DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of “an insulation barrier”, “circuit components of the second measurement channel” and “circuit components of the first measurement channel as recited in claim 12, the feature of “a set of control relays” as recited in claims 9 and 17, the feature of “a first portion in a circuit” and “a second different portion in a circuit “ as recited in claim 20 and the feature of “a first portion in a circuit” and “a second different portion in a circuit “ as recited in claim 21 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 23, lines 1-2, “the control unit” should be “the control mechanism”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3,9,11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (Pat# 6,271,654).
As to claim 1, Chen discloses a handheld measurement device as shown in figures 5-6, comprising: a first measurement channel (CH1) configured to measure an electrical parameter of an object and determine a first measurement value, the first measurement channel including a first common terminal (18); a second measurement channel (CH2) configured to measure an electrical parameter of an object and determine a second measurement value, the second measurement channel including a second common terminal (19) that is separate from the first common terminal (18), and the second measurement channel (CH2) being electrically isolated from the first measurement channel; a processing unit (30) electrically coupled to both the first measurement channel (CH1) and the second measurement channel (CH2) and configured to receive the first measurement value and the second measurement value; and a display (11) electrically coupled to the processing unit (30) and configured to present one or more of the first measurement value or the second measurement value, or a combination thereof.
As to claim 3, Chen discloses a handheld measuring device as mentioned in claim 1 and wherein the first measurement channel (CH1) and the second measurement channel (CH2) are configured to measure the electrical parameters of the objects concurrently.
As to claim 9, Chen discloses a handheld measurement system as mentioned in claims 1 having a control rotary (13) and a set of control relays (14), wherein the control rotary (13) is coupled to the first measurement channel (CH1) and the set of control relays (14) are coupled to the second measurement channel (CH2).
As to claim 11, Chen discloses a handheld measuring device as mentioned in claim 1 wherein the display (11) is configured to display a graphic presentation of one or more of the first measurement value or the second measurement value, or a combination thereof.
As to claim 13, Chen discloses a handheld measuring device as mentioned in claim 1,wherein the second measurement channel (CH2) is spaced apart from the first measurement channel (CH1).
As to claim 14, Chen discloses a handheld measuring device as mentioned in claim 1 including a master switch (13,14) configured to control measurement selection and signal path of the first measurement channel and the second measurement channel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6,8,10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (Pat# 6,271,654).
As to claim 4, Chen discloses a handheld measurement system as mentioned in claim 1 but Chen does not explicitly mention about the first measurement channel and the second measurement channel are configured to measure electrical parameters of a same object. However, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to configure to measure electrical parameters of a same object for the purpose of analyzing different parameters of the object on the display without effecting the structure of the handheld measurement system.
As to claim 5, as soon as the handheld measurement system of Chen performs the electrical parameters of a same object as mentioned in claim 4, it would have been obvious that the first measurement channel (CH1) and the second measurement channel (CH2) are configured to measure a first electrical parameter and a second different electrical parameter of the same object.
As to claim 6, Chen discloses a handheld measurement system as mentioned in claims 1 and 4-5 having a processing unit (30). Chen does not explicitly mention about processing unit (30) is configured to obtain a third electrical parameter of the same object based on the first measurement value and the second measurement value. In the case, the first channel (CH1) is configured to measure a current of the object and the second channel (CH2) is configured to measure a voltage of the object and these measured signals are provided to the processing unit (30). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to derive a calculated resistance as a third electrical parameter of the object based on the ratio of the measured voltage and measured current.
As to claim 8, Chen discloses a handheld measurement system as mentioned in claims 1 and 5-6 but Chen does not explicitly mention about the first measurement value includes a first sequence of measurement values and the second measurement value includes a second sequence of measurement values, and wherein the processing unit (30) is configured to conduct data interpolation on one or more of the first sequence of measurement values and the second sequence of measurement values. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have the first and second measurement value obtaining by the processing unit (30) including first and second sequence of measurement values for the purpose of conducting interpolation on one or more of the first sequence of measurement values and the second sequence of measurement values and for the purpose of accurately obtaining and analyzing the measurement values.
