frame for the data frame, the padding is added to the reception response frame.
However, Ajami teaches or discloses wherein in a situation that a header of the data frame includes information indicating to add padding to the reception response frame for the data frame, the padding is added to the reception response frame (see paragraphs [0071], and [0072], each MPDU subframe 408 may include a MAC delimiter 412 and a MAC header 414 prior to the accompanying frame body 416, which includes the data portion or “payload” of the MPDU subframe 408. Each MSDU subframe 424 contains a corresponding MSDU 426 including a subframe header 428, a frame body 430, and one or more padding bits 432. Each A-MPDU subframe 408 may also include a frame check sequence (FCS) field 418 for error detection. For example, the FCS field 418 may include a cyclic redundancy check (CRC), and may be followed by one or more padding bits 420).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify method for alleviating hidden node problem in WLAN system of Jeong and electronic device perfoeming rescheduling over wireless channel and method for controlling of Min by including a header of the data frame includes information indicating to add padding to the reception response frame for the data frame, the padding is added to the reception response frame suggested by Ajami. This modification would provide to ensure WLANs are able to meet latency, throughput, and timing requirements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PHIRIN SAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476