As to claim 10, Chen discloses a handheld measurement system as mentioned in claim 1 but Chen does not mention about the first measurement channel (CH1) and the second measurement channel (CH2) are configured to measure a same electrical parameter with different measurement granular levels. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to configure both first and second channels with different measurement granular level for the purpose of analyzing the electrical parameter with a highest level of details.
As to claim 12, Chen discloses a handheld measurement system as mentioned in claim 1 but Chen does not mention about an insulation barrier between circuit components of the second measurement channel and circuit components of the first measurement channel. It is noted that the first measurement channel (CH1) and the second measurement channel (CH2) are separated by an air space and it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to consider that air space is an insulation barrier between circuit components (14) of the second measurement channel (CH2) and circuit components (13) of the first measurement channel (CH1) for the purpose of preventing shorting circuit between the first and second measurement channels (CH1,CH2).
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (Pat# 6,271,654) as applied to claims 1 and 4-6 above, and further in view of Kojovic et al (Pat# 7,535,233)
As to claims 2 and 7, Chen discloses a handheld measurement system as mentioned in claims 1 and 4-6 but Chen does not mention about the processing unit is configured to assign a time stamp to each of the first measurement value and the second measurement value, respectively.
Kojovic et al teach that it is well known in the art to have processor (336,336) providing time stamp (see column 7, lines 39-42).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the processing unit (30) in the device of Chen et al providing time stamp as taught by Kojovic et al for the purpose of tracking the time of the measurement values.
Claims 15-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (Pat# 6,271,654).
As to claim 15, Chen discloses a handheld measurement system as shown in figures 5-6 , comprising: a body (10), the body including: a first measurement channel CH1) configured to measure an electrical parameter of an object and determine a first measurement value, the first measurement channel (CH1) including a first common terminal (18) ; a second measurement channel (CH2) configured to measure an electrical parameter of an object and determine a second measurement value, the second measurement channel including a second common terminal (19) that is separate from the first common terminal (18), and the second measurement channel (CH2) being electrically isolated from the first measurement channel (CH1); and a user interface, the user interface including: a display (11) configured to present one or more of the first measurement value and the second measurement value, or a combination thereof; a first control unit (13,202) coupled to the first measurement channel CH1); and a second control unit (14,203) coupled to the second measurement channel (CH2). Chen does not explicitly mention about a first set of measurement terminals coupled to the first measurement channel and a second set of measurement terminals coupled to the second measurement channel, the second set of measurement terminals each separate from the first set of measurement terminals. However, Chen teaches that first and second channels (CH1, CH2) are connected to corresponding objects via probes/leads (see column 3, lines 23-26).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to consider those probes are first and second sets measurement terminals coupled to the first and second measurement channel (CH1, CH2) for the purpose of receiving the measured signals from the objects for analyzing.
As to claim 16, Chen discloses a handheld measurement system as mentioned in claim 15 further includes a processing unit (30) electrically coupled to both the first measurement channel (CH1) and the second measurement channel (CH2) and configured to receive the first measurement value and the second measurement value.
As to claim 17, Chen discloses a handheld measurement system as mentioned in claim 15 the first control unit is a control rotary (13) and the second control unit is a set of control relays (14)
As to claim 18, Chen discloses a handheld measurement system as shown in figures 5-6 having a first measurement terminal (16) for measuring a first electrical parameter, a first common terminal (18) of a first measurement channel (CH1) of a handheld measurement device, a second measurement terminal (17), a second common terminal (19) of a second measurement channel (CH2) of the handheld measurement device, the second measurement terminal (17) and the second common terminal (19) different from the first measurement terminal (16) and the first common terminal (18) , respectively, wherein a processing unit (30) electrically coupled to both the first measurement channel (CH1) and the second measurement channel (CH2) receives a first measurement value of the first measurement channel (CH1) and a second measurement value of the second measurement channel (CH2); and causing a display (11) electrically coupled to the processing unit to present one or more of the first measurement value, the second measurement value, or a combination thereof, on the display (11). It appears that the second measurement terminal (17) and the second common terminal (19) are different from the first measurement terminal (16) and the first common terminal (18). Chen does not explicitly mention about measuring a first electrical parameter using a first test lead coupled to a first measurement terminal (16) and the first common terminal (18) of a first measurement channel CH1); using a second test lead coupled to a second measurement terminal ((17) and a second common terminal (19) of a second measurement channel (CH2). However, Chen teaches that first and second channels (CH1, CH2) are connected to corresponding objects via probes/leads (see column 3, lines 23-26).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to consider those probes are first and second test leads coupled to a first measurement terminal (16) and the first common terminal (18) of a first measurement channel CH1) and second test lead coupled to a second measurement terminal ((17) and a second common terminal (19) of a second measurement channel (CH2).
As to claim 19, Chen discloses a handheld measurement system as mentioned in claim 18 but Chen does not explicitly mention about the first electrical parameter is a current flowing through an object, the second electrical parameter is a voltage of the object, and wherein the processing unit calculates a resistance of the object based on the first measurement value and the second measurement value. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have the first measured electrical parameter vias the first channel (CH1) is a current and the second measured parameter via the second channel (CH2) is a voltage and the processing unit is configured to calculates a resistance of the object based on the first measurement value and the second measurement value.
As to claim 20, Chen discloses a handheld measurement system as mentioned in claim 18 but Chen does not explicitly mention about the measuring the first electrical parameter using the first test lead includes measuring a first electrical characteristic of a first object, and the measuring the second electrical parameter using the second test lead includes measuring the second electrical characteristic of a second different object, and comparing the first measurement value and the second measurement value as shown in the same display. It is noted that Chen mentions that first and second channels (CH1, CH2) are connected to corresponding objects via probes for measuring the signals from the objects (see column 3, lines 23-26). It is noted that “measuring a first portion in a circuit” and “measuring a second different portion in the circuit” are read as “measuring a first electrical characteristic of a first object” and “measuring the second electrical characteristic of a second different object”.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to consider the probes are the first and second test leads for measuring first and second electrical characteristics of first and second objects and these measured signals are displayed on the same display (11) for the purpose of visually comparing.
As to claim 21, Chen discloses a handheld measurement system as mentioned in claim 18 but Chen does not explicitly mention about the measuring the first electrical parameter using the first test lead includes measuring a first electrical characteristic of a first object, and the measuring the second electrical parameter using the second test lead includes measuring the first electrical characteristic of a second different object, and comparing the first measurement value and the second measurement value as shown in the same display. It is noted that Chen mentions that first and second channels (CH1, CH2) are connected to corresponding objects via probes for measuring the signals from the objects (see column 3, lines 23-26).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to consider the probes are the first and second test leads for measuring first and second electrical characteristics of first and second objects and these measured signals are displayed on the same display (11) for the purpose of visually comparing.
As to claim 22, Chen discloses a handheld measurement system as mentioned in claim 18 having a first control mechanism (13) is used for controlling a first measurement mode selection and wherein a second control mechanism (14) is used for controlling a first measurement mode selection.
As to claim 23, Chen discloses a handheld measurement system as mentioned in claims 18 and 22, wherein first control mechanism is a control rotary (13) and the second control mechanism is a set of control relays (14).
As to claim 24, Chen discloses a handheld measurement system as mentioned in claim 18 and 22 for measuring objects but does not explicitly mention about the measuring the second electrical parameter is conducted concurrently with the measuring a first electrical parameter. However, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to measure the second electrical parameter concurrently with the measuring a first electrical parameter for the purpose of accelerating the tests and concurrently comparing the test results at the same time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Anderson et al (Pat# 9,739,801) disclose Dual Function DMM Display.
Hochreuther et al (Pat# 5,166,599) disclose Multimeter With At Least Three Input Connections And Means For Preventing Errors Due To The Selection Of An Incorrect Input Connection
/VINH P NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